Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 04/01/11 4:42
Chapter: Index

that was a really interesting character to end the story with, and after i finished the chapter it seemed so fitting. seeing the battle from so many different angles was fascinating, and i think you've done a great job with this fanfic. can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Thanks for this (and all your other reviews). I learned a lot from writing this and it will be a useful foundation for my other stuff. More soon. -N-

Reviewer: leeshie55
Date: 04/01/11 1:08
Chapter: Index

Wow, just...wow. I know I've commented on this story three times now, but I just want you to know this has been, by far, my favourite story posted on this site.
Every chapter has been given it's own voice, it's own uniqueness (is that even a word? Oh, well, it is now), it's own brilliance. I love how you used characters others wouldn't have thought of, and you pulled it off greatly. I truly commend you for thinking of it, and sharing this work with everyone. It's been enjoyable every chapter through.
Thanks for updating regularly too. I know you have several projects "on the go" right now but I'm glad you managed to stick to your guns and get this one out.
Thank you once again for writing and sharing this, it's been an absolute pleasure and I look forward to reading more from you!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the reviews. Is it wrong that I know that 50 people have left reviews, 28 of them once?

I did not think of this, not exactly. I knew a lot of these stories. I had decided what happened to Mark and Lavender during the battle when I wrote Moon. Colin, Justin and Hannah, (and Neville) I had backstory for, too. I did nothing with the information until HPFF announced a battle challenge for their house cup. This series began as a few hastily written and very rough and ready entries for that challenge (and they are the reason I was banned from that site). The first one completed was Protheroe’s Perspective (which is really a Colin/Justin story), then Epiphany and Fall. That’s when I realised that I needed to put them in some sort of order.

I have enjoyed trying to write from the differing perspectives of twenty-five characters.

My next update may be either the fairly grim M.I.T., or the very daft Players Rites, as both are one-shots that need no more than a final read through (I hope). Then (hopefully) A&S.
-N-

Reviewer: MaizeNBlu
Date: 03/31/11 21:49
Chapter: The Calm Before

I very much enjoyed reading this unique set of stories, and the overall unique view on the battle and all of its factors leading to the final result. I have now read all of your works at one point or another. I just wanted to say a quick 'Thank You' for all of the effort you've put into your work.

You are one of the very few writers I've found online who write with such a professional feel, and do not succumb to plot blunders or grammatical errors easily. Please continue writing well into the future, and know that you will always have at least one loyal reader wherever you go. Thanks again

Author's Response:
Thanks for the compliments.

I write what I want, because I like to write and I’d probably be writing even if no one was reading, but it’s good to know that some people like my stuff.

Tales, with it’s mix of first-person, third-person, with the odd interview, correspondence and second-person chapter has allowed me to experiment in many different ways. Frankly, I’m simply glad that the whole thing hangs together without any major plot blunders (apart from chapter 20) Plot blunders happen, why do you think the next chapter of A&S is taking so long? :-(
-N-

Reviewer: TNash
Date: 03/31/11 19:20
Chapter: Index

I just wanted to take a minute to tell you how much I have enjoyed and continue to enjoy this and all your stories. I look forward to continuing to read your work and am anxiously awaiting the next chapters in Drakeshaugh and Aurors and Schoolgirls. You are an outstanding writer and as a professional editor, I appreciate the fact that you have spell-checked and proofread your work.
I especially appreciate the way that you create completely unique and original stories and yet still stay completely within the canon of the series. You are an outstanding writer and I hope you will continue. And if you ever do - or have - written non-fan-fiction original work, I would love to read that too

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Spellchecking is relatively easy, but without my long-suffering beta-readers my capitalisation and comma placement would be—eccentric.

This story is not completely canon. I goofed with chapter 20. :-( Hagrid threw Macnair against the wall in the Great Hall AFTER the events of that chapter, sorry. I can’t change it, I would have to delete it, so we’ll just pretend that in the confusion of the battle Harry thought that it was Macnair, but he was mistaken.

I have no original work (yet), unless you count some stuff I wrote for an rpg supplement (but that was “game world facts”, not fiction)
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 03/31/11 19:13
Chapter: The Calm Before

Lovely ending--though I must admit for the first few sentences, I thought for a brief moment you were going an Umbridge route so please forgive me.

Who better than our beloved (??) librarian to keep the record of the Battle straight.

Wonder if she will also share her records with Binns for his NEWT level Recent Events in British HIstory lecture.??
EdyeB

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. You’re forgiven. :-)

I suspect that to Professor Binns, “recent events” means the defeat of Gellert Grindelwald.
-N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 03/31/11 18:45
Chapter: Index

I liked how u ended with Madam Pince . . . she's such a mysterious character to all of us :D

Author's Response: Irma Pince is a LIBRARIAN (but not the hairy orange banana-eating type (Terry Pratchett joke)). It’s a dangerous profession. -N-

Reviewer: Lasselanta
Date: 03/31/11 18:31
Chapter: Index

I have so enjoyed your series and am sad that updates will no longer regularly brighten (if that's the correct word for such a somber story) my inbox. Thank you for sharing your talent!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I tried to make a couple of chapters lighter than most, but no story about the battle was going to be a bundle of laughs, was it?
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 03/31/11 18:03
Chapter: Index

Wow. The final chapter. It's over, fin, ended! I can't believe it. Months and months of checking the Most Recent section religiously are over!

WOW.

You know, I never even thought of Madam Pince. This entire story has been an eye opener for me, most of the characters in these chapters never even crossed my mind. Thank you for not forgetting those characters in the sidelines, for, without these people, the magnificent world of Harry Potter that we love and cherish would be infinately less colorful.

I thought that you should be the first one to know (since you gave me that infinately useful advice a couple of months ago) that I have finshed my first fanfic. I just have to send it off to one more person, then I shall send it off to the mods and eagerly await its posting!

WOW.

Rebekah (AngelEJC)

Author's Response:
Rebekah

Thanks for all of your reviews. Some of these stories are very important for my future history. Certainly writing these has helped me define several minor characters for my other stories. Some canon characters (Terry, Lavender and Susan) and some original characters (Mark and Polly) will reappear frequently.

The minor characters are great to play with, many of them are little more than names.

Thanks again, and good luck with your writing.

Neil

Reviewer: phillipcrain
Date: 03/31/11 14:37
Chapter: Index

I would just like to say Thanks, you are one the best there is and I really loved this story, I'm kinda sad to see it end, but I'm glad cause now you update your other stories(i.e. A and S and Strangers of Dragshire(sp)) as well :) !!!

Author's Response:
Thank you.

This has proved to be an interesting experiment, 25 chapters and 25 points of view. Next up will (probably) be another Lavender one-shot, and then either A&S or Strangers.
-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 03/31/11 13:41
Chapter: Index

This chapters completes a very fine achievement.
Unlike Peeves you have given us a true "feeling for the scope and the tragedy of the thing".
Thank you and very well done.

Author's Response:
Thanks, and thanks for all of your reviews.

Peeve’s assessment was rather more short and to the point, wasn’t it? :-)
-N-

Reviewer: hpgploversforever
Date: 03/31/11 12:19
Chapter: Index

That was a great ending short. She was in the first and last chapter that was an amazing group of shorts. Can't wait to here what else is going on in your other stories.

Author's Response: Thanks, now this is finally finished I’ll get back onto my other stuff. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 03/31/11 10:27
Chapter: Index

As always you top your previous work! Excellent! Love it!!

Author's Response: Thanks for this (and all your other reviews). -N-

Reviewer: helenabean
Date: 03/31/11 9:26
Chapter: Index

Hello Neil,
I just want to thank you for entertaining me with all your beautifully written stories. The reason i read fanfiction is because I miss the world of Harry Potter and I want to read more about it. That is why I love your stories; because your characterization is excellent and your stories are all canon. Congratulations on finishing another story that I throughly enjoyed and I can't wait to read more of your writing.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I will now get back to working on completing Aurors and Schoolgirls, and its two sequels, Hunters and Prey, and The Slytherin Four (I’m still not sure about that title). I’ve got several “Lavender” shorts planned, and one (M.I.T.) is done. A short one-shot called Players Rites needs to be beta read, and then there is Epithalamium (one chapter done) and Strangers at Drakeshaugh, and…
-N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/31/11 4:15
Chapter: Epiphany and Fall

Yes I know, this is my second review on this story today... but I just adore your characterisation of Lavender, so I had to drop you another review. But I'll go back to Chapter 8, as that's what I got upto last time.

"Abbot Ails" - I really liked how you showed a grown-up Hannah - after all, the last time we see her in canon is basically HBP when she's devastated about her mother, and you really showed a more mature and stronger woman. I thought it was really interesting that when talking about the twins, she differentiated between them. It was a nice touch, as people don't seem to do that very often.

"Justin Time" - firstly, great pun in the title. I really enjoyed Justin in this, particularly how you explored his guilt about Colin with the comparison to how Colin had stopped Dennis.

"Voldemort doesn't play Quidditch" - this one made me laugh, but it was also very effective as a battle story. I like how you switch text types sometimes (eg the letters from Augusta and this). It gives a nice variety in the story. I think it was fantastic what you did her, showing that Voldemort really affected everyone and everything through the example of Quidditch. A great way to connect Oliver as well.

"Waning Moon" - the end of this one was just completely heart-breaking, and even in such a short space, you really made me like Mark (although this could also be because I've read "Moon"). So once again I find myself praising your characterisation....

And finally, "Epiphany and Fall". Well, as previously stated, I really adore this story. You develop Lavender so much beyond the flirty girl we see in HBP and you've just given her a fantastic story. I loved the idea that she enjoys her time with Susan because Susan is honest and real, where everyone else doesn't treat her normally. I love the idea that Lavender wants to "fight her own battles" so to speak and not have others fawning over her, it shows real Gryffindor spirit. I hope you write more fics which include Lavender, I think she's one of your best characters (though they're all really good!)

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Katrina, thanks for these too.

This Hannah is the Hannah who worked in the Cauldron in “Fred and George’s Busy Day” and she’s very familiar with the twins, and the resistance. Justin isn’t the only one with a punning title; the Greene King brewery (in Bury St Edmunds) brew Abbot Ale. Justin’s chapter once again dealt with Colin’s death. As I think about it, I realise that many of these stories revolve around Colin’s death.

I had the idea for a “Lee Jordan interviews” story way back when I wrote Grave Days. This particular story would have been much more grim had I written it as it happened, the interview allowed me to give an overview.

Mark will reappear in other stories (rather like other of my original characters) and this story was easy for me to write, as I knew the story (though I hadn’t written it) when I wrote Moon.

Lavender proves (I hope) that it’s possible to be brave and honourable, and obsessed with boys and clothes. Lavender and Susan will appear in “M.I.T.: Muggle Interface Team and I have four other Lavender stories in the planning stages. “Moons” will be set in 2010 (Lavender is 30), “Down” will be set more than a year before “Bare”, “Exsanguination” is set before “Moon” and “Dinner” is set immediately after “Moon”. I like the idea of giving my Lavender stories one word titles, but it will be some time before they arrive.

-N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/31/11 3:10
Chapter: Ernest Endeavours

I've finally got around to reading this - I've been planning to for quite a while. Firstly, I think it's a great concept and that you've really thought it out well - all the different plots link up with each other (and all your other stories) really well and you don't make any mistakes there.

I really loved "The Calm Before" - what an interesting idea to give Madam Pomfrey a perspective. You portrayed her so well, and you wrote that sense of a fear of the future and not knowing what's going to happen so well that I almost felt nervous.

"Galleon" - I liked the idea of getting inside Cho's head and I think you did it very well, though somehow it wasn't quite as compelling as the first story... but still very good. Near the end, when she thought something about how Harry was intense and difficult to like, in my head I was wondering 'now I wonder what Ginny would say about that?'

"Great to be Back" - wonderfully Luna. Seeming to be a little eccentric and flighty, and yet having all the right values underneath. I think she's a very difficult character not to caricature and I think you did a great job (also loved Ginny's description of Terry - very Ginny).

"Protheroe's Perspective" - now this was something completely different! I loved her characterisation and how you made her unique and different. The ending was bittersweet, as in a sense I felt happy that she was alive, but it brought back the loss of Tonks and Colin. I think it was very realistic that Polly often had thoughts about the children and how she didn't think they'd be capable (particularly about Colin).

"The Confession of Augusta Longbottom" - you just nailed her character so well. Just the whole idea of the letters and her confession, and that she couldn't face up to telling Neville in person was just so her. I also liked the sense that life had moved on from the battle, as (at least sofar) the rest of the stories are in the thick of the pain and death.

"Good Bones" - I liked Susan, particularly the way she admired her aunt and liked to figure out where words came from (just on that note - as far as I know, "vol" in French is a noun, so it means "flight", not "flees". It also means "theft", which I think is rather interesting, as it's almost like Voldemort is stealing himself from death... and I'm rambling here, back to the review.) I think Susan had a sort of understated bravery; she didn't openly defy the Carrows as the likes of Neville did, but there was something about her, determined to fight for good.

"Ernest Endeavours". I'm sorry to say I didn't enjoy this as much as the others. I know Ernie is pompous, I just never saw him, well, quite like this. I felt sad at the ending, as I was hoping that in this story, Ernie would see his own prejudice... anyway, having said that, you still wrote him well and created empathy for him, particularly when Hannah and Justin come in and he suddenly feels inferior. Personally that's why I've always thought he was pompous - because he wanted to prove something. Anyway, even though I didn't like Ernie so much, this was still well written.

So basically the main thing I really love about this is your spot on characterisations and the variety of perspectives and different ways of looking at the same event. Great work.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Thanks for the comprehensive review of the first seven chapters. I’ll try to respond to all of your comments.

The original versions of these stories were not written in the order they now appear, but flitted back and forth across the battle. I think that Protheroe’s Perspective was the first one I wrote. My original plan was for a “hospital” chapter midway through the battle. But Madam Pomfrey wanted to make sure that she was ready for anything, and I wanted to try to make readers worry about what might happen.

Cho was one of the first DA members to arrive. I simply had to know why, and “Galleon” was the result.

Luna is extremely difficult for me to get right, so I use her sparingly. Here are, I hope, several places in this story (notably her unasked question to Terry) where she would appear barmy to outsiders, but it all makes sense inside her head. I enjoyed this so much that there’s a Terry/Luna story later (Worn Out Boot, of course) and I toyed with the idea of making them a couple.

Polly Protheroe, Muggle-born Goth Auror was a rather eccentric creation, but she allowed me to present an outsiders view of the DA, and to provide a bit more background on “my” Colin. She appears (briefly) in “It Takes Two”.

I’ve been fascinated by epistolary fiction ever since I read Dracula. Most fanfic sites ban it, so “The Confession of Augusta Longbottom” was my way of sneaking a letter-based story in. The fact that I named (and calculated birthdays) for Neville and Hannah’s kids just for this story says a lot about me.

The Susan I now write about grew from this story. Sensible, serious and rather severe, possibly even a bit repressed, her character is becoming more fixed in my mind. I think that she’s a thinker and a planner. She won’t rush into things.

Ernie is interesting, I didn’t want to make everyone perfect, but I gave poor Ernie more flaws than most. He means well, he really does, and he works hard too. I’m quite happy for you sympathise with him, but not to like him much. He is (vaguely) based on someone I worked with (who was NOT racist).

-N-

Reviewer: lunaginnypotterw
Date: 03/29/11 18:41
Chapter: Die Dumb

WHAT GOYLE KILLED COLIN IM GOING TO MURDER GOYLE GOSH IM IN A VERY BAD TEMPER AND TO THINK I SORTA LIKED HIM GOSH I WILL SO TOTALL KILL HIM GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

Author's Response: Oh dear, I hope that you’re not expecting a rapid resolution to this revelation. -N-

Reviewer: lunaginnypotterw
Date: 03/29/11 18:25
Chapter: Seamus Awake

im still crying dude im like pissed with jk rowling why did they have to die espically tonks?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Why all the deaths? I gave my opinion in the thoughts of Polly Protheroe. -N-

Reviewer: lunaginnypotterw
Date: 03/29/11 17:44
Chapter: Justin Time

omg im like crying cause colin is my fave charecter and he's like so tiny and poor denise i mean njot ahving a brother anymore *crys silently*

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. If Colin is your favourite character, have you read Summer of ’97? -N-

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 03/28/11 7:42
Chapter: Paperwork

Pretty cool character you have there, I hope he reconciles with his daughter!

Author's Response: Thank you. I've yet to decide whether Al Wabb will reappear in any of my other stories. -N-

Reviewer: hpgploversforever
Date: 03/27/11 12:58
Chapter: Paperwork

Awww it looks like he got is daughter back. Can't wait for the last chapter to be posted.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Next (and last): Index -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Cera Hipkiss is (Apparently) Annoying by Kceratops 6th-7th Years
As Cera Hipkiss begins her sixth year at Hogwarts, she is pretty used to feeling...
His Eyes Are Open by The_Real_Hermione 3rd-5th Years
Jane Creevey reflects on the death of her brother and the events that led up...
FEATURED
Thank you for your time, Professor by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
It is April 1976, and Minerva McGonagall sits in her office, arranging biscuits...
Heat of the Moment by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor Professors
A night of paperwork, coffee, and burning the midnight oil... it wasn't...
A Splendid Fate by hestiajones 6th-7th Years
One failed photograph, two halved souls, and the numerous, marvellous machinations...
CATEGORIES