Reviews For Memento Mori
Reviewer: White Dreams
Date: 07/20/11 11:10
Chapter: Memento Mori

Amazing short story. The wonderful creativity and confidence the story is written with is truly admirable. You seem to be able to pour a little bit of you, your personality into the writing. The topic of "afterlife" is something i find so vague yet so interesting. Wouldnt it be great if your highschool competitor came to tell you, "oh yeah, btw you are dead." Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. You are too kind. ^_^ The afterlife topic is rather vague, and I didn't really want to just say "this is how it is". I wanted it to be a matter of interpretation. I never really had a competitor in school, but, yeah, it would be "great" to have my arch-nemesis announce that I am dead. Lol! Thank again. ^_^

Reviewer: cornship
Date: 07/14/11 10:58
Chapter: Memento Mori

Beautiful oneshot! The afterlife is always something that I like to ponder on.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The afterlife is a touchy issue. I like to explore its different facets. ^^

Reviewer: DarkSunflower
Date: 07/08/11 21:39
Chapter: Memento Mori

This was really creative! I must say I deeply enjoyed reading it. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm really glad you liked it. ^_^

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 06/14/11 12:06
Chapter: Memento Mori

I try to follow several stories being currently updated on a variety of Fanfic sites and have not been back to mugglenet for a while. What a lot of great stories I have been missing. This was really well written and a fabulous little gem. I need more hours in a day.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked this. It was a plot bunny that refused to hop out of my head. :P

Reviewer: Forever Fighting
Date: 05/07/11 20:25
Chapter: Memento Mori

Very creative. Great story

Author's Response: Thank you very much. ^_^

Reviewer: Mom2Rose
Date: 04/26/11 21:13
Chapter: Memento Mori

You made me excited about the afterlife. I expected that Draco would have to deal with his guilt and regret, though, as punishment, so there was another surprise factor there.
Well written withe some great word voices and phrasings.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm really glad that you liked it. I think Draco was punished in his own way. ^_~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/14/11 9:55
Chapter: Memento Mori

Are we greeted by our nemesis after we die? My biggest question is when did Draco die--before or after Harry--I think probably after if he was flashing back to visiting Harry's grave. Harry insinuated that Draco didn't die quietly, so I'm wondering how he died. Harry's short speech, starting with "Remember, it is our choices . . ." sounds like something a Gryffindor would say, while weighing options sounds like something a Slytherin would say--carefully planning so everything goes perfectly.Very interesting and very good story.;

Author's Response: Nemesis, maybe. At least it's not someone we fear - only those who agitate us. Lol. I leave it up to you to decide when Draco had died. It could have been just before he had made up his mind to visit Harry's grave or after. Either way, I don't think Draco was in his right mind before the end - much like Harry. He could have been sick for ages, even before Harry died. Anyway, I'm rambling. ;) I'm glad you liked it. It was interesting to write - to have Harry and Draco together - changed yet the same.

Reviewer: fairylights1006
Date: 11/23/10 7:47
Chapter: Memento Mori

I had goosebumps the whole time I was reading this story. I think you did a wonderful job staying true to the characters. Thinking of Harry as an old man or dead always seems surreal to me, but its still a beautiful story. Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm really glad you liked it - and that my characterisation was spot on. ^_~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/04/10 3:06
Chapter: Memento Mori

This was a really interesting idea, and you wrote it really nicely. I loved your characterisations of both Harry and Draco - and neither are easy characters to write, so that's impressive. For a while I was worried that you were leading up to Harry magically coming back to life in some form... and I was so glad that it wasn't like that, your actual story was a lot more realistic.

I liked your quirks about the afterlife - for example, someone you don't like telling you your dead, and how you start old and seem to get younger etc. It added a nice sense of originality to what could be really cliched.

Great fic :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad this came across as original and not clichéd. This was a story that I felt I had to write. And I am very happy that my Harry was convincing. I rarely write the bloke. Hehe.

Thank you again for all your wonderful review.

~Lia

Reviewer: Russia Snow
Date: 10/02/10 9:58
Chapter: Memento Mori

This was overall a very good story. You had some really interesting ideas in this fic, like being informed of your death by someone who you would not necessarily choose. The afterlife is a very difficult subject to deal with in any story but I feel that you handled it particularly well.

When Harry first reappeared and mentioned his great-granddaughter, I was wholly prepared for the whole "because they were related and born and died at the same time Harry got to come back to life in a corporeal form" very unrealistic plot line and I was SO glad that that didn't happen! I knew from about halfway through though that Draco was dead, as soon as the cemetery lit up, I was like "he's dead!" but never the less the mystery of the thing was handled very well.

Although I liked the characterisation, something about it irked me. Like I somehow thought Draco's characterisation might change when he was an old man? When reading his speech and thoughts I immediately thought DRACO, but at no point did I ever think 'old Draco'. I was struggling to picture him as an old man and had to constantly remind myself that he no longer looked like Tom Felton =p

I was actually very impressed with Harry's characterisation. Harry is never a character I particularly enjoy reading in FF buyt I could definitely see a strong essence of Harry running through the dialogue.

I thought the Latin was very cleverly used in the story too, and I was very glad that it was translates in the A/N, the title was very fitting and if you knew what it meant before reading the story (which I did) then it gave a subtle hint of what would happen without ruining it.

Really well done, Lia! *squish* xxxxx

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely concrit, Russia. ^^

//When Harry first reappeared and mentioned his great-granddaughter, I was wholly prepared for the whole "because they were related and born and died at the same time Harry got to come back to life in a corporeal form" very unrealistic plot line and I was SO glad that that didn't happen!//

Lol, yeah I just wanted to bring up cosmic irony, but, honestly, I just wanted a bit of dialogue that would wholly bore and irritate Draco. Come to think of it, it doesn't take much to irritate Draco, especially when it comes to Harry. Lol.

//I knew from about halfway through though that Draco was dead, as soon as the cemetery lit up, I was like "he's dead!" but never the less the mystery of the thing was handled very well.//

Good, I'm glad there was still a touch of mystery. I did, however, expect some lightbulbs to go off when Harry snapped his fingers and the cemetery lit up. ^_~

//When reading [Draco's] speech and thoughts I immediately thought DRACO, but at no point did I ever think 'old Draco'.//

I agree that my Draco didn't appear exceptionally old. I think I was more concerned with the moment of his afterlife experience than age itself - besides, this is Draco's narrative, so you know he's going to play himself up as his young, handsome self as opposed to an old man. ^_~

//I was actually very impressed with Harry's characterisation.//

A lot of thanks goes to Gina for making me flesh him out more. I, too, love writing Draco so much more, but I think I did an okay job with Harry here. Thank you. ^_^

Thank you so much for such a thorough review. I really appreciate it. ^_^

~Lia

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 08/24/10 9:54
Chapter: Memento Mori

Though I'm often fairly skeptical about fics that tackle the theme of an afterlife (so hard to get it right, I suppose :D) I really enjoyed this one-shot. I really like the way the afterlife you portrayed was completely different than say Harry's encounter with Dumbledore at the end of DH - and how you didn't try to make Harry into an epic war hero, but left him Harry. Your characterization was really good, especially considering the somewhat absurd (but wonderfully pulled off!) situation. A really good read!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. I'm very happy that the somewhat touchy subjects (like the afterlife) went over well with you. I tried to be as vague as possible (vaguely philosophical, I suppose) and hoped for the best. Lol.

You're right that Harry is best as Harry, instead of an epic war hero. We all know he's a hero, but we love his modesty and simplicity. It's what makes him so awesome. And, I'm glad everything was pulled off well, hehe. We'll see how well the companion piece goes when I write Harry's afterlife encounter with Snape. ^_~

Thank you again. ^^

~Lia

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 07/28/10 22:03
Chapter: Memento Mori

Ooh, I can't believe that I almost forgot to read this! I simply adore the simple, unadulterated perfection of Draco. You've seen him in so many states and so many ways, but being dead is a new one. Harry is enigmatic, but it just seems more so because of his natural inability to explain things. He always was bollocks at that. :

I simply adore everything about this story, and the ending left me with the impression that you could at any time keep it going to show some of Draco's choices and paths. It would be fascinating to see where he goes from there.

All in all, very good story, and I'm glad I stumbled upon it to read. Heart heart heart,

Jess



Author's Response: *grins* Thank you for such a gushing review. ^_^ I do feel that this story is somehow incomplete, in the sense that I could add to it, like you suggested. If I ever get the inspiration, I might turn this into a short chaptered fic. It would be interesting to see the choices Draco makes--and who he meets along the way (Snape, Lucius, Dumbledore, etc). I am thinking about doing a Harry/Snape companion piece to this: Harry's first experience with death...and Snape. Lol. So many plot bunnies! Well, I know that if I do intend to pursue them or expand on this one, I have you and Gina to turn to for guidance. ^.^

Thank you again. ^_^

~Lia

Reviewer: Hermi101
Date: 07/27/10 15:15
Chapter: Memento Mori

This was great to read! I think that Draco's characterization was perfect, and seeing his point of view on Harry's death in the beginning was very interesting. I enjoy fics from Draco's POV, because you can really see into his character, and since he's such a character, that makes it very interesting. Overall, I think this was a great read, and very well-written. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for you lovely compliments. I am always happy to hear that my characterisation of Draco is spot on, especially when he's old and grey. ^_~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 07/25/10 20:49
Chapter: Memento Mori

Ah, I love how this turned out!! Wonderful job! Really, the tone is just spot-on. You set Draco's tone from the very beginning with the line about a broken nose from Weasley's fist. And then nail it again with the wonderfully sarcastic "'How touching." Writing Harry through Draco's eyes also really solidifies your excellent characterization of Draco.

And at the same time, I think Harry turned out great as well! I know I mentioned this, but you weave subtle action and dialogue together very well, so that as I'm reading I want to move my hands and run my hand through my hair like Harry does. I love Harry's attitude, it seems very much like how he would approach both being deceased and being Draco Malfoy's messenger. :)

Harry and Draco's interaction is so great to read here. I love the irony of it, and how they respond to it. Some great snarky lines, too!

The Latin is lovely, really adding a nice depth to the story. I love the quote from Twain and am so glad you worked in Dumbledore's quote as well!

This is such an original and fun story to read. I think you've done a great job and I really enjoyed working with you on it!

~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thnk you so much for the lovely review and your beta help, Gina. ^_^ You really helped me better flesh out Harry, even though we see him through Draco's eyes. I plan on writing the Snape/Harry interaction some time in the future, so I shall be enlisting in your services again! ^^ *hugs*

~Lia

Reviewer: magic_pen
Date: 07/19/10 22:16
Chapter: Memento Mori

I really loved this. Draco's narration was entertaining, as well as both characters dialogue. I loved how you wrote it. It's now among my favorites.

I'm sorry if this comment seemed short, but I have no earthly idea what to say that hasn't already been said.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed Draco's narration. He's a sarcastic bugger, isn't he?

I'm grinning foolishly because you put this story in your favourites, so I shall forgive the fact that the review is short. ^_~

Reviewer: magic_pen
Date: 07/19/10 22:11
Chapter: Memento Mori

I really loved this. Draco's narration was entertaining, as well as both characters dialogue. I loved how you wrote it. It's now among my favorites.

I'm sorry if this comment seemed short, but I have no earthly idea what to say that hasn't already been said.

Author's Response: It doesn't give me the option to delete double posts, so I shall just say thank you again. ^_^

Reviewer: A H
Date: 07/18/10 16:16
Chapter: Memento Mori

My goodness, Lia! Oh, you really shouldn't credit me, I couldn't have produced something this wonderful if I tried, and it's hard to believe that I could have even inspired it. This was an excellent read.

One of the most enjoyable aspects of this was Draco's voice throughout it. It didn't just sound like Draco, it sounded like an older Draco. I'm not really quite sure how to explain that... he was perfectly IC, but even more so, because I really got a sense that he had aged, that some parts of him might have changed while other traits solidified in to his older years. I guess that makes sense, but it's still not what I'm trying to say. I'll let it suffice, though. :p

I loved the beginning scenes, in which Draco clandestinely attends the funeral, and visits it once everyone is gone. It was like when you watch a movie and the camera is sweeping over all of these different scenes while an invisible voice is narrating it... it was really lovely. The imagery of the funeral was wonderful and having Draco's narrations accompanying my mind throughout all the images of the Great Potter's funeral was humorous and sad.

I reached out and lightly tapped the top of his gravestone with my cane, as though accusingly poking him in the chest.

HA! That tickled me to death. (hehe, pun.)

The banter between Draco and Harry was also really entertaining. It was reminiscent of their childhood banter, but appropriate of their age. They've obviously moved past the childish grudges but they still don't like each other, and I love how they interact in this. It's almost like there's a bit of respect between them.

Snape being Harry's guide... classic. XD That was awesome. The bit about Snape enjoying it – xDD (I can't quantify how I felt about that with words, so the smiley shall have to suffice.)

Overall, I'm so exceedingly happy that you wrote this. It definitely deserves its spot in my favorites.

-hugs-

Ari

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for your lovely and awesome review. I really was inspired by your prompt because it was so unique. I'm only sad that I didn't do it justice. However, I am tempted to write the encounter between Harry and Snape, because I think it would be hilarious. ^_~

I'm so very very glad you liked this, and thank you, again, for such a lovely review. ^_^

~Lia

Reviewer: majestic_ginny
Date: 07/17/10 23:51
Chapter: Memento Mori

Wow.... This is one of the best stories I've read so far. I loved your moral, and the way you wrote this story is very touching. I was hooked the whole time.

Your characterisations of Draco and Harry are spot on. I especially loved how you wrote Malfoy-- the sarcasm and sense of superiority are all perfect.

And Harry's grave is exactly how I imagine it to be- plain and simple. He'd never want anything like "Hero" written on his tombstone. The quote that you've given is perfect.

You did a great job with this. Congrats, and keep up the good work!

--Nadia :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I have never written something like this before, and I was a little worried about how it would be received. I'm still not happy with it, but I am quite glad that Draco stayed in character (and Harry too). I, too, think that Harry would never let them write 'Hero' on his tombstone. ;) *grins* I'm content that my vague talk of the afterlife didn't annoy you either. Heheh.

Thank you again. ^^

~Lia

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES