Reviewer: Gabriella Hunter
Date: 10/09/11 7:37
Chapter: Good Bones

Nothing to report, I was curious as to what happened to her in the books, but, once again, this makes me feel better. Go kids!

Author's Response: Thanks. Susan, too, is one of the characters who will reappear in my stories. -N-

Reviewer: Gabriella Hunter
Date: 10/09/11 7:31
Chapter: The Confession of Augusta Longbottom

Very endearing, I really loved it. I was sort of worried for her in the actual book cause we don't know what happens to her but this makes me feel better.

Author's Response: Thanks. This chapter, despite being about the battle, is set further into the future than anything else I've written. -N-

Reviewer: Gabriella Hunter
Date: 10/09/11 7:25
Chapter: Protheroe's Perspective

I don't know who this character is but I like his POV from the battle and his experiences with Tonks and Colin. Nothing negative to say.

Author's Response: Polly Protheroe, Muggle-born goth Auror makes a few appearances in my other stories (all of my stories take place in the same future timeline. But why do you think she's a he? Isn't it obvious? -N-

Reviewer: Gabriella Hunter
Date: 10/09/11 7:19
Chapter: Great to be Back

She is very correct on her views, i've always loved her. Only very minor grammar issues but they were so small that i barely caught them. Otherwise, well done.

Author's Response: Thanks. Any grammar issue, no matter how small, please let me know. -N-

Reviewer: Gabriella Hunter
Date: 10/09/11 7:15
Chapter: Galleon

Hahaha, I bet he does want Luna. But this is nicely done, I have nothing negative to say.

Author's Response: Thanks
I'm a conon geek. All of my stories comply with JKR's stuff (including the epilogue). Harry and Ginny will always be friends of Luna (they name their daughter after her).
-N-

Reviewer: Gabriella Hunter
Date: 10/09/11 7:11
Chapter: The Calm Before

I always wonder what she was up to before the battle started. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks. I hope you enjoy the rest of these tales. -N-

Reviewer: crazybets
Date: 09/01/11 23:09
Chapter: The Calm Before

Oh I love your storys. You certainly have created your own little Harry Potter Universe! I'm always excited when I see you have updated any of your storys.

KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!
Greetings from Germany

Author's Response: Schönen Dank
I have, and (other than Is Draco…) I intend to keep to the same timeline for both major and minor characters.
-N-

Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 09/01/11 16:35
Chapter: Bad Faith

I have to admit, I loved Draco getting beat up by various Weasleys, not just Ron.

Author's Response: When I decided to try to chart Draco’s movements after his rescue from the Room of Requirement by Harry, via Ron’s thump, to the Great Hall, I wasn’t certain how this would go. It wasn’t until I’d roughed out “Snakeslayer” that this idea formed. -N-

Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 09/01/11 14:41
Chapter: Great to be Back

This sounds exactly like Luna, really brilliant characterization!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: scruffieslytherin
Date: 07/16/11 15:51
Chapter: Seamus Awake

what I like about this work is that it doesnt have to be read in order which is cool and I also like hearing these stories a lot especially about the DA. Yet again great job i'm turning into quite the fan! in hpatdh2 they showed how dean luna seamus etc turned out after and during the battle which I loved so it was great to see this work! well done

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Although it does not have to be read in order, this is one battle and some things cross from one chapter to another. For example chapters 11, 12, 13 and 19 are all relevant to the future of "my" Lavender and to some extent revolve around her.
The entire sequence defines a lot of the minor characters for the increasingly complicated future history in my other stories.
-N-

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/10/11 8:40
Chapter: Protheroe's Perspective

What a sad emotional ending to a chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review (and nice to see you here). Polly (as you know) reappears in other stories. I hope that you enjoy the rest of these tales. They are the foundation on which my other stories are built. -N-

Reviewer: The_lighter_darkness
Date: 06/26/11 15:03
Chapter: Great to be Back

I like the idea, but Luna sounds very very young here. Of course, she does have strange views...but personally I would of said from the little she does say, her articulacy levels are alot higher and I would expect her thought to be alot more fluent. The idea is a good one though, and the last two chapters were very well characterised x

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Luna’s voice is difficult to capture (for me, anyway). Re-reading this, months (a year?) after it was originally written, I find that, to some extent I agree with you. However, Luna rarely uses long words, her gift is more for simple, if unnerving, statements. -N-

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 05/17/11 22:34
Chapter: Voldemort Doesn't Play Quidditch

That was a great story. I loved that it had some humor mixed in with everything. The last few had been so sad (which is absolutely appropriate for the overall topic, of course), but it was nice to be able to laugh a little too.

On a slightly unrelated note:
One thing I've always thought would be interesting to read about would be a kind of alumni Quidditch match, with some of the best players from the years Harry was there. They had some pretty spectacular players, in all houses, and they never really got to have that one spectacular team together, except maybe Harry's first year. But Quidditch play is a difficult thing to write, and for now, it's just a dream.

Anyway, thanks for the wonderful stories.

Author's Response: Thanks again. I try to stick a little humour in some of these tales as otherwise they’d be unremittingly grim. After Swimsuit Quidditch I’m not certain that I’ll be able to write a serious Quidditch story, but my plans for the sequel to the sequel to Aurors and Schoolgirls (will I ever get there?) include a “Gryffindor old pupils” team: Bell, Peakes, Potter, Robbins, Weasley G, Weasley GM, Wood. Perhaps, one day... -N-

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 05/17/11 21:22
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

I never really liked Ernie, and the last two tales haven't helped. But I think that you definitely did a great job with this character. I keep reading these stories, one after another, and I think you've done splendidly with filling in some of the background of what happened during that battle. I always wished there could be more description of what happened, more action, but the books have always been Harry-centric, so this is possibly the best way to introduce that other material. Thank you for that.

Author's Response: I never liked Ernie much either, but I found myself liking him more after this story. I wrote this collection for a challenge on another site. Though these stories are much expanded and greatly improved. In addition to telling the stories, these tales also serve to give me background and characterisation for “the minors” in my other stories. -N-

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 05/17/11 20:42
Chapter: Great to be Back

I thought you captured Luna's character extremely well. There are a few grammar mistakes here and there, but I know it's almost impossible to catch every one. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I think that I’ve (finally) caught all oft the errors and I will be posting corrected versions of the first five chapters soon. –N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/10/11 5:28
Chapter: Index

And thus it ends...

I have to say, I wondered how you would be able to tie this amazing set of stories together and od them all justice... and you certainly didn't disappoint. I think there's a nice pattern to it that the first story was about Madam Pomfrey and the last about Madam Pince. I think the amazing thing about this is that you really stuck to her character in canon (as in when she talks about the students ruining books etc.), and yet you made her... compassionate? I suppose that's the right word.

You ask some interesting questions in this... like Is one tragedy less than another simply because there are fewer corpses? Or is it greater because several of the victims were teenagers? I suppose there's not really an answer to it. You're just highlighting how there is so little need for death, how pointless it is.

With quill in hand, I recorded the night’s events. Nothing? A waste of time? I do not think so. I am no Healer, no Auror and no warrior. I did what I could, what I do best. I really loved this line, and I think it really shows how death affects everyone around it. So even though Irma wasn't in danger herself, she still had to cope with the death surrounding her and try and deal with it. And she did all she could to help.

The idea of destroying books is repugnant. It goes against everything I have been taught, everything I believe. Books lift the brume of ignorance. But perhaps the loss forever of these books would be condign, an appropriate threnody for the fallen.
'Not at all,' I tell her.
Somehow that is just the perfect ending for this whole story... I guess there's something about burning those books which suggests cleansing or healing, allowing for rebirth... kind of like a phoenix.

Anyway, I'm so glad I decided to read Tales of the Battle, it's been a fantastic read.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Katrina

I wasn’t certain how I was going to finish this myself (for a while Paperwork was going to be the final chapter). Eventually, I decided to reread the stories. I got no further than “The Calm Before”. The second I read it, I knew it had to be Madam Pince, and this story flowed very quickly from that decision.

Possibly it’s because I’m a fan of Terry Pratchett, but I believe that being the Librarian in a magical library is a potentially dangerous job. I’ve tried to show Madam Pince as very well-read and rather detached.

Thanks for all of your reviews. Every one of them interesting and thought provoking.
Neil

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/10/11 5:28
Chapter: Index

And thus it ends...

I have to say, I wondered how you would be able to tie this amazing set of stories together and od them all justice... and you certainly didn't disappoint. I think there's a nice pattern to it that the first story was about Madam Pomfrey and the last about Madam Pince. I think the amazing thing about this is that you really stuck to her character in canon (as in when she talks about the students ruining books etc.), and yet you made her... compassionate? I suppose that's the right word.

You ask some interesting questions in this... like Is one tragedy less than another simply because there are fewer corpses? Or is it greater because several of the victims were teenagers? I suppose there's not really an answer to it. You're just highlighting how there is so little need for death, how pointless it is.

With quill in hand, I recorded the night’s events. Nothing? A waste of time? I do not think so. I am no Healer, no Auror and no warrior. I did what I could, what I do best. I really loved this line, and I think it really shows how death affects everyone around it. So even though Irma wasn't in danger herself, she still had to cope with the death surrounding her and try and deal with it. And she did all she could to help.

The idea of destroying books is repugnant. It goes against everything I have been taught, everything I believe. Books lift the brume of ignorance. But perhaps the loss forever of these books would be condign, an appropriate threnody for the fallen.
'Not at all,' I tell her.
Somehow that is just the perfect ending for this whole story... I guess there's something about burning those books which suggests cleansing or healing, allowing for rebirth... kind of like a phoenix.

Anyway, I'm so glad I decided to read Tales of the Battle, it's been a fantastic read.

~Katrina

Author's Response: So good you reviewed it twice? ;-D -N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/10/11 5:16
Chapter: Paperwork

Hello again,

Broken Flint: Very interesting. I'm really glad you wrote a story which shows what the 'bad guys' did after the battle. I think your characterisation of Millicent is very interesting... and it certainly fit her to carve Marcus' initials into her skin... and yet, despite her seeming to be 'bad', it was obvious that she cared about Marcus, which somehow seems to redeem her a bit, at least in my perspective.

Ouroboros: What a perfectly manipulative Narcissa. That was so realistic - at one point you wrote something about how Lucius adopted a bored/aloof look that he wore so well or something, it really shows how the only thing the Malfoys seem to be good at is acting. You've made them seem so interesting in this, I'd love to see your take on how they're holding up a few years down the track. Particularly Draco.

Paperwork: It's funny how sometimes seeing the pain and loss in the world can lead us to rediscover what's important... This story was one of my favourites from the series. Finding the killer didn’t stop her victims from being dead. That's just so true. I imagine it would be extremely difficult to be 'professionally detached' when you're dealing with dead people, who, as you point out, are all someone's daughter or son, or friend, or brother or sister.

Anyway, I'm rather curious to see how you'll tie everything up in the last story... I suspect you'll hear from me again soon. Sofar everything has been well-written, well-characterised, poignant, true to canon... fantastic.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Katrina

Broken Flint was my chance to create a few minor villains (apart from Goyle, the others are little more than names). Bigoted Mudblood-hating racists can love people (just not Mudbloods). This chapter gave me four villains (including Colin’s killer) for Harry and co. to chase in other stories. I don’t believe that Millicent is as stupid as many people think, she simply knows when to get physical.

I hate stories featuring nice, redeemed, and contrite Malfoys. They are great villains, and stories need great villains. Draco was never witty, simply cruel and Narcissa needs to keep him quiet. Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny should never be certain whether the Malfoys have changed, or are merely pretending they have changed. It worked for the Malfoy’s after the first war.

Paperwork underwent several rewrites (the final version had a “happy” ending because the original was simply too bleak). Whether Auror Al (don’t call him Spider) Webb reappears in my other stories is something I haven’t decided.
Neil

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/10/11 1:43
Chapter: Snakeslayer

Neville is one of my favourite characters, so I just had to leave a review after this story, too... (I think it's my fifth review on Tales of the Battle).

You really are incredible at taking what JKR gives us in canon and recreating her characters with your own additions. Neville was just perfect in this. I liked the comparisons you drew between him and Harry, because really I see them as very similar. Neither thinks they're particularly brave, but when it comes down to it, they find something inside themselves. I suppose in a way it is because both of them have lead such a damaged childhood and are fighting the people who caused them to lose their parents.

I liked the constant reminder of "Kill the snake", particularly as it tied in with the title. It shows that Neville has a focus, despite the chaos surrounding him during the battle.

I loved the ending... in so few words you managed to convey such an important idea. Particularly the line "I have no idea how Harry copes with this". I guess this is another way in which Neville is similar to Harry and has to go through many of the same things, even though he goes through them later than Harry.

I think it's interesting that Neville kills a Horcrux... I think there's a link between the people who killed the Horcruxes - Harry, Dumbledore, Ron, Hermione, Neville... and then there's Crabbe, who doesn't seem to quite fit, but I suppose it's fitting that someone from Voldemort's side actually killed a Horcrux. Anyway, I think that just highlights the connection between Neville and Harry, which we of course see in OotP as well. And I'm really rambling here...

Absolutely loved your characterisation of Neville!

~Katrina

(Oh and by the way referring to your last response - I doubt anyone will notice that you made a canon error with Macnair... it's hardly an important part of the Battle...)

Author's Response:
Katrina

Neville, it seems to me, is one of JKR’s finest creations. He, like Ginny and Luna, is always there in the background. In the early books she uses him as comic relief, although even then he’s prepared to stand up for himself, sometimes foolishly (I seem to remember him taking on Crabbe and Goyle in a fist fight). Like Ron, when his second-hand wand is broken and he gets a new one, he becomes more adept magically. Neville is probably one of the bravest of the Gryffindors, recklessly so sometimes. Towards the end of the Battle, it’s possible to sum up his contribution very easily. Harry gave him a job, kill the snake, he did it. I’m certain that, like Harry, Neville will have no idea how to cope with suddenly being famous.

Thanks

Neil

ps Macnair bothers me, but not enough to delete this chapter, as I like my version of events, and it isn’t exactly a major change.

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/10/11 0:31
Chapter: Son of the Air

Hello again,

Here comes my next review of this fic.

Worn Out Boot: This was a great fic of self-discovery for Terry, I thought. You made him such a likeable character, and I loved how he became sure of himself and decided to become an Auror at the end. Luna seems to appear in a number of your stories, and you always write her so well. It's typical of her to know/believe that Voldemort's lying about Harry, and that her optimism is catching to Terry.

Falling Angel: Wonderful characterisation again. It definitely throws a new light on Fred... I liked how you distinguished between the two twins in this and made them different people. I also liked Angelina's realisation about Tony. The ending was sad... I guess that's always the thing when someone dies, you see all the lost opportunities rather than the opportunities you took.

Parents: I think Lavender's parents were very typical here, particularly in how they blamed Harry. After all, when bad things happen people always want to blame someone else. And, although they came across as cowardly, I suppose parents always worry about their children. I think this was a very realistic story.

Son of the Air: Wow, this one really impressed me. I love fics in second person, but the idea to use Buckbeak as a focalising character is just fantastic. The detached way of telling the story and the way the scene is described really shows how pointless killing is and really shows up humanity. Definitely one of your more poignant stories from this series. I loved the ending, too. There's something great about Buckbeak getting revenge...

I'm looking forward to the last 5 chapters!!

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Katarina

JKR says that Kingsley recruits Harry, Ron and Neville to the Auror Office. I wanted to add a Hufflepuff and a Ravenclaw DA member. The Hufflepuff was easy (I couldn’t imagine Ernie or Justin and I definitely didn’t want Hannah). I considered Padma as the Ravenclaw, but I finally decided on Terry, who is no more than a name in canon. Terry appeared in Luna’s chapter, so I returned the favour (and I liked them so much I considered making them a couple.

Both Angelina/George and Angelina/Fred are canon. That seemed very weird to me, so I wanted to explore it. Really her relationship with Fred was short, It was there in GoF, but not in OotP. This is my explanation, and a reason why in my stories it will be a few years before they finally get together.

I loved writing Parents. Don and Carmine are in a very difficult position. He could lose everything whatever he does, so doing nothing seems to be the best option. It is cowardice, but it’s also an attempt to protect the family.

I’m a strictly canon writer, I reread the Battle chapters dozens of times and wrote copious notes. I missed something. This chapter isn’t canon :( Hagrid fights Macnair in the great hall just before the face-off with Voldemort. But I liked writing this little experiment in second person, though it wasn’t easy, so it’s staying unchanged as my only AU story.

Neil

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Purity of the Turf by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Only know you love her when you let her go...And you let her go." -Let Her...
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
Awry by Liet Dumbledore 3rd-5th Years
At the end of sixth year, Lily hates Severus. She can never forgive him for...
FEATURED
Etched in Gold by Cirelondiel 1st-2nd Years
"It’s like a safe place, somewhere to watch the world, somewhere...
The Elder Tree by the opaleye 1st-2nd Years
It would have been no surprise to see Vernon Dursley sitting on the frosty concrete...
Perfect First by Hermiones Kneazle 1st-2nd Years
Hermione is at her first dance and on her first date, but the night for firsts...
blackbird over the dark field by psijupiter 3rd-5th Years
AU. Severus and Remus forge a damaged and damaging relationship in the aftermath...
Turn to Stone by iLuna17 1st-2nd Years
One summer's night in Hogwarts, two statues are given one night to be human.
Ashes of the Past by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Viktor carries the memory of Grindelwald's path of destruction, passed down...
What War Takes by WeasleyMom 6th-7th Years
War takes things and keeps on taking them, and the things it takes don't come...
The Observer Effect by Squibstress 6th-7th Years
Minerva is a watcher. Mostly, she watches Severus. She sees through a glass...
CATEGORIES