Reviews For Shrouds
Reviewer: hjpenguin_fred
Date: 11/07/10 1:46
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

Nice story. The ending could have been more satisfying, though

Author's Response: Hmmm, leave them begging for more - ha ha. Satisfying for whom? I don;t think Draco/hermione could ever truly work in the big wide world unless all their past associates are dead. Ron's happy - ha ha. ~Carole~

Reviewer: little_em
Date: 11/06/10 16:54
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

Fantastic! I absolutely loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 11/06/10 10:24
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

Aw, it's over! Now I understand why you were sad, because it was so fun to read each new twist, and now there are no more. I read this the other night on my iPod before bed, but it would take an hour to type up a review there, lol. Plus I could think about it.;)

You did such a neat job with Draco's character that I was rather rooting for him and Hermione. You set up Ron as such a jerk that I didn't want Hermione to go back to him. In this chapter, You've created sympathy for him again, but I have to admit I share some of Draco's doubt, and sort of wish Hermione hadn't gone back to Ron. At the same time, Draco and Hermione are probably too messed up to really be together successfully. Their brief affair helped them heal wounds, but I don't know if would have lasted. What do you think? I know you said you considered taking it AU - what changed your mind?

Ooh, I can go duel you about this sometime! Ah-ha!

I did notice some punctuation things, but that's probably because I was in punctuation whore/beta mode earlier this week. ;)

I think my favorite part was the end: the letter was a perfect way to close the story, wow. I hope Draco finds happiness, which is huge because most of the time I'd wish him misery. But your story was great, with such strong characterization and a really plausible plot. I am going to be watching Draco differently when the DH movie comes out now and picturing some of this happening not long after. ;)

Wonderful story, I enjoyed it tremendously.
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Gina a a a a, Thank you so much for reviewing. This was a hard chapter to write because I didn't want the story to end. I did consider making it AU, but realistically I couldn't see it working out between them. They are far too different. So, I had to split them up. Ron was a jerk, but a troubled jerk and just uncomprehending of what was going on around him. I like to think they'll be happy now, but perhaps Draco will cross their paths one more time ... Draco being happy? Hmm, in my mind, Draco does love Astoria, so maybe that's where he fully heals. Oh dear, I;m getting sentimental over Malfoy now. Never thought that would happen. Blooming fanfiction, drives me insane. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 11/02/10 3:53
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

*sobs* Okay, this is embarrassing. I am crying, Carole! You've made me cry! To be honest, I'm actually pleased the way you ended things. I think it was the most plausible ending for this fic. She helped Draco to heal and he healed her in a way, too, but while I'm sure Hermione has strong feelings for Draco, she was still very much in love with Ron. I have a feeling that Ron knows something more happened between Hermione and Draco, but since the battle I think he's matured enough to realise that when it comes to relationships nothing is black and white. He knows Hermione loves him and I'm not sure he'd want to shake things up that might break them... I wonder if you wrote an epilogue whether this would be addressed ;D Wow, reading that you wouldn't think I was a deluded one...

Great fic as usual, Carole. I'm sad that it's finished!

Julia xD

Author's Response: Thanks Julia, hmm, I do think Ron suspects something more, but doubt he'd allow himself to think that. he had a hard enough time believing Harry, Draco would be unbearable. If I wrote an epilogue (it's an if) then I might allude to that, but ... Oh i don;t know. I still can't see any of the Weasleys as being that forgiving (Bill and Charlie, possibly). Thank you for reading and reviewing. Next up ... Snape Umbridge! (I'm kidding)

Reviewer: dracoalways
Date: 11/01/10 6:19
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

Wonderful story!! thanks so much for a great read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, reviewing and appreciating. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 10/30/10 20:52
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

Oh my Godric, I know you are Canon Queen, but really, can't he have Hermione? PLEASE!!!!!

Author's Response: Ummm, well, I might get hexed by Natalie and Lori - hee hee. I was sorely tempted to go AU with this, but in the end I just wasn't sure it could work. Perhaps there's an epilogue ... ~Carole~

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 10/30/10 15:16
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

Snif... snif... snif.

:'( So very deeply, truly SAD.

I get it, happy for Ron and Hermione... But I'd have liked to have a Dramione ending. You had constructed such a lovable redeemable Draco there... So, SAD!!! Very very sad...

It almost seems like Hermione went back together with Ron just because... Stupid 'meant-to-be-love-of-her-life'. Not liking destiny right now.

I can't help but feel it was so real, so plausible. Do you know psycology? Your characters and their reactions are impeccable. I loved that of this story. I often find myself thinking "who wouldn't have reacted like that!?" The only answer I can come up with is "a zombie". Honest.

Oh, you had me laughing out loud when the discussion got heated. The Patil, Brown, Potter jab Draco did was too funny!

Once again (you're probably bored to hear it by now, if not, shame on you fellow readers!) great story!!

PS: can you be swayed into writing an alternate ending? *wink*wink*wink* Really? Pretty please?

Author's Response: Oh... alternate ending ... not sure. I was sorely tempted to have them running off together, but I couldn't see it lasting, and Hermione's too sensible for him. I don't study psychology, btw, I just read a lot so I s'pose I work out reactions from that. I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and appreciate your support and reviews. Hmm, epilogue, perhaps? ~Carole~

Reviewer: AshTonks
Date: 10/30/10 14:13
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

NO! Ugh! I wanted her to be with Draco! Then again, both Ron and Draco had their stupid, complete prat moments...
Anyway, it was another amazing story! *not surprised* Great job and thank you for giving fandom another awesome piece of literature!

Author's Response: Thank you! Hmm, it was a wrench splitting them up, but in the end they were too different and Ron hadn't done that much that was wrong ... really ... had he? I did enjoy writing this, but angsted over the credibility, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Callisto Anaxandra
Date: 10/30/10 10:21
Chapter: Chapter 6 - My Talisman

I'd never thought that I'd feel sorry for Draco or read Draco/Hermione, and you convinced me to do both! Great job. I like how you have Hermione admit that she fudges the truth for the sake of the quest and her love of Ron.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm pretty much a canon type of girl, but this bunny nagged at me and I wanted a redemption - of sorts- for Draco. I'm glad you appreciated that Hermione does occasionally lie (or blur the truth - ha ha) Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 10/27/10 19:18
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Situations Vacant

OMG. This was such a great chapter and the perfect antidote to four hours of neuroscience study! You're amazing, Carole. You've brought Draco and Hermione together in such a way that it feels so right. The Dramiones I usually read are AU when Harry and Ron are dead (or thought to be) but this is really great. You had me cheering for both Draco AND Ron in this chapter O.o and I loved the ending. How is Draco going to react?!?! I think I have a pretty good idea but you never know...

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope this was a welcome respite from neuroscience at least. Mmm, I didn't want to kill Harry and Ron, and thought it would be so much more deliciously awkward if Ron turned up again - ha ha ha. How will Draco react ... hmmm, well I could tell you, but I think I'll make you wait - heh heh heh. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 10/25/10 18:48
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Situations Vacant

I already told you this, but this was a great surprise! I really didn't expect that from Ron, and it's an awesome twist. And yet, it totally makes sense that Ron was just so dumb and clueless. At the same time, it totally makes sense that Hermione jumped the gun, believed the worst, and fell into bed with Draco. Eep!

You've put her in such a situation here, and so effortlessly. It's going to be tough for her, isn't it? You've done such a great job with Draco that part of me is rooting for her and Draco. He needs her. And yet, my canon card is calling and it only seems fair she give Ron a second chance. Only what's going to happen when someone finds out about her and Draco??

You know what else is neat? I was just asking in Fiction Junction about a fic that was about Ron leaving the Aurors to go to the shop, and it's like you hand-delivered the scene. Again, your characterization of Ron was great.

But so was Draco. O.O

Ah! I can't wait to see how it plays out!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Oh, Gina, when you asked that question, I was so tempted to type 'Read Shrouds!' but that would have ruined Ron's revelation. Yeah, Ron was dumb, but I think he has fairly low self-esteem (even after the Battle) so he wouldn't have realised what it looked like with Verity. Hmm, Draco/Hermione or Ron/Hermione, Cake or Cards ... it's a tough choice. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 10/24/10 9:03
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Situations Vacant

Hello there... I've found a great story! And I like many things of it...

This chapter in particular was quite ambiguous. Who's Hermione going to choose? Will she give Ron another chance? Will she stay with Draco? How will Draco react to her revelation? You have me sitting on the edge of mu seat!

I liked the fact that Hermione did not see it coming... The second she made the relation to the place Harry took Ginny to celebrate, I just knew Ronald was not coming clean, but trying to win her back.

As in to now, Death Eater past and everything, I'm on Team Draco (twilight pun intended) he might be the bad guy, but he's trying to make things right, and doing a pretty good job as it is. I guess it all depends on his reaction to this lunch, uh? The suspence is killing me!!

As for Ron, I can very much relate to Hermione's feelings. He did muck things up pretty badly. First "let's see someone else", then showing up with Verity (it really did NOT take a genious to see the results of that one Ron!) And, I think Hermione is being quite right to point to the fact that he keeps doing the same thing. Walking away, instead of facing the stormy skies together...

You've created a highly pausible Ron. A wonderful Draco. An amazying Hermione. And put them in a highly believable place. Great characters, perfect time, un-improvable place. Hands down, the best Ron/Hermione/Draco I've had the pleasure of reading. And I'm a Dramione junkie, so I've had my share!!

Hope to get my next Shrouds fix soon!! ^.^

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you. I really wanted this to be plausible because I find so many non-canon pairings don't ring true, so I'm pleased that you find it believable. The next chapter should be up next week ... but it's the last (unless I write an epilogue which is possible) Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 10/23/10 16:54
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Situations Vacant

E-chick - I've been reading this right along, and as much as I adore getting reviews, I really haven't been able to write any - I've just been absorbing this through my pores. I think you've got Hermione, I think you've got a plausible Malfoy - I find him a difficult character, myself - and a very plausible Ron. Unlike some of the situations I've seen Hermione put in, this does not stretch my credibility too far. And I am dying to see what comes next...

Now on to particular things I liked here - I liked Bill being in charge of the hiring, and being fair to Draco - I think that is very Arthur Weasly of him. I like that you've got Draco figuring some things out a little bit at a time - like he might not get another chance, and he wants one. I love that they are both so confused and conflicted - for me that is very realistic.

Oh - and I adored Draco's cooking - both that he had no clue, and that he didn't give up. Very good detail there.

Update quickly, please!

Author's Response: Thank you Prof P! I amd glad this is plausible because that was my aim. They needed a good reason to be together and not just because they met one night and felt lustful. I've always seen Bill and Arthur as the reasonable Weasleys. Much as I love that family, the others are often quick to judge and also have tempers on them - must be the Molly in them - ha ha. I will be updating very soon, just tweaking the last chapter. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: snaperocks
Date: 10/21/10 3:48
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Godric's Girl

wow wow and wow
amazing story
so touching and such a refreshment from other stories
like i said exaclty the story i like the best
and what makes it a favorite of mine is something i always wanted an author to do but they never did until u and that is bring up his attraction to her while they were at school even though he hated her
thats what got me into dramione's but no story ever mentioned that until u did in chp 2 when u mentioned him remembering a happy girl dancing when he kissed her
sometimes i want draco to be a bit more charming but honestly i dont care this story is perfect i love it sooo much its totally my kind of story omg ur so awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you. Mm, I don't think Draco can me too charming. He's still Draco Malfoy after all - ha ha. Glad you like the story. I will be podting chapter 2 soon. OOOH, and I'm glad you picked up the reference to Hermione in chapter 2, I wasn't sure anyone would. - hee hee. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: dracoalways
Date: 10/11/10 11:24
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Godric's Girl

I absolutely loved that little poem you wrote, it seemed so realistic... like a school boy made it up;) Looking forward to your update!

Author's Response: I had a lot of fun making that up. It made me giggle rather a lot. Thanks for reading. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 10/10/10 19:25
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Godric's Girl

And now I understand the chandelier on your banner. :)
Very nice scene of Draco and Hermione coming together after her upsetting encounter with Ron and Verity. Sure, Hermione may have been upset and vulnerable, but Draco recognized that and even though he knew he should stop, he still wanted her, he still wanted to take the chance that it would work out. I felt bad for him afterward. The scene at Malfoy Manor was really heartbreaking - every time he tried to Apparate and failed. And the thought of Draco Malfoy falling so far that he spent the night on the street. Really, really unique and daring way to take his character. And yet, there were some very introspective parts that really show that this could happen to him.
The symbolism of the teardrop crystals is really brilliant. I'm glad Hermione accepted them and is coming around. I am nervous, however, of the repercussions elsewhere! I am so curious where you are going to take this, since I see a hundred different ways this could turn out. Good luck as you continue to share!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Oh yes, the chandelier - the one thing I asked for on that glorious banner of Julia's. Hmm, I'm not sure Draco was thinking so much about things 'working out' between them, he's still Draco Malfoy, after all. I wonder if you've guessed how this pans out ... Ms Trelawney - heh heh. Thank you so much for the review and your continued support. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 10/09/10 15:08
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Godric's Girl

Holy!!!!

Just... He... She... They... You!!!

And Ron and Verity! And Draco and Hermione!! Wow!!

Just wow!

Author's Response: I think that's the best review I've ever had! That's made me smile, thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: macheel
Date: 10/04/10 15:03
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Chicken Soup

I really like this story. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Next chapter will hopefully be up at the end of this week. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: dracoalways
Date: 10/04/10 14:52
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Chicken Soup

I think you have dealt with the Ron/Hr breakup well. It is very Ron to bring his new girlfriend to a family function. I don't believe he does these things on purpose - he would never purposefully hurt Hr, but he just doesn't think it through. I imagine he will eventually be sorry once he realizes what he has done;) Very good Draco characterization, I feel for both Hr and Draco and their emotional pain. It sounds like Hr, has a shroud herself;) Excellent chapter, it draws the reader in and makes me sympathetic to all characters. Love this story! Update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. Mmm, I think Hermione is shouded as well. First her and Ron falling headlong into a relationship after the battle, then covering up her feelings after Malfoy Manor. I'll be updating regularly as this is all written, there's just the occasional tweak needed. ~Carole~

Reviewer: AshTonks
Date: 10/03/10 17:46
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Chicken Soup

Okay, so this is officially the best dramione ever. I'm already totally sucked in! AH! You're amazing.
I love the way you encorporated that they are all still dealing with their own issues from the war. A lot of horrible things happened to all of these people, and despite the happy ending, you know they have to be hurting. Its a very real outlook and an amazing story.
Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I get annoyed with Dramione's that don't deal with the issue of Malfoy Manor, because Draco was reprehensible there and it would be so very hard getting over that. Landing in the middle of a relationship without addressing those issues is just wrong. I'm glad you're enjoying the story. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES