Reviewer: desertsol98
Date: 11/09/10 19:54
Chapter: Voldemort Doesn't Play Quidditch

This was a really strongt chapter. You did a great job and brought tears to my eyes. I love reading Tales of the battle.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. After the next chapter (which I had difficulty in placing within the story sequence) there will be several chapters dealing with the height of the battle. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 11/09/10 12:12
Chapter: Voldemort Doesn't Play Quidditch

That was very moving Neil.
Your writing just gets better and better.

Author's Response: Thank you. These stories all experiment with perspectives and methods. While most are first-person some, like this one, push the perspective. I’m glad that you liked it. -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/08/10 9:47
Chapter: Voldemort Doesn't Play Quidditch

Thanks for not wiping out the entire team. I'd hace killed far too many trees (by kleenexing, of course)

Great chapter. I think it's the best so far. Really. But then again, every new chapter I read leaves me with the same idea.... Me hearts Oliver.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This one arrived from another of the questions I had when reading DH. Oliver was there! Why? Four years out of school, never a member of the DA. How and why did he go to Hogwarts. I hope that this answers my questions using Oliver's own reasoning. -N-

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 11/08/10 6:41
Chapter: Galleon

Well, I am quite late to this party, but this is shaping up to be my favorite of all your writing, Neil. I've only read the first two, and now I have to leave, but I will be back. Lovely writing. I can't wait to see which characters you have included in this.

Author's Response:
Lori

Thanks (-: I hope that you enjoy the rest of the stories. The final score will be: twelve DA members, four Original Characters, three Slytherins, three Other Canon characters, and one Critter!

Neil

Reviewer: GlynnisI
Date: 11/07/10 18:00
Chapter: Justin Time

Please continue! This is really great. You are getting me ready for an absolute bawl-fest during the 2nd part of Deathly Hallows. :)

Author's Response: Thanks again. The next chapter (Voldemort Doesn’t Play Quidditch) is now up, I hope you like it. -N-

Reviewer: GlynnisI
Date: 11/07/10 16:36
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

Oh! That was just beautiful! Who knew Ernie Macmillan could bring tears to my eyes?

Author's Response: Thank you. Ernie will always do his best for his friends and his house. -N-

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 11/03/10 23:15
Chapter: Justin Time

*sniff* I knew this was going to be sad. Poor, poor Justin and poor, poor Colin. It always pains me in DH when we find out Colin died (it pains me when anyone good dies, even Hedwig!) but it was sad to relive that in this chapter. However, I loved the story you came up with for Justin. For someone was going to be sent to Eton it certainly made sense!

Thanks for another great chapter. This fic is keeping me going through my exams, honestly. And again, congrats for your 2 QSQ awards! It's great seeing Mark Moon get the recognition he deserves :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review (and for the congratulations – I’m “reet chuffed” about the awards). I haven’t finished with Colin’s death yet. As I reread these stories (and I’m busy on chapter 20 now) I’ve realised that Colin’s (and Fred’s) deaths are the ones which form a thread through these stories. I’ve ignored (almost entirely) Lupin and Tonks. But then most of the DA didn’t know Tonks. Next: Voldemort Doesn’t Play Quidditch, then: Waning Moon (about guess who?)

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 19:14
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

Awh... Poor Ernie... Deep down don't we all wish the same?

He did have that way of being a good guy but still annoyingly obnoxious, didn't he?

Author's Response: Trying to keep Ernie annoying and rather pompous while also making him a worrier and a hero was interesting. I could not write this in the first person, because his self-image is so much better than the truth. -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 18:50
Chapter: Good Bones

*snorts* Your Susan is so cool! I like how she seems so cold, calmed, steeled against a world that's crumbling down all around her.
I particularly like your clever, VERY clever views on DADA. (the troll detail on Polly's chapter, the thing on indirect attacks)
Nice chapter.

Author's Response: Susan (or “The Ice Maiden” as she will be called in Chapter 12: Epiphany and Fall) always struck me as a bit of a loner. We rarely see her, and when we do it’s clear that she stands apart from “The Hufflepuff Trio” of Ernie, Hannah and Justin, who are usually together. The indirect attacks referenced here (and in Polly’s chapter) show that, aged eleven, Ron showed natural talent as an Auror. -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 18:35
Chapter: The Confession of Augusta Longbottom

Pheeeew... I am ashamed to admit I glad I did not get emotional over this chapter...

I rather enjoyed the thougth of a father-of-two Neville. A loving Hannah. A daughter peeved by annoying pet-names, dating Hugo Weasley, no less. ^.^

Oh, and he DID deserve it. He was stunned. I know it makes me sound like an evil, unsensitive git. But he did deserve it!

Author's Response: After four first person stories I thought that I’d change the mix a little with this one. I put it here because (logically) Augusta’s story follows Polly’s. However, technically, this is the last story as it is set in the year 2028. I understand, does anyone else? Lestrange probably did deserve to die. But Augusta would regret her actions. -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 18:19
Chapter: Protheroe's Perspective

Alright, if you've read my previous review. I'm moving you from bad writer to evil writer...

I get it, war is bad, war is sad, war means people die. I like this Goth Polly character of yours. Quite a spunky lassie, isn't she? ^.^

Author's Response: Polly Protheroe, Muggle-born Goth Auror arrived in my brain almost exactly the way she is in this story and demanded to have her tale told. I didn't dare say no! -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 17:38
Chapter: Great to be Back

Gotta love your Loopy Loony Luna... Snif. It must be my hormones or something... But I have to admit you got my eyes all... moisty.

People cry when they're sad. Making people sad is a bad thing. If you made me cry, does that make you a bad writer? *wink* I loved the way you got into Loony's mind and made it oh, so logical and understanable and... right. Oh, and go Terry go!!
Now, I'm going to go on reading. I hope I don't get all emotional... again.

Author's Response: This attempt to get into Luna’s brain was one of the most difficult things to write. I chose not to have her ask Terry the question: “What’s it like, to be able to loom?” Perhaps I should have, it’s the sort of odd remark that makes Luna loony. -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 17:27
Chapter: Galleon

Hehehe... Luuuuvly. ;) Now, you nearly made me like Cho at the begining. Quite an impressive feat, since I don't hold her in a very high steem.

But the first thing that came to my mind when she jumped to Marietta's defence (yet again) was: "Cho, darling. You're a Ravenclaw. Smart, remember? The loyal ones are the Puffs!" Thankfully, she came to her senses later. After Marietta behaved like a total beatch... Better later than never, I guess.

Good, good. Quite good.Again quite like it! ^.^

Author's Response: You only nearly liked Cho? I’ve failed )-; Cho seems to get a lot of grief for no reason other than she’s emotional. She turned up to fight, she was one of the first to do so. I’m rather fond of her. -N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/03/10 17:12
Chapter: The Calm Before

Liked it. Seems very akin to the Pomfrey I have in mind. Specially fond of the Carrow, loathing parts. Prince's touch was interesting too. I could very much picture the both of them gossiping the night away, in happier circumstances.
Liked it. Yup. Liked it quite much. Gone keep reading.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Poppy Pomfrey’s job is to patch up injured children, the Carrows seemed to delight in hurting children. They were never going to be friends. N

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 11/03/10 15:17
Chapter: Justin Time

I think you've done well with this one, although I think it's harder to do as Justin doesn't appear all that much in the books. Just a small point - domicile for tax is about where your father comes from: for Mr Finch-Fletchley to be domiciled out of the UK (I don't think it specifies a country) his father or paternal grandfather would have to be from Monaco, and with a name like his I find that unlikely. However given what we know about him chances are he has money there he hasn't told the UK government about! And probably Monaco is happy to have him.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Justin was (almost) a blank page. He could have gone to Eton and he’s got a double barrelled surname. I admit that I did (a little) research on tax. I know almost nothing about tax law in relation to the very wealthy (or even the wealthy). Another check shows that you are right. It appears that it is legally impossible to be domiciled in the UK, too. You have to be English, or Scottish etc. not British. I will rewrite that section. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/30/10 18:31
Chapter: Abbott Ails

I'm crying! You brought out a part of the story that I dont think JK did justice to. George's grief over Fred had to have been horrid and I also wanted to know how he found out! I like your spin of him not being alone and Hannah being there to comfort him! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Two deaths (Fred's and Colin's) will continue to affect the protagonists in these stories. I wanted George to have someone who understood with him and to me Hannah was the obvious choice. -N-

Reviewer: fanficwriter
Date: 10/29/10 8:23
Chapter: The Calm Before

What a touching story! I absolutely love the way you present it!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. -N-

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 10/29/10 3:30
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

Yay I was looking forward to this one because I remembered Ernie casting a Patronus during the battle in DH. You really caught his character, Neil! He was pompous and full of his own self importance but his loyalty and desire for good trumped the flaws. And I loved the way you built up the story until you reached the end when he and the others save the Trio. Another great chapter as always :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I wasn't sure how my version of Ernie would be received. I tried to make him self-important and rather frightened. Itried to make him a bit of a Captain Mainwaring (not certain whether many people will get that reference). But despite this he 's a good friend and a staunch ally. This particular chapter was intersting, because Ernie seemed to take on a life of his own. -N-

Reviewer: Bastet
Date: 10/26/10 11:53
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

Nice. I believe you got his traits perfectly.
Congrats and keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks. the next chapter, Abbot Ails, has been submitted. -N-

Reviewer: SmokeyLovegood
Date: 10/20/10 13:55
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

Great work. I have enjoyed reading your take on the secondary and tertiary characters. It adds a nice perspective.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, two more Hufflepuffs to come before I move elsewhere. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
My Week with a Werewolf by TonksForever36 3rd-5th Years
Tonks joins the Order of the Phoenix and meets a certain werewolf. Will they...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Cera Hipkiss is (Apparently) Annoying by Kceratops 6th-7th Years
As Cera Hipkiss begins her sixth year at Hogwarts, she is pretty used to feeling...
FEATURED
Thank you for your time, Professor by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
It is April 1976, and Minerva McGonagall sits in her office, arranging biscuits...
Heat of the Moment by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor Professors
A night of paperwork, coffee, and burning the midnight oil... it wasn't...
A Splendid Fate by hestiajones 6th-7th Years
One failed photograph, two halved souls, and the numerous, marvellous machinations...
CATEGORIES