Reviews For In the Ashes
Reviewer: PotterGirl5
Date: 07/05/12 14:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

Okay, just a warning, this is going to be a very long review in which I fangirl over your writing and explain things you don't want to hear about. Sorry.
Basically, you're my favorite author on this site. As an author, I look up to you, to be honest. I wish I could describe feelings like you can, portray people the way you do.
I started reading this story a very long time ago but then a went through this faze where I didn't like HPFF as much... I don't know why. I love Harry Potter, but I lost my passion for it for a while. I started writing One Direction Fanfiction (yeah I'm one of those crazy directioner girls) and I figured it couldn't hurt to re-visit the site for the first time in ages.
This story is AMAZING, honestly some of the best writing I've ever read. I love every little piece of this story and to be honest it changed the way I write. I finally decided to come out of my shell and tell you that so I'm sorry if I sound like a really awkward fangirl (...it's true) or if I sound like a stalker or anything like that. ASDFGHJKL your writing is just so beautiful, and this story in particular is amazing.
Much Love,
Katie =D

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 06/03/12 1:38
Chapter: Chapter 12

thanks for finally update! gotta be honest, had to reread some chapters to remember what was going on. i'm so happy katie and oliver are starting a regular relationship instead of a pseudomarriage like they had. but omg a murder! i feel like i'm watching a daytime soap! great update keep them coming!

-el

Author's Response:

To be perfectly honest, I had to go back and reread the story, as well, but I knew I really wanted to put out an update. I really do love this story, and I want to give it more attention.

I agree about their relationship. Katie had never been in a real one, and Oliver had just got out of a bad one, so it was doomed to failure. Luckily, they love each other enough to stop and do it the right way. Let's just hope that the suspicion of Blake's murder doesn't fall where Katie's did. Eep!

~Jess

Reviewer: Luna432
Date: 06/01/12 23:54
Chapter: Chapter 12

dun dun DUN! ahhhh I can't wait for the next chapter! this is a GREAT story :)
~Sarah~

Author's Response:

Well, since it took me a year to update, I'm glad the plot progression was at least partially worth the wait. I love this story and really want to work on it and give it the attention it deserves.

Thanks for stopping in, and I'm glad you like it. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 06/01/12 15:59
Chapter: Chapter 12

You updated! This genuinely just made my day!

Oooh I loved this chapter, though I have to admit I wasn't too happy with the kind of relationship-hiatus they're going on, though it probably is for the best :(

Oliver wouldn't have killed him, would he? No. Of course not... but what if he did?! Please Oliver don't have killed him. Please Oliver don't have killed him. Please Oliver don't have killed him. Please Oliver don't have killed him.

I love Katie/Oliver and hope we'll be getting another update soon! Yay!

Fenella xx

Author's Response:

I would like to say I have a good excuse for not updating forever, but really, they're all just garden variety excuses. I just fancied popping open the document a few weeks ago, had to read the entire thing all over because I'd forgotten half of my head canon, and then just started clicking away. A majority of the update was written in like...two days, but the murder took some doing. It's not easy killing people.

I actually had no idea you were one of my readers. I've got stray IMs and PMs and emails over the past six months or so, begging me to keep going with the story, which shocked me, to say the least. Modding duties like to suck away one's free time like a chubby little dementor, ya know? Anyway, it was great to get this story rolling again, and great to hear from you. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 05/01/12 23:14
Chapter: Chapter 11

bring this story back! its too good to forget!

-el

Author's Response:

Working on it, actually. I have about 3/4 of a chapter written and should have it done witjin the week. I am excited for this, not gonna lie. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 03/27/12 15:00
Chapter: Chapter 11

Katie is so real. She's so human and flawed, and she makes me want to scream at her! Plus I think I'm a little bit in love with Oliver... I guess what I'm trying to say is please update, I'm begging you, because I'm dying to know what will happen between them, and I've re-read this so many times, and each time get to the final chapter and nearly cry of frustration! You're an amazing writer, your characterisation is perfect and it flows perfectly.

Author's Response:

I suppose I don't know what to say other than thank you so much for your readership, loyalty, and support of this story. I really love this fic a lot and wish I had enough hours in the day to write this and only this. What I'm trying to do is polish off the small handful of stories which only have one or two chapters left on my author page and then focus solely on this one - no new projects or other WIPs. This story, which started off as a one shot gone awry, is my baby, and it floored me that it won two QSQs. I hope to live up to that marker and to give you, as well as the other readers, the story you deserve.

I think I fell for Oliver in this fic, as well. I credit Equinox Chick/Carole and her story Drowning, Not Waving for introducing me to him as a fascinating character worth exploration, as well as h_vic/Hannah for making Katie/Oliver my OTP.

Thanks for the visit and the little reminder that I adore this story to bits and really want to get back to it.

~Jess

Reviewer: OnTheWay
Date: 01/04/12 4:23
Chapter: Chapter 11

I hope you are going to finish this - it was a great story, I want to know what happens from here on.

Author's Response:

I'm working on it, I really am. Ever have a to-do list so big it starts saying 'fee-fi-fo-fum'? That's sort of where I am now. :/ But I can't not finish it, because this is one of my favourite things I've written. I'm glad you like it, too.

~Jess

Reviewer: One Small Fish
Date: 12/28/11 5:18
Chapter: Chapter 11

This story is so riveting, I've been reading it for the past four hours! I cannot wait until you update; I understand that it can take a while, but when you eventually feel the inspiration, I'll be waiting with bated breath.

Author's Response:

See, when I start more fics than I can finish at once, this is what happens...stories I love get shuffled off my to-do list in a hurry. What sucks is that I have the whole thing planned out but just need to write it. I will definitely be finishing it because it's almost criminal not to. This is basically the only chaptered Katie/Oliver on the whole archives. Anyway, I'm glad you enjoy it, and thanks for your patience and most importantly your readership!

~Jess

Reviewer: Hermione2671
Date: 12/18/11 10:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

this is the first fanfic i read and i luv it!

Author's Response:

Yay! I remember my first fanfic I read. I believe I stayed up all night reading all 52 chapters. Haven't left since, hehe. I'm glad you like the story, and welcome to MNFF. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: dangerousreality
Date: 12/12/11 18:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

There's not much to say other than I love this story - I love this pairing - and I love your writing.

Please, please, please update soon.

Author's Response:

I am working on it. In all honesty, I'm surprised you found the story, as it's been that long since I updated (I mentally flog myself every day for not writing on this since then). Anyway, I'm glad you appreciate it, as it's a story I feel more personally connected to than most of my work. Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the update when it does come out (which it will). :)

~Jess

Reviewer: clang1224
Date: 12/09/11 19:45
Chapter: Chapter 2

Still thoroughly enjoying this!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. It's still got a ways to go, and it is a rather long story. Hope you like the rest!

~Jess

Reviewer: clang1224
Date: 12/09/11 19:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

i am thoroughly enjoying this story, but I am reluctant to continue reading without knowing if it will be completed. Are there planes to complete it? Thanks!

Author's Response:

I do definitely have plans on finishing this story. Unfortunately, I have a large number of shorter stories that should probably be finished first and get out of the way. This story deserves my attention, but it deserves my undivided attetion. I do hope to update within a couple of months, though. I miss these two so much!

~Jess

Reviewer: blackbeauty7
Date: 11/20/11 9:00
Chapter: Chapter 11

you left on a cliffie!!! Please update!

Author's Response:

I have been tumbling around a chapter in my head, but it might be a while. But I will. I love this story and will definitely get back to it soon. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: let-me-dream-forever
Date: 08/02/11 11:49
Chapter: Chapter 11

whoa. please update ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoy the story. I do have a few more things to finish up before this story gets updated again, but it shan't languish forgotten. i love it too much for that. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: Loonylambo
Date: 07/18/11 21:55
Chapter: Chapter 11

This story is amazing!!! I think that it is better than The Notebook!!! Thank you for writing. I cannot wait for the next update!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoy the story. When I started it, I was looking to paint a picture of plausible outcomes of the post-battle world. There are so many stories that are all happy huggy heaven portrayals, but to me, that's unrealistic. This story was meant to be more earthy and messy, much like how I see people in real life.

Again, thank you for reading, and have a lovely day/night/whatever.

~Jess

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 07/12/11 14:59
Chapter: Chapter 11

Hey have you been working on this story?? All of the ones I read have been on hiatus for a long time and I was just wondering if this one would get going again anytime soon because its my favorite. :)

-El

Author's Response:

I'm working on it, but there's a lot of other things going on at the moment since I've recently taken over a group on teh beta boards, but I will work on finishing this story soon. I just want to get my other chaptered fic out of the way first, since it's only got a couple chapters left. But I already have teh next chapter outlined and just needs to be written.

Thanks for checking in!

~Jess

Reviewer: Smharthun
Date: 05/17/11 21:26
Chapter: Chapter 11

I love this fic a lot !!! I have been waiting for a new chapter for it seems like forever!!! Please please! I know this time of year can be crazy and I know there are other fanfics to write but if u have any spare time I am absolutly dying to know what is going to happen! let me know when your going to update! ( I hope soon!) Anywho, thanks for writing such a great fic!!!!!! -Sarah

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it and are anxious to find out what happens next. I promise that I haven't given up on it, but I've recently hit a bit of a mental block on a lot of my works in progress. Typically, I could balance them all and be able to update regularly, but as of late, it's like I need to flush my brain so my mind can percolate a bit and finally wrap itself around getting something done. I know that didn't make any sense, and believe me, I feel that pain of not updating as badly as you do. I feel horrid about it, but I will go out on a limb and say that it will be less than a month before the next chapter.

Thank you so much for checking in!

~Jess

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 04/25/11 16:53
Chapter: Chapter 11

man he is such a jerk! i am glad that he is around just because it presented the chance for oliver's ex to get the hell out of there haha but he is so mean! very creative of you to write him. and katie needs to stop worrying so much. her and oliver don't have to live together and she doesn't have to be so dependent on him but they can still be together because they are so cute!

i loveeee love love this story! how many chapters do you think it will be and when will it be updated?

-El

Author's Response:

I'm shooting to update in the next couple weeks, but maybe three. I have a lot of fan fic on my plate at the moment, but I'm working on it. I *think* the story will shake out to be around 20 chapters, 24 max. It really did start out as a one-shot. Oops.

What I wanted for this story was for it to reflect how relationships actually work in reality. Yes, people jump into things too quickly,and yes, it ruins more things than it helps, but as people, we often find ourselves identifying what is worst for us and doing precisely that (I think Dumbledore said something of the like at some point).

Blake is a Class-A jerkoff. Every sport has a guy like that, the one who is talented but knows it far too well. One thing that most people don't realise about the sports world is that stuff happens behind the scenes like girlfriend drama, other guys taking their teammates' girlfriends or doing the nasty with their wives. It's nto much different than the rest of the world. I really wanted to bring some of the realistic aspects of the athletic culture into the story, as well. Since I can't write the actual gameplay worth a damn, at least I can do the drama parts, lol.

Thanks for dropping in, and I'm so happy you're enjoying it. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: eab7654
Date: 03/21/11 18:48
Chapter: Chapter 11

this is my favorite story on the site! i love olliver sooo much and i love the character you made him into. so chivalrous :) your writing style is also really engaging its great. keep up the good work!

when do you think the next one will be up?

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the story. You'd probably be shocked to find that this was meant to be a two-shot. It sort of mushroomed on me, lol.

As for updates, it'll probably be about a month, because I have soooo many challenge stories due by the middle of next month, so I need to get those done first. After that though, it's back to business. I miss just concentrating on my chaptered stories.

~Jess

Reviewer: Eowynatheart
Date: 03/11/11 10:26
Chapter: Chapter 11

This makes me sad...I wish they would just get married already! Good writing as usual, I guess it is just hard to follow Katie and her loving Oliver, then leaving him. Maybe that's just me though... When do you think you will wrap it up? Not that I want it to be finished, just so I have a sense of what to expect.

Author's Response:

Honestly, I don't know when the story will be finished. It could be a few more chapters, or it could be ten to twenty. I'm letting the story take me wherever it likes. I'm not being consulted in the matter, hehe.

I'm confident in saying that their parting of ways won't last, but Katie needed a wakeup call, to understand that she was simultaneously using Oliver and resenting him for it. As it was, their relationship wasn't healthy, and they jumped into things far too soon, and it took a proverbial bucket of cold water in the face for her to realise it. Leanne was probably the best thing that could've happened to them as a couple.

Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES