Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: foolondahill17
Date: 10/21/14 18:49
Chapter: Nine / Dumbledore: On the Wings of a Thestral

My gosh, this chapter is gorgeous. Tears are falling thick and fast. You write beautifully and I'm thoroughly enjoying this story, and looking forward to perusing your others. I'm particularly impressed with your dialog, which has both wit and intelligence. I'm intrigued with the concept of Moody's survival, and wondering whether or not he shall ever reveal himself to the remainders of the Order. Hopefully he shall; I found it exceedingly sad that Tonks didn't realize he was still alive before she died. Well, on to the next chapter....

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 10/20/14 19:13
Chapter: Forty - Five / Augusta Longbottom: Perseverance & Prophecy

This has always been a great story with filled out characters, but this chapter was just pure delight.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 10/19/14 20:36
Chapter: Forty - Five / Augusta Longbottom: Perseverance & Prophecy

"Knots of boys debating the latest Quidditch standings. What could spell the return of normalcy more than that?" -- LOL! Indeed!

Excellent missive ("Dark Denouncer") from Snape. :-}

Interesting thought (re: "creative" punishments). :-)

"...a special deck of cards with Dolores Umbridge as the Queen of Spades, that is." Oh. My. LOL! :-)

Luna's note is very nice.

Well done!

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 05/27/14 12:37
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

Thank you for the long and satisfactory chapter. Loved it.
I only felt- the way Abe spoke about Albus to Augusta- expressing regret that he couldn't save his reputation, that he considered going to court, even- was not like the man who was about to vent so much bitterness about his brother to Harry. In fact the way Aberforth speaks all the time is a bit too polished and measured, know what I mean? He's a more rough character in the book. This is just my opinion though. And I loved reading it all the same.
Cheers for Slughorn's unique perspective. Keep writing.

Author's Response: Very astute analysis. I’m so energized by careful readers who mull over the developments. No doubt about it, the Aberforth that Augusta meets is different from the one who confronts Harry. But they are two sides to the same person; recall that Aberforth claims that he is the one who could best soothe Ariana so there has to be a more gentle side to him, even if the doesn’t have much opportunity to display it.

The two conversations are actually intended to be reverse images of one another. In each case, it is the other person’s reaction to Rita’s book that sets the tone for Aberforth. Since Augusta dismisses it as intentionally scandalous, Aberforth responds in an amiable, more introspective manner with her; they bond over their other similarities as substitute caregivers as well. From the moment that Harry tells Aberforth that he really doesn’t want to hear what happened between him and his brother so many years ago, Aberforth can tell that the boy’s perspective has already been tarnished by Rita’s lies. Add to that Hermione’s pitying looks and it’s obvious that despite their denials, they have accepted Skeeter’s skewed recount. Past resentments well up in Aberforth as he sees Harry’s mission as nothing more than another case of Albus’ manipulation. Note that in spite of Aberforth’s dismissive tone to Harry, he still has not abandoned the fight and comes to Hogwarts’ aid during the battle. You could almost say that in his harsh words, he is testing Harry’s mettle.

Glad you liked how I made Slughorn a more palatable sort of Slytherin. It was an essential point to establish the camaraderie that we see between him and Dumbledore in HBP was not just Albus being the puppet master.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/27/14 4:45
Chapter: Forty - Four / Augusta Longbottom: Ragtag Renegades

"adored with House emblems." I think that should be adorned. I like this Aberforth.

Author's Response: Talk about a Freudian slip, lol! Thanks for catching that; I went back and fixed it during the small window that allows for edits without causing major disruptions with the remainder of the text. (I lost a major part of one afternoon making manual corrections to every other line of one chapter – and hope to never have to do so again for the sake of a single typo.)

Glad you like my take on Aberforth. I was certain there had to be a more nurturing side of him when he said that he was the one who was best able to connect with Ariana.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/26/14 21:56
Chapter: Forty - Four / Augusta Longbottom: Ragtag Renegades

"Baking biscuits, for all I know...." Indeed. :-}

I rather enjoy the illustrations of diversity among the folks involved.

Well done!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed! Snape would bake bittersweet biscuits shaped like thestrals, don’t you think? Then there’s the image of a white frilly apron tied over his funereal black robes, lol!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/26/14 20:23
Chapter: Forty - Four / Augusta Longbottom: Ragtag Renegades

Brilliant as always! I'm loving this look into where Augusta might have been!!

Author's Response: Thanks. Please don’t abandon this story yet! More twists to come from Augusta’s perspective.

Reviewer: Emma Garland
Date: 02/16/14 13:27
Chapter: Forty - Three / Augusta Longbottom: Every Garden Needs Sunshine

I can't wait for the next chapter! Thank you again for your stories! ~Emma

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I apologize for being so long to update. I’ve had the next two chapters ready for weeks and weeks and haven’t been able to find a free moment.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I apologize for being so long to update. I’ve had the next two chapters ready for weeks and weeks and haven’t been able to find a free moment.

Reviewer: Emma Garland
Date: 02/16/14 9:00
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

I read your trilogy & loved it! This story is Ab Fab as well! Thank you & keep updating! You're my fav fanfic author. ~Emma

Author's Response: So glad you liked the other stories, too. Thanks for all the encouraging words and sticking through the long, winding journey.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 12/28/13 19:51
Chapter: Forty - Three / Augusta Longbottom: Every Garden Needs Sunshine

Well done -- though I confess that on reading the final paragraph, I was anticipating a rather more common form of "avian revenge" (involving effective reduction of body mass to facilitate takeoff). :-}

Nice retelling of "Jack and the Beanstalk" -- and who better to tell it than Luna? :-) Augusta's reaction to the Lovegoods was ... priceless. :-)

The descriptions of the "state of things" around the beginning of Neville's 7th year were quite apt. I'm certainly glad I didn't need to experience such things firsthand.

Author's Response: Too funny! Of course that’s how a true bird would react! I was thinking like a Muggle and not a true animal. Makes me wonder just how much an Animagus reverts into the animal’s mind. Other than Sirius commenting that he had survived the horrors of Azkaban by reverting to dog-shape, not much is said about the subject.

No doubt about it, Luna has a winsome manner when adds the wizard’s twist to any story. I remember Harry remarking that much of the themes from Muggle fairy tales turned out to be fact in the wizarding world. I always imagined that the original tales were penned for wizards; and then when the Statute of Secrecy was imposed, they were rewritten to act as subtle warnings to Muggles to either (1) stay away; or (2) believe in magic at the risk of being thought insane. There’s a certain mood encapsulated in the opening of the DH2 movie when we see Snape surveying the Hogwarts courtyard and it looks more like a prisoner of war camp. I simply adapted this monotone grimness to Diagon Alley. WWW would be the last shop to succumb to it, but it does eventually as we see in Chapter 8 – although I always suspected the twins continued their Owl Order service even when in hiding at Auntie Muriel’s.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 12/28/13 10:41
Chapter: Forty - Three / Augusta Longbottom: Every Garden Needs Sunshine

Always a pleasure to get another chapter in this huge saga.

Author's Response: Sorry to have kept you waiting so long. The tale’s not over yet. Thanks for not abandoning hope.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 09/06/13 6:01
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

LAMoody,
Absolutely fantastic. I know that Neville's Gran was a force to be reckoned with, but this just takes that even further. I thank you for a very believable history lesson. That sounds so right. Amazing. I got a kick out of both Mrs. Longbottom's patronus and her Animagus. Makes so much sense. More, More, More!
FoM

Author's Response: Sometimes history makes so much more sense when you look at it from a fresh perspective, don't you think? Couldn't help making Augusta into an Animagus after we were told over and over that she always wore a hat with a vulture perched on it. After all the mentions of Snape's robes billowing like bat wings, it made perfect sense that he had the ability to change himself into one in DH.

Glad you enjoyed. Augusta will be showing more of her mettle in the chapters to come.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/26/13 10:06
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

Neviille is one of my favourite characters.

Author's Response: Music to my ears. You'll be please to know that a single Longbottom chapter managed to morph into 4 by the time I was done.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 08/25/13 20:10
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

Augusta Longbottom's is an interesting perspective from which to examine things, certainly. And yes, a stenographer for the Wizengamot would be in a position to learn of many things.

Mild curiousity-point: I don't imagine much of anything about Minerva McGonagall as being especially "frail." :-} (Guiding wayward students by the ear might qualify as a hand-strengthening exercise, yes...? :-})

Having Mrs. Longbottom be an Animagus is an interesting touch.

Nicely done.

Author's Response: The Animagus part was practically implied by all the mentions of her hat adorned with a vulture. I changed the word "fragile" for "bony" which was actually more what I meant. Thanks for pointing that out, though. More to come from Augusta...

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/25/13 15:31
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

I didn't think it was possible but you've completely out done yourself with this chapter!! I love how you brought in that Wallis Simpson used a love potion on Prince Edward! Brilliant!! I love your portrayal of Augusta too! Everyone else paints her as domineering and detached you've captured her heart! Well done!!

