Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 06/18/11 16:08
Chapter: Twenty - Four / Harry: Issues of Trust

Kingsley seems to be remarkably perceptive -- as well as being good at expressing himself.

Lexxie's comment about Harry not having had much opportunity to play well with others may have some truth, but it seems a bit over-generalized: he did play Quidditch on the house team, for example. I suspect Harry's a bit more selective about those with whom he "plays well" than most -- but then, that could be a survival attribute, given what he's gone through. :-} [And I'm quibbling, so please don't read too much into that.]

Interesting story about Nellie. And I suspect that were it a mutually exclusive choice between the higher pension vs. the award, the former would do the most good: a body needs to eat, after all.

Very nice (as usual!). :-)

Author's Response: Your point is very well taken. In my efforts to have Lexxie remind Harry not to take himself so seriously, I only focused on their discussions of the things that were most troubling Harry (principally during the past year). But as you so aptly pointed out, it’s entirely likely that they discussed matters much more far-reaching as Harry started facing stressful situation from his first encounter with Vapormort in PS/SS. Classic forest/trees dilemma on my part.

Thanks for pointing that out to me. I’ve gone back and edited it to read “The past year hasn't exactly given you much opportunity to play well with others,” she sympathized in her inimitable way. "And your struggles were enough to rattle even the hardiest snake." // Harry laughed at the lame pun. “I suppose that’s accurate enough.”

P.S. I love the smaller, less epic heroes. Like Neville and Luna, for instance.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/21/11 18:37
Chapter: Twenty - Three / Harry: The Outside World Crowds In

Hmmmmmm! I hadn't considered dawlish very much until now! Great job! Love this story!! Is Dumbledore still listening from the portrait?

Author's Response: Yes, Dumbledore is still looking on. Good catch, that! I divided two extra long chapters into three and my reference to D. ended up in the second part. So pleased that you’re reading so carefully. Keeps me on my toes. (Will have to get the torturous pink shoes out of the attic.)

As far as Dawlish goes, he’s one of those minor characters who keeps popping up when you least expect it so he begged to be fleshed out. Hopefully, he’ll turn out to be more three dimensional than we initially supposed. As a matter of fact, there’s more on him in the next chapter which will post within the next day or so.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/21/11 18:03
Chapter: Twenty - Three / Harry: The Outside World Crowds In

Interesting set of perspectives offered by Percy, there; he seems to have matured a bit.

Good interactions among Harry, Ginny, and Neville, as well.

Nicely done.

Author's Response: Glad you liked. I find Neville a great character who got underused in canon, in my opinion. Perhaps if we had read of his tribulations with the DA under the Carrows’ regime. Certainly would’ve helped to break up those dreary camping scenes in DH.

Percy has better role models at the Ministry now. He might have let his ambitions cloud his judgment in the past, but I don’t think his reunion with the rest of his family was any less heartfelt.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/08/11 19:44
Chapter: Twnety - Two / Hermione: The Glittering Grotto

The merpeople was awesome!! Very cool! You get more in depth with each chapter!! Thanks for posting!! I've enjoyed all yours stories and I can't wait to see where you this one goes next!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. The merpeople were so much fun to envision. I’m thrilled that you’ve read all the other stories as it makes this one fit into context. (You’ll see what I mean when we get to the end.)

As for where it’s heading…just think of this as the mortar between the bricks of DH and in that extra long crack that allowed me to reinsert Mad-Eye. (After all, the man is a long-lost relative of my husband’s ancestors in Scotland.) There’s a lot of ground to cover between the Final Battle’s aftermath in DH -- which is bittersweet, at best -- and the happy families we see in the Epilogue. While I don’t intend to fill in the full nineteen years, I hope to address the significant turning points. In the process, I’m injecting some entertaining, and unexpected. twists and turns. After all, a writer is not bound by the laws of nature -- and that’s as far as I can elaborate without spoilers.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/08/11 19:33
Chapter: Twnety - Two / Hermione: The Glittering Grotto

Heh -- that was fun! :-) It's often good to get to see different perspectives on events. (And I tended to read a lot of Mythology when I was younger.)

And it seems that Ron has had a bit of an epiphany; good thing he's getting the support he needs.

Author's Response: I confess to just following JKR’s footsteps by tweaking mythological themes. Seems to fit in well with how wizards have hidden secrets about their world within tales that are remembered by Muggles, yet discounted as imaginary. That alone is perhaps what makes the entire construct of the HP universe so utterly believable. So when in Greece….

It’s taken me a while to feel that I can adequately make the Hermione-Ron connection work, so I’m glad you approve. (Snape’s snarkiness comes so much more readily to me, I’m afraid.)

Sneak peek: an actual journey into mythological realms in upcoming chapters.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 05/03/11 20:25
Chapter: Twenty - One / Harry: Visitors

Greatly enjoyed. Please keep them coming! I've been waiting for this for months!

Author's Response: Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed. Sorry this chapter took me so long to post, real life had me in a whirlwind. Promise to have next installment posted within the next day or so.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 04/24/11 21:53
Chapter: Twenty - One / Harry: Visitors

As always your writing is amazing! Deep! I love it!!

Author's Response: Glad you liked all the details I put in. I knew everyone would be curious about the goings on at Hogwarts even though Harry (and the main plotline) is elsewhere.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 04/24/11 17:26
Chapter: Twenty - One / Harry: Visitors

I see that Hermione has become quite the ... raconteuse .... :-}

And it seems to me that Harry's getting pretty well adjusted. He certainly comes across as being better-adjusted now than he was at any point since he learned to talk. :-}

Author's Response: It seemed logical that once chosen as Head Girl, Hermione’s inherent bossiness would rear its head once more. Since Molly is a take charge sort of woman herself, I felt that Ron would not be put off by that, though. Harry’s definitely matured a lot in the past few weeks, but the road is never straight and true, I’m afraid.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 04/24/11 15:33
Chapter: Twenty / Luna: What a Difference a Year Makes

I rather enjoyed the chapter; I particularly appreciated the comment about laying blame on Mother Nature.

And Harry seems to have become quite the correspondent!

Well done.

Author's Response: Particularly pleased that you liked this chapter. I enjoyed fleshing out a lot of the action during those climactic moments. Still, it was a challenge to capture Luna’s unique blend of whimsy and wisdom. She certainly has her own brand of logic. I very much wanted to encapsulate Harry’s instant kinship with Luna and just knew that he, more than anyone else, would take the trouble to address each of her fanciful questions in a matter-of-fact manner.

Reviewer: dawndragon2
Date: 03/25/11 13:35
Chapter: Twenty / Luna: What a Difference a Year Makes

Very much enjoyed your story thanks

Author's Response: Thankd for letting me know that you're savoring the story. Hopefully, I will have the next chapter posted soon. Have been having computer problems so everything's hit a snag.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 03/09/11 21:25
Chapter: Nineteen / Harry: Family and Other Strangers

LOL! And Vernon would *so* deserve it!

Good to see that Dudley has been doing something fairly productive (unlike his parents).

And yeah, putting the entire islet under a Fidelius Charm was a rather brilliant stroke.

All in all, an excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Ah, revenge is sweet! I can just imagine Vernon’s eyes bulging and his face turning a very intense, indescribable color. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 03/09/11 19:20
Chapter: Twenty / Luna: What a Difference a Year Makes

Your way of story telling always leaves me saying WOW! Brilliant!

Author's Response: I’m so thrilled you liked this chapter! Luna’s such an odd mixture of Ravenclaw intellect and blithe eccentricity. It took a lot of tweaking to make her sound right. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 02/20/11 16:20
Chapter: Nineteen / Harry: Family and Other Strangers

Great!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Next chapter should be up soon. It's taking me longer than expected as the tone is rather tricky and I want to make sure I get it right.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 02/20/11 10:44
Chapter: Eighteen / Harry: Finding His Muse

Oh my GOSH!! I loved/love your other stories and I'm just fascinated in the extreme with this one!!! Your style of writing is just incomparable in how you bring life to all these characters! You leave no stone unturned and just WOW!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks from the bottom of my heart! I'm having great fun and I'm glad to know it's contagious. Hope you enjoy this next chapter which will be posting soon; it's my favorite so far.

Reviewer: Chaser921
Date: 02/11/11 23:09
Chapter: Eighteen / Harry: Finding His Muse

I just started reading this story, and it's one of the best I've read. These in-between stories and scenes that you don't actually see are my favorites to read and to write about - there's so much you can do with them while remaining true to the author's works. I think you've done a fantastic job with these.

I also love the way that you write. All the characters are beautifully done, and fit in with what Rowling's shown us, though some (like Dawlish) are very different in a believable kind of way.

I'm looking forward to reading more of this story, and plan on reading the all of your others.

Author's Response: I'm thrilled that you like this story so much. It really did grow out of the cracks that JKR left behind as the summary shows. Glad you found that the characters stayed true enough to canon, even though I can't help but elaborate when things are vague. Dawlish struck me as such a perfectly empty slate in so many ways. I imagined a sort of by-the-book sort of guy, set in his ways in a manner that Tonks would instantly label as chauvinistic; then the Death Eaters take over and he finds depths of rebellion that he never knew he had.

Hope you enjoy the other stories as much as this one. The tone of each one is a bit different and the AU warning indicates when I've taken my own tangent based on earlier books. Don't be a stranger!

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 02/11/11 6:41
Chapter: Eighteen / Harry: Finding His Muse

The "story within a story" is a rather amusing touch -- and the precedent is certainly there (e.g., "Hamlet").

Harry certainly does seem to be holding his own with the quips nowadays. That would seem to be an indication of a certain amount of healing, at least in some respects.

Author's Response: I found a lot of instances of Harry's “cheek” in canon so it's nice to give him an opportunity to indulge without the threat of a detention hanging over his head. There are many who will say that when tragedy turns to farce, or at least we're able to joke about it, then we have truly healed. It's a path I see both Harry and George following.

I worried that the story within the story was a bit trite, so I'm glad you liked it. It's part of the serpentine inspiration for this story so I wanted to include it.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 02/05/11 21:23
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

Over the past few weeks, I've read all your stories from the beginning. I'm now starting on Chocolate Frog and felt I had to join Mugglenet just to thank you. These have been a stressful few weeks and knowing I had a world to escape to made a very big difference.

You're a really good writer and I hope you continue making Potter fans happy and exercising your talents!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you followed my convoluted path of stories. I find writing them can be a great stress reliever as well since you have to totally experience that world (see, touch, smell, etc.) in order to make it believable in words. The characters that JKR created are so unbelievably rich that they give rise to all sorts of possibilities whether a writer stays within the constraints of established canon or takes them on a stroll through an Alternate Universe story.

Thanks so much for taking the time to let me know you liked what you read. It really made my day! Hell, it made my whole ruddy week!

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 01/23/11 5:56
Chapter: Seventeen / Dawlish: A Case of Russian Roulette

I apologize for failing to review the last several chapters; this chapter was so ... excellent .. that I was jarred out of my complacency enough to respond a bit.

I think you portrayed Dawlish exceptionally well -- and with a great deal of sympathy, at that. Wouldn't John be surprised about Mad-Eye were he to learn of the latter's true fate? :-)

For that matter, Molly & Andromeda were each well-portrayed, as well -- certainly believably, to me.

Well done: thank you!

Author's Response: I’m so happy that you liked Dawlish. I so wanted to portray how an ordinary person (not one associated with the Order of the Phoenix) would deal with the Death Eater crisis. Dawlish always struck me as a strictly-by-the-book sort of fellow; so taking a page from JKR, situations/characters don’t always follow assumptions when only limited information is given. He’d likely think that it was supremely fitting that it was Moody who managed to fool everybody. As for Andromeda, she still has some of the more aristocratic (stuffy) mannerisms instilled in her by the Black family. Thankd for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: GlynnisI
Date: 01/01/11 8:40
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

I love your story! I agree with you that Ginny is sadly underused in the movies. But that leaves more room for good fanfic! ;) As a mom, and no stranger to grief, I also applaud your Tea & Sympathy chapter. It warms my heart to think of Tonks' mom having Molly to turn to. One dynamic you might want to address between them, tho, is Bellatrix's death. Hm. Now I think someone needs to take on Andromeda's story! Maybe that could be your next flight of fancy. :)

Author's Response: So pleased you liked the two mothers commiserating. Their friendship seemed such a natural combination.

A very interesting point about mourning Bellatrix, as it presents a double-edged sword: Andromeda's daughter falling at the hand of her own aunt. Am not certain that fact would have yet come to light, though. In DH we only learn that Bella has been assigned the task of trimming her family tree (although only Death Eaters and Snape are present) nor do I envision there being any witnesses to recount Tonks' last moments. In a tribute to the senselessness of war, Harry is just presented with the dead bodies of Tonks and Remus. Consequently, it's going to take a fair amount of investigation before the full facts come to light in the canon universe. There is also a major gap that must first be addressed: where did Bellatrix get a wand when hers was captured by the trio and Ollivander is no longer on hand to make her a new one? Look for it in upcoming chapters as it requires a fair amount of groundwork – not to mention a twist or two, if I can work them in.

Thanks again for the inspiring words.

P.S. Coincidentally, mourning/tribute for Bellatrix is something I explored among the first chapters of my AU story, The Dark Phoenix; although the circumstances were considerably different.

Reviewer: troubledsoul
Date: 12/10/10 14:44
Chapter: Thirteen / Harry: The Ghosts of Guilt

truly fantastic writing and storytelling. i was captivated all the way through. when's the next chapter coming out? i can't wait. well done

Author's Response: Thanks for the encouraging words; that was one of my favorite chapters. I have the next one almost ready, a few tweaks away from submission. Definitely this week though.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Possibility by The Ravenclaw Sheerio 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley doesn't know anything about Cho Chang other than the fact that...
The Green Knight Rises by Kerichi 6th-7th Years
In Creevey Wizard Comics, the Green Knight aids those in need under the cloak...
Somebody Like You by Kerichi 6th-7th Years
After tea leaves predict romance for Snape, he makes a sardonic wish on...
FEATURED
Wild Card by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
It was going to happen eventually: Oliver Wood had to retire. But when the decision...
Half-life by welshdevondragon 3rd-5th Years
Neville has the rest of his life ahead of him, but all he can do is look back...
Skinny Love by xxbabewithbrainsxx 6th-7th Years
“I’ve always been chubby. Admit it.” “You’ve never been skinny...
Tigerlily by Maple_and_PheonixFeather 3rd-5th Years
You promised yourself you'd never hurt her, but there are times when you wonder...
Astriferous by Padfoot11333 6th-7th Years
Merope Gaunt has never been celestial.Nominated for a 2014 QSQ - Best Dark/Angst.
CATEGORIES