Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: minervassister (Signed) · Date: 01/19/11 6:10 · For: Son of the Air
Another great chapter.
It just sounded so right.
Very apt names, especially liked Furry-face.
Don't want this story to end, it is so good.

Author's Response: Thank you. This chapter is my most experimental, in both subject and perspective. There are two more chapters completed, and two more in draft, but I’m not happy with either of them. -N-


Name: Sapphire at Dawn (Signed) · Date: 01/16/11 11:55 · For: Voldemort Doesn't Play Quidditch
My great-grandfather was one of the Accrington Pals that didn’t come home, and I think for you to dedicate this to them is incredibly touching. This chapter is my favourite so far because it’s so moving and so much more realistic in a way than the other because it draws parallels with real life. The way it’s told as well, I thought was fantastic. There’s real emotion in Oliver’s words, and I loved the details you brought to this to make Voldemort’s regime even more terrible; the old lady arrested at eighty-seven, the retirement that only lasted hours, and the Beater with the wooden leg. Despite this being a magical setting, things like this I can really see happening in a non-magical situation (though obviously without the Quidditch...), and for me, it made it all the more poignant and all the more real. Plus, I loved the reference to Bill Shankley. Fantastic job.

Author's Response:
I shared a flat with a guy who also had a great-grandfather in the pals. The original idea behind this story came from my curiosity as to why Oliver was at the battle. He wasn’t DA, he left the year before they were formed. Using Quidditch to draw him into the battle seemed obvious, but until I remembered my idea for “The Lee Jordan Show” I wasn’t sure how to write this.

As I’m sure you’ve realised, many of these tales are experiments. Some are more successful than others, but this is one of my own favourites (I probably shouldn’t have favourites).

If you’re going to steal a sporting quote, it has to be Shankley (or Brian Clough), unless you want the madness that is “King” Kevin 'We managed to wrong a few rights' Keegan.
-N-


Name: leftrightmiddle (Signed) · Date: 01/12/11 15:30 · For: Parents
This was really well done, just like all the other 18 chapters. I love the way you have so many different perspectives; for instance, Lavender's parents :) I don't think I've ever come across a fanfic (or one-shot) based around them. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I put a lot of work into Lavender's parents when I was writing Moon. But in the final version, they didn't even appear, so I decided to use some of the stuff here. I'm glad that you're enjoying this story. It is coming to a close. -N-


Name: minervassister (Signed) · Date: 01/12/11 12:42 · For: Parents
Another great chapter, you are adding layer upon layer to the story and all so authentic.
You are really achieving something special here.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I was definitely unsure how something like this would be recieved. It isn't getting the reads that my one shots and H/G stories get, but it's an interesting experiment. Though the next chapter is the most experimental. -N-


Name: witch1561 (Signed) · Date: 01/12/11 10:27 · For: Parents
Hopefully this review will say the right chapter: sorry about the last one.

It's interesting that Lavender's father is far more keen to keep quiet when he's a half-blood, but her mother isn't so worried. I suppose she has something to rely on - it isn't as dangerous for her.

I think you've captured the attitudes of the various parents very well: their children might be legally adults, but to them they're still kids and in lots of danger.

Author's Response: The location of reviews doesn't bother me. I'm simply grateful to get them, so thanks for the review. (-: As in all war situations, a lot of people will keep their heads down and hope that no one notices them. Pastor Martin Niemöller was, unfortunately correct. "They came first for the Communists, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Communist." etc. -N-


Name: Granny Longbottom (Signed) · Date: 01/12/11 8:29 · For: The Confession of Augusta Longbottom
revenge is a dish best served cold...

Author's Response: Augusta, I'm sure, would call it justice. -N-


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 01/12/11 8:03 · For: Parents
I hope you do a follow up on what happens after the wards fail!! Love you stuff!!

Author's Response: Thanks. I have (sort of) in Chapter 11, Waning Moon (the unnamed parents Mark meets are Don and Carmine). The next two chapters "Son of the Air" and "Snakeslayer" take things past the point where the wards break. -N-


Name: Granny Longbottom (Signed) · Date: 01/12/11 7:58 · For: Parents
Please keep writing. I'm having a hard time waiting for the next tale. I've simply been reading for the enjoyment, so really haven't noticed errors. Your chapter on Augusta Longbottom was spectacular.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I hope to post another chapter of Aurors and Schoolgirls soon, and I have a one-shot called Swimsuit Quidditch (it's humour - I needed a break from the Battle) in the queue. I intend to post the next chapter of this in a week's time, "Son of the Air" will be my first second person pov story. -N-


Name: witch1561 (Signed) · Date: 01/04/11 11:01 · For: The Calm Before
I like this: somehow it seems like Angelina to be thinking of her love-life as she falls to the ground.

I suppose there are two ways you could go with the future George/Angelina relationship and this is one, and in many ways this is more believable: it is at least a healthy relationship. But I don't think it would happen any time soon - George has a lot of grieving to do first.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review (though confusingly, it’s posted on chapter 1, not chapter 18).

This is the only way I could make sense of George/Angelina, and you’re right, (at least according to my timeline you are – I plan for three years before they get together and two more before they marry.
-N-


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 01/03/11 17:05 · For: Falling Angel
Ooooo did you just hint that she might have cast the spell that crumbled the wall on Fred?

Author's Response: Oh! I did not intend to! The timing is wrong. Fred’s death was some time before the ceasefire, not immediately before. -N-


Name: theempresslol (Signed) · Date: 01/02/11 5:20 · For: Bad Faith
Great chapter, even if it lowered my respect for Draco. :) You mixed the Weasleys and Draco all into one chapter, kudos for that. Even the short mention about Fred almost got me crying.
And the 2 previous chapters, about Seamus and Lavender, were also really good (they're one of my favorite pairings) I just want Lav to like him back! :)
I can't wait for you to finish this!
~S

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’ve never had any respect for Draco, and consequently I had a lot of fun in this chapter.

Seamus and Lavender will not get back together in my stories (sorry). I have a long and painful future planned for Miss Brown, and Seamus doesn’t feature. The next chapter (Falling Angel) has now been submitted. Happy New Year.

-N-


Name: iwishicouldwrite (Signed) · Date: 12/28/10 9:40 · For: Worn Out Boot
great chapter!! I love his analyzation of Luna, she definitely has a special 6th sense that makes her brilliant in her own way :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Terry will continue to play a small role in my stories and this defined him for me. -N-


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 12/27/10 21:03 · For: Worn Out Boot
Goose bumps! Ive probably said it before but I love your stories!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. Terry has been appearing in the background of a few of these stories. I thought that he needed to have some time in the limelight. -N-


Name: hpgploversforever (Signed) · Date: 12/27/10 16:24 · For: Worn Out Boot
Wow these keep getting better and better. How many total do you think you might end up doing. I love all your story's they are wonderful. Keep righting because it gives me faith that some day I might be able to write.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. There will be either 22 or 23 chapters (the final chapter is an O.C. story and he is not cooperating with me at the moment). Still to come are: Angelina; Don and Carmine Brown; Buckbeak; Neville; Millicent Bullstrode and (possibly) Auror Aloysius "Spider" Webb. -N-


Name: iwishicouldwrite (Signed) · Date: 12/21/10 17:21 · For: Cornered
WOW that was the best chapter yet! The story of michael's punishment was chilling...he was so brave! I love how that twist at the end showed how he was scarred from the experience, not as harsh as Neville's parents but still bearing the mark of the war. Great job!!

Author's Response:
Thank you.

This is the second shortest chapter (Calm Before is the shortest). Short and chilling was what I was striving for. Next: Worn Out Boot.
N


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 12/21/10 16:51 · For: Cornered
Wow! Good job! I didn't see that coming!!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 12/17/10 9:56 · For: Die Dumb
That miserable s.o.b.!! At any rate I'm enjoying how every single chapter ties back into a previous one!! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review (-: Next - "Cornered" -N-


Name: Kaiserin (Signed) · Date: 12/08/10 19:18 · For: Bad Faith
That certainly allowed for some serious laughing. Ginny's bit was particularly good, and her witticism superb!
I think it was very much in character that Draco, even though in the middle of the frail, with little knowledge of which side was winning and lost as a Turquish in hte middle of deep fogs was STILL trying to take advantage in a sneaky, unethical way (eavesdroping on Nev and Ginny)
Did I mention your description of Ginny was really really good?
Kuddos!

Author's Response: Thanks. Writing this chapter finally allowed me to get a decent handle on Draco. I have had many differences of opinions with Draco fans who (mistakenly in my opinion) believe that he can be redeemed. Draco is amoral (without morals) not immoral. He will do what he believes is best for him (provided that he can get away with it). I enjoyed writing the Ginny encounter so much that it will reappear (from Neville’s point of view) in chapter 21: Snakeslayer. -N-


Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 12/08/10 11:37 · For: Bad Faith
I positively love the ending with Charlie!! Too funny!! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thanks. This is probably the closest thing there is to a humorous chapter. -N-


Name: minervassister (Signed) · Date: 12/08/10 9:07 · For: Bad Faith
That was inspired!
Never thought I'd feel sorry for Draco.
Very funny, but it all fits in so well with DH and it is so Draco.
Well done yet again.

Author's Response:
Thank you. I've always though that Draco was pitiful. (-: Make the most of the cruel humour. The next few chapters are far from funny. N ps you'll hear the Neville Ginny conversation in full in chapter 21.


You must login (register) to review.