Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 10/25/11 12:02
Chapter: Chapter 5-What Friends Are For

"“Some things are.” It wasn’t Remus’ fault that he was a werewolf. If the situation were reversed, James knew that all the other Marauders would risk their lives for him."

This line was, perhaps to me, one of the best in this chapter. It is a line hard to forget, because of (obviously) what Pettigrew did in later years. But it shows what the Marauders and their friendship stood for when at Hogwarts, and reasons for Pettigrew choosing the dark side would probably be another fan-fic :P

Loved your writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful, in-depth review! :) That was one of my favorite lines when I was writing it, and I'm glad you picked up on the reference to Peter's betrayal because that was my intention. As to the evolution of Peter Pettigrew, look for my upcoming fan-fic entitled "When Good Rats Go Bad!" No, I'm totally kidding (not least because that's a terrible title), but Peter has always interested me as a character.

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 10/25/11 11:59
Chapter: Chapter 13-Engulfed in Flames

Hi. I read all of your chapters, and I think the plot is wonderful. It doesn't stagnate, and encompasses not just the James-Lily relationship, but other relationships with James, like James-Sirius (with special reference to this chapter). I love how you use the language. Also, I am eagerly waiting for the rest of the story.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! This review just made my day! Yeah, I think that James' and Lily's relationships with their friends and family are important to their characterization, even though James/Lily is my OTP. Plus, Sirius has always been one of my favorite characters and I want to do him justice. :) I'll try to update soon!

Reviewer: Pottergirl33
Date: 10/21/11 21:28
Chapter: Chapter 13-Engulfed in Flames

I really liked how you wrote about Sirius's reaction to seeing James at the funeral. Update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I've been trying to add more depth to James' relationships with his friends because, even though it is primarily a James/Lily story, the Marauders are really important to him too. Hopefully I'll get chapter 14 out with less of a wait this time. :)

Reviewer: jamlil
Date: 10/20/11 8:51
Chapter: Chapter 13-Engulfed in Flames

it was good. i thought james had told sirius about his mom not Mr Potter. he is such a stupid person.sirius has a right to cut his friendship with james.update soon

Author's Response: Thank you! And no, James didn't tell Sirius. That was part of the reason Sirius was crying in the last chapter because Sirius felt like James had no right to keep something like this from him. Don't give up on James yet. He is selfish--that's partly from the way he has been brought up--but people can change. Anyway, yes, I'll try to update soon!

Reviewer: Dumb Brunette
Date: 10/20/11 1:21
Chapter: Chapter 13-Engulfed in Flames

I love it :) update asap :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'll try to :)

Reviewer: Monana
Date: 10/19/11 20:08
Chapter: Chapter 13-Engulfed in Flames

Finally! I love your fanfic! It's really good and I've been waiting for the next chapter for what feels like ages. And again you don't disappoint me. It was really good! Now I can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! :) I've been insanely busy so I am not as quick at updating as some other authors on the site, but I promise that I won't stop writing!

Reviewer: jamlil
Date: 09/20/11 12:40
Chapter: Chapter 12-Family Matters

oh that was great.you're doing fine.update soon please :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And I'll try to make the next chapter even better than fine! :)

Reviewer: Dobbysocks796
Date: 09/17/11 12:34
Chapter: Chapter 12-Family Matters

Oh my goodness! Your writing is fantastic! Never seen such excellent character development with Sirius

Author's Response: Thank you very much! What a nice review to come home to after a long day at work. :) I've been trying to develop Sirius more because he's one of my favorite canon characters and too often he just gets written off as a womanizer. There's much more to him than that, I think.

Reviewer: Bluestreakspirit
Date: 09/16/11 22:08
Chapter: Chapter 12-Family Matters

Ooh I get it now because of the chapter end note!! I think that the letter was James telling Sirius that his mom died, and Sirius loved her so much and was so upset that he wasn't allowed to come home!!! :(! But :) that I figured it out! Keep writing and I'll keep reviewing!!!

Author's Response: Nice! Actually, my beta (the lovely Soraya) was telling me to make it more obvious, so I'm glad people are getting it. That's not all that will be revealed in Chapter 13, though! :) Thanks for reading & especially for your feedback!

Reviewer: StarsApartlover
Date: 09/16/11 13:48
Chapter: Chapter 12-Family Matters

I think Sirius found out about James mother. Great chapter

Author's Response: I think you may be right. Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 09/11/11 13:07
Chapter: Chapter 10-Missing

This is a really great story, and I think your portrayal of Lily is wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I wasn't sure if I was focusing too much on deepening my characterizations of James and Sirius, so I'm glad you think Lily is wonderful. :) Chapter 12 was in the queue...so I suppose that means it's in fan-fiction limbo for now....

Reviewer: Siriusblack_tonks
Date: 09/04/11 13:27
Chapter: Chapter 1- That Easy

Update soon please!

Author's Response: I will, I swear! I just need to tweak the ending of chapter 12 a bit more. Thanks for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: island_babe_23
Date: 08/26/11 20:26
Chapter: Chapter 11-A Little Unwell

Great job! Can’t wait for more.

Author's Response: Thanks!! Chapter 12 is done and as soon as it's as perfect as my beta and I can make it I'll post. :)

Reviewer: ProfessorZah
Date: 08/20/11 12:21
Chapter: Chapter 1- That Easy

Well-written! My only criticism: I think blast-ended skrewts were created by Hagrid in an illegal breeding experiment (in Goblet of Fire). So they probably would not have existed at the time of this story.

Author's Response: Wow! My only response to that is, ten points to the House of your choice! Neither me, my beta, nor the mods caught that, but you're completely right. I changed it accordingly. Thanks for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 08/17/11 11:01
Chapter: Chapter 11-A Little Unwell

I love your James but he is an idiot for saying nothing to his friends. This chapter is sad but rings true - thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! And I'm glad it rings true - it's based on personal experience, although (thank goodness) not with a parent. I think James is being an idiot as well, but unfortunately keeping his problems to himself is part of what I think his character would be. Oh well, we like him anyway. :)

Reviewer: weasleygirl2
Date: 08/16/11 13:49
Chapter: Chapter 11-A Little Unwell

PLEASE update soon.

I think you really got the emotion spot on in this chapter, especially at the end. The relationship with James and his mother is so sweet!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I was trying to make it clear that he really loves his mother without it being too sappy, so I'm glad you liked that part. Chapter 12 is done, but needs some tweaking. I'll update as soon as I can! :)

Reviewer: cinnamonwitch
Date: 08/15/11 20:56
Chapter: Chapter 1- That Easy

this is probably the best james/lilly story i've read yet! the plot is really believable and i think u stay really true to the characters or at least what i imagine they would be keep up the good work and i can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's high praise--there are many wonderful stories on this site, including J/L ones (my personal favorite). The next chapter is done, but I'm still going to do a bit more work on it before I send it off to my beta. It shouldn't be too long of a wait. :)

Reviewer: pimentoplane
Date: 08/07/11 15:33
Chapter: Chapter 11-A Little Unwell

I'm so addicted! This is fantastic. I hope James invites Sirius so he can at least say his goodbye! The characterization of everyone is nice, too. I enjoy it thoroughly.

Author's Response: Thanks for such a lovely review! As much as I love James, he doesn't always do the right thing, but you'll have to wait and see whether Sirius does get a chance to say his goodbyes. And I'm working very hard on chapter 12 to make sure it's at least as good as all the other chapters! :)

Reviewer: dory2o2
Date: 07/30/11 20:25
Chapter: Chapter 11-A Little Unwell

aww, this installment had me tearing up. Can't wait for the next installment!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! :) I feel bad for making several people tear up with this chapter, though it is meant to be sad to accurately describe Mrs. Potter's condition and James' desperation. I'm working on Chapter 12 right now, but it'll have to be quite good to measure up to this one!

Reviewer: hpgploversforever
Date: 07/29/11 15:21
Chapter: Chapter 11-A Little Unwell

I just finished the first 11 chapters. This is an amazing story. I can't wait to see what else you come up with. Keep the chapters coming and I will keep reveiwing.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading & reviewing! I'm glad you plan to keep doing so, and I hope that you like the rest of the story as well as you did the first half! :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES