Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/11/12 15:09
Chapter: Twenty - Three / Harry: The Outside World Crowds In

Moody,
I see more and more details of what went on at Hogwarts during year of the DE. It's always different from author to author. There is some of same themes just different facts. I don't know if I can trust Percy fully, nor Dawlish. It will be up to Harry to discover. Got to go to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: I expect that most would want to forget the time they did in Hogwart's prison, aka under the thumb of those dreadful Carrows. You will get to see some more of that through Snape's memories in a later chapter. Harry's first impressions aren't always accurate, so it's great fun to flesh out some of those characters by taking the few facts we have in new directions.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/11/12 13:40
Chapter: Twnety - Two / Hermione: The Glittering Grotto

Moody,
I have something to say, but am afraid you'll take it as a pun. This was an illuminating vhapters in so many ways. I loved the connection to ancient history as well as the interduction to the merpeople to Dumbledores "Disciple". It seems that the gifts Albus gave each of the three friends will reach far into the future. It will help Ron tremendously for Hermione to back him up. A very enjoyable chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: I, too, realized that the chapter title itself was a pun, a rather Freudian one at that! But I decided to use it anyway and ignore those who might add an unintended innuendo. The concept of transplanted species being irevocably altered or simply not surviving is a page from mankind's own imperialistic history. I can't imagine wizard's being any different in that respect.

I have a thumb drive that looks just like a Deluminator; I suppose that's what keeps me devising of new ways to employ it. More on that in later chapters. I hope I suceeded in giving Ron some substance beyond just being Harry's side-kkick.

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 11/02/12 15:27
Chapter: Nine / Dumbledore: On the Wings of a Thestral

I just started reading this story, which I am enjoying greatly, and I wanted to say how beautiful I think this chapter is. Your description of at least the first stage of the afterlife based on what JKR imagined was really captivating for me, and I'm eager to read the rest of this story. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliments. I'm so pleased you discovered this story. I have to admit that one of the motivating factors is that I'm not shackled to our narrow view of reality. With that I could integrate many favorite characters who had been "written out" of canon. Even without having to resort to endless flashbacks, although I confess I use quire a few of those as it is. (Will someone please contact Mr. Rickman's agent?)

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/29/12 1:11
Chapter: Twenty - One / Harry: Visitors

Moody,
Now that the veil of civility that comes (somtimes) with great tragedy is lifted, the gossipmongers have come out. I have to agree with The Head. As tempting as it is (to respond with vigor)they will take any response and twist it.
Ah Ha! The portait is a true Wizards portrait. It had to be driving the painted Dumbledore nuts to sit quietly. I must continue, as this is growing more intriguing.
FoM

Author's Response: After his defeat of Voldemort, I can only imagine Harry being even more sought after by the press -- and hating it that much more. As always, Dumbledore has his reasons for what he does, or doesn't do in this instance. He'll tell you when he's good and ready; I won't ruin the 'reveal' this early in the game. It's so satisfying to witness how this story has captivated your interest!

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/28/12 22:37
Chapter: Twenty / Luna: What a Difference a Year Makes

Moody,
This chapter took my breath away. Luna is one of the most brave of all who fought. Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: So pleased that you approve of my take on Luna. This was by far the most difficult chapter to write, to get her unique voice just so. She may be eccentric, but she's not really looney; that's just a brush-off from those who don't want to take the time to know her. I couldn't resist having her confront Draco in her own inimitable way.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/28/12 14:13
Chapter: Nineteen / Harry: Family and Other Strangers

Moody,
Wow! Simply Wow! Some of what was revealed was expected (Privet Drive Exploding, Vernon being a A, Dudley being not only cooperative, but involved). But I never thought that Marge would die, or the Dursleys being relocated to Greece. I have got to continue.
FoM

Author's Response: There was so much potential in Dudley's goodbye handshake to Harry that I knew I'd have to elaborate about the Dursleys'' fate. The pompous buffoon which is Vernon is so much fun to write. Seems natural that the Death Eaters would want to get even after Harry slipped through their fingers. Since the Dursleys were evacuated first, then Marge would be the ideal instrument of punishment.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/28/12 12:32
Chapter: Eighteen / Harry: Finding His Muse

Moody,
I truly enjoyed this chapter. It's great that Harrys "story" will come to be put on "paper". But first I must finish this one. Though as much as I enjoy this one. I am surprised how quickly Harry has adapted to the relaxation of the isle. He went from an angst ridden teenager to a calm intraspective young man. That happened very quickly. Perhaps the next will enlighten me.
FoM

Author's Response: The poor kid was in dire need of a holiday. He certainly didn't get anything but more strife during his summers with the Dursleys -- even if they weren't trying to kill him outright. Besides, he enjoys Lexxie's company so he's more likely to adapt just to please her.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/27/12 23:28
Chapter: Seventeen / Dawlish: A Case of Russian Roulette

Moody,
Absolutely one of the saddest chapters yet. But the strength of Andromeda came through. I believe her healing is beginning. Yet how difficult was it learning the wicked shell of your sister is the one who cut down your daughter? Oh how I felt sorry for Dawlish. But he needs to leave the search for the wand Harry took from Riddle alone. Or maybe someone should just tell him that it was Dumbledores wand, that the snake broke into his tomb to steal and just leave it at that.
FoM

Author's Response: No doubt about it, the end of DH left Andromeda's life in shambles, more so than anyone else's. Lots of material to explore here.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/27/12 22:28
Chapter: Sixteen / Harry: A New Landscape

Moody,
Well at last someone is helping Harry get to the Heart of the matter. He has never had a time that he was either consumed by the Battle that lay ahead, or being mistreated by the Dursleys. He now has to learn how to enjoy life. Hopefully that should come easier, now that the piece of Riddle is gone. Is there a reason why the portrait of Dumbledore in the lobby doesn't talk? That would be a welcome addition. I look forward to the next chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: There's more to Dumbledore's protrait laying low, but that is a reveal for much later. Suffice it to say that the old man is hanging on every word.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/27/12 21:41
Chapter: Fifteen / Andromeda: Tea and Sympathy

Moody,
Thank you so very much bringing Andromeda into this. I know that Harry won't leave either Andromeda or Teddy alone for long. But I am surprised at the mention that she and Molly are new friends. I would have thought they would have been friends for a while. It was good that the two Mums were able to be together and chat like all Moms do.
FoM
FoM

Author's Response: Varioius instances of Tonks visiting with Molly at the Burrow, but I was never able to find any reference in canon to Molly and Andromeda -- even though they seem to be such a perfect fit. Andromeda really has nothing but a cameo in DH, even Ted Tonks has more of a role to play. She's too rich a character to leave in the wings, I say.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/27/12 21:08
Chapter: Fourteen / Harry: Collateral Ailments

Moody,
Oh please let it be at the resort that the Dumbldore card will "talk" to Harry? Sounds like the perfect place for him to heal. I would like to hear the discussion between the Healer and Arthur and Molly. I have got to go to the next.
FoM
PS If I haven't said it lately, this is one terrific story!

Author's Response: Nothing could make me happier than knowing that you've gotten so caught up in this tale! I omitted the medical mumbel-jumbo from the Healer in favor of giving you an extended taste of Harry's nightmares. Didn't want to be too redundant.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/27/12 19:05
Chapter: Thirteen / Harry: The Ghosts of Guilt

Moody,
George is right. It certainly wasn't Harry's fault that the British Magical World was/is in such a complacent place. The concept of mounting a solid defense against an enemy was not even in the realm of the average Wizard and Witch. That should change. The adults (except for a few) left this atrocity to be solved by Teenagers. You have given us much to think about. PTSD in the Magical world, whatever wll they do? I've got to continue.
FoM

Author's Response: This was one of the most complicated yet enjoyable chapters to write. Harry's subconscious offers him a brutal analysis of his worth and he come up short time after time. Too much of a burden for such a young man to carry' you're right on the mark about that one. But is he really all that different from the young soldiers which we send off to war everyday?

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/27/12 18:03
Chapter: Twelve / Hermione: The Prodigal Daughter

Moody,
Brilliant!!! I loved the pace and the dialogue.This is the first story I've read that Hermione and Ron floo'd to Australia. Interesting. I thought the reaction of the Grangers just as I would expect. The pregnancy is a bit unexpected, but a positive. Wouldn't it be amazing if Hermiones sibling is Magical too? To the next.
FoM

Author's Response: At least Hermione can be assured that she didn't send her partnets off into an uncertain future; they found an unexpected bit of happiness in their new circumstances. Glad you enjoyed even though I didn't elaborate very much about the journey; perhaps the most important thing is that Ron was willing to accompany her evey step of the way.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/23/12 6:07
Chapter: Eleven / Harry: Bereavement at the Burrow

Moody,
The time now is for healing. You have done a wonderful job in setting just how that will go. I look forward to the journey.
FoM

Author's Response: The hourney is just beginning. I've always felt that the ending to DH was bittersweet at best. And certainly not 'happily ever after' for those who have to deal with the aftermath of their losses.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/23/12 5:55
Chapter: Eleven / Harry: Bereavement at the Burrow

Moody,
The time has come to heal. It won't be an easy process, nor a fast one. I do look forward to what you have for us next.
FoM

Author's Response: Harry's too overwhelmed to deal with the big picture. So he settles for making things right with Ginny.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/22/12 23:24
Chapter: Ten / Harry: Fallout

Moody,
No I just can't believe Harry would think like that. Because Riddle chose him, it was only Harry that could defeat him. Neville never had the power that Riddle knew not, only Harry. Now that the Battle is won, isn't it time for the Dumbledore card to speak up?
FoM

Author's Response: Admittedly, Harry's felling a bit despondent at this point. But Prophecy always seems different in hindsight. Ever stop to think why Harry entrusted Neville to kill the snake, not Ron or Hermione? More on thatin later chapters..

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/22/12 22:31
Chapter: Nine / Dumbledore: On the Wings of a Thestral

Moody,
Well it seems we missed a bit. You fast fowarded to the crucial point. I don't know why Albus is surprised at those who have come to join him ,But his sorrow is as heartbreaking as they were when we first read of them. I need to go to the next, so I may see their view.
FoM

Author's Response: So many major characters were dispatched in DH that this chapter helps to give them a more thoughtul send off. Paritcularly for those deaths which occured off stage. Couldn't resist adding a few extra casualties of my own.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/22/12 21:11
Chapter: Eight / Moody: The Devil's Playground

Moody,
It's coming to a head. The Battle is just hours away. Yes I do wish Mad Eye could join in the fight. He's right though. Showing up would be a tremendous distraction.I will tell you how happy I am that you were able to explain how Moody survived. With Lupin and Tonks about to be gone. I would like to think at least MadEye will be around. Constant Vigilance!!!!!! I must go on.
FoM
PS I always had a "thing" for Mad Eye.

Author's Response: Mad-Eye's a wily one to be sure. It was my moral obligation to save the man that led me to find that loophole. After all, he's a long-lost relative from my husband's side of the family (the Moody clan) which came to America from Scotland by way of Nova Scotia,

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/22/12 6:40
Chapter: Seven / Remus: The Yoke Tightens

Moody,
I have been sadly waiting for this chapter. My heart breaks for Andromeda, Dora and Remus too. I guess I understand now why Dumbledore is staying quiet. A good one.
FoM

Author's Response: A sad chapter to be sure. But a necessary foundation for Remus to later know how to find Bill and company at Shell Cottage to announce the birth of his son. Ever wonder how Remus knew where to find Harry that night when everyone was doing their best to lay low?

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/22/12 1:34
Chapter: Six / Ron: Self-Reliance

Moody,
Oh dear. How quickly after leaving the influence of the Horcrux Ron felt he screwed up, again. Dumbledore missed the chance at riding along with Ron. How much better it would be if the Trio had Albus with them. But I wouldn't be surprised if Ron had some of his cards with him. I can't wait any longer to go to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: I like your idea of Dumbledore helping them figure things out from the beyond. It certainly would have made their Horcrux search less onorous. But then I would've likely deviated too much from canon. It wasn't clear how Ron would've found Fleur and Bill's cottage in DH, so I felt I could safely expound on that aspect of his untold journey.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
CATEGORIES