Reviews For The Seven Potters
Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 09/04/13 0:31
Chapter: The Seven Potters

I've just listened to this on Audiofics and I have to say it was just as funny as I remember it being way back when I read it in... 2010! Gosh has it been that long??? I'm sitting here giggling into my yoghurt and trying not to choke.

Reviewer: cjbaggins
Date: 05/20/13 1:50
Chapter: The Seven Potters

And I forgot to add - the "stay in canon" bit was probably the best part. Reminded me of the wonderful humour/parody fic called "Taking Direction". cj

Reviewer: cjbaggins
Date: 05/20/13 1:48
Chapter: The Seven Potters

I thoroughly enjoyed this! What a marvelous tongue-firmly-in-cheek look at facets of Harry's personality that get exaggerated in some fics. Bravo! cj

Reviewer: Padfoot Black II
Date: 05/16/13 20:42
Chapter: The Seven Potters

I really liked this story, especially the end from when SuperHarry says bye, to the very last part. Awsome ;)

Reviewer: socks2
Date: 03/11/13 14:15
Chapter: The Seven Potters

loved this!

Author's Response: I'm glad! Thank you so much for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: BrokenPromise
Date: 03/27/12 20:28
Chapter: The Seven Potters

I read this ages ago: can't believe I haven't reviewed it! Perhaps I read it before I registered.

On to the real review: that was really funny! I actually loved it and could really see all of those personalities there, perhaps surprisingly.

Having also read the other reviews, I think a Snapehart would be very interesting...

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you found it funny, but even better, I'm glad you could see Harry in each of those personas. That was sort of the point, and I had fun trying to make it. But beware what you wish for: Snapehart is not for the faint of heart.;) Although, you might try 'Lockhart, Sprout, and Two Smoking Barrels' if you'd like a hint of what could be. Hee hee. Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: mrsscorpiusmalfoyyy
Date: 12/10/11 0:09
Chapter: The Seven Potters

Ahahaha. This was great. EXTREMELY CREATIVE AND VERY WELL WRITTEN. AND BLOODY HILARIOUS. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate the review. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, it was fun to explore all these other Harrys! Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: J K Pi
Date: 11/29/11 23:22
Chapter: The Seven Potters

This was the best humorous fan fiction yet.I read through a few paragraphs and was laughing out of my chair. Keep up the good work! I hope to see more from such a well rounded author.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed this and had a good laugh, it was fun to write. Hm, I don't think you'll have to worry about seeing more from me - I have quite a few stories here already and no plans to quit anytime soon, although I will admit humour is not really my forte. Thanks again, I really appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 11/29/11 19:41
Chapter: The Seven Potters

That was an interesting read :) Nicely done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it and appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: MagicMandy
Date: 11/12/11 13:23
Chapter: The Seven Potters

This was hilarious! I liked how it was funny, but also explored Harry's personality. My personal favorites were DirtyHarry and DrunkHarry. I think I've seen SuperHarry, AngstyHarry, and AngryHarry in several fan fictions before,but not in a parody- type way; it was more accidental. Harry is a complex character, and can't be forced into being one particular 'type' of person. I especially liked the last line: 'no matter what happened here on out, he would always remain Harry.'

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked the story and found it humorous. I think all those Harrys pop up somewhere in fanfic at some point or another, and it was fun to sort of poke fun at it all, and try to keep Harry as Harry. Writing some of their dialogue was a blast! Thank you so much for the lovely review, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: C_A_Campbell
Date: 09/18/10 21:17
Chapter: The Seven Potters

What an awesome little oneshot. It was super funny and clever. All the different Harry’s were brilliant, and I loved that I felt you weren’t just talking about different sides of Harry (which I loved that he quite literally ‘left them behind’) but the out of character Harry’s we see in so many bad fanfictions. It was great to laugh at them, instead of being tortured by them.

A few of my favorite lines were.

“Look," said SuperHarry, trying to keep order. "We need a plan. We can't just run off on an extended camping trip and hope the next Horcrux is delivered to our doorstep by a house elf."

Best line in the entire story, especially since I fondly call DH the Camping Trip of Doom.

Second place for the incredible lines in this story is: “Stay in canon, stay in canon," hummed DrunkHarry.

Takes me back to the fanfictions I’ve read where these Harry’s were (or others. I think there are about 101 Hermiones.) and I’ve been banging my head against the desk begging them to do the same.

So, bravo. I greatly enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming to read this! I'm glad you did (I totally understand that not everyone likes J/L as much as I do, lol) I really appreciate the lovely review. And you picked up on something I don't think a lot of people picked up on: I wasn't trying to show his character in the books as much as the bad OOC characterization of him in so many fanfics. Yay! I had such fun with trying to narrow the choices down, lol. I'm glad you liked the 'stay in canon' line - it drifts outside the story a bit, but I couldn't drop it once I had written it, especially since I was writing with a wink about fanonHarry more than canonHarry. Thanks again for reading this and the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: FawkesToTheRescue
Date: 09/06/10 20:21
Chapter: The Seven Potters

My oh my, what a wonderful job you have done here with this story! I absolutely adore it; it makes me laugh and it is one of the more clever things I have read. Superb, I love it!
--FawkesToTheRescue--

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate the compliments, since I sort of wondered about this when I started. I'm so glad you liked it - thank you for leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 08/15/10 12:45
Chapter: The Seven Potters

Gina!



I have been holding off reading this because I wanted to 'make' time for it. :D And I'm glad I did because this is so clever and funny. I loved it when Harry said he was leaving some baggage behind because (a) that meant he was maturing as a person, and (b) it also tied in nicely with JKR robbing Harry's childhood.



All the versions were nicely done, but I think my favourite was SuperHarry. Sounds like an offspring of Minerva McGonagall and Gilderoy Lockhart.



Speaking of Lockhart, when are you putting the Snapehart up here? It suffered my Snames boldly; I am pretty sure it will be able to endure that. Hehe.



***Also. This is my 100th review. ***



~Natalie.

Author's Response: Natalie! I'm glad you did come to read this, I'm sort of proud of actually being able to pull off something clever. And thank you for the great review. So you like SuperHarry, huh? I think I like AngstyHarry, for some reason. Maybe because he can't spell, lol. Ah, this was fun to figure out and write. I'm so glad you liked it. But I really hope no one sees your note about Snapehart! EEK! That is so not going up here. . . unless you pass me on the list, of course. Then the big guns come out, LOL! *hugs* Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 08/11/10 17:07
Chapter: The Seven Potters

This was super well-written =] I liked how each of the doppelgangers was an aspect of Harry's personality, some of which showed through at one point in the series, and some of which never really got a chance to show up. I'm not really the best reviewer, so I'm sorry that this kind of fails >.> , but I really liked this and felt compelled to tell you that it was fabulous :) So, excellent job! I really enjoyed reading it =] {Becca}

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I wanted to play on some of Harry's characteristics that are sometimes a bit exaggerated in fanfic. I'm glad it worked and you liked it! Thanks so much for the compliments! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 08/10/10 22:00
Chapter: The Seven Potters

XD

This was so freaking funny. I don't think I have words for just how funny. I think my favourite part was when they were trying to figure out who RAB was, and AngstyHarry misspelt. It was truly a beverage-thru-nose moment. I think I probably spent the entire story laughing. Maybe, even if the Audiofics are on hiatus for a few months, perhaps Madam Caroledemort could record it for you just because. It would be so freaking funny to listen to this madness.

A+++, Twin!!!

XD

Jess



Author's Response: Triple A-plus - wow, thanks! I'm glad you found it so funny! Thanks for helping me decide on the Harrys to use. I had fun with this and am really glad it turned out as well as it did. It would be sort of amusing to hear read aloud, I think. We shall see. Thanks for reading it, I really appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Nitwit Blubber Oddment Tweak x
Date: 08/10/10 8:56
Chapter: The Seven Potters

Gina! Oh my word, this was absolutely great! I've been laughing away like a lunatic to myself. This was really, really funny, and a fabulously original idea. Well done :)

Your choices for The Seven Potters were brilliant. I think my favourites were Angry!Harry and Angsty!Harry, though Dirty!Harry and Super!Harry made me laugh. You picked some truly spot-on elements of Harry's character, and amplified them in a way that was so tongue-in-cheek and deliciously humorous that I couldn't help but giggle my way throughout the piece. What I particularly loved about your characterisation of Harry in this piece was - in fact - your normal Harry! You've really got a good grasp on his characterisation; his reactions to the different sides of his personality, the way he thinks and comes to a conclusion about everything was just so… Harry!

The balance of humour and the more serious side of the fic was handled exceptionally well, like Carole said, in a true JK fashion. The ending was a really great way of finishing up the piece - it didn't drag down the humour or light tone of the piece, but just wrapped it up nicely. I'm really pernickety about endings, but I felt very satisfied when this finish :)

Great work again, Gina! This is going straight into my favourites :)

--Emma

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much, Emma! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I really was sort of worried it might get more of a "Huh?" kind of reaction so I'm glad it made sense and made you laugh so much. I had fun trying to decide what Harrys to use and am glad you enjoyed them. And can't you just see normal Harry reacting to all this? Just sort of standing there, taking it in, and rejecting it? Hee hee. The ending was tricky so I'm glad the last paragraph wrapped it up well. Thank you so much for coming to read this. I really appreciate the wonderful review, it totally made me smile! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 08/10/10 4:09
Chapter: The Seven Potters

That was really funny. I think that it should be in the Humor Fics rather than General because it's such a hilarious piece. It was cleverly written and fabulously characterised.

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! You know, I thought about putting it in the Humor category but just wasn't sure since I wanted it to come across as sort of subtle. Guess it's not, lol. I'll keep thinking about it. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for the compliments, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :D

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 08/10/10 1:50
Chapter: The Seven Potters

I nearly had to sue you for the price of a new laptop. I laughed so much at Dirthy!Harry and Super!Harry that I spat my tea out. This is funny, Gina, I do love the way you've got Harry's personalities down pat. They still sound recogniseably Harry (although I think DirtyHarry would be wanting to spend time with Fleur rather than Hermione - ha ha).

Slight crit ... I wasn't sure about the 'Stay in canon, stay in canon.' muttering of DrunkHarry. It was very funny, don't get me wrong, but at that point we were suddenly watching the author write a parody. Sorry, that sounds confusing, but it was a step out of fanfiction at that point. And I feel very miserly for saying that.

I really loved the end. You suddenly got a bit more serious, and that struck me as very Potterlike because in the midst of this dreadful war, they still manage to have a joke at times.

I did enjoy this ... and wow it seems other people did too. OH, and darnit! You're on fifty-three now as well *goes back to Dramione* Well Done! ~Carole~

Author's Response: Hi Carole! Thanks for coming to read this! I'm glad it made you laugh. Don't feel bad about your crit, because I TOTALLY AGREE. It knocks down that proverbial fourth wall between the audience and the actors, so to speak. I am totally aware of that...and yet, I can still hear "Stay in canon, stay in canon" to the strains of "Brother John" so I just couldn't take it out, lol. And it is a bit of a parody, after all - less of a play on Harry's personalities and more of a play on how he turns out in fanfic. I submitted it at another site under the parody category, even. So, I'll leave it for now, but believe me, I am aware of the break. And yes, I'm keeping up with you. ;) Thanks for the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 08/10/10 0:01
Chapter: The Seven Potters

Oh, Gina. That was hilarious. I knew you could pull this off! I loved how sexyboi!Harry liked Hermione... gosh, surprising much?

"Mmm, Hermione," nodded DirtyHarry appreciatively.

"Stay in canon, stay in canon," hummed DrunkHarry. He tripped into the living room and passed out on the floor.


Definitely my favourite bit XD

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for reading this! I'm glad you found it funny. I'm relieved I pulled it off, lol. Had to get a nod to Harry and Hermione in there somewhere. ;) As for "Stay in canon" I'm glad you liked that. Carole thought it was a bit breaking with the rest of the piece, and I think she's right, but I can still hear it in my head so I just couldn't bring myself to cut it once I wrote it. Fourth wall, smourth wall. ;) Thanks again for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 08/09/10 20:06
Chapter: The Seven Potters

LOL!

The idea was as superb as the "stay in canon, stay in canon"! Hillarious, and yet quite deep.

I think Drunk, Dirty and Angst were my favourites.SuperHarry was a bit annoying, actually! AngryHarry is just a classic, by now. But Angst, "I can't even spell!"

I really liked this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you are laughing! And I've very happy you enjoyed this look at Harry's other personas. I actually think SuperHarry might be closest to his real personality - he does have a bit of a hero complex after all. But exaggerating it does make it a bit annoying, lol. Thanks again, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES