Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/09/11 23:50
Chapter: Cornered

Hi Neil,

So here's a long overdue review for this fic.

Seamus Awake: I really enjoyed seeing Seamus' perspective on his relationship with Lavender... and I sort of felt a bit bad for him about it, too. I liked his thoughts about Neville and your Luna was really good in this fic. I think this story was a nice reminder that Seamus belongs in Gryffindor, as obviously when the DA first forms, he's not in it and as a reader sometimes you forget that he fought in the final battle.

Bad Faith: I think your Draco was realistic... throughout the whole story, just doing anything and everything to save himself. I liked the way he kept saying "I'm on your side..." to people from both sides. Although I did sort of feel a bit sorry for him...

Die Dumb: This one has me a bit divided... I had never really imagined Goyle to be as stupid as you show him... it almost feels like he's mentally disabled somehow in this. Which I suppose is a really interesting take on the situation. I really liked the way you developed his character through this, and how he had been using Malfoy as much as Malfoy had been using him. Very interesting. But yeah, I'd never really imagined him like this.

Cornered: I think this is one of the most poignant fics of the series. That last line... I really wasn't expecting it, and it was just so heartbreaking for Michael. I think you just showed how scarred he was from that session of torture. I really don't know what else to say about this one... except that I just loved it. Fantastic writing.

Well, you'll probably hear from me again soon after I've read the next few chapters. I am really enjoying this fic, it's fantastic.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Katarina

Seamus’ was one of the hardest stories for me to write, for some reason his character took a long time for me to find. Luna, of course, had to appear as, of course, did Ernie. JKR gave us Ernie, Luna and Seamus in the Battle, and they struck me as an odd trio.

Thanks, I know that a lot of girls like Draco, but he’s one of those who would bribe his way onto a lifeboat on the Titanic. I’m glad, however that you felt sorry for him.

I read every tiny think I could find about Goyle before I wrote Die Dumb. He has virtually no dialogue, and it seems that he was the lowest of the three. Crabbe was the one who did most of the talking. I don’t think that he’s mentally disabled, just a not very clever sadist. I think he stuck with Draco because he likes hurting people. It’s the only thing he’s good at.

I wanted to write a story about mental scarring. We know that Michael was tortured, and we know what happened to Neville’s parents. Those two facts combined to make this story arrive in my head almost fully formed.

Thanks for the reviews.

Neil

Reviewer: bekki-unknown
Date: 04/05/11 5:40
Chapter: Die Dumb

Nooooo poor Colin!

What an ending, you gave a good insight into Goyle's character, in the books he is always there but more like a prop in the background for Malfoy than a real character. Here you make him seem so cold when he easily kills poor, trusting Colin.

Can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: Crabbe and Goyle were little more than Malfoy’s goons. They said very little, and Goyle appeared to be the stupidest. He, like Draco, will have been brought up to believe that Mudbloods are scum. Dehumanising (dewizardising?) your enemy makes them easier to kill. They aren’t really people. That is cold, and chilling. I hope that you enjoy the rest of the tales. -N-

Reviewer: One Lily
Date: 04/04/11 12:03
Chapter: The Calm Before

hagrid would have beeen cool to see, we only saw him briefly in the book

Author's Response: True. -N-

Reviewer: Betamax
Date: 04/03/11 22:50
Chapter: Voldemort Doesn't Play Quidditch

I really liked this chapter; nicely written. If I remember correctly, you said somewhere that you were going to use the Harry Interview in a similar style story. Is that still on the books or did this one replace that? I would still love to hear the last episode of Potterwatch.

Also, I know this doesn't relate to this story but did you have any plans on writing about the reunion between Harry and the Dursleys? I just think that would be such a deliciously awkward situation that it would make a great story.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I had (have?) planned a Harry interview as the last ever Potterwatch. The general format of that story was transferred to this one. I still have my notes (and “questions from the public”) but I have no plans to write it at the moment.

The Harry/Dursleys reunion is drafted. It forms the first three chapters of a novel-length story set in 2001 and currently called “The Slytherin Four” (though I don’t like the title). Unfortunately, before I get there I must finish Aurors and Schoolgirls (1999) and its sequel, Hunters and Prey (2000). Perhaps “Friends and Foes” would be a better title.
-N-

Reviewer: One Lily
Date: 04/03/11 8:28
Chapter: The Calm Before

it was amazing! madame pince can get overlooked so easily, since she already has a reputation at hogwarts, so it was col to see her being compassionate for once!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-

Reviewer: One Lily
Date: 04/03/11 8:26
Chapter: The Calm Before

the list was probably endless! but its a bittersweet ending. It was nice to see everyones perspective, from all point of view.

Author's Response: People who I considered, but didn’t write about included: Zacharius Smith, Hagrid, Prof. McGonagall, Dean Thomas, the Patil twins and another OC, Hamish Campbell, a Scottish Law Officer.

Reviewer: SimpleMinds
Date: 04/03/11 3:16
Chapter: Index

You have really, truly encapsulated the poignancy of it all. I absolutely adore the monologue-stream of consciousness stuff. And it all fits, it's just the filling in of gaps, and you make it work. You're a wonderful writer.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I had a lot of fun with these stories. Trying twenty five different points of view was interesting, as was experimenting with styles. I think some worked better than others and some (like Die Dumb) were a struggle to write.
-N-

Reviewer: One Lily
Date: 04/02/11 22:14
Chapter: Index

I'm so sad its over! their story was our story you know? Their battle was our battle, their after story was our after story. I'm sad to see it end!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This is only the second novel-length chaptered story I've finished, and I reached this point with a mix of relief and regret. There were so many other I could have written about. -N-

Reviewer: One Lily
Date: 04/02/11 16:20
Chapter: Index

the end paragraph made me cry! the simplicity of those words, spoken by madame pince, were just heartbreaking.

Author's Response: Thank you. Deciding who to finish with was difficult, but once I'd decided, I knew how this would go -N-

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 04/01/11 11:40
Chapter: Index

Excellent point of view. I would have never thought of her playing an important role during the battle...I absolutely love reading each chapter as it comes up!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I started with Madam Pomfrey, and Madam Pince, so it seemed fitting to finish with Madam Pince. -N-

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 04/01/11 4:42
Chapter: Index

that was a really interesting character to end the story with, and after i finished the chapter it seemed so fitting. seeing the battle from so many different angles was fascinating, and i think you've done a great job with this fanfic. can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Thanks for this (and all your other reviews). I learned a lot from writing this and it will be a useful foundation for my other stuff. More soon. -N-

Reviewer: leeshie55
Date: 04/01/11 1:08
Chapter: Index

Wow, just...wow. I know I've commented on this story three times now, but I just want you to know this has been, by far, my favourite story posted on this site.
Every chapter has been given it's own voice, it's own uniqueness (is that even a word? Oh, well, it is now), it's own brilliance. I love how you used characters others wouldn't have thought of, and you pulled it off greatly. I truly commend you for thinking of it, and sharing this work with everyone. It's been enjoyable every chapter through.
Thanks for updating regularly too. I know you have several projects "on the go" right now but I'm glad you managed to stick to your guns and get this one out.
Thank you once again for writing and sharing this, it's been an absolute pleasure and I look forward to reading more from you!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the reviews. Is it wrong that I know that 50 people have left reviews, 28 of them once?

I did not think of this, not exactly. I knew a lot of these stories. I had decided what happened to Mark and Lavender during the battle when I wrote Moon. Colin, Justin and Hannah, (and Neville) I had backstory for, too. I did nothing with the information until HPFF announced a battle challenge for their house cup. This series began as a few hastily written and very rough and ready entries for that challenge (and they are the reason I was banned from that site). The first one completed was Protheroe’s Perspective (which is really a Colin/Justin story), then Epiphany and Fall. That’s when I realised that I needed to put them in some sort of order.

I have enjoyed trying to write from the differing perspectives of twenty-five characters.

My next update may be either the fairly grim M.I.T., or the very daft Players Rites, as both are one-shots that need no more than a final read through (I hope). Then (hopefully) A&S.
-N-

Reviewer: MaizeNBlu
Date: 03/31/11 21:49
Chapter: The Calm Before

I very much enjoyed reading this unique set of stories, and the overall unique view on the battle and all of its factors leading to the final result. I have now read all of your works at one point or another. I just wanted to say a quick 'Thank You' for all of the effort you've put into your work.

You are one of the very few writers I've found online who write with such a professional feel, and do not succumb to plot blunders or grammatical errors easily. Please continue writing well into the future, and know that you will always have at least one loyal reader wherever you go. Thanks again

Author's Response:
Thanks for the compliments.

I write what I want, because I like to write and I’d probably be writing even if no one was reading, but it’s good to know that some people like my stuff.

Tales, with it’s mix of first-person, third-person, with the odd interview, correspondence and second-person chapter has allowed me to experiment in many different ways. Frankly, I’m simply glad that the whole thing hangs together without any major plot blunders (apart from chapter 20) Plot blunders happen, why do you think the next chapter of A&S is taking so long? :-(
-N-

Reviewer: TNash
Date: 03/31/11 19:20
Chapter: Index

I just wanted to take a minute to tell you how much I have enjoyed and continue to enjoy this and all your stories. I look forward to continuing to read your work and am anxiously awaiting the next chapters in Drakeshaugh and Aurors and Schoolgirls. You are an outstanding writer and as a professional editor, I appreciate the fact that you have spell-checked and proofread your work.
I especially appreciate the way that you create completely unique and original stories and yet still stay completely within the canon of the series. You are an outstanding writer and I hope you will continue. And if you ever do - or have - written non-fan-fiction original work, I would love to read that too

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Spellchecking is relatively easy, but without my long-suffering beta-readers my capitalisation and comma placement would be—eccentric.

This story is not completely canon. I goofed with chapter 20. :-( Hagrid threw Macnair against the wall in the Great Hall AFTER the events of that chapter, sorry. I can’t change it, I would have to delete it, so we’ll just pretend that in the confusion of the battle Harry thought that it was Macnair, but he was mistaken.

I have no original work (yet), unless you count some stuff I wrote for an rpg supplement (but that was “game world facts”, not fiction)
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 03/31/11 19:13
Chapter: The Calm Before

Lovely ending--though I must admit for the first few sentences, I thought for a brief moment you were going an Umbridge route so please forgive me.

Who better than our beloved (??) librarian to keep the record of the Battle straight.

Wonder if she will also share her records with Binns for his NEWT level Recent Events in British HIstory lecture.??
EdyeB

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. You’re forgiven. :-)

I suspect that to Professor Binns, “recent events” means the defeat of Gellert Grindelwald.
-N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 03/31/11 18:45
Chapter: Index

I liked how u ended with Madam Pince . . . she's such a mysterious character to all of us :D

Author's Response: Irma Pince is a LIBRARIAN (but not the hairy orange banana-eating type (Terry Pratchett joke)). It’s a dangerous profession. -N-

Reviewer: Lasselanta
Date: 03/31/11 18:31
Chapter: Index

I have so enjoyed your series and am sad that updates will no longer regularly brighten (if that's the correct word for such a somber story) my inbox. Thank you for sharing your talent!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I tried to make a couple of chapters lighter than most, but no story about the battle was going to be a bundle of laughs, was it?
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 03/31/11 18:03
Chapter: Index

Wow. The final chapter. It's over, fin, ended! I can't believe it. Months and months of checking the Most Recent section religiously are over!

WOW.

You know, I never even thought of Madam Pince. This entire story has been an eye opener for me, most of the characters in these chapters never even crossed my mind. Thank you for not forgetting those characters in the sidelines, for, without these people, the magnificent world of Harry Potter that we love and cherish would be infinately less colorful.

I thought that you should be the first one to know (since you gave me that infinately useful advice a couple of months ago) that I have finshed my first fanfic. I just have to send it off to one more person, then I shall send it off to the mods and eagerly await its posting!

WOW.

Rebekah (AngelEJC)

Author's Response:
Rebekah

Thanks for all of your reviews. Some of these stories are very important for my future history. Certainly writing these has helped me define several minor characters for my other stories. Some canon characters (Terry, Lavender and Susan) and some original characters (Mark and Polly) will reappear frequently.

The minor characters are great to play with, many of them are little more than names.

Thanks again, and good luck with your writing.

Neil

Reviewer: phillipcrain
Date: 03/31/11 14:37
Chapter: Index

I would just like to say Thanks, you are one the best there is and I really loved this story, I'm kinda sad to see it end, but I'm glad cause now you update your other stories(i.e. A and S and Strangers of Dragshire(sp)) as well :) !!!

Author's Response:
Thank you.

This has proved to be an interesting experiment, 25 chapters and 25 points of view. Next up will (probably) be another Lavender one-shot, and then either A&S or Strangers.
-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 03/31/11 13:41
Chapter: Index

This chapters completes a very fine achievement.
Unlike Peeves you have given us a true "feeling for the scope and the tragedy of the thing".
Thank you and very well done.

Author's Response:
Thanks, and thanks for all of your reviews.

Peeve’s assessment was rather more short and to the point, wasn’t it? :-)
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES