Reviews For In Love and War
Reviewer: Jupiter13
Date: 06/18/11 21:00
Chapter: Chapter Four - The Reception

Aw cute.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: iamtrelawney
Date: 01/28/11 16:12
Chapter: Chapter One - The Groom

i love it :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 06/09/10 12:09
Chapter: Chapter One - The Groom

Gina!

That was a fitting closure indeed. Thankfully, everyone made it out of the mess alive. Sad that Lily and James had to suffer so much on their wedding, but hey! At least you gave them a proper one at the hospital. ;)

I feel almost sad that this action-packed romance has come to an end. And, oddly enough, I feel relieved for you at the same time because of the stress you went through in order to get it done. In any case, this was a great fic which had something to offer to everybody, and I'm honoured to be a part of it, no matter how small that part may be. Keep writing and giving us brilliant stories!

~Natalie.

Author's Response: Hi Natalie! Thank you so much for finishing this story! Whew, what a ride! Sorry about all the crazy IMs there at times, lol. Thanks again for your help and support. I'm glad its over too. It was really only stressful because of the deadline. You know I love James and Lily so I'm already thinking maybe I should write about what happened when he proposed, what do you think? Of course I'll keep writing something, although I don't know about the brilliant part. Thanks again for the lovely review, dear! They make it all worth it. :) ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lovespotter17
Date: 06/08/10 21:05
Chapter: Chapter One - The Groom

This was such a beautiful and very realistic story! i was literally brought to tears by the end of the last chapter. This story seemed very accurate on what could have really happened.
I just thought this was so amazing and well-written. Only a few have such a talent as to write something amazing and heart-wrenching as this:)
Do you have any other stories?

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the amazing review! *hands over tissue* I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and could picture it actually happening this way. I tried to make it as realistic as possible. Thank you so much for the compliments! Yes, I have written a number of other stories - what do you like to read? I'll start by mentioning my other James/Lily story, Promises, Principles and Socks. But I've written a bit of everything so feel free to visit my author's page to see if anything interests you. I also have some of my own favorite authors bookmarked there that you might like as well! Thanks again and happy reading! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 06/07/10 14:33
Chapter: Chapter One - The Groom

Um, wow? I just read this whole thing and absolultely loved it. I'm truly jealous at your ability to write action so wonderfully... I was picturing every bit of it as it happened, and felt nervous even though I knew they had to get married somehow and have Harry. LOL. Sirius was great. I especially liked that moment she caught him looking out the window, showing his own worry/fear for all that had happened.

This was beautiful, Gina. Right into my favorites it goes.

Author's Response: Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story, especially enough to favorite it! *tiny squee* :) Thank you for the compliment on writing action. Like you said, I picture it all in my head, extremely vividly, so it's just a question of being able to dribble it out in words. I actually found this more challenging than usual because there are only so many words you can use for wand, raised, spell, cast, jet, etc. etc - wizard duels involve a lot of similar vocabulary, I think! ;) But I'm pretty happy with how it turned out, and am so glad you read it! I really appreciate the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/07/10 7:29
Chapter: Chapter Four - The Reception

Lovely ... For one awful moment I thought James was going to die before they got a chance to marry. Yes, I know that's silly, but I got very caught up with the story and was worriied about him

Ah, Sirius ... IC all the way through. Loyal and yet a sarky git as well ... heh heh.

Great story, Gina. ~Carole~

That smoky snake thing is scary!

Author's Response: Oh, could you imagine? How sad would that be?! I guess if you were caught up then I did my job, lol. I'm glad you liked Sirius, he's such a neat character to write. I sort of wish he had a bigger role. And yes, the smoke thing was scary - originally it was a lethifold but Samarie thought maybe that was stretching it a bit, so I thought about a similar spell in the car on the way to work. Now, if I can do that, what's to stop wizards from making up spells all the time?! ;) Thank you for reading this bloated wedding tale, I once again appreciate all your support through it all! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: arwen85
Date: 06/06/10 22:17
Chapter: Chapter Four - The Reception

Great style, love your writing

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed this story and hope you read more. Thank you for leaving a nice review, I really appreciate knowing people are reading and enjoying this story! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/06/10 5:09
Chapter: Chapter Three - The Wedding

OH WOW! There I was marvelling - again- at your fabulous descriptive powers and the great touches you put in (the string quartet - (LOVELY). I was reading and smiling all the way as they got married - what a beautiful ceremony ... and then you pull off the most amazing fight scene. WOW WOW WOW! Just so exciting. I literally laughed out loud when Sirius said 'That bastard's crashed your wedding.' ha ha ha - master of the understatement is Mr Black. I also cheered when Bellatrix got jinxed heh heh.

Ack, I have a nit-pick ... When Lily steps into the circle, she says her name is Lily Anna Potter. It should be Evans, shouldn't it?

I thought you characterised everyone very well throughout this chapter, but what stood out for me the most was the excitement. Please finish this soon! ~Carole~

Author's Response: Carole, thank you so much! I was really hoping readers would get to the battle and have some sort of reaction like that. I worked hard on it so I'm glad it worked so well. I appreciate the comments on the characters as well. And thank you for pointing out a very stupid mistake - OF COURSE it should be Lily Evans, not Lily Potter, and I fixed it before I even responded. *headdesk* Thank you for reading and for all your support around the boards and AIM! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 06/06/10 4:28
Chapter: Chapter Three - The Wedding

Gina!

I have to say I admire your skill with writing action. You paid attention to all of the members present, but it seemed to be happening so fast.

I am waiting eagerly for the next chapter. And - oh - the vows were beautiful.

My only minor 'nitpick' (for want of a better word) is that you use semi-colons far too often. Sometimes, I feel short and simple sentences are better than to have semi-colons.

Thanks for an action-packed, emotional and full-of-suspense chapter!

~Natalie.

Author's Response: Natalie! Thank you so much for the review! This is what I was working on early last week when we were chatting. Thank you for the compliment on the action! I have to tell you (because I have to tell someone!) that I made so many notes on that - writing out Order members, Death Eaters, spells, even a little map. Whew! I'm glad it paid off. Thanks again for your help. And I really appreciate the semi-colon comment. It gives me something to look for as I try to finish up today, and something to work on when I try to step out of my box next time. Thank you for reading this, I really appreciate the support!! ~Gina, or the girl who never met a semi-colon she didn't like. ;)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/03/10 3:45
Chapter: Chapter Two - The Bride

OOOO, lovely chapter. I'm really interested in the Lily/Petunia dynamic poarticularly when their relationship started to fall apart. I like Petunia in this. She won't attend the wedding (or will she turn up?) but she hands over the pearls. Lovely gesture. And her faint look of longing ... poor Tuney.

Can't wait to read the rest. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thanks for another lovely review! Do you remember my asking about Petunia in the Character Clinic? Well, this was how I decided to play it. I'm glad it worked. You'll have to wait and see if she shows up. ;) Thanks for reading, hope you like the next chapter! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/03/10 3:31
Chapter: Chapter One - The Groom

OOH! Gina, this is lovely. Wow! I never really appreciated how good you are at scene-setting, but those first few paragraphs in the woods are amazing. I really felt that I was there with them both (actually I rather hoped I was- ha ha). I love the circumstances that you've built up around them getting married, James' proposal and of course one of the times they defied Voldemort.

Good luck in the challenge. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thank you for the compliment, Carole! Your comment made me think that I wouldn't mind hanging out with James and Sirius myself sometimes, lol! Thank you for coming to read this, I really appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 06/03/10 1:21
Chapter: Chapter Two - The Bride

Gina!



Oh Merlin! This is a wonderful story. I guess you're doing a trilogy?



I love your overall characterisation, but James and Lily are written so well here. Especially James! He seems so much mature, so much darker; he seems to understand finally that life is not all Quidditch and pranks, and the change in him is apparent throughout the story.



Lily still wanting to make up with Petunia is something in fanfiction that I like to see because it lends depth to her character. We all know she can be harsh on people, that she is not your average nice girl, and that she has her own principles. But her relationship with Petunia is complicated, and the way you've shown it here is great.



And now, I can't wait for that action-packed wedding!



~Natalie.

Author's Response: Natalie! Thank you so much for reading this and leaving such a nice review! I'm glad I did okay by the characters. I really do picture James as maturing out of his fifth-year self, because I just don't think Lily would have started dating him - let alone married him - otherwise. Thanks for your help with the upcoming bits, I hope you like the wedding! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES