Reviews For Brazen
Reviewer: dreamsnape
Date: 05/27/14 3:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

So, no happy ending for Draco. He seems the same as before-- as in canon, I mean--, not much more mature and no wiser. He pretty much got what he deserved, though I found myself hoping he would learn something, be enlightened a little about life and people, and about himself. I would have liked to know more about Astoria, too. Not sure why she has all the power in this relationship. Doesn't her family need the Malfoys as much as Draco's family needs them?
One detail I really liked was the tradition of the bride and groom entering from opposite sides of the room and meeting together in the middle. I've always thought weddings should be that way-- symbolically, it makes more sense. These days, women are independent and free to marry whomever they choose. They aren't handed over from their fathers to their new husbands. That's so archaic.

Author's Response:

I think, of everything in this fic, I angsted the most over the wedding ceremonies. I knew they would have to be different from Muggle weddings, but not unrecognisably so (both had to have similar roots, so they should at least be derivatives of one another). The idea for that I ended up scrapping was that the bride and groom had to pass through a people!tunnel of the other's kin and friends, so if any of them felt the bride or groom was unworthy, they could stop them physically. Then I realised that I got the idea from a Klingon rite of passage from an episode of Star Trek and went a less obscure route.

I will defend my characterisation of Draco because of his age. In this, he's 22. By now, he would have had the chance to be more complacent about his family's place after the war but still understanding that marrying into a respected family was still something he had to do, whether he wanted to or not. It isn't so much an arranged marriage more than the accepted inevitability of one he might not have chosen for himself under different circumstances. And after all, once a git, always a git. Draco couldn't lose all that in a few short years, no matter what happened to him. Plus, it's a humour story, so if it didn't have levity at the expense of someone who has deserved comeuppance on several occasions, then I wouldn't be doing it right.

As for Astoria, my head canon is that the Greengrasses are a well-connected family, but they have difficulty finding a good match for Astoria because she is a wilful wild child. Fortunately for the, the Malfoys are desperate and the Greengrasses can look past some unfortunate past alliances (their words, not mine) to hopefully settle down their rambunctious youngest daughter. However, as this story is more about Draco and the ridiculousness he faced during the wedding preparations, that backstory didn't have much place in the story and would've felt extraneous. The ending is as it is because Draco doesn't know her that well and was a bit gobsmacked at how forceful she is, plus the fact that he knows that if she divorces him, it will look very bad for his family. But, as I said...humour fic. Not very happy trimmings for this particular cake.

Anyway, thanks for reading. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: sgtmajorette
Date: 05/25/14 22:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

Heh, heh...

All was well.

Author's Response: Nothing like a bit of comeuppance after a youth full of jackassery. All was well, indeed. *cackles*

Reviewer: toujourpurs
Date: 09/28/13 17:18
Chapter: Chapter 1

Draco needs someone who can boss him around, but I do hope they work it out. :)

Author's Response: Well, in my headcanon, they don't break it off, so I guess that qualifies as 'working it out'. But there are no words to describe how much Draco needed to have his ass handed to him. XD

Thanks for reading!

~Jess

Reviewer: ginevra_molly_always
Date: 05/31/12 17:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

wow... This is amazing!!! I love it :) I like the way its really brutal about what the Malfoy family might have been like to try and get back into respectable wizarding society and how Draco might have then dealt with it. Personally, i usually go for a nicer, Draco actually repented idea, but i like the dark one too. Keep it up, I love the stuff you write :) xxx

Author's Response:

Normally, I like the idea that Draco was able to take his forced attitude adjustment and become a better person, buuuut I just felt like torturing him for a bit. Then this fic was born. It will probably be my only foray into humour. My type of humour doesn't translate well onto the page, hehe.

Anyway, thank you for stopping by. I'm still mildly baffled and extremely happy that this story has gone over so well, even ages after I wrote it, so your review made me smile. <3

~Jess

Reviewer: RavenclawDiamond
Date: 06/24/11 16:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ahh, this made me giggle =]

Author's Response:

Then my job is done. Making Draco miserable has always been a favourite source of amusement for me. Glad I could share.

~Jess

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 06/13/11 13:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow. That was...different. I guess I had always hoped a relationship with Astoria would be some sort of, I don't know, redemption for Draco. And just as it seemed it would be...it's ripped away. But it made for a great story. Well written, great ending, good characters.

Author's Response:

Hehe, torturing Draco is like a sport. I may or may not have a medal in that particular activity, as well. I just had a bunny about Draco having to prepare for a wedding he didn't want, and then it all blew up in his face. Plus, it was for a wedding challenge, so that had to play into the picture.

