Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Chocolate Frog

Name: baby54boomer (Signed) · Date: 03/09/12 20:51 · For: One / Moody: Limbo
Your writing is quite engaging. The dialogues are especially sharp: you have managed to capture the original tone of each canon character! I would have liked more AD/Chocolate Frog moments. Please do not delay the subsequent installments!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I’ve definitely struggled with some of the characterizations so your words are particularly gratifying. Channeling my inner Snape, as my husband likes to say, has not been a problem, however. The story will definitely be catching up with Dumbledore’s exploits “on the other side” after the next few chapters. It’s always so much fun seeing things from a different perspective, I always find.


Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 03/09/12 2:26 · For: Thirty / Ron: Pranksters and Prats
Wow. The suspense is building and I feel the story is moving very well.
Loved the idea of a cat with separation anxiety - that was creative.
So what did Snape do? I am curious!

Author's Response: In this instance, Ron is thinking back on all of Snape’s machinations that were not unveiled until the bitter end of DH. Not being particularly self-aware, he cloaks his thoughts in terms of other people; it’s his way of acknowledging that the events of the past year have had a profound influence on his life. Sorry, if I didn’t make that clear. You will be pleased, however, that I intend to build on Snape’s backstory in the near future, though.

Every cat I've known has had a vindictive streak, so Crookshanks is no different.



Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 03/09/12 2:19 · For: Thirty / Ron: Pranksters and Prats
Great job! glad to see update

Author's Response: Another chapter is already in the pipe.


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 02/10/12 1:21 · For: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You
As always, FABULOUS!! Love it!

Author's Response: So pleased you enjoyed. Next chapter takes place at the same time, different part of the castle.


Name: Wolfs_Scream (Signed) · Date: 02/09/12 3:14 · For: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You
Asteria's ... interesting. :-}

I rather enjoyed being a "fly on the wall" for the conversation between Amos & Hermione. You do that quite well.

Excellent!

Note re: the combining form "aster" -- it's from Greek, and means "star"; it's the root of such words as "asteroid," "asterisk," and "asterism," and it is the "star-shaped" flower that gave the Aster its name (IIRC).

Author's Response: Thanks for making my case about the name so much better than I did. I promise you upcoming chapters will have this little fly going where no fly has gone before.


Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 02/07/12 17:19 · For: Twenty - Nine / Amos: SPEW's to You
Highly entertaining conversation! Would you please let us know if you have an updating schedule?

Author's Response: Glad you liked the conversation. There’s always so many details that were never fleshed out in canon and it’s so much fun to spin them out.

Don’t really have an updating schedule as such. My goal is to have the wait between chapters to be at about two weeks; although lately I haven’t been able to adhere to that very well. I do try to stay a number of chapters ahead of the curve, but sometimes putting the finishing touches on a chapter takes longer than expected. This last one that I just finished from Ron’s POV went through a whole slew of tweaks before I felt I’d captured his essence well enough to submit it. I admit Ron and Luna are the two characters that give me the most trouble when I try to get inside their heads. Dialogue is not an issue, but telling the story in their voices is a lot trickier.



Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 01/04/12 4:18 · For: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden
So very glad you updated!! Fantastic as always!!!

Author's Response: Hopefully, the updates won’t be so far between. So glad you’re sticking with the story.


Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 01/03/12 2:46 · For: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden
Just saw your response - I'm relieved to hear that and with such quality writing can happily await the next chapter. Hope you're always busy with good events!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the words of encouragement. Holidays mixed with a wedding in the family (no matter how far removed) is a recipe for an inevitable time crunch.


Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 01/03/12 0:56 · For: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden
Great to see you continuing this story! I really enjoyed the dialogue.

Author's Response: I always worry that some chapters are too “dialog heavy”, so it’s a relief to hear that you’re enjoying it.


Name: Wolfs_Scream (Signed) · Date: 01/03/12 0:19 · For: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden
Heh. Why might I suspect that once Hermione gets over her initial self-doubt that Amos is going to be singularly impressed...? :-}

Nice note from Harry (to the Diggorys).

Quibble: Cedric wasn't the first victim of (self-styled) "Lord Voldemort." He was one of the earlier victims during the period after the First Wizarding War, though, as well as the first Hogwarts student from said period.

(Yes, laptop is repaired. :-})

Author's Response: There will definitely be more about Hermione and Amos in the next few chapters. You’re completely right about Cedric, of course, but I just couldn’t find the right set of words that didn’t turn into a long string (too long to fit on a medal of bravery). I struggled with that as I also wanted to focus on how his fellow school chums would see it. ‘Resurrection’ was too fraught with religious overtones, ‘first victim of second rampage’ was just plain awkward. In the end, I went back and edited it to: first victim of Voldemort’s return. Not as vivid a word as ‘rampage’ but more accurate, to be sure.

Thanks again for keeping me on my toes!



Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 10/09/11 23:26 · For: One / Moody: Limbo
Great! But I'm getting worried about their relationship - please take us off the tenterhooks by next chapter!
Good luck with all your real life stuff!

Author's Response: Please don’t be too disappointed with the next few chapters as we’re catching up with Ron and Hermione at Hogwarts. I will promise you that the Harry/Ginny thing won’t drag out to the very end of the story, but right now those two need to cool off. And the story needs to massage some of the other characters towards their eventual fate in JKR’s Epilogue.

Real life stuff is all over, thank goodness. A wedding in the family is a huge uproar, even though I was only on the periphery of it.



Name: Wolfs_Scream (Signed) · Date: 10/05/11 13:40 · For: Twenty - Seven / Harry: London Bridge is Falling Down
[This will be brief, as I'm about to send my laptop off for repair....]

Excellent work! :-)

The interactions between Molly & Andromeda, as well as between Harry and either/both of them, are priceless!

And the type of pressure Harry finds himself under at present is more than just a touch different from what he had become "accustomed" to (as if anyone could become "accustomed" to having a powerful psychopath with a really big snake out to kill him...). I hope he (Harry) has a safety valve -- boiler explosions tend to be nasty. (There was a really big one in 1883, between Java & Sumatra -- nearly destroyed a smallish island & gave the world beautiful sunsets for the next 3 years from the volcanic dust in the atmosphere.)

Author's Response: Hopefully, your computer’s back from the shop by now. Or you’ve laid it to rest and upgraded.

I, too, enjoyed the thought of Harry now finding himself with a surplus of surrogate mothers. Some of my other stories explored surrogate father figures, but DH cut-off some of those avenues. Harry continues to find solace with Ron and Hermione and will find his intellect challenged in new ways in the upcoming chapters. Luckily, some of the thornier aspects of Auror training will allow him to vent his frustrations.



Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 10/03/11 11:28 · For: Twenty - Seven / Harry: London Bridge is Falling Down
Great job!!! Love it!!

Author's Response: So pleased you’re enjoying the story so far. Hope you’ll forgive me for the long delay; life is finally back on track and I have a number of new chapters ready to submit.


Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 09/04/11 14:23 · For: One / Moody: Limbo
just letting you know i'm still reading!

Author's Response: So glad you havent given up on me. Ive had entirely took much real life invade my private writing time lately. Not to mention the continuity problems that arose at the last minute with this next chapter. Im beginning to think Peeves has moved into my computer. I hope hes not jockeying for a chapter from his point of view, cuz this is just not the story for it.


Name: juniper (Signed) · Date: 08/25/11 16:17 · For: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide
Thanks for making it long!
Enjoyed it very much, still reading. :)

Author's Response: So glad you like the long chapters. This next one kept me having to do quite a few rewrites to trim every extra word so I could squeeze everything in.


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 08/20/11 18:39 · For: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide
I'm so glad you updated!! Fantastic! This chapter had me ticked off and heart achy all at the same time!!

Author's Response: I absolutely love how you described your reaction to this chapter! Its exactly like I imagine Harry must be feeling at this point in the story. Makes me feel like Im doing something right!


Name: Wolfs_Scream (Signed) · Date: 08/19/11 21:05 · For: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide
Ah, our Harry manages to do things in Spades -- including being conflicted. :-}

That was quite a row he & Ginny had....

So Harry's back in Merry Old England -- and needs to choose course appropriately... :-)

Well done!

Author's Response: I always suspected Ginny inherited her mothers feistiness and Harrys temper is well-documented in canon from the fifth book especially. With that in mind, smooth sailing for those two is just too unrealistic. Next chapter will recount Harrys adjustments as he integrates himself into the London world and tries to catch up with the last year of schooling that he missed.


Name: Wolfs_Scream (Signed) · Date: 08/19/11 19:49 · For: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors
It appears that I've been remiss in providing a review (or at least a few comments) about this chapter: my apologies.

I enjoyed the chapter immensely: in particular, you've depicted Sirius admirably -- and with a fine attention to detail. The other (adult, at least) characters are also well-drawn.

Thank you!

Author's Response: Please accept my apologies; I was certain Id responded to your review a month ago! Dont tell me the computer is eating my words now that Ive trained the dogs That being said, Im glad you enjoyed Andromedas turn at the wheel. I find JKRs adult characters so well realized that stepping into their shoes turned out to be so much easier than I ever supposed. As for Sirius, despite his youthful reputation as a scoundrel, he really has a sentimental streak a mile wide. Once I latched onto that, the rest was easy.


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 07/25/11 8:42 · For: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors
Amazingly awesome as always!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. Keep your fingers crossed about the next installment...


Name: Wolfs_Scream (Signed) · Date: 07/24/11 15:39 · For: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors
Yes, I suppose that, even though it's been a while since those skills were last used, Molly would be rather likely to recall how to burp an infant -- among other child-minding activities. :-}

And the retrospective of Tonks & Moony t(and Sirius) hrough Andromeda's eyes was quite well done. Made me miss Sirius, Moony, & Tonks all over again. :-{

[Nice re-wording in previous chapter, btw.]

Author's Response: It's a right shame JKR was so determined to off her adult characters. They were by far the most interesting. I suppose I should be thankful that my keyboard had a time-turner app. There's a key that links to the astral plane as well...Something to look forward to in later chapters.


You must login (register) to review.