Reviewer: georgeisholey
Date: 06/09/11 23:10
Chapter: I'll Find You

I like it! It's really sweet... and I liked the way you explained cliches. It gave me a new perspective, since I'm normally annoyed by them. Also, I think that a third 'D' word that would have worked is "desperation," hee hee! :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes, desperation would have fitted in here. Thanks for reading and leaving a review, I'm glad you liked it. I tried to keep away from the cliches a little bit (although you probably noticed that the plot is a lot like OotP). Thanks for reviewing.

~Katrina

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 05/30/11 9:34
Chapter: I'll Find You

Katrina, I really liked this! I've personally made it my mission to read everything of yours, and I think I only have a few to go. There's one about Snape, one about Remus, and one about the Creeveys. Oh, and I think I still need to read Neville's one too. But I'm getting there, really.

Anyway, this isn't going to be a very long review, but I just wanted to say what a nice change it made for there not to be any major cliches in this story. Next Gen gets so many, and they all seem to read the same -- the non MNFF ones, that is. This was a great, fresh take on what Next Gen could've been. That said, if you did have any cliches, there's no doubt that you could pull it off.

There were a few typos, but it's going to take forever to point them out and correct them. And since they're not major, it's not a huge deal, really, especially because they in no way detract me from the story. It was gripping, from the moment Lily gets ambushed.

What I liked the most was that it was a bit like OOTP, but it wasn't a carbon copy of it either. And the best part was definitely the ending. I have two brothers and right now, I feel like they are very, very strange creatures. In fact, strange doesn't even begin to describe them, tbh.

Lastly, this line was my favourite part:

She knew it was clichéd – but then clichés only existed because they were universal experiences, common to the whole of humanity. Although, to be honest, she didn’t really care whether being clichéd was good or bad or just plain silly.

It's just so true. Ta for writing, as always, and thanks for reviewing my stories too. The next chapter of Checkmate, if you're wondering, has been in the queue for more than 8 days now, so I'm hoping it'll be validated soon. If not by tomorrow, I'll be PM'ing Fresca. Anyway, enough of my rambling. Have a good bank holiday!

~Soraya~

Author's Response: I'm so flattered that you actually want to read all my stories!! (I'd be careful about the Snape one though... it's really not very good). Anyway.

I'm glad you thought this wasn't cliched - I find a lot of Next Gen stories are romance (not that there's anything wrong with that) and I wanted to write something a bit different. I just sort of wrote Harry's kids the way they turned out, I didn't really think about it that much except that I didn't want any of them to be copies of their parents.

Yes, it was a bit like OotP - on one hand, you could say that's my lack of creativity, but I also thought giving the next generation an "adventure" like this would give them more of a connection to their parents - plus, they got the Thestrals idea from Neville anyway. Also, I didn't think Lestrange and Avery would be the most intelligent or creative people and so they picked the Department of Mysteries but didn't plan well enough how to get in there so resorted to the courtroom.

I think it's easy for love to be understated in families, because it is assumed, so it's easy for misunderstandings to occur. And yes, I know what you mean about brothers lol.

I'm glad you liked the line about cliches - it's something I believe and I think sometimes cliches are good and can be used effectively (although not overused).

I have in fact just read the next chapter of Checkmate - a review is coming up soon.

Thanks again for reading/reviewing all my stories!

~Katrina

Reviewer: hermy008
Date: 11/26/10 21:34
Chapter: If You Disappear

great job! it did remind me of ootp, and i loved the gap, both age wise and other wise, between lily and james. i thought you captured his and albus's characters quite well, along with everyone else. i hope you keep writing more next generation stuff, i enjoyed it a lot. keep writing! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!! I'm glad you liked it so much. Yes, it was a lot like OotP - partially that's my lack of creavity, and partially because it creates and interesting parallel between them and their parents. I'm glad you liked how I wrote the gap between Lily and James and my characterisations. Thanks so much for reviewing, it makes my day :).

Reviewer: iLuna17
Date: 11/14/10 11:52
Chapter: I Promise

I love it, but, what is Violet's last name? And, how can she see threstrals?

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing this chapter as well! I didn't think Violet's last name was particularly relevant... and I haven't given her one. She's not necessarily related to any canon characters, she could be, but I don't think it really matters. I haven't put in the backstory of how she can see Thestrals - in my mind it was one of her grandparents dying from some sort of disease, but I didn't include it. I might look over that section again and put it in. thanks for reviewing!!!

Reviewer: iLuna17
Date: 11/14/10 11:48
Chapter: If You Disappear

I love it. It shows a different side of the family than most Next Gen. Fics. However, I do think that the age spacing is wrong. I was under the impression from the epilouge that James and Albus were only a year apart, and Lily was two years apart from Albus. However, I may be wrong. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Yes someone else said I got the spacing wrong... I'm not sure, I don't remember there being anything specific in the Epilogue... I thought it said James was starting third year and Albus starting first, so I sort of played around with their ages a bit. But maybe it's not entirely canon. Anyway, thanks for reviewing :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Yes someone else said I got the spacing wrong... I'm not sure, I don't remember there being anything specific in the Epilogue... I thought it said James was starting third year and Albus starting first, so I sort of played around with their ages a bit. But maybe it's not entirely canon. Anyway, thanks for reviewing :)

Reviewer: leftrightmiddle
Date: 11/07/10 17:26
Chapter: I Promise

The reaction of James on discovering the news of his missing sister reminds me of Harry's reaction towards Hermione in the Department of Mysteries in OoTP. This short story is really reminding me of that book :) Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing this as well as the first chapter. Yes it is a lot like OotP - that is purposeful because it's showing Harry's (and others') characteristics coming out in the next generation. But I mainly used that situation to explore James and Lily's relationship - they'll be more on that in the last chapter which will hopefully be coming soon. Thanks a lot!!

Reviewer: LunaLover203
Date: 11/01/10 5:25
Chapter: If You Disappear

write more soon! it was really good

Author's Response: Thanks for reading & reviewing, I'm pleased you thought it was good. The next chapter should be up soon :).

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 10/31/10 20:01
Chapter: If You Disappear

I'm bit confuse in your story James and Albus are two apart? And James and Lily are five year apart?
Isn't James and Albus just one a part, Albus and Lily two year part. Then James and Lily are three yrs apart. Beside that little confusion I like it.

Author's Response: I may have not been completely canon-compliant with the ages... as far as I knew, there are 2 school years between each of the children. For the purposes of my story, I have written it that James is old for his year and Albus young for his, so there are nearly 3 years between them, and Lily is a year and a half younger than Albus. As far as I remember it doesn't say anything else in the Epilogue of DH, but I might be wrong. I'm glad you liked it otherwise :). Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: leftrightmiddle
Date: 10/31/10 13:18
Chapter: If You Disappear

I'm really enjoying this, and I can't wait for the next chapter! You portray emotions very well. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it. Hopefully the next chapter will be up soon.

Reviewer: haaaaayyleeeeeyy
Date: 10/30/10 23:25
Chapter: If You Disappear

seems really good so far =) keep writing !!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you like it so far. Yes I will keep writing, the next chapter is nearly ready to go up, I just have to edit it some more.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you like it so far. Yes I will keep writing, the next chapter is nearly ready to go up, I just have to edit it some more.

Reviewer: FlightOfSong
Date: 10/30/10 20:58
Chapter: If You Disappear

Oh my goodness! This is wonderful! What a cliffhanger! Great first chapter! I am definitely going to read the rest of this, it seems like it's going to be an excellent story. My throat actually constricted at the end part about Teddy's parents - though that could have been because of the mood It Ends Tonight was setting for me. ;) This was extremely well written, and I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review, I'm glad you liked it. I'm glad you liked the bit about Teddy's parents - it's sort of Lily's realisation that there are a lot of people in the world with less than her and so even though her problems seem big, they're not really. I'm glad you're looking forward to reading more :). I'm currently editing the next bit so hopefully it will be up soon. Thanks.

Reviewer: armagod679
Date: 10/30/10 16:43
Chapter: If You Disappear

Very real and easy to relate to. My oldest brother is eight years older than me, and even though I love him, he is very difficult to connect with. Good start to a story and nice cliff-hanger and the end!

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought it was easy to relate to - I'm a middle child and have two siblings very close in age to me, so I've always wondered what it would be like having a larger gap. I'm glad you liked the cliffhanger :) and I hope you like the rest of the fic (which will hopefully be up soon).

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES