Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 01/04/12 4:18
Chapter: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden

So very glad you updated!! Fantastic as always!!!

Author's Response: Hopefully, the updates won’t be so far between. So glad you’re sticking with the story.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 01/03/12 2:46
Chapter: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden

Just saw your response - I'm relieved to hear that and with such quality writing can happily await the next chapter. Hope you're always busy with good events!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the words of encouragement. Holidays mixed with a wedding in the family (no matter how far removed) is a recipe for an inevitable time crunch.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 01/03/12 0:56
Chapter: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden

Great to see you continuing this story! I really enjoyed the dialogue.

Author's Response: I always worry that some chapters are too “dialog heavy”, so it’s a relief to hear that you’re enjoying it.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 01/03/12 0:19
Chapter: Twenty - Eight / Amos: Champion of the Downtrodden

Heh. Why might I suspect that once Hermione gets over her initial self-doubt that Amos is going to be singularly impressed...? :-}

Nice note from Harry (to the Diggorys).

Quibble: Cedric wasn't the first victim of (self-styled) "Lord Voldemort." He was one of the earlier victims during the period after the First Wizarding War, though, as well as the first Hogwarts student from said period.

(Yes, laptop is repaired. :-})

Author's Response: There will definitely be more about Hermione and Amos in the next few chapters. You’re completely right about Cedric, of course, but I just couldn’t find the right set of words that didn’t turn into a long string (too long to fit on a medal of bravery). I struggled with that as I also wanted to focus on how his fellow school chums would see it. ‘Resurrection’ was too fraught with religious overtones, ‘first victim of second rampage’ was just plain awkward. In the end, I went back and edited it to: first victim of Voldemort’s return. Not as vivid a word as ‘rampage’ but more accurate, to be sure.

Thanks again for keeping me on my toes!

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 10/09/11 23:26
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

Great! But I'm getting worried about their relationship - please take us off the tenterhooks by next chapter!
Good luck with all your real life stuff!

Author's Response: Please don’t be too disappointed with the next few chapters as we’re catching up with Ron and Hermione at Hogwarts. I will promise you that the Harry/Ginny thing won’t drag out to the very end of the story, but right now those two need to cool off. And the story needs to massage some of the other characters towards their eventual fate in JKR’s Epilogue.

Real life stuff is all over, thank goodness. A wedding in the family is a huge uproar, even though I was only on the periphery of it.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 10/05/11 13:40
Chapter: Twenty - Seven / Harry: London Bridge is Falling Down

[This will be brief, as I'm about to send my laptop off for repair....]

Excellent work! :-)

The interactions between Molly & Andromeda, as well as between Harry and either/both of them, are priceless!

And the type of pressure Harry finds himself under at present is more than just a touch different from what he had become "accustomed" to (as if anyone could become "accustomed" to having a powerful psychopath with a really big snake out to kill him...). I hope he (Harry) has a safety valve -- boiler explosions tend to be nasty. (There was a really big one in 1883, between Java & Sumatra -- nearly destroyed a smallish island & gave the world beautiful sunsets for the next 3 years from the volcanic dust in the atmosphere.)

Author's Response: Hopefully, your computer’s back from the shop by now. Or you’ve laid it to rest and upgraded.

I, too, enjoyed the thought of Harry now finding himself with a surplus of surrogate mothers. Some of my other stories explored surrogate father figures, but DH cut-off some of those avenues. Harry continues to find solace with Ron and Hermione and will find his intellect challenged in new ways in the upcoming chapters. Luckily, some of the thornier aspects of Auror training will allow him to vent his frustrations.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/03/11 11:28
Chapter: Twenty - Seven / Harry: London Bridge is Falling Down

Great job!!! Love it!!

Author's Response: So pleased you’re enjoying the story so far. Hope you’ll forgive me for the long delay; life is finally back on track and I have a number of new chapters ready to submit.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 09/04/11 14:23
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

just letting you know i'm still reading!

Author's Response: So glad you havent given up on me. Ive had entirely took much real life invade my private writing time lately. Not to mention the continuity problems that arose at the last minute with this next chapter. Im beginning to think Peeves has moved into my computer. I hope hes not jockeying for a chapter from his point of view, cuz this is just not the story for it.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 08/25/11 16:17
Chapter: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide

Thanks for making it long!
Enjoyed it very much, still reading. :)

Author's Response: So glad you like the long chapters. This next one kept me having to do quite a few rewrites to trim every extra word so I could squeeze everything in.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/20/11 18:39
Chapter: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide

I'm so glad you updated!! Fantastic! This chapter had me ticked off and heart achy all at the same time!!

Author's Response: I absolutely love how you described your reaction to this chapter! Its exactly like I imagine Harry must be feeling at this point in the story. Makes me feel like Im doing something right!

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 08/19/11 21:05
Chapter: Twenty - Six / Harry: Out with the Tide

Ah, our Harry manages to do things in Spades -- including being conflicted. :-}

That was quite a row he & Ginny had....

So Harry's back in Merry Old England -- and needs to choose course appropriately... :-)

Well done!

Author's Response: I always suspected Ginny inherited her mothers feistiness and Harrys temper is well-documented in canon from the fifth book especially. With that in mind, smooth sailing for those two is just too unrealistic. Next chapter will recount Harrys adjustments as he integrates himself into the London world and tries to catch up with the last year of schooling that he missed.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 08/19/11 19:49
Chapter: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors

It appears that I've been remiss in providing a review (or at least a few comments) about this chapter: my apologies.

I enjoyed the chapter immensely: in particular, you've depicted Sirius admirably -- and with a fine attention to detail. The other (adult, at least) characters are also well-drawn.

Thank you!

Author's Response: Please accept my apologies; I was certain Id responded to your review a month ago! Dont tell me the computer is eating my words now that Ive trained the dogs That being said, Im glad you enjoyed Andromedas turn at the wheel. I find JKRs adult characters so well realized that stepping into their shoes turned out to be so much easier than I ever supposed. As for Sirius, despite his youthful reputation as a scoundrel, he really has a sentimental streak a mile wide. Once I latched onto that, the rest was easy.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/25/11 8:42
Chapter: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors

Amazingly awesome as always!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. Keep your fingers crossed about the next installment...

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 07/24/11 15:39
Chapter: Twenty - Five / Andromeda: Rainy Day Visitors

Yes, I suppose that, even though it's been a while since those skills were last used, Molly would be rather likely to recall how to burp an infant -- among other child-minding activities. :-}

And the retrospective of Tonks & Moony t(and Sirius) hrough Andromeda's eyes was quite well done. Made me miss Sirius, Moony, & Tonks all over again. :-{

[Nice re-wording in previous chapter, btw.]

Author's Response: It's a right shame JKR was so determined to off her adult characters. They were by far the most interesting. I suppose I should be thankful that my keyboard had a time-turner app. There's a key that links to the astral plane as well...Something to look forward to in later chapters.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/18/11 18:22
Chapter: Twenty - Four / Harry: Issues of Trust

As always EXCELLENT!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. Hope to have the next installment posted very soon. Its a hefty chapter (with sinuous segues) that will fill in some events hinted at but not previously fleshed out. Time we moved away from Harrys POV, too.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 06/18/11 16:08
Chapter: Twenty - Four / Harry: Issues of Trust

Kingsley seems to be remarkably perceptive -- as well as being good at expressing himself.

Lexxie's comment about Harry not having had much opportunity to play well with others may have some truth, but it seems a bit over-generalized: he did play Quidditch on the house team, for example. I suspect Harry's a bit more selective about those with whom he "plays well" than most -- but then, that could be a survival attribute, given what he's gone through. :-} [And I'm quibbling, so please don't read too much into that.]

Interesting story about Nellie. And I suspect that were it a mutually exclusive choice between the higher pension vs. the award, the former would do the most good: a body needs to eat, after all.

Very nice (as usual!). :-)

Author's Response: Your point is very well taken. In my efforts to have Lexxie remind Harry not to take himself so seriously, I only focused on their discussions of the things that were most troubling Harry (principally during the past year). But as you so aptly pointed out, its entirely likely that they discussed matters much more far-reaching as Harry started facing stressful situation from his first encounter with Vapormort in PS/SS. Classic forest/trees dilemma on my part.

Thanks for pointing that out to me. Ive gone back and edited it to read The past year hasn't exactly given you much opportunity to play well with others, she sympathized in her inimitable way. "And your struggles were enough to rattle even the hardiest snake." // Harry laughed at the lame pun. I suppose thats accurate enough.

P.S. I love the smaller, less epic heroes. Like Neville and Luna, for instance.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/21/11 18:37
Chapter: Twenty - Three / Harry: The Outside World Crowds In

Hmmmmmm! I hadn't considered dawlish very much until now! Great job! Love this story!! Is Dumbledore still listening from the portrait?

Author's Response: Yes, Dumbledore is still looking on. Good catch, that! I divided two extra long chapters into three and my reference to D. ended up in the second part. So pleased that youre reading so carefully. Keeps me on my toes. (Will have to get the torturous pink shoes out of the attic.)

As far as Dawlish goes, hes one of those minor characters who keeps popping up when you least expect it so he begged to be fleshed out. Hopefully, hell turn out to be more three dimensional than we initially supposed. As a matter of fact, theres more on him in the next chapter which will post within the next day or so.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/21/11 18:03
Chapter: Twenty - Three / Harry: The Outside World Crowds In

Interesting set of perspectives offered by Percy, there; he seems to have matured a bit.

Good interactions among Harry, Ginny, and Neville, as well.

Nicely done.

Author's Response: Glad you liked. I find Neville a great character who got underused in canon, in my opinion. Perhaps if we had read of his tribulations with the DA under the Carrows regime. Certainly wouldve helped to break up those dreary camping scenes in DH.

Percy has better role models at the Ministry now. He might have let his ambitions cloud his judgment in the past, but I dont think his reunion with the rest of his family was any less heartfelt.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/08/11 19:44
Chapter: Twnety - Two / Hermione: The Glittering Grotto

The merpeople was awesome!! Very cool! You get more in depth with each chapter!! Thanks for posting!! I've enjoyed all yours stories and I can't wait to see where you this one goes next!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. The merpeople were so much fun to envision. Im thrilled that youve read all the other stories as it makes this one fit into context. (Youll see what I mean when we get to the end.)

As for where its headingjust think of this as the mortar between the bricks of DH and in that extra long crack that allowed me to reinsert Mad-Eye. (After all, the man is a long-lost relative of my husbands ancestors in Scotland.) Theres a lot of ground to cover between the Final Battles aftermath in DH -- which is bittersweet, at best -- and the happy families we see in the Epilogue. While I dont intend to fill in the full nineteen years, I hope to address the significant turning points. In the process, Im injecting some entertaining, and unexpected. twists and turns. After all, a writer is not bound by the laws of nature -- and thats as far as I can elaborate without spoilers.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/08/11 19:33
Chapter: Twnety - Two / Hermione: The Glittering Grotto

Heh -- that was fun! :-) It's often good to get to see different perspectives on events. (And I tended to read a lot of Mythology when I was younger.)

And it seems that Ron has had a bit of an epiphany; good thing he's getting the support he needs.

Author's Response: I confess to just following JKRs footsteps by tweaking mythological themes. Seems to fit in well with how wizards have hidden secrets about their world within tales that are remembered by Muggles, yet discounted as imaginary. That alone is perhaps what makes the entire construct of the HP universe so utterly believable. So when in Greece.

Its taken me a while to feel that I can adequately make the Hermione-Ron connection work, so Im glad you approve. (Snapes snarkiness comes so much more readily to me, Im afraid.)

Sneak peek: an actual journey into mythological realms in upcoming chapters.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Full House by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
"Power and the money, money and the power,Minute after minute, hour after hour."-Gangsta's...
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Ties That Bind by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Life is short, but this time it was biggerThan the strength he had to get up...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
CATEGORIES