Author's Response: So pleased you approve of my take on Augusta! She always struck me as being more like McGonagall: strict and hard to please, but not heartless by any means. Imposing enough that Neville feals totally overwhelmed -- especially when you consider that his parents are just one step shy of being martyrs.

Revisionist history is so much fun, I must say. Couldn't help capitalizing on Augusta's escape from the Death Eaters in the upcoming chapter.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 06/02/13 12:06
Chapter: Forty - One / Harry: The Ruins of Babylon

L A Moody,
In light of the full conversation, I wonder if some of Draco's attitude was for his parents sake, I kept thinking you had spelled the name of Draco's wife wrong. It was spelled with an o instead of an e, in DH. But as the dictionary showed both names originated in Grecian Mythology. The chapter itself was very entertaining as well as informative. The discussion of elves was fascinating as well as plausible to adhere to the story.
Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I reviewed DH but Draco’s wife is not mentioned by name. My source is a family tree chart which was posted on JKR’s website which spelled it with an “e.” Somehow it got picked up by a lot of fans as Astoria, with an “o” -- likely because it was a more familiar name. I decided that I preferred the original with an “e” as it tied in better with the wizarding custom of naming girls after flower and/or stars; Asteria actually does both. Not to mention that Astoria, with an “o”, sounds just like a hoity-toity name the Pansy Parkinson’s of the world would use; and I wanted Draco to grow away from that.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/28/13 4:58
Chapter: Forty - One / Harry: The Ruins of Babylon

Worth the wait.

Author's Response: Thanks for making my day! That was the absolute sweetest comment of all. Hope you won’t lose heart waiting for the next installment. One chapter has morphed into four and it’s been a bit like wrestling a bear.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/27/13 23:12
Chapter: Forty - One / Harry: The Ruins of Babylon

Ah, nothing quite like a reunion of schoolmates, is there...? :-}

And to add to the shakiness of whatever ground Draco seems to think he stands on, he's learning of aspects of his bride that seem to catch him a bit off-guard (at best). I'd claim sympathy, but I'd be lying. (Smirk.)

Narcissa seems to regard Harry with a level of antipathy that's rather higher than I would have expected -- but then, I can't really claim empathy with her position, either.

It is rather nice that Harry was able to get Neville's help.

Well done.

Author's Response: I felt this reunion was essential to set up the action in the DH Epilogue. Of course I couldn’t resist adding some of the events which happened off-screen, so to speak. As for Narcissa’s attitude, she always struck me as the type who would blame her current woes on Harry, as the catalyst of Voldemort’s downfall, rather than on her and her husband’s decision to back the darkest horse (with no intended slight to thestrals, that is). Glad you enjoyed.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 03/04/13 1:24
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

Moody,
A very interesting chapter. Sybill was always a little known character, but had a major impact on Harry and the Magical world. I wonder if Minerva will ever tell her that it was she who reported the Prophecy. Somehow I think she shouldn't know. This was a spot on description. I am glad that her talents led her to really see Severus as he really was.
FoM

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed my take on Sybill. I always felt that there was more beneath that flaky, bohemian exterior than what we got to see as the trio never really warmed up to her. Of course, she’s just as clueless of how the outside world perceives her as she is of her true talents. Keeping her in the dark about her own involvement in the prophecy which led to Voldemort’s rampage is just one more way in which Dumbledore protected her from accidentally saying the wrong thing to the wrong person; it seems that he would’ve shared these thoughts with Minerva as well.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 02/04/13 23:47
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

Seeing things from Trelawney's perspective is certainly ... different. Possibly a bit disorienting, as well. :-}

In her reflections on Remus, we see an excellent illustration of the primary distinction between "sympathy" and "empathy."

I suppose it's not unexpected that Trelawney has an affinity for lighthouses.

Her conversation with Ms Figg is fairly entertaining -- particularly the exploits of "Madame Voula."

It is rather amusing that no one will tell her that she's the one who made the prophecy. :-}

I rather like your portrayal of Minerva McGonagall.

Snape at the dance is an interesting (and amusing) scene.

Her observations on Snape's aura make sense, I think.

And yes, building the foundation for a true peace is indeed "the true challenge."

Author's Response: Seeing Sybill through Harry’s eyes means that we only see her as a charlatan, rather like Gilderoy Lockhart minus the ego. But she doesn’t see herself that way. And in light of the two “real” prophecies which she’s uttered (not to mention her Tarot reading of the lightning struck tower in the days before Dumbledore’s murder), she does have some modest, if unreliable, talent. As the outsider, though, her true value is that she can make such telling observations about others.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES