Reviews For In the Ashes
Reviewer: locanena
Date: 03/11/11 0:19
Chapter: Chapter 11

Wow what an ass!!!

Author's Response:

Hehe, Brandon is a special brand of jerk, isn't he?

Thanks for reading. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: Darkness Enshrouds
Date: 03/10/11 20:19
Chapter: Chapter 11

Ugh...can I PLEASE nudge Katie, none too gently, with her broom and slide her back over to Oliver? Is that allowed? :P

So excited to see this chapter up--I'm hanging on the edge of my seat here, always looking forward to what's coming next :)

Author's Response:

Well, dear Katie needed this. She had never once had the thought that she had been taking advantage of Oliver's willingness to help her and simultaneously resenting him for it. All through the story, both of them rushed into this gigantic relationship, but all it took was a small disagreement and a broken cup for her to snap and realise that nothing was what she thought it was. Stay tuned, and we shall see where it leads our intrepid couple. :)

Thank you for reading and your continued support. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: Eowynatheart
Date: 02/26/11 18:57
Chapter: Chapter 10

AH! What?? He doesn't hate her! Oh please please don't leave me hanging like this!!

Author's Response:

No worries, the next chapter is already underway. The situation will become clearer in the next installment. Thanks for reading!

~Jess

Reviewer: Lisl Lurker
Date: 02/26/11 8:06
Chapter: Chapter 10

This is not really a review 'cause I wouldn't know how to write one. But it's a "thank you" note. I'd like to thank you for writing this story! It's just the kind of fiction I was looking for and I read it all at once. I couldn't put it down. Every chapter so far had a great mix of action, even though that action could have been spread over a longer period of time. I hope the drama slows down and Kate finds herself.
Again: thank you!
Keep it up!

Author's Response:

Wow, thank you! I'm glad I could write something that meets a certain demand, although I do think there is far too little Katie/Oliver out there. As for the drama, I just think of it as this: Katie is not the battle-hardened warrior who can acknowledge the atrocity and let it go as she moves on. Things just pile up on her, and then she jumps into a serious relationship far too quickly and causes no shortage of problems for herself. It's not completely her fault, as that reporter who skewered her in the magazine was a complete tool, but this is part of the process of rebuilding her life, which is to beta the bad stuff before it beats her. So far, not so good, but nobody really is capable of ploughing through this stuff and coming out of it farting sunshine and rainbows. :/

Anyway, end tangent. I'm glad you like the story, and I'm almost half done with the next chapter,so be on the look out, and Katie is looking for herself right now. I hope she can find the signs. 

~Jess

Reviewer: dahtonen
Date: 02/25/11 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 10

I really like the direction you are taking with this story. And ,yes, you did bring the "trio" back into play! Oliver doesnt seem like the type to just walk away from her and it all over a thing like this, so I am interested in your next chapter (as I always am because you are amazing!!) Anyway, this was worth the wait as well! Thank you again for all of your hard work!

-David

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it, and I told you Hermione wasn't just thrown in there. I used her for the purpose of auditing Katie's class because that's the sort of thing that higher Ministry officials couldn't have had time to do while war reparations were going on.

No, Oliver wouldn't dump Katie like that, but Katie was convinced that he would and had done so. Nedt chapter (about 1/3 written already) will go into that a bit more. 

Until next time!

~Jess

Reviewer: BJ Allen
Date: 02/23/11 20:37
Chapter: Chapter 10

... all right, I love Katie, but she's a idiot sometimes!
I absolutely love this story so far! At first, I thought you might be going too fast, but now that I see where you were taking the story, I understand. I also love your portrayal of post-war Harry. A lot of stories paint him as happy and moving on with life, but it really seems in character for him to run himself out trying to do more for everybody. All in all, great fic! I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Well, one thing I wanted to portray in this story is that Katie has problems that she needs to work through, and being with Oliver, while sublime at times, just kept her from directly facing these problems. Her visiting Draco was one of the first steps she took on her own to regaining her mental fortitude. For both their sakes, they do need to get going in the right direction. :)

Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I'm glad you enjoy the story. 

~Jess

Reviewer: chattyswimmer
Date: 02/23/11 16:49
Chapter: Chapter 10

oh no oh no!!! how awful!

Author's Response:

Poor Katie... she keeps doing this to herself. Stay tuned to find out what happens to our intrepid couple!

~Jess

Reviewer: EvangelineLongfellow
Date: 02/23/11 9:32
Chapter: Chapter 10

Update fast!

Author's Response:

I'm planning on it. It might be a couple, maybe a few weeks, since I'm working on three (!) things at once, but I can't leave them hanging like that... 'twould be diabolical.

Thanks for reading/reviewing. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: Pumpkin4
Date: 02/23/11 9:12
Chapter: Chapter 10

OH WOW! This was an absolutely amazing chapter! I love how you made the sex scene so detailed without being too explicit. It was beautifully done! Katie is being very annoying, thinking that Oliver is not madly in love with her :) I hope she doesn't really go off on her own like she's threatening to do! I wish Oliver would stop her before she can leave, and they can have beautiful makeup sex and everything will be great. And why did Oliver get so pissed about her meeting with Draco? so fascinating

Author's Response:

Hehe, I specialise in beautiful smut. :)

The thing is that Oliver wasn't really as pissed as she thought he was. He had just come out of the press conference, which had been an uncomfortable thing for him, and then finding out that Katie had confronted the person who'd almost got her killed. He wasn't angry so much as he felt ill. Katie, in all her batsh!ttery, thought he was cross with her. Then her really bad decision making ensues. :/

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 02/23/11 6:19
Chapter: Chapter 10

Another amazing chaper! Your descriptions were wonderful, Katie and Oliver make a beautiful couple :) He needs to come home and stop her from leaving! I'm glad Katie showed Malfoy who's boss, but something tells me we haven't seen the last of him or harry...update again soon!

Author's Response:

You know, Draco is in a pitiable situation. His daddy can't clean up his mess, and his mother is virtually powerless, so he's doing whatever he can to save himself. What he decided was a good idea just happened to be douchebaggery. :/

I decided that it had been too long between smut scenes, so this one was nice to get in there. I'm glad you approve. Stay tuned in the next couple weeks as Katie's madness comes to a head. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: Darkness Enshrouds
Date: 02/23/11 5:58
Chapter: Chapter 10

Noooooooooooo!

Am I allowed to slap Katie for being such an idiot?

I can't stop reading! I absolutely adore Oliver--he deserves a story of his own, especially one as amazing as this one. I'm already excited for the next chapter :D

Author's Response:

Haha, these two are the ultimate 'it's complicated' situation. They're both a bit screwed up and spend a majority of their time pretending that they're not, but here and there, their ability to cope (not just Oliver) is not sufficient to get past certain relationship stressors.

I'm glad you enjoy the story, and thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/23/11 1:42
Chapter: Chapter 10

HOT. Gahhhhbnfdjbndjkfnbvdfjbvjdkz. Loved the exchange with Draco. It felt very in character. But noooo, Katie, stop running away from everything! You can be an adult with Oliver, no problem xD *coughs* Sorry for this ridiculous review, Jess!

Julia xxx

Author's Response:

Oh her poor head does awful things to her, doesn't it?

I really thought about making the interview with Draco something sweet, but in the end, I decided that Draco wasn't ready to not be a jerk yet, so that's how that ended up.

Oh, Katie, Katie, Katie... she's just so unsure of herself that she doesn't well and truly realise that Oliver would die for her ten times over, so she keeps overreacting to things that are rather mundane. They never really argued over anything important, so she took it as a sign that he hated her. 

I'm glad you appreciated the smut. It makes me happy. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 02/23/11 1:41
Chapter: Chapter 10

Guh! I definitely had proper, intelligent things to say about this chapter, but they got driven clean out of my head by the excellent smut: hot and very intense. What's also very impressive with the smut is that you actually were never explicit or graphic but I knew exactly what was going on throughout. Given that you claimed the smut was just word count filler, it's rather fab word count filler!

I wanted to bang their heads together at the end though. Oliver was being an arse and totally lacking any empathy or understanding, and I don't blame Katie for blowing up at him, but really could she be any more ridiculous afterwards, assuming that they are over because of one fight? And as if the ever chivalrous Mr Wood would actually throw her out on the streets knowing she has no money and no place to go!

You really do make me care about these two, Jess (well not that I didn't already, even if I have been torturing them a little of late!), and I'm now on tenterhooks waiting for the next chapter and hoping they can fix things (and then have excellent make-up sex of course ;-) ).

~Hannah

Author's Response:

Well, hurray that the smuttiness was the correct amount of smut and not an anatomy lesson. 'Twas my goal. If I had known I could crank out 800 words in like an hour with just smut, I would have it three times in every chapter.

Katie definitely has 'forest for the trees' syndrome. As I told Julia, she has this maddening inability to understand that Oliver would do anything and everything for her, and he was only hurt because she had seen Draco without telling him, not to mention still being strung out because of the douchebaggery in the press conference.

My next project is finishing my Harmony chapter. This will definitely be stewing in my mind for a while as I contemplate what to do with Harry in his little box, hehe.

Heart you, and I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. 

~Jess

Reviewer: Eowynatheart
Date: 02/18/11 16:33
Chapter: Chapter 9

Lovely! I can't see another relationship more destined than this! Great writing also, and your facts are all in line. I simply can't find anything wrong with it!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you believe in Katie/Oliver. It's just one of those ships that, to me, I can't believe it's not actually canon. My favourite thing in fan fiction is to take the facts and make them into a larger world. We know basic things about what happened after the battle from JKR, but I want to build my own universe within that. It's nice to know that you find mine to be believable and enjoyable.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Have a nice night!

~Jess

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 02/14/11 4:44
Chapter: Chapter 9

that was a great chapter! i love how your introducing new twists in the story, like Harry's exhaustion and now Alicia's chance to talk to Draco...i can't wait to read the ireland vs. britian game, i'm sure it'll be intense! as always, this story remains one of my favorites - update again soon!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it. It took a while, but I've already started on the next chapter, so it shouldn't be as long between updates... I hope, lol.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: Smharthun
Date: 02/09/11 20:49
Chapter: Chapter 8

This is such a great fic and you have me hungry for more!!! When will you be posting the next chapter? Anyways, I also wanted to say that I love the way you made Katie and Oliver relatable, and I also love how you really portrayed the sexual tension and love that is growing between them. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the story. I've just sent a brand new chapter to my beta, which should come back this weekend, so I'd say it should be posted Sunday at the latest.

I wanted Katie and Oliver to be ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. As a very wise man (Rob Thomas) once said: Everyone is just a little f***ed up. Their own brand of personal problems are just a variant of that. That's almost why I chose to make the story in Katie's POV instead of Oliver's; I know what it's like to be that scared little girl out in the big bad world and not having a clue how to deal with the romantic side of it. In retrospect, it feels rather pathetic, but it's a phase that we all experiene on some level. I'm glad you could relate to it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, and I hope to see you again soon.

~Jess

Reviewer: EvangelineLongfellow
Date: 12/21/10 0:17
Chapter: Chapter 8

Awesome fic! Please hurry up with the next chapter can't wait!!

Author's Response:

Glad you like it. I have one about one-third done, but it'll be about a week before I can finish it, as I'm being stalked by last-minute obligations, which are eating me alive. Until then, though... Thanks for reading!

~Jess

Reviewer: eab7654
Date: 12/19/10 11:47
Chapter: Chapter 8

this story is really cute. whens the next part going to be up?

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoy it. It might be another week or so before more is posted, because I have a bunch of challenge pieces for Christmas to finish before I can get back to these stories. I hope you like the rest of the story. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 12/13/10 10:13
Chapter: Chapter 8

Lol awesome

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it. Thanks for reading as always.

~Jess

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 12/12/10 20:58
Chapter: Chapter 8

so adorable, i love Oliver!! he is so perfect and this chapter was great at showing what a supportive guy he is. I'm really glad Katie's dad stood up against Caroline, Katie deserves a parent in her life. amazing chapter as usual and i can't wait until the next one!

Author's Response:

You know, I feel bad about making Caroline out to be so heinous, but really, she isn't much different than any other upper middle class suburbanite who feels pressure to be perfect. Having a 'weirdo' child would definitely put a damper on that, hence why Chloe comes across as the preferred daughter. And Caroline does love Katie, but maybe she just has more of a problem coming across that way.

I'm glad you continue to enjoy the story. Thanks as usual for reviewing, and have a good evening (well, it's almost morning now, lol).

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES