Reviews For Chocolate Frog
Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 05/27/14 12:37
Chapter: One / Moody: Limbo

Thank you for the long and satisfactory chapter. Loved it.
I only felt- the way Abe spoke about Albus to Augusta- expressing regret that he couldn't save his reputation, that he considered going to court, even- was not like the man who was about to vent so much bitterness about his brother to Harry. In fact the way Aberforth speaks all the time is a bit too polished and measured, know what I mean? He's a more rough character in the book. This is just my opinion though. And I loved reading it all the same.
Cheers for Slughorn's unique perspective. Keep writing.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/27/14 4:45
Chapter: Forty - Four / Augusta Longbottom: Ragtag Renegades

"adored with House emblems." I think that should be adorned. I like this Aberforth.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/26/14 21:56
Chapter: Forty - Four / Augusta Longbottom: Ragtag Renegades

"Baking biscuits, for all I know...." Indeed. :-}

I rather enjoy the illustrations of diversity among the folks involved.

Well done!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/26/14 20:23
Chapter: Forty - Four / Augusta Longbottom: Ragtag Renegades

Brilliant as always! I'm loving this look into where Augusta might have been!!

Reviewer: Emma Garland
Date: 02/16/14 13:27
Chapter: Forty - Three / Augusta Longbottom: Every Garden Needs Sunshine

I can't wait for the next chapter! Thank you again for your stories! ~Emma

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I apologize for being so long to update. I’ve had the next two chapters ready for weeks and weeks and haven’t been able to find a free moment.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I apologize for being so long to update. I’ve had the next two chapters ready for weeks and weeks and haven’t been able to find a free moment.

Reviewer: Emma Garland
Date: 02/16/14 9:00
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

I read your trilogy & loved it! This story is Ab Fab as well! Thank you & keep updating! You're my fav fanfic author. ~Emma

Author's Response: So glad you liked the other stories, too. Thanks for all the encouraging words and sticking through the long, winding journey.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 12/28/13 19:51
Chapter: Forty - Three / Augusta Longbottom: Every Garden Needs Sunshine

Well done -- though I confess that on reading the final paragraph, I was anticipating a rather more common form of "avian revenge" (involving effective reduction of body mass to facilitate takeoff). :-}

Nice retelling of "Jack and the Beanstalk" -- and who better to tell it than Luna? :-) Augusta's reaction to the Lovegoods was ... priceless. :-)

The descriptions of the "state of things" around the beginning of Neville's 7th year were quite apt. I'm certainly glad I didn't need to experience such things firsthand.

Author's Response: Too funny! Of course that’s how a true bird would react! I was thinking like a Muggle and not a true animal. Makes me wonder just how much an Animagus reverts into the animal’s mind. Other than Sirius commenting that he had survived the horrors of Azkaban by reverting to dog-shape, not much is said about the subject.

No doubt about it, Luna has a winsome manner when adds the wizard’s twist to any story. I remember Harry remarking that much of the themes from Muggle fairy tales turned out to be fact in the wizarding world. I always imagined that the original tales were penned for wizards; and then when the Statute of Secrecy was imposed, they were rewritten to act as subtle warnings to Muggles to either (1) stay away; or (2) believe in magic at the risk of being thought insane. There’s a certain mood encapsulated in the opening of the DH2 movie when we see Snape surveying the Hogwarts courtyard and it looks more like a prisoner of war camp. I simply adapted this monotone grimness to Diagon Alley. WWW would be the last shop to succumb to it, but it does eventually as we see in Chapter 8 – although I always suspected the twins continued their Owl Order service even when in hiding at Auntie Muriel’s.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 12/28/13 10:41
Chapter: Forty - Three / Augusta Longbottom: Every Garden Needs Sunshine

Always a pleasure to get another chapter in this huge saga.

Author's Response: Sorry to have kept you waiting so long. The tale’s not over yet. Thanks for not abandoning hope.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 09/06/13 6:01
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

LAMoody,
Absolutely fantastic. I know that Neville's Gran was a force to be reckoned with, but this just takes that even further. I thank you for a very believable history lesson. That sounds so right. Amazing. I got a kick out of both Mrs. Longbottom's patronus and her Animagus. Makes so much sense. More, More, More!
FoM

Author's Response: Sometimes history makes so much more sense when you look at it from a fresh perspective, don't you think? Couldn't help making Augusta into an Animagus after we were told over and over that she always wore a hat with a vulture perched on it. After all the mentions of Snape's robes billowing like bat wings, it made perfect sense that he had the ability to change himself into one in DH.

Glad you enjoyed. Augusta will be showing more of her mettle in the chapters to come.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/26/13 10:06
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

Neviille is one of my favourite characters.

Author's Response: Music to my ears. You'll be please to know that a single Longbottom chapter managed to morph into 4 by the time I was done.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 08/25/13 20:10
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

Augusta Longbottom's is an interesting perspective from which to examine things, certainly. And yes, a stenographer for the Wizengamot would be in a position to learn of many things.

Mild curiousity-point: I don't imagine much of anything about Minerva McGonagall as being especially "frail." :-} (Guiding wayward students by the ear might qualify as a hand-strengthening exercise, yes...? :-})

Having Mrs. Longbottom be an Animagus is an interesting touch.

Nicely done.

Author's Response: The Animagus part was practically implied by all the mentions of her hat adorned with a vulture. I changed the word "fragile" for "bony" which was actually more what I meant. Thanks for pointing that out, though. More to come from Augusta...

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/25/13 15:31
Chapter: Forty - Two / Augusta Longbottom: A Core of Pragmatism

I didn't think it was possible but you've completely out done yourself with this chapter!! I love how you brought in that Wallis Simpson used a love potion on Prince Edward! Brilliant!! I love your portrayal of Augusta too! Everyone else paints her as domineering and detached you've captured her heart! Well done!!

Author's Response: So pleased you approve of my take on Augusta! She always struck me as being more like McGonagall: strict and hard to please, but not heartless by any means. Imposing enough that Neville feals totally overwhelmed -- especially when you consider that his parents are just one step shy of being martyrs.

Revisionist history is so much fun, I must say. Couldn't help capitalizing on Augusta's escape from the Death Eaters in the upcoming chapter.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 06/02/13 12:06
Chapter: Forty - One / Harry: The Ruins of Babylon

L A Moody,
In light of the full conversation, I wonder if some of Draco's attitude was for his parents sake, I kept thinking you had spelled the name of Draco's wife wrong. It was spelled with an o instead of an e, in DH. But as the dictionary showed both names originated in Grecian Mythology. The chapter itself was very entertaining as well as informative. The discussion of elves was fascinating as well as plausible to adhere to the story.
Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I reviewed DH but Draco’s wife is not mentioned by name. My source is a family tree chart which was posted on JKR’s website which spelled it with an “e.” Somehow it got picked up by a lot of fans as Astoria, with an “o” -- likely because it was a more familiar name. I decided that I preferred the original with an “e” as it tied in better with the wizarding custom of naming girls after flower and/or stars; Asteria actually does both. Not to mention that Astoria, with an “o”, sounds just like a hoity-toity name the Pansy Parkinson’s of the world would use; and I wanted Draco to grow away from that.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/28/13 4:58
Chapter: Forty - One / Harry: The Ruins of Babylon

Worth the wait.

Author's Response: Thanks for making my day! That was the absolute sweetest comment of all. Hope you won’t lose heart waiting for the next installment. One chapter has morphed into four and it’s been a bit like wrestling a bear.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 05/27/13 23:12
Chapter: Forty - One / Harry: The Ruins of Babylon

Ah, nothing quite like a reunion of schoolmates, is there...? :-}

And to add to the shakiness of whatever ground Draco seems to think he stands on, he's learning of aspects of his bride that seem to catch him a bit off-guard (at best). I'd claim sympathy, but I'd be lying. (Smirk.)

Narcissa seems to regard Harry with a level of antipathy that's rather higher than I would have expected -- but then, I can't really claim empathy with her position, either.

It is rather nice that Harry was able to get Neville's help.

Well done.

Author's Response: I felt this reunion was essential to set up the action in the DH Epilogue. Of course I couldn’t resist adding some of the events which happened off-screen, so to speak. As for Narcissa’s attitude, she always struck me as the type who would blame her current woes on Harry, as the catalyst of Voldemort’s downfall, rather than on her and her husband’s decision to back the darkest horse (with no intended slight to thestrals, that is). Glad you enjoyed.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 03/04/13 1:24
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

Moody,
A very interesting chapter. Sybill was always a little known character, but had a major impact on Harry and the Magical world. I wonder if Minerva will ever tell her that it was she who reported the Prophecy. Somehow I think she shouldn't know. This was a spot on description. I am glad that her talents led her to really see Severus as he really was.
FoM

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed my take on Sybill. I always felt that there was more beneath that flaky, bohemian exterior than what we got to see as the trio never really warmed up to her. Of course, she’s just as clueless of how the outside world perceives her as she is of her true talents. Keeping her in the dark about her own involvement in the prophecy which led to Voldemort’s rampage is just one more way in which Dumbledore protected her from accidentally saying the wrong thing to the wrong person; it seems that he would’ve shared these thoughts with Minerva as well.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 02/04/13 23:47
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

Seeing things from Trelawney's perspective is certainly ... different. Possibly a bit disorienting, as well. :-}

In her reflections on Remus, we see an excellent illustration of the primary distinction between "sympathy" and "empathy."

I suppose it's not unexpected that Trelawney has an affinity for lighthouses.

Her conversation with Ms Figg is fairly entertaining -- particularly the exploits of "Madame Voula."

It is rather amusing that no one will tell her that she's the one who made the prophecy. :-}

I rather like your portrayal of Minerva McGonagall.

Snape at the dance is an interesting (and amusing) scene.

Her observations on Snape's aura make sense, I think.

And yes, building the foundation for a true peace is indeed "the true challenge."

Author's Response: Seeing Sybill through Harry’s eyes means that we only see her as a charlatan, rather like Gilderoy Lockhart minus the ego. But she doesn’t see herself that way. And in light of the two “real” prophecies which she’s uttered (not to mention her Tarot reading of the lightning struck tower in the days before Dumbledore’s murder), she does have some modest, if unreliable, talent. As the outsider, though, her true value is that she can make such telling observations about others.

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 02/04/13 10:04
Chapter: Forty / Sybill: A View from the Ivory Tower

wow! I don't think I've ever read a fic that treated Sybil with so much insight and dignity. Good chapter.

Author's Response: So glad I was able to portray Sybill in a new way. I’ve always felt there was more to this character than just comic relief. Certainly, in retrospect, it’s clear that Dumbledore realizes she will be targeted by the Death Eaters and offers her a position at the school to keep her safe. Just look at how he defended her removal from school grounds after Umbridge’s performance review; he didn’t interfere in any of the toad woman’s other staff reductions. In light of what we ultimately learn of Umbridge’s true allegiances, I can’t help but think that she had ulterior motives all along. Consider that while the other Death Eaters were trying to find a way to retrieve the prophecy from the Department of Mysteries, Umbridge had a Plan B to procure the source of the prophecy instead. Perhaps she was deluded enough to hope that Sybill could provide her dark master with even more prophercies. Removing her from the protection of Hogwarts castle would’ve been the first step in torturing her for information.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 12/31/12 17:01
Chapter: Thirty - Nine / Harry: A Visit to the Reliquary

This story has had its ups and downs, but they are all in a better place now.I just wish everybody in the world could have a New Year with the same to look forward to. Happy New year to all fanfiction writers and readers.

Author's Response: And a happy new year to you as well! But don't go thnkng this story is winding down. I still have some twists and turns in store to get the characters lined up for their roles in the epilogue.

Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream
Date: 12/31/12 11:42
Chapter: Thirty - Nine / Harry: A Visit to the Reliquary

Ah -- so it seems that Pygmy Puffs may be related to Tribbles, eh? :-)

I find it interesting (and possibly curious) that the journalist cited last hadn't linked the alternate perspective with Harry's date for the evening.

So Percy does add value to the community after all -- good show!

Well done.

Author's Response: I hadn't thought about the Pygmy Puff - Tribble connection, but it certainly works! I was just thinking about a product that would bring the joke shop a quick proft without having to be engineered, a process which used to be handled by both twins together.

Granted, it could be that the journalist was totally clusless; the example of Rita Skeeter's story about Harry and Hermione's romance at the start of the First Task comes to mind. Knowing what we do about the Prophet needing to sell itself, however, it's also possible that her wording was intended to sitr up speculation thus guaranteeing readers would return for the continuing story. Using Harry's life to sell newspapers in nothing new.

Granted Percy's a bit of a tosser, but I don't think he was ever a convert to the dark side, either. More like he didn't want reality to derail his career, then finally growing the backbone to see that if he didn't fight back, there would be nothing left for anyone. So you could say he starts out a bit like Fudge and then realizes his error. Unlike Fudge, he won't have a career that is based on a series of lcleve fabrications and slight of hand.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES