Reviews For In the Ashes
Reviewer: PotterGirl5
Date: 07/05/12 14:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

Okay, just a warning, this is going to be a very long review in which I fangirl over your writing and explain things you don't want to hear about. Sorry.
Basically, you're my favorite author on this site. As an author, I look up to you, to be honest. I wish I could describe feelings like you can, portray people the way you do.
I started reading this story a very long time ago but then a went through this faze where I didn't like HPFF as much... I don't know why. I love Harry Potter, but I lost my passion for it for a while. I started writing One Direction Fanfiction (yeah I'm one of those crazy directioner girls) and I figured it couldn't hurt to re-visit the site for the first time in ages.
This story is AMAZING, honestly some of the best writing I've ever read. I love every little piece of this story and to be honest it changed the way I write. I finally decided to come out of my shell and tell you that so I'm sorry if I sound like a really awkward fangirl (...it's true) or if I sound like a stalker or anything like that. ASDFGHJKL your writing is just so beautiful, and this story in particular is amazing.
Much Love,
Katie =D

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 06/03/12 1:38
Chapter: Chapter 12

thanks for finally update! gotta be honest, had to reread some chapters to remember what was going on. i'm so happy katie and oliver are starting a regular relationship instead of a pseudomarriage like they had. but omg a murder! i feel like i'm watching a daytime soap! great update keep them coming!

-el

Author's Response:

To be perfectly honest, I had to go back and reread the story, as well, but I knew I really wanted to put out an update. I really do love this story, and I want to give it more attention.

I agree about their relationship. Katie had never been in a real one, and Oliver had just got out of a bad one, so it was doomed to failure. Luckily, they love each other enough to stop and do it the right way. Let's just hope that the suspicion of Blake's murder doesn't fall where Katie's did. Eep!

~Jess

Reviewer: Luna432
Date: 06/01/12 23:54
Chapter: Chapter 12

dun dun DUN! ahhhh I can't wait for the next chapter! this is a GREAT story :)
~Sarah~

Author's Response:

Well, since it took me a year to update, I'm glad the plot progression was at least partially worth the wait. I love this story and really want to work on it and give it the attention it deserves.

Thanks for stopping in, and I'm glad you like it. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 06/01/12 15:59
Chapter: Chapter 12

You updated! This genuinely just made my day!

Oooh I loved this chapter, though I have to admit I wasn't too happy with the kind of relationship-hiatus they're going on, though it probably is for the best :(

Oliver wouldn't have killed him, would he? No. Of course not... but what if he did?! Please Oliver don't have killed him. Please Oliver don't have killed him. Please Oliver don't have killed him. Please Oliver don't have killed him.

I love Katie/Oliver and hope we'll be getting another update soon! Yay!

Fenella xx

Author's Response:

I would like to say I have a good excuse for not updating forever, but really, they're all just garden variety excuses. I just fancied popping open the document a few weeks ago, had to read the entire thing all over because I'd forgotten half of my head canon, and then just started clicking away. A majority of the update was written in like...two days, but the murder took some doing. It's not easy killing people.

I actually had no idea you were one of my readers. I've got stray IMs and PMs and emails over the past six months or so, begging me to keep going with the story, which shocked me, to say the least. Modding duties like to suck away one's free time like a chubby little dementor, ya know? Anyway, it was great to get this story rolling again, and great to hear from you. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 05/01/12 23:14
Chapter: Chapter 11

bring this story back! its too good to forget!

-el

Author's Response:

Working on it, actually. I have about 3/4 of a chapter written and should have it done witjin the week. I am excited for this, not gonna lie. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 03/27/12 15:00
Chapter: Chapter 11

Katie is so real. She's so human and flawed, and she makes me want to scream at her! Plus I think I'm a little bit in love with Oliver... I guess what I'm trying to say is please update, I'm begging you, because I'm dying to know what will happen between them, and I've re-read this so many times, and each time get to the final chapter and nearly cry of frustration! You're an amazing writer, your characterisation is perfect and it flows perfectly.

Author's Response:

I suppose I don't know what to say other than thank you so much for your readership, loyalty, and support of this story. I really love this fic a lot and wish I had enough hours in the day to write this and only this. What I'm trying to do is polish off the small handful of stories which only have one or two chapters left on my author page and then focus solely on this one - no new projects or other WIPs. This story, which started off as a one shot gone awry, is my baby, and it floored me that it won two QSQs. I hope to live up to that marker and to give you, as well as the other readers, the story you deserve.

I think I fell for Oliver in this fic, as well. I credit Equinox Chick/Carole and her story Drowning, Not Waving for introducing me to him as a fascinating character worth exploration, as well as h_vic/Hannah for making Katie/Oliver my OTP.

Thanks for the visit and the little reminder that I adore this story to bits and really want to get back to it.

~Jess

Reviewer: OnTheWay
Date: 01/04/12 4:23
Chapter: Chapter 11

I hope you are going to finish this - it was a great story, I want to know what happens from here on.

Author's Response:

I'm working on it, I really am. Ever have a to-do list so big it starts saying 'fee-fi-fo-fum'? That's sort of where I am now. :/ But I can't not finish it, because this is one of my favourite things I've written. I'm glad you like it, too.

~Jess

Reviewer: One Small Fish
Date: 12/28/11 5:18
Chapter: Chapter 11

This story is so riveting, I've been reading it for the past four hours! I cannot wait until you update; I understand that it can take a while, but when you eventually feel the inspiration, I'll be w