I guess it's an alternate take on how things could've played out for Draco. It's not likely, but I like to think it could've at least *happened*.

Thanks for reading/lurking my author page. It's always fun to reply to good reviews. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: DarkSunflower
Date: 05/08/11 21:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

HAHAHAHAH! Oh my Godric, Draco just got owned... What a perfect way to end it. Classic hilarity. xD

Bravo, my friend, bravo!

Author's Response:

It was probably mean of me to do this to Draco, but I had set out to make his day one large FML moment. It's the start of a really looooong night, hehe.

Thanks for reading, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. 

~Jess

Reviewer: intense hp fan
Date: 12/24/10 22:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

XD sooo funny!!!!

Author's Response:

Hehe, I'm glad you think so. I was pretty proud of myself when I wrote this. He's just such a cantankerous bastard when he's hung over. :D

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: dahtonen
Date: 12/20/10 21:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was great! Wow! Wasnt expecting that ending! Jess, you are amazing!!!

Author's Response: Hehe, this was written for a story challenge about a big wedding. Since weddings are fluffy and disgusting and I'd rather be beaten than write that sort of fluff, I did this instead. I like a nice, raunchy Draco. :D

Reviewer: BekaKT
Date: 11/09/10 15:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

brilliant, one of the best pieces of fanfic on here

Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Sometimes, it's fun to read a bit of drunken snarkiness, followed by a heaping helping of humble pie. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: neonpachyderm
Date: 09/26/10 22:06
Chapter: Chapter 1

now THAT made me laugh...never was a fan of Draco Malfoy and his ilk, but this is the perfect comeuppance. :)

Author's Response:

Haha, I'm glad you enjoyed it. There was something satisfying in torturing Draco, I'm not gonna lie. :D

Thanks for the kudos, and have a great night!

~Jess

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 09/19/10 17:17
Chapter: Chapter 1

Here is yet another review for the Ravenclaw Review Circle, because 'tis so much fun!

It has become something of a cliche to have the whole 'arranged marriage' bit, even in the Trio's generation and beyond. I never bought into this sort of thing taking place in the 21st century. The way you portrayed it though certainly seems like it could be possible. I don't think you could really 'force' anyone to get married in this day and age, but they could certainly be...incuraged, so to speak.

And the line about 'putting things into his body he would later regret'...I'm not even going to say where my dirty mind went with that.

It's somewhat sad that Draco feels this way about getting married to Astoria, buit I don't suppose I really feel all that bad for him. Isn't constantly having two or three nineteen-year-old mistresses just part of being filthy rich?

Interesting idea about Theodore Nott dating Susan Bones. I was wondering who she would end up with, but this seems like it would be a good idea. I hope you wouldn't mind if I gave some consideration towards having the two of them be married. Or perhapes he ended up with one of the left out Ravenclaw girls...but my mind is wandering,

I also love all the detail you included in the actual ceremony itself. So many people I see just copy and paste the Muggle Christian ceremoney word for word. And every detail of it was beautiful! You clearly put a lot of original thought into it; enough to make it recognizable as an actual wedding, but not so much that it appeared Muggle in any way.

I always wondered a great deal about wizarding weddings, especially since weddings are, for the most part, a religious ceremony, and religion seems notably absent from the Harry Potter books. Whether this was just out of J.K.'s desire not to offend anyone, the secular nature of western Europe as a whole, or some unexplained wizarding attitude towards religion.

Merlin, there are a lot of things to consider about the wizarding world. J.K. better appriciate all the work we do for her!

The sex scene was certainly unexpected, but you pulled it off well (even if the idea of Draco actually having sex makes me feel a little queasy inside). I almost wondered if his sudden revelation about Astoria's beauty was more the liquor talking than anthing else. Friewhiskey-goggles, after all.

Also, he idea of Astoria being a...I'm not sure I can say the actual word in a review, is freaking hilarious. I just just imagine her as being the girl with a sort of 'reputation' while she was in Hogwarts. 'Inexperienced', I'll bet!

One even begs the question of where Scorpius might have come from, if Astoria happens to be blonde herself. Is she a blonde in your mind? I don't remember reading.

Well, at least now Draco can go off and drown his sorrows in a twenty-year-old scotch and an eighteen-year-old dancer.

Author's Response:

Hello, Molly. I don't think I've ever got a review from you before, so this is good.

To me, Draco considers himself a victim. This is no different. His lot isn't as bad as it seems, but since it's from his POV, it's a little bloated, hehe.

Glad you liked the story and thank you for the review. Have a good evening (I think).

Jess

 

PS-I do picture Astoria as a blonde.

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 09/08/10 8:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

Jess THAT was amazing!!! I'm so glad I finally got a chance to read one of your stories- this was great.

So funny- in a dark, black comedy way that's rare in fanfiction. I loved how crude, rude and washed out Draco was, unable to make anything work- except fixing the wedding cake!!!

And I loved the way Astoria turned the tables on him at the end. I enjoyed this so much- thank you! Alex

Author's Response:

Hehe, this story is definitely one of my best. It had started out as an angsty thing, but I found myself giggling at the very thought of a sober Harry interacting with a drunk Draco and knew that it had to be humour. This is definitely in my top three favourites. I'm glad you picked this one to read, because most the latter half of my author page is crap. :D

Good afternoon, and thanks for visiting!

~Jess

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 08/22/10 7:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

You are an evil genius, Jess. I haven't giggled this much at a fic in a very long time. I came here meaning to read some of your next-gen stuff and got sidetracked by this instead.

I love how this is the utter antithesis of every wedding fic that's ever made me feel slightly nauseous. Draco's internal monologue, peppered with snide asides, bitterness and most of all the utterly vivid cracking hangover, is just brilliant. You've done a great job with making him cruel, and sarcastic, and yet at the end of it all I still felt rather sorry for him (and wondered just how long it would be before he goes grovelling back to Pansy). I think he rather got the wife he deserved all things considered.

I really enjoyed too that even in his hungover state his innate cunning let him escape the house elf, and that in dealing with the wedding arrangements you credited him with common sense, a rare attribute sometimes in the wizarding world. I think it's a pretty balanced characterisation of him all round.

Afraid I can't stop chuckling enough though to leave you a properly analytical or in-depth review, but I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it.

~Hannah

Author's Response:

Hellooooo!

This is so awesome, because I wrote this for a Weddings Challenge with exactly that effect in mind. I hate romantic, soppy stuff in large amounts, because it makes me gag. I wanted to break the mold, so to speak, on the other pieces written for the contest. This is what came out. I wanted it to be different, irreverent, and a little bit raunchy. I love raunchy. It makes the rockin' world go 'round. :D

I think my favourite part to write was the bit about the soap. Going into his wedding day smelling like his mistress's soap just seems so very Draco to me. Plus, with his round of 'problem solving', I wanted him to be like 'who the hell cares', because this is stuff that people worry about that no one even notices. And the hangover...I think most people end up going through their wedding days with one, or the bachelor(ette) party phenomenon simply wouldn't exist, lol.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. This is the only thing I've ever written that I would consider funny, so I'm glad it was giggle-worthy. Thanks for the lovely review and for stopping by.

~Jess

Reviewer: 08Alohomora09
Date: 08/03/10 4:30
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello,

I'm very sorry to say, but the writer of this BRILLIANT story will have to continue to write in his/her cell in Azkaban...for simply stunning us with this delightful story that's charmed us so much that I swear someone from St. Mungo's called me for fixing the other night...

Haha! Anyways, to my real review:
I find this story amazing for the following reasons:
1. It's humorous.
2. It portrays Draco seemingly as he would be in the actual books.
3. It's well written.
Other than that, it's very engaging and because of all these reasons, this story, in my perception, is the best fan-fiction piece I've read so far.

I really enjoyed it...I do admit the drinking/sex part could've gone farther than I imagined, but a difference in style is always nice for a change, so I'm not complaining.

Just to inform you, there's a grammar mistake I spotted:

"Sure, it wasn’t very romantic, but after everything that he’d been trough, it was a pretty decent start."

*Trough = through.
^This sentence is located three paragraphs above the one where Astoria chastises Draco for forgetting his vows.

Well then, to conclude my review, I must say it was simply amazing and that if you do not continue to write, I will stupefy-stun you! :-)

Author's Response:

Um, yeah...wow! I've had someone say that one of my stories is one of the best they've read, but I've never had anyone say that I've written the best story they've ever read. That pleases me to no end...I hope you know that, lol. When I started this story out, I really just wanted to write something dirty and irreverent. However, when I got into the story, I saw some potential for hilarity and Malfoy hijinx that could only happen with our favourite flock of blondes.

I'm glad you loved it so much, not to mention took the time to review. I dunno if you have any idea how much author's appreciate reviews, even one-liners, though more especially concise ones like yours. 

I will keep writing, considering if you've seen my author page, I've written 23 fics in under a year; I'm not likely to stop now, lol. However, I would like to humbly request that you keep on reviewing, because you are a quality reviewer, which is a gift to writers on this site.

Thank you for your wonderful visit, and take care. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: isalairekingsly
Date: 07/26/10 16:34
Chapter: Chapter 1

Great humor, I love the way you write!

Author's Response:

Thank you. :)

It didn't originally start out as 'funny', but the moment the interaction between Draco and Harry started, I knew that it had to be humourous. It sort of snowballed from there. I'm glad you like it. :)

Take care and happy reading,

Jess

Reviewer: Lalilulu
Date: 07/09/10 0:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

this is wonderful! I'm sort of new to this site and this is the first story that i've felt strongly enough about to review! It was wonderful! you wrote such an excellent draco. He was so fun to read without losing any of his signature vileness :) It was so well written, too! All the other stories i've come across so far have been full of grammatical errors and distracting typos and yours is just about perfect! I also really loved the bit before he walks down the aisle with the count down to matrimony, that was genius! I'll definitely look for more stories by you!

Author's Response:

Ooh, two reviews in one night. It's like Christmas!

I love this story for a variety of reasons. Typically, I promote a reformed Draco, one whose changed and improved his character, maybe not so much because he wanted to as much as had to in order to stay with the rest of society. His soul searching led him to places that he had never dreamt possible. That being said, though, sometimes, I like him to stay as the rogue a-hole that we all know him to be in the books. There are a variety of ways that Draco could adapt to post-war life, and this is merely one of them. I really enjoyed writing this story, and I wanted it to be as raunchy as possible, lol. I think I've, er, done that. :D

Have a great day/night/whatever, and I hope to see you again sometime.

~Jess

Reviewer: The_Lovely_Rowena
Date: 06/28/10 21:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was great! I feel so bad for Draco. Loved the ending though!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I think one of the greatest compliments to an author is the ability to take an otherwise unsavory/unlikable character and turn him/her into a protagonist. I'm happy that my efforts succeeded. Thanks for reading, and take care!

~Jess

Reviewer: Liandrin
Date: 06/11/10 17:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

Poor, poor Draco. =(

Jess, this is brilliant. I love your characterisation of Draco. It is so spot on for what I’d believe him to act Post Hogwarts, especially for his impending nuptials. And your Astoria is just plain evil! I want to slap her silly.

You have written some great moments with Draco and Lucius and Draco and Pansy--but my favourite interaction is Draco’s confrontation with Harry. Draco vomiting on Harry's leg equals priceless moment.

In addition to setting us up with multiple humorous scenes, you have managed a great fluidity to your prose, which has resulted in some excellent lines: He was getting married, and if he was to be restricted to one woman for the rest of his life, he wasn’t going into it sober.--Lol, not only is this well-written and true, it’s bloody hilarious.

My favourite exchange of dialogue would have to be the lead up to the vows and the vows themselves:

“What did I miss?” He looked back and forth between Astoria and the minister, both of whom seemed extremely annoyed that he was ruining things.

“Your vows, you prat! You’re supposed to say your vows!”


Draco is just downright comical. Even though he’s a hapless smuck here, I still love him! ^^

Well done, my dear.

~Lia

Author's Response:

Thank you, dear, for the lovely review. You appreciate the value of a good, old-fashioned, ribald tale, and this is certainly it. Draco just lends himself to hilarity so much with his attitude and mannerisms. While I typically believe in a reformed, humbler Draco, sometimes I just want him to be an a******. :D

Plus, I just wanted to write a fic with a lot of gratuitous swearing and sexual innuendo. Yay for crude humour!

I'm glad you liked it, and thank you again for the review. Take care and happy writing!

Jess :D

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 06/10/10 18:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

OMG I finally got around to reading this. Jess, you have outdone yourself. This is brilliant. Your Draco is irreverant, snide, proud and everything I love about him. It was refreshing to see him in this light. I admit, and you know this, I love a redeemed!Draco but while your Draco seems to regret his past, shown through his anger at his father, he has retained all his... well, unfortunate qualities. This was also a very humorous piece and I loved that. You packed it full of dry humour and wit and it matched Draco's characterisation perfectly.

She looked like a fucking goddess or something...

This had me giggling. It just struck me as something very Draco and, generally, something very male. It's like he can't actually be bothered thinking. I love it!

All in all, this was fantastic. I'm so glad I got around to reading it. I feel so behind at the moment but hopefully once exams are over and I'm on holiday I'll be able to enjoy even more amazing fanfic like this.

Julia XD

Author's Response:

Well, I'm glad you got the chance to read this, too. :D

I knew from the outset that, since mush and weddings make me want to retch, I wanted to write something that fit the prompt but totally strayed from the cookie cutter fics that were sure to come from it. I think I did that.  lol

I really just wanted to write something dirty and ribald. I'm not gonna lie. 

Thanks for reading. *hugs*

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES