Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 12/31/12 10:47
Chapter: Thirty - Eight / Harry: Victory Anniversaries

Heh ... that was rather fun -- especially the interactions among the various folks. Aunt Muriel's appearances added a touch of ... "otherness," I think. (Aside from Aunt Muriel generally not approving of most anyone anyway, I doubt she'd approve of me -- so I suppose I don't need to be all that careful about wording on her account. :-})

Author's Response: Every family has an Auntie Muriel of sorts; she's really great fun to write. In this instance, everyone just laughs off her narrow-minded views; but in other instances, I can see how she could be a true thorn in the backside.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 12/31/12 10:29
Chapter: Thirty - Nine / Harry: A Visit to the Reliquary

Fantastically brilliant as always!

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you like the next part where we here from a new source.

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 12/30/12 22:48
Chapter: Thirty - Nine / Harry: A Visit to the Reliquary

I loved the memorial gallery. Beautiful chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you approve. I so wanted the victory celebration to have a more somber side, Otherwise, it felt too much as if they were dancing on the graves of others.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 12/30/12 17:48
Chapter: Thirty - Nine / Harry: A Visit to the Reliquary

Moody,
Wow!!! Great chapter. I really loved the Room of Remembrance (aka The Reliquary). You have created the most unique tribute to those who died for Freedom. I did notice that there wasn't a tribute to Harry's parents, or was that beyond where Kingsley stopped the group for the start of the Ball? I do hope at sometime in the future you will have Harry visiting that particular part, perhaps when Andromeda visits? Bravo I say, Otherwise your inventioness of each display was wonderous .Now the continuing development of Harry and Ginny's is just what I wanted. I look forward to your next.
FoM

Author's Response: I Hadn't really considered Harry's parents, seeing as they already have a memorial in Godric's Hollow. The Reliquarry tends to commemorate the heros of the Second Wizarding War. But then again, the incident with Wormtail killling all those Muggles was from the earlier conflict, so I guess you could say everything is all interconnected. Just think of the exhibits as a work in progress.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/20/12 6:12
Chapter: Thirty - Eight / Harry: Victory Anniversaries

Moody,
I absolutely loved this chapter. It was just what was needed. Some lighthearted friend time for Harry, Ginny, Hermione and Ron. I'm finally caught up. So feel free to write the next chapter. Great story.
FoM

Author's Response: Hope you enjoy the next chapter, which is actually a continuation of this one. Lots of lighthearted moments intersperced with some serious ones. I would've had it posted weeks ago had I not been buried in the Christmas avalache.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/19/12 23:25
Chapter: Thirty-Seven / Harry: The Belle of the Ball

Moody,
I think when they looked back at that day, they both knew it was worth facing the Heads displeasure. This was a Dumbledore that was less tolerant. Of course no one ever was in his favor as much as Harry. This was a very enlightening chapter. Thank you.
FoM
PS I know that by telling Harry (and Teddy) she brought the beauty of her and Ted's love alive again.

Author's Response: No doubt about it, a younger Dumbledore was not as smooth and polished a manipulator as we see later. Notice how he gives Andromeda and Ted the seeds to discover the Room of Requirement on their own, although they never do. Unlike Harry and Hermione who both remember Dumbledore mentioning it obliquely in offhanded moments.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/18/12 22:12
Chapter: Thirty - Six / Harry: Two, Not Seven

Moody,
I say it's about time, for Merlins sake!! The best friends are still helping each other out. It seems Harry just waited until Ginny was ready. She has had her start in Quidditch, she should be able to have a life, not orchestrated by Gwen. I must go to the next. I will say after the last two chapters, this one was very welcome.
FoM

Author's Response: Since we already know from the DH Epilogue that Harry and Ginny end up together, it was essential to have some conflict to make the tale interesting. Considering Harry's temper and Ginny's fiery nature (just like her mother, Molly), friction was inevitable. Since Harry's is the primary voice in many parts of the story, it also gave me an opportunity to balance what Ron and Hermione bring to the table..

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/18/12 16:12
Chapter: Thirty - Five / Remus: Thinker, Tailor, Schemer, Spy

Moody,
Thank you for teaming up those who redeveloped the Deluminator. It was getting pretty deep on the other side. I still don't understand.why, but I will continue.
FoM

Author's Response: Didn't want you to think I was playing favorites with the "departed" characters which I revisited. Pettigrew, for one, is so much fun to write! Just about everyone had their cameo and those who weren't there are missing for a reason.... That's all I can say for now.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/18/12 15:10
Chapter: Thirty - Four / Remus: Where Angels Fear to Tread

Moody,
For what purpose was this? I must go on to find out. The worst and the best is to come.
FoM

Author's Response: This is the counterpoint to the railway station scene earlier, chapter title "On the Wings of a Thestral", where we learn which other characters have arrived at the heavenly way station. Not to mention that I wanted to explore how Snape would have integrated himself into his new surroundings. His dissatisfaction is a sign of unfinished business in so many areas of his life.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/18/12 12:40
Chapter: Thirty - Two / Harry & Hermione: Collaboration

Moody,
Lots to think about. But loads of wonderful parts. I do have a question. Why is Harry concerned about money? He should have more than enough, considering he inheirited everything from Sirius, and I think the Potters were well to do too?
FoM

Author's Response: I actually gave Harry's financial situation a lot of thought. We have Harry's estimation in PS/SS that his parents left him a mountain of gold in their, now his, Gringotts' vault, but can we really trust an eleven-year -old who has no real experience of the world? I found it noteworthy that when he gawks at the new Quidditch brooms in Diagon Alley a few years later, Harry resists the urge to empty out his bank account to have one. Conclusion: either he's very prudent with his $$ by nature, or there really isn't that much in his vault if the putchase of a broom would deplete his resources so much. When in comes to Sirius' townhouse, we all know that it's in a rather shabby state; perhaps funds were too low for Kreacher to do any upkeep while he was hanging about all those years. (He certainly had the capability as demonstrated when he took care of the trio at the start of DH.) Since Sirius, and most likely Remus, had been living in the townhouse during much of OotP, those funds would have been depleted even more. To me, Grimmauld Place gave the impression of a once glorious showpierce of a family who had since fallen on hard times.

Now take into account that Harry has recently bought a flat in the most expensive city in the world (if I'm to believe what I've read about London). He has to shop around to find something that won't "break the bank." Is it too extreme to suppose that he will restrict himself to living within his means? That way, he will still have a nest egg for the future.

P.S. So pleased that this chapter made you examine a number of things.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/15/12 2:20
Chapter: Thirty - Three / Remus: Heaven and Hell

Moody,
Oh how very cool. This was an unique view of Heaven. I am glad that Severus is part of the group now.
FoM

Author's Response: Couldn't resist catching up with the rest of "the gang." I think that's one of the things that made me write this story, i.e. I wasn't bound by the laws of nature as we know them. Therefore, so many of my favorite characters didn't totally disappear, they just relocated to a different reality.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/13/12 15:45
Chapter: Thirty - Two / Harry & Hermione: Collaboration

Moody,
A very interesting chapter. To counteract an Imperious curse with a potion? Outstanding. It seems like a more modern idea than most that have graced the Wizarding World in a while. I have an idea as to what Hermione is up to, but again I'll defer.
FoM

Author's Response: Love potions used to be Molly's specialty at school; I clearly remember reading that in one of the books. As her student, Harry's determined to impress her with his ingenuity. He knows that Hermione's thirst for knowledge guarantees that she, of all people, will not discount his idea as being too far-fetched. I didn't think of Hermione as having an ulterior motive, but perhaps you're right about that.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/13/12 11:30
Chapter: Thirty - One / Harry: Culture Shock

Moody,
It's very hard to see Harry being ignored by Ginny. Or is it that the Harpies are not letting her letters through? Surely she put Harry on the list for personal mail that's accepted? At least he has his friends. Hermione and Ron would never let him down. I loved the memories of Ron being introduced to Muggle culture. He puts a different spin on it. Good chapter, But I've noticed that Dumbledores chocolate frog card has not been part of the story for a while. And when will Alistor be able to come back?
FoM
FoM

Author's Response: Dark days for Harry to be sure -- and Auror training's not a piece of cake, either. Makes him treasure those moments of silliness that he spends with Ron and Hermione. The contrast between our world and the wizarding world never ceases to make us see everyday things in a different light. Moody and Dumbledore will return, but you'll just have to let the story spin out as it will.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/13/12 10:09
Chapter: Thirty / Ron: Pranksters and Prats

Moody,
And the plot thickens. Pranks and secrets. Surprises and so much more. I do have an idea as to what Minerva is leading Ron to, but I'll wait.
FoM

Author's Response: A view of life at Hogwarts, post-Harry. Ron would certainly be the one to note that Fred's memory was living on.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/12/12 20:19
Chapter: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You

Moody,
I am of two minds about Mr Diggory. His thoughts after Lunas questions, made me a bit uncomfortable. But he did seem to be open to Hermiones enthusiasm when it comes to Magical beings and creatures. So I'll need to see a bit more before I completely trust him.
FoM

Author's Response: I imagined that Amos shared some of Cedric's fair-mindedness. As for Luna, she catches everyone unprepared; it's her trademark of sorts. ..

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/12/12 19:05
Chapter: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden

Moody,
This is a different Amos than I remember. Wasn't he the one who was cruel to Winky in GoF? I'm sure he has heard a lot about Hermione and her fighting for the rights of other Magical beings. He would be remiss if he didn't recruit her for his department. He does sound like he is looking for reform. He could only triumph with Hermione working with him.
FoM

Author's Response: I, too, felt that Amos toed the Ministry's view of elvish inferiority the first time I read GoF. On rereading, however, I came to see him more as a hapless civil servant trying to put on a good show in front of a Ministry bigwig like Crouch Senior. Then having to backpedal when Crouch insisted on Winky's innocence. Crouch then sacking Winky in the next breath left poor Amos reeling with the hypocrisy of it all. Can you blame him for wanting to make a few changes when he finally finds himself at the helm?

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/12/12 0:17
Chapter: Twenty - Seven / Harry: London Bridge is Falling Down

Moody,
Molly as Potions Professor, Brilliant! Having the Potions book that Lily gave Severus was a real surprise, yet it was simply right. It is a little strange that Ginny hasn't been mentioned. Usually Molly is all about what her family is doing. Yet here she is quite silent. All in all it was a wonderful chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: I can only imagine Ginny telling her mother to butt out. Besides, Molly will be too caught up in trying to manage her daughter's Quiddtich career to have any energy left over to straighten out her love life as well. Snape's legacy going to Lily's child made perfect sense after he shared his dying memories. Snape is by far one of the most complex and compelling characters in my opinion. IIn many ways, this story helps to keep his memory alive since I couldn't contrive a way to have him cheat death entirely.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/11/12 20:43
Chapter: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide

Moody,
Oh dear. It looks like there was a misunderstanding. I wish Harry had been able to make his point with Ginny. She on the other hand, went full steam ahead thinking to prove herself to Harry. I believe she will regret it unless she had someone look at the contract. Which I'm guessing she didn't.I hope that Harry's trainng will take his mind off of their disagreement. Enough owls should smooth things out.
FoM

Author's Response: It would be too boring if things went smoothly all the time, not to mention unrealistic. Ginny's fiery temperament was bound to butt heads with Harry's temper sooner or later.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/11/12 17:07
Chapter: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors

Moody,
As much as you gave us moments of Sirius and Remus that were silly and fun. My heart breaks for Andromeda.
FoM

Author's Response: Andromeda's one of the saddest characters in this series. Still, she makes a good mother figure for Harry as her background makes her so very different from Molly.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 11/11/12 16:00
Chapter: Twenty - Four / Harry: Issues of Trust

Moody,
You had just the right idea as far as giving Harry the information he needed, in a way that would satisfy him. Kingsley as always has a wisdom that will bring the Wizarding world to where it needs to be. I really loved the story of Daynelis Coltrane. Anyone who can outwit the Toad is a hero to me. Thanks!
FoM

Author's Response: I love the contrast of Kingley's easy going manner with Scrimgeour's officiousness and Fudge's obstinate insistence in ignoring unpleasant facts. Anyone who gets the better of Umbridge is a hero in my book; I'm certain her abrasive personality did not make her a great favorite among her co-workers at the Ministry, either.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES