Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/09/12 21:16
Chapter: Thirty - Three / Remus: Heaven and Hell

I have been reading this story for the last couple of nights and I am completely hooked. It is so original and yet based on cannon. In places the writing style positively glows. At this point I must say I think Ginny`s behaviour is disgraceful, but I expect you will sort it out. Waiting for more.

Author's Response: Without a doubt, those are the kindest words anyone has said to me! Thank you so much. I’m so pleased you got hooked into this tale.

I don’t have to tell you that Ginny’s main problem is that she’s immature. Barely seventeen and she’s been carted off to a cult of sports celebrity. Not so surprising that it goes to her head. It doesn’t help that her education was cut short: went into hiding during Easter term break after a sixth year that consisted mostly of planning insurrection. She’ll be back in the spotlight before much longer, don’t you worry.

Reviewer: dawndragon2
Date: 05/08/12 19:43
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

This chapter was intresting I think its just like your other chapters it makes you think and i kinda like that cant wait for more :)

Author's Response: I’m so pleased to hear that this story makes you rethink certain aspects of HP canon. I always found that a lot of the most interesting aspects of Harry’s quest are the ones that happen behind the scenes, the ones we never get to see because our hero would never witness them himself. Although canon is 99% limited to Harry’s point of view, the real movers of the wizarding world, like any other, are the adults. Imaging those scenes which fell between the cracks is a constant source of inspiration for me.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/07/12 2:32
Chapter: Thirty - Three / Remus: Heaven and Hell

Just phenomenal as always! Love it!!

Author's Response: Don’t worry, more to come very soon. Next up is the first half of a chapter than just ran way, way too long. Unfortunately, that means there’ll be the inevitable cliffhanger…

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/07/12 1:40
Chapter: Thirty - Three / Remus: Heaven and Hell

Well, that was a fairly surreal interlude. :-}

If Remus wanted to pursue other discussion-partners, I have a few to suggest -- including von Neumann, Pauli, Schrödinger, Heisenberg, and Tesla. :-) [There's a story about Pauli meeting the Creator; you may find it amusing.]

Well done.

Author's Response: Great suggestions! I confess your knowledge of physics far outshines mine. Any discussions with Schrodinger will need to wait until Minerva can also be present, though. Perhaps Mrs. Figg as well. Couldn’t find the story about Pauli meeting the Creator, though. Any chance you could point me in the right direction?

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 05/07/12 1:00
Chapter: Thirty - Three / Remus: Heaven and Hell

Interesting, although I don't really get the point of the chapter. You're a wonderful writer, but such an afterlife seems kind of meaningless to me.

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment. Don’t give up on this plot arc just yet. It will explore how the choices we make in life can affect what comes after. Besides, it was the only way in which I could “bring back” some of these characters without endless flashbacks.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 04/30/12 2:30
Chapter: Thirty - Two / Harry & Hermione: Collaboration

Brilliant as always!

Author's Response: Thanks. Hope you enjoy the next one; it’s a bit unconventional.

Reviewer: dawndragon2
Date: 04/27/12 18:50
Chapter: Thirty - Two / Harry & Hermione: Collaboration

I love your work I look forward to each chapter can't wait for more...thank you

Author's Response: You’re too kind! (blushes) I’m trying to not let the wait between updates stretch too far. Hope you like the next chapters as I’ve taken some liberties with reality, but then this is a story about magic, isn’t it?

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 04/27/12 14:33
Chapter: Thirty - Two / Harry & Hermione: Collaboration

Re: that last scene, I'm reminded of an expression involving the destination of a road paved with "good intentions." :-}

Well done. And yes, I can see how several nominally "benign" potions or charms or transfigurations could have profound -- and possibly profoundly unsettling -- results, especially if used ... creatively.

Author's Response: I have no doubt you’re right. How else could they teach Defense Against the Dark Arts without teaching the Dark Arts, as JKR tells us over and over? Sure students learn about dark creatures and other dangers that lurk at the end of every unscrupulous wizard’s wand; but the defensive part has to be the clever employment of innocuous spells they have already learned. You can’t expect to know a counter-jinx to everything, especially when encountering the unexpected.

And of course, there’s that whole philosophical argument about whether spells are inherently evil or innocent, or does it all hinge upon the intent of the wizard who casts them?

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 04/27/12 1:25
Chapter: Thirty - Two / Harry & Hermione: Collaboration

"Just like a harmless spell can leave you with a sense of accomplishment, the satisfaction one gets from dark magic is equally seductive. "
I really like that line. Also, are your cooking tips accurate? Because that really sounds interesting.
Great writing as usual. It always makes my day when I see writing from L A Moody!

Author's Response: Yes, that little cooking tip will work; just don’t use more than one or two anise seeds or it will totally overpower the flavor of everything. Glad you enjoyed. Dark magic as an addiction certainly seems to fit in with Helena Bonham Carter’s depiction of Bellatrix Lestrange, so I took a page from her book here.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 04/27/12 1:09
Chapter: Thirty - One / Harry: Culture Shock

You know, George reminds me of Tom Sawyer. :)
I love seeing Hermione as a mother, btw.

Author's Response: I can certainly see the parallel with Tom Sawyer. With perhaps a bit of Harold Hill (from The Music Man)? Selling magical products has to be a bit like selling dreams.

I agree, Hermione will make a great mother – when she’s ready to take that step. Just give her a few years to read all the parenting books first.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 03/20/12 3:10
Chapter: Thirty - One / Harry: Culture Shock

Fantastic as always! Now that she's made the team will we be hearing from Ginny soon?

Author's Response: The chapter with Harry/Ginny that everyone’s clamoring for is just around the next bend, I promise. It’s already written and has turned out to be one of my favorites as it has a nice twist. Ginny is not far from everyone’s thoughts as the next chapter will demonstrate. Hopefully, the delay won’t be too much longer.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 03/19/12 20:31
Chapter: Thirty - One / Harry: Culture Shock

Cute comparisons.

Author's Response: So happy that you enjoyed my take on wizarding humor. It’s a nice contrast to the next chapter which is much darker.

Reviewer: baby54boomer
Date: 03/19/12 0:51
Chapter: Thirty - One / Harry: Culture Shock

Wonderful!!!! Thank you for the quick-paced dialogue and interwoven references to Muggle and Magical life. This chapter was certainly worth the wait. Keep up the good work! I hope we see a resolution to Harry and Ginny's relationship one way or another.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed. The contrasts between us and them and back again have always been fascinating to me.

I promise that we will get back to Harry/Ginny soon. With as many balls as I’ve got in the air right now, I hope you’ll understand that I have to keep the story in chronological order as much as I can.

Reviewer: SnapeLives
Date: 03/18/12 20:48
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

You really know how to capture the characters. I wish J.K. Rowling would read your story. It really is well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the heartfelt words. I think every writer on this site secretly dreams of having JKR, or her publishers, read his words. She might not agree with the way in which I’ve allowed her characters to live on, though. (You’ll see what I mean in the next few chapters.)

I have to say that I really enjoy getting into each character’s head, a task made easier by the fabulous actors who have given life to JKR’s creations. When the actor’s voice is delivering the lines in my head, I know that I have finally captured their uniqueness. Only in two instances have I deviated from that formula, i.e. with the characters of Ginny and Tonks. Not that it is any fault of the actresses, mind you, but because the scriptwriters either interpret their character so differently than in the books or because they were not given enough screen time to develop their personalities -- or both!

Reviewer: baby54boomer
Date: 03/09/12 20:51
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

Your writing is quite engaging. The dialogues are especially sharp: you have managed to capture the original tone of each canon character! I would have liked more AD/Chocolate Frog moments. Please do not delay the subsequent installments!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I’ve definitely struggled with some of the characterizations so your words are particularly gratifying. Channeling my inner Snape, as my husband likes to say, has not been a problem, however. The story will definitely be catching up with Dumbledore’s exploits “on the other side” after the next few chapters. It’s always so much fun seeing things from a different perspective, I always find.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 03/09/12 2:26
Chapter: Thirty / Ron: Pranksters and Prats

Wow. The suspense is building and I feel the story is moving very well.
Loved the idea of a cat with separation anxiety - that was creative.
So what did Snape do? I am curious!

Author's Response: In this instance, Ron is thinking back on all of Snape’s machinations that were not unveiled until the bitter end of DH. Not being particularly self-aware, he cloaks his thoughts in terms of other people; it’s his way of acknowledging that the events of the past year have had a profound influence on his life. Sorry, if I didn’t make that clear. You will be pleased, however, that I intend to build on Snape’s backstory in the near future, though.

Every cat I've known has had a vindictive streak, so Crookshanks is no different.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 03/09/12 2:19
Chapter: Thirty / Ron: Pranksters and Prats

Great job! glad to see update

Author's Response: Another chapter is already in the pipe.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 02/10/12 1:21
Chapter: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You

As always, FABULOUS!! Love it!

Author's Response: So pleased you enjoyed. Next chapter takes place at the same time, different part of the castle.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 02/09/12 3:14
Chapter: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You

Asteria's ... interesting. :-}

I rather enjoyed being a "fly on the wall" for the conversation between Amos & Hermione. You do that quite well.

Excellent!

Note re: the combining form "aster" -- it's from Greek, and means "star"; it's the root of such words as "asteroid," "asterisk," and "asterism," and it is the "star-shaped" flower that gave the Aster its name (IIRC).

Author's Response: Thanks for making my case about the name so much better than I did. I promise you upcoming chapters will have this little fly going where no fly has gone before.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 02/07/12 17:19
Chapter: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You

Highly entertaining conversation! Would you please let us know if you have an updating schedule?

Author's Response: Glad you liked the conversation. There’s always so many details that were never fleshed out in canon and it’s so much fun to spin them out.

Don’t really have an updating schedule as such. My goal is to have the wait between chapters to be at about two weeks; although lately I haven’t been able to adhere to that very well. I do try to stay a number of chapters ahead of the curve, but sometimes putting the finishing touches on a chapter takes longer than expected. This last one that I just finished from Ron’s POV went through a whole slew of tweaks before I felt I’d captured his essence well enough to submit it. I admit Ron and Luna are the two characters that give me the most trouble when I try to get inside their heads. Dialogue is not an issue, but telling the story in their voices is a lot trickier.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
Do Over by Jeograph 6th-7th Years
Harry plods toward his death, toward the Dark Lord to give himself up, to make...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES