Reviews For In the Ashes
Reviewer: locanena
Date: 12/02/10 23:39
Chapter: Chapter 7

Omg I'm crying. Awesome chapter, but sad. I love it.

Author's Response: No one feels worse about it than I do, considering I knew it was going to happen from the beginning, but to think that Katie could have such a run-in with a mega-powerful piece of dark magic and come out of it without any future consequences is not probable at all. This was actually the least horrible of afflictions I came up with, to be honest. I'm glad you love the story, and stay tuned next week for an update. ~Jess

Reviewer: juli_dances
Date: 12/02/10 17:52
Chapter: Chapter 7

Gasp! Poor Katie! :( I really love the story, though, so PLEASE update soon. Oliver is such a sweetheart, and Katie is so cute and clueless but also totally relatable. Thanks for sharing this wonderful story!

Author's Response: The thing that I like about writing post-war Katie is that she could be any eighteen-year-old girl coming out of a screwed up situation. She's barely more than a child and has no idea how life works and how love and sex work, and if it wasn't for Oliver, she'd be so lost. I'm really glad you like the story, and I am planning (keyword is planning) on posting updates weekly. I have the next chapter done, and after that, most of the next after that. I really do plan on trying to update regularly. Thanks for reading and reviewing! ~Jess

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 12/02/10 16:03
Chapter: Chapter 7

Oh my god this chapter was heartbreaking...I love when you write about Oliver and Katie being together, they're so perfect with each other. but when Anne said she wouldn't be able to have kids...so sad! I know Oliver will be supportive and everything but I feel so bad for Katie, I'm anxious to see what she's going to do!

Author's Response: I love writing about Oliver and Katie, being all normal. It makes them more identifiable for regular people like us. Katie not being able to have children, though, has always been in her stars for this story, so it sort of sucked, making them happy when I knew bad news was on the horizon. Update will come next week, and I'm glad you're still enjoying the story. :D ~Jess

Reviewer: Pumpkin4
Date: 11/30/10 17:37
Chapter: Chapter 6

Absolutely loved the sex scene!!! Don't really much care for the phrase "communion of souls", but that's ok.
What's going on with Blake? Is there going to be more Oliver vs Blake action down the road?
well done! i absolutely LOVE IT!

Author's Response: Blake is definitely in the works for the rest of the story. He is a good villain, methinks. Thanks for reviewing, and updates are coming soon. :D ~Jess

Reviewer: Pumpkin4
Date: 11/30/10 17:35
Chapter: Chapter 6

Absolutely love it! I don't really know about the phrase "communion of souls" though. I mean, I realize that you're just trying to find another way to state that they're having sex, but I would probably have picked a different phrase.
But on another note, the sex scene was PHENOMENAL!!! well done :)

Author's Response: Well, I prefer to think of it as making love. Sex is a biological imperative, but love is far different. I rather liked the way I wrote that, so I suppose we shall just agree to disagree, lol.

Reviewer: Pumpkin4
Date: 11/30/10 15:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh wow. This is absolutely phenomenal! My friend warned me I would get hooked - and so I did! And right before finals, too...oh well! This is just another great way to procrastinate! Can't wait to read the other chapters!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. I had no idea that this story would morph into a megafic, but it's been so fun to write. It makes me giggle with happiness that someone recommended it as being addictive. Updates will come soon, as well (Friday or Saturday, likely). Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of the story! ~Jess

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 11/26/10 20:13
Chapter: Chapter 6

wow. This was an unbelievable chapter - so well written!! I love your story and I can't wait to see where the next chapter takes them! (I'm so glad that they're officially in love!)

Author's Response:

Hehe, It made me happy inside to make them officially official. I'm glad you still love the story and are sticking with me. Updates will come in a few days. Thank you for visiting!

~Jess

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 11/26/10 9:11
Chapter: Chapter 6

I can't wait for the next chapter

Author's Response:

:)

Be patient (it's already written). Good things are to come.

~Jess

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 11/25/10 23:34
Chapter: Chapter 6

omg awesome write more please. Well Katie first wasn't bad. Lol lucky bitch. Oliver is such a sweetheart.

Author's Response:

Well, Katie's first time couldn't suck, because I just can't allow that. Plus, Oliver loves her and wants everything to be perfect. Besides, no one wants to read about bad sex anyway, lol.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. It makes me ever so happy. :D

~Jess

P.S. -- New chapter in a few days or so. Stay tuned!

Reviewer: ravenclaw1997
Date: 11/25/10 16:19
Chapter: Chapter 5

Amazing story! I love it, and can't wait to read more. Your writing is remarkable; great job! Keep it up! :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. I just figured that awesome characters like Katie and Oliver deserve a little bit of time in the spotlight. Plus, they're adorable. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: sam1
Date: 11/20/10 1:39
Chapter: Chapter 5

i like your story pls update soon

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. The next update is in the queue right now, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

~Jess

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 11/17/10 9:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

Another wonderful chapter, dear. As I've said before, what I really love is the subtlety and the realness of it all. Like Elene said, I loved the normality of Oliver's declaration and how it wasn't accompanied by some overblown gesture - it was just honest and true to life. Life isn't picture perfect, and most of those big moments actually are very ordinary and not like something out of a fairy tale. That's why I love that Oliver telling her he loves her is almost an accidental aside rather than having some big build up, because it's actually the way life and relationships work.

I am in awe of how well you capture people and the messed up complexity that is life, Jess.

I had more to say, but I have a splitting headache and I can't think clearly, so you will have to excuse my lack of coherence for now.

~Hannah

Author's Response:

Gah, you know I adore your reviews, great and small.

I do try to capture the normalcy of certain situations, coupled with the abnormalcy of their present existences. We all know that Harry found ways to deal with crap, as did Hermione, but they are people of above average moral fibre and drive, but seeing Ron freak out and leave during DH is a stunning portrait of how a regular person would react to such awful things. This is sort of what I had in mind for Katie.

Again, lovely visit, and I'm glad the story makes you happy. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 11/16/10 17:10
Chapter: Chapter 5

I love this story! And I love Katie's dad, what a great and understanding character :) can't wait until the next update!

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it. The next chapter is already written and ready to go. Thank you for reading and reviewing. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: CoolCatElly
Date: 11/16/10 15:42
Chapter: Chapter 5

What a wonderful new chapter!

I think one of the things I love most in this story is the way you use the sports terminology and just create this whole world of Quidditch training. All the little details just work together so well and give a lovely background to the main action. I like how you can describe the differences between Blake and Oliver even in a subtle manner, for example when they “hauled off a very whiny and complaining Blake”, and “Oliver calmly dismounted”. That really shows who the better man is. I enjoyed the interaction between Katie, Oliver and Blake in this chapter. You really have a gift for writing interactions and dialogue in a very natural-sounding way, and your characters themselves are also really a breath of fresh air.

Like Katie, I was quite upset but the state of Diagon Alley, and surprised that they weren’t doing anything. It was as though you were reading my mind though, because I had just thought this when you explained about the rubbish being charmed to make it unvanishable. I have to say, I don’t really find it realistic that Death Eaters would bother to cast charms on rubbish, but I thought it was interesting nonetheless. It showed a lot about Katie’s character, it think, when you read her reaction to all this. And of course it was nice to see another canon character make an apprearence.

“It made her feel very small against a very large and very cruel world.”

This was a stand-out line for me. I think to some degree up to this point Katie had been living in her own little world, caught up in grief and trying to make it through the day. It’s nice to see that she can begin to realise that there is so much more to be done, and that everything is much bigger than her personal life. It’s the start of the real healing process, isn’t it?

The idea of her teaching defence is very interesting – it hadn’t occurred to me that you’d do anything like that. I like that you keep the reader guessing. Just when we thought the story was going to be all about Quidditch rivalries, you introduce this whole new concept, broadening the story to touch on the effects of the war. Clever. ;-)

And Angelina! Another canon surprise. I think you did a great job with her characterisation – I know she’s not in the books much, but from what little we know you certainly captured her “voice”. I liked that she brought up again how odd what Katie and Oliver were doing was. I think eventually Katie is going to realise that avoidance will only work up to a certain point, and that defining their relationship might not be so bad. It’s just easier for them, at that moment I suppose, staying undefined. Ah, having just read on, I liked that Katie has gotten to the point where she could ask that question. She’s doing a lot of growing in this chapter, and it’s lovely to see her come so far and develop.

My heart gave a little leap when Oliver said that he loved her. I love everything about that scene, especially Katie’s reaction. That’s real love, I think. Honest, straight-forward love, not some kind of fluffy overly romantic nonsense. And you know, it’s more raw, real and romantic because of that.
Oh yes, and had to mention that I loved how you explained Hannah going into the “restaurant business”. I love little missing moments like that. From now on I’m making that my canon explanation. Harry’s appearance was also sad, slightly shocking and hard to read. I think a lot of people assume that Harry’s life after the battle was just one big victory party, but you really captured just how messed up he really was.

I think the transition from the Leaky Caudron to when Katie Apparated to her parents’ house was a little abrupt. It felt a little like one second they were sitting talking and the next she was ripping flowers out of the ground. I would have liked that to happen a little slower, I think. Her conversation with her dad was just a little heart-breaking. We’ve been with Katie on the whole journey and just when we think that she’s getting over it and moving on she comes crashing down, full circle, into that state of depression again. I like the way you explore how imperfect characters are – human nature is like that, an irrational, emotional roller-coaster.

I liked that she finally confided in her father about the events of the war. I think her biggest problem has been the way she shuts people out, and letting her dad in was one of the best judgement calls she’s made in a long time. Her father’s words to her were just what she needed to hear. His attitude was just what any girl could wish from her dad, so I’m glad that Katie experienced that unconditional love. Because he is her dad, she trusts what he says more than if a friend or even Oliver would say it. She really listened to him and took everything he said to heart, which was needed. “The more she thought about it, the more the idea appealed.” I’m glad her dad let that happen.

The ending left me slightly tired, almost like I’ve been on this journey with Katie. I’m really looking forward to the next chapter now. She’s come full circle, but then again, nothing is really the way it was before.

All in all, what I love about your writing is that you make me feel. I get angry at Blake, upset at Oliver. I feel giggly when Oliver and Katie tease each other, I laugh, I tear up - I feel for the characters. And that’s really all I can ask for from a story.

Thank you for always entertaining me, with whatever you write.

XX
Elene

Author's Response:

Oh, to come home to an inbox of squee!

I wanted three things from this fic when I started it -- a close look into the world of Quidditch, backstory into the Battle aftermath, and some good ol' fashioned shipping a la Katie/Oliver.  I'm really glad that these goals are prevalent in the story, especially to average and seasoned reader alike. That the characters and their actions make you feel is great to me, because this is a story about emotions and reactions and how those things tend to get away from us when we're distressed or feel like everything is screwed up. 

I see what you mean about the violent shift from 'yay, Oliver loves me' to 'I have to get out of here'. I probably could have made that a little less abrupt and should have done, but as I'm in a NaNo coma, I will have to save revision of that for later. Please don't let me forget to do that. 

I tried to weave as much canon into the story without taking it and cramming it down your throat. I wanted to make my own canon and fit it into the pre-existing Post-Hogwarts world. After all, telling the untold story is what fan fiction is all about, n'est-ce pas?

Thank you for the lovely review, dear, and here's hoping that the RAC pixies give you a good score for this one. Cheers, and I hope your breakfast will be better than mine. XD

~Jess

Reviewer: GoddessHermyOwnofMarchingBand
Date: 11/15/10 21:40
Chapter: Chapter 4

Oh my goodness. This story is beautiul intriuing and lovely. There are far too few katieollie shippers so I salute you! Update often :) thank you for this treat!

Author's Response:

I sort of inherited the idea of Katie/Oliver from Equinox Chick's fic Drowning, Not Waving. It sort of snowballed from there, and now they're almost my OTP. I heart them so. There are a bunch of chapters waiting to go up, and I hope you enjoy them. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: CoolCatElly
Date: 11/13/10 9:40
Chapter: Chapter 4

Great chapter as always, but gahh what horrible timing Ollie's mum has! Felt quite like a transitional chapter though, so looking forward to seeing where you're heading with the story. I really liked the interactions between Oliver and Katie though, and I can understand why everything's so confusing between them. They're both pretty messed up. XXX

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, dear. I really wanted to get inside Katie's head, because we both know what it's like to be that teenage girl who doesn't exactly know what she feels. Plus, add in the fact that she's basically traumatised, and it makes for a heady mixture of angst and sex appeal.

Yay!  Heart you!

~Jess

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 11/13/10 9:11
Chapter: Chapter 4

I think what I love most about this story, Jess, is that Katie and Oliver act like real people, not glorified, fictional versions of how an author thinks real people ought to act - the way they feel about things is messy and flawed.

I adored the fact that for Katie the question of whether she wanted to sleep with Oliver and whether she loved him were two utterly separate questions and the former was in no way reliant on the latter - it was so much more real that way than some over-romanticised notion of waiting for love. Similarly, I love how Oliver is trying so hard to be a gentleman and asks her several times whether it's really what she wants, but at the same time he has to warn her that they are pretty much at a point of no return. But I think most of all, I love how Katie doesn't know if they are actually together or not, and doesn't feel she can ask, and yet she's annoyed that he doesn't say anything to his mother, even though she knows she is being silly.

You really do understand people, don't you, and it shows so clearly in this story. I love that the dynamic between the pair of them is complicated, and raw, and imperfect. It's so much more compelling than some twee, cookie-cutter romance.

Oh, and the smut was delicious, and the bed-sharing was so cute!

Awesome chapter, as ever, dear.

~Hannah

Author's Response:

I have always and will always hold that people are fvcked up in the way they think (ourselves not excluded from this, either). I just think that perfect romance is just so rare and hard to find that most of us will never even come close to it. I wanted that normalcy for them, because they're just normal people with a streak of the extraordinary in their lives. I'm glad that it can be identified with.

Thank you for the lovely review. Until we cross paths again

~Jess

Reviewer: lilyevansfan
Date: 11/12/10 19:32
Chapter: Chapter 4

great story! please update!!!!!!!!

Author's Response:

Glad you like it. The next update is already in the queue. Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 11/12/10 10:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

Its pathetic that I'm always checking for an up date, but I don't care I absolutely love this fan fic. Please do write more for the sake of your fans.

Author's Response:

Oh, I so get the need to check for updates. I'm actually like that myself, constantly checking my mail to see if my next chapter has been validated so I can post a new one.

I'm really glad you enjoy the story, and the idea that i have fans makes me giggle madly. Thank you for that. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 11/12/10 10:41
Chapter: Chapter 4

Omg write more and more frequent.

Author's Response:

No worries. The next chapter just went into the queue and should be out in a few days. Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES