Reviewer: Gryffindor Quidditch Playa
Date: 05/21/11 18:54
Chapter: Chapter 4

Hurry up and put chapter 5 up I am completley Hooked on this story!

Author's Response:

Hello!

I'm glad you enjoy the story, but I do regret to inform you that updates won't be coming for it for quite a while. I have soooo many stories that are in progress, so this one, as the longest, has to wait in line until the other ones are done. It sucks, and I wish I had all the time in the world to work on it, but I don't. :( Sorry!

Thanks for dropping in, though. 

~Jess

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 03/14/11 16:54
Chapter: Chapter 4

and now u need to update :D

Author's Response:

For the time being, I have decided to finish off my shorter works-in-progress before continuing this story. I do better work when my attention isn't split every which way. I do plan on finishing this story, because I've never NOT finished a story, but updates aren't set for the near future. I do predict that I will be back on the job no longer than six months' time.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: ShadowNeo
Date: 12/06/10 17:15
Chapter: Chapter 4

The descriptions are amazing, you put an interesting twist compared to how others wrote about albus and rose
I cannot wait until you update!!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you don't find the story cliche, which is what I try to avoid. I probably won't update soon, as I do have two other WIPs that I plan on finishing first, but rest assured that this story will not go unfinished. I can't stand the idea of not finishing a story. It makes me feel sick inside, to be honest. Thanks for reading and reviewing! ~Jess

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 10/28/10 9:43
Chapter: Chapter 4

Please don't stop here! It is a entertaining story so far - will Albus be badly hurt from his fall? I really like Neville - he's exactly as I imagined he would be as a teacher. I am not a Snape fan but feel some sympathy for him. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response:

Hello there. I'm glad you like my characters. I'd like to think that my portrayal of Albus is unique, which will come into play further down the line in the story. And I still wanted Neville to be himself, but also the snake-chopping ninja!Neville from DH. I think he's a nice mixture.

And I really do plan on coming back to this story down the line. I have two smaller WIPs that I plan on finishing up in the next month or so, which will free me up to update this story again. This story was always planned as something to do when I had nothing else to work on, but things never really worked out that way. I will finish it, because I've never not finished a story before, and I don't plan to start with the story that I'd always wanted to write from the day I started my fan fiction career. It may not be any time soon, but it will happen. You can take that to the banque. :)

Thanks for reviewing, and I'm glad you enjoyed what I have so far!

~Jess

Reviewer: Auroura_P
Date: 09/27/10 1:16
Chapter: Chapter 4

AWWWWWWWW........poor Albus. Great way to start off a story. I'm excited to see where it goes from here.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. I should really stop being lazy and update, but I've had a million things going on. Not a GOOD excuse, but it is the one I'm going to use. :D

Thanks for reviewing. 

~Jess

Reviewer: zonkoslover
Date: 08/16/10 0:16
Chapter: Chapter 4

I like it so far! I really hope you update soon.

Author's Response:

Thank you. :)

I really hope to be updating this story soon, but it is an auxiliary project of mine. I think once I finish the chapter of my of my other work-in-progress, I'll work on this one again. I hope you stay with me. :D

Thanks for reading, and take care!

~Jess

Reviewer: Evora
Date: 08/04/10 20:37
Chapter: Chapter 4

Nice to see some changes around the castle! Paid house-elves, next they'll be asking a raise or more rags to cover their filthy feet (I'm just being a merciless pure-blood here). I have read a fic that portrays Al as a someone who fears heights. Honestly, I quite like that idea. It gives him his own personality, and all that. I also like the part where Al conceives the idea that Neville as a clutz would be so ludicrous. It just gives more emphasis in the change that Neville went through. From a scared little boy to a brave, true Gryffindor.

I just want to say that I love every single detail I see in your fic. Truly the mark of a real HP fan-author. Striving to be as good as JKR. Whoops, another scene just pooped out of the sky and into my head! Must draw the scene now! Glad you've updated fast! More to come please? :)

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you, love. :)

I will say that, from the minute I read the Epilogue, no matter how I felt about the actual piece in general, I had a clear picture in my head as to what Albus would be. One of the biggest stereotypes is that all of Harry's kids play Quidditch, but it just seems like too many Weasleys and Potters and not enough anyone else. Someone has to be the bookish one, and someone's got to be the self-absorbed one. To me, writing them like this makes them feel more real, and I'm glad you agree. 

I do strive to be the best I can be. Sure, I can't say that I am or will ever be as good as JRK, but that doesn't mean that I won't try.

Thanks for the review after a long day at work. It makes me feel happy before I head off to bed. Take care, and happy writing. 

~Jess

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/03/10 13:44
Chapter: Chapter 4

I love it! We can't all be like our parents (Thank God for that!)! Can't wait to see Harry talk to Albus about Snape!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the differences between Albus and Harry. While it's true that our parents shap us as people, sometimes it is what our parents are that encourage us as children to be the exact opposite.

It'll be a while before Albus and Harry can chat, as they won't see one another until Christmas. Rest assured, though...this subject will come up. Stay tuned to see the end of Albus's disastrous flight. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 07/31/10 12:50
Chapter: Chapter 4

I can so sympathise with Albus - I hate heights
Too! Good chappy.

Author's Response:

Albus has the potential to be anyone, which is what I wanted for him. He's got the same fears, quirks, and foibles that we all have, only he's in a world that is far bigger than himself, which magnifies it. I'm glad you could identify with him. :)

Take care and happy reading,

~Jess

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/31/10 12:48
Chapter: Chapter 4

Oh God! Did you have to do that to Albus? I feel so sorry for him now. You've made this so believable and so unlike Harry's first year yet so similar at the same time. Getting lost and getting in trouble - but I have to admit, it was a huge surprise for me to find out that Albus is afraid of heights! I really didn't expect that. Rose is so Hermione-like except for when she's better than Albus.

I like how you included that Pinky is Winky's daughter. The elf names are so cute: Dobby, Pinky and Winky. Speaking of which, who's Pinky's father? I hope it's Dobby :P

Overall, a brilliant chapter. You have me hooked on this story. And the best thing about you, Jess, is that you're such a fast updater compared to some of the other authors, so I never have to wait long between chapters. I'm moving house at the moment too and my life is just packing right now. It's awful, seriously. So don't feel bad if you can't update as regularly as you'd want, I totally get it anyway.

You're a very talented author and I can't wait for the next chapter! (I can see why it's your baby!)

~Soraya~

Author's Response:

Do I like torturing Albus as a character? Not particularly, as he is my favourite. But, I do hold that one of the main driving forces of the story is that he has a rough go of things simply due to his weaker personality. He's actually a lot like Neville, which is why a teacher went against the Deputy Headmistress's wishes and let them off the hook easier. It's just the subtle differences between him and Harry - the motion sickness, the social ineptitude, the fear of heights - which separates him from being Harry Potter Round Two.

You know, I never really thought about who Pinky's dad is (Pinky is actually a boy, though. I don't think I mentioned that.). It could very well be a case of him being born after a particularly bad night of Winky's butterbeer-lubricated sulkies that she'd had over the years. Her getting knocked up (and now I'm trying to banish the idea of drunken elf sex from my head...eww) could be what drives Hermione to get her the help she needed to be happy in clothing.

I'm glad you like the story so much. As you can tell, it's going to be really long, but it's sort of Albus's life story, and I'm not going to kill him off. This will actually lead all the way into Al's adult life, since that is where all of his time at school is leading. I probably could have broken this up into 'books' for each year, but for all I know, I might even gloss over an entire year. We'll see. I will, however, keep this story going as a side project to pick up when I feel Albus in the back of my brain, asking for me to get cracking.

Thank you so much for your praise and for your support. Authors appreciate it so much. Take care and happy reading,

Jess

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/28/10 13:00
Chapter: Chapter 3

I dare say I'm happy to hear that the two will meet again!! :) Still I loved this chapter! Great job!

Author's Response:

Haha, I'm not what you'd call a Snape fan. Even if he did do what he did to protect Harry, he was still not very nice. I just thought Albus deserved to know what his namesake was really like.

I hope to update a little more quickly next time around. Thanks for reading, as always, and take care. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: Evora
Date: 07/28/10 12:11
Chapter: Chapter 3

Did the sky just fall down?! Because, Good Godric, you've finally updated! I think that deserves a halellujah in my book.

I'm getting to see what your Rose is, and I'll admit, I'm loving it. I really like how she has so much of Ron in her, and less of Hermione. You're writing Albus as a child, and how you did it is very creative. Getting lost in Hogwarts (I got lost in my school back at my country), then crying because no one was with him. How do you think of these things? I personally love the interaction between Snape and him. Not many fics seem to make them meet. Severus is his namesake, and figuring out exactly what kind of person he was named after is an adventure to also figuring out what kind of person you would be.

As always, good job! I hope for more updates to come, and goodluck!

Author's Response:

Honestly, it isn't that hard to step into the mind of a child. If I got lost in a great big castle, I'd probably cry, and I'm twenty-five. I can only imagine how terrifying that is for an eleven year old, let alone one that doesn't particularly deal well with change.

I thought that it was important for Albus to learn about the legacy which surrounds his name. Snape may have technically been a hero, but he was still a jerk, rotten to children, and was a traitor before he was anything. Albus will definitely need to chat with Harry about this one day.

Rose is, well...Rose. She does have a bit of both her mum and dad, but ultimately, she's her own person. She's a bit bossy, yes, but she's the eldest sibling, so that sort of comes with that territory. She also cares about Albus like her brother...maybe a bit more than her brother, because she knows what he's like and feels the need to protect him.

Well, anywho, thanks for reading, and I hope to update a bit faster next time. Moving sucks!

~Jess 

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/28/10 7:52
Chapter: Chapter 3

Wow. This is really good. Usually I get bored with the adventures of first-years, even next-gen kids, but still, this fic is probably the first that I actually like. Are you going to get Rose and Scorpius together? You have to, they're my favourite next generation couple along with Teddy and Victoire of course. I actually liked the Sorting Hat song - you did a great job of it. Scorpius is somewhat like his father, ditto Rose and her mum and Albus and his dad. And, of course, James and his cockiness is just like his grandpa and a bit of Fred and George too.

I really liked the way you had Albus met Snape, although I think Snape gave away too much to Albus for a first meeting, to be honest. I'm glad to see Snape hasn't changed much; I don't expect him to be angelic or anything after all he's did.

Also, Albus' nonchalant reaction when Snape says he has his grandma's eyes is very Harry-like too, even though in general Albus is more childish than Harry.

I really really reallly hope that you hook up Rose and Scorpius in this fic. That would make things really interesting as I'm guessing Al and Rose will hang around together a lot, being cousins and all, so Al would hate it if Rose liked Scorpius and stuff.

Excuse my rambling - I just haven't read a really decent fic for a while. I look forward to the next update!

~Soraya~

Author's Response:

Well, I'm glad you like it. :)

A lot of different things are going to happen in this story, and I'm trying really hard to properly separate Albus's Hogwarts experience with Harry's. It's something that I personally see a lot in fan fiction, turning Albus into the next Harry. To me, they're virtually nothing alike,and in the next few chapters, that will start to become very obvious.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you do enjoy future installments. This won't be a fast updating story, as it's sort of a long-term WIP when I have time, but I'm going to try to get at least one chapter out a month at the very least. Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Tatsumi Aya
Date: 06/07/10 20:49
Chapter: Chapter 2

This looks awesome so far! You write very lively, realistic characters, nice job. :) I can't wait for more!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it.

I'm moving house at the moment, but as soon as that's over, I will be pumping out more chapters of this story. I'm so eager to get back to it, because Albus's story needs to be told!

Thanks for stopping in and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Virgil
Date: 06/02/10 19:45
Chapter: Chapter 2

Why hello there. Instead of posting in the Ravenclaw Birthday thread and wishing you well, I figured that leaving an epically long review would be a much better gift.

First of all, allow me to say that this is shaping up to be incredibly awesome. Usually I don't like Next Generation fics because of the grossy-gross cliches (I must admit that I have not yet read "Vindication" because I haven't been following it from the start, and I am intimidated by the length... it is on my "To Read" list. I'm sure it's amazing.) but this sticks out for me as something that's completely different. The way you begin the first chapter with Albus waking up and fiddling with his wand is a fantastic start. (Personally, I've always had trouble with beginnings.) It gives the reader a little taste of characterization before the plot even gets going. You develop Albus through many other smart devices throughout the first few paragraphs as well. It's very good that you let the reader know a little about the character before dumping him on Platform 9 3/4, because it makes the moment all the more exciting.

James Sirius is, of course, the trickster - just like his grandfather before him. He's written that way a lot, but you write him well. I wonder if and when he'll be receiving the Cloak or possibly the Marauder's Map, or if he has already. The whole theme with James bothering Albus about Slytherin is almost overkill, unless you intend to portray James as a cruel person. It's understandable if he brings it up a few times to annoy his brother, but he just won't let it go, will he? I do hope he apologizes in a chapter in the near future, because I don't like him as a person very much at the moment.

I also love the way you characterize Harry. (Yes, I enjoy rambling about characterization. It's a hobby.) When he tells Albus that he shouldn't apologize unless he actually is sorry, it really shows how much wisdom he has accumulated over the years. It almost sounds like something Albus' namesake would say. Also, the fact that he manages to reduce James to tears really says something about his protectiveness as a parent. I like the image of Harry driving, for some reason. It just made me smile. The way the kids are in such awe of the Muggle parking garage, the cars, etc., is very well described. I used to wonder how they stood up as well. (Come to think of it, I actually still do... thick concrete?)

The scene from the epilogue is excellently written. I want to learn more about Albus and Rose's relationship. They are both characterized wonderfully, but I think you could go more in-depth about how they relate to each other as friends. We know that they are cousins and that Albus is closer to her than his brother and sister, but how deep does the bond actually go? I'm sure that will be answered in later chapters, but that's just about all the constructive criticism that will be appearing in this review.

I wonder if Draco really would allow his son to take Muggle pills, even if he was allergic to the potion. Will Draco be present at all in this fic? I'd love to see how his relationship is with Scorpius. Later in the chapter, Scorpius is disappointed about being Sorted into Slytherin, so I wonder if he really respects his father and the family tradition. It's hard to say. I like how Albus was the first to act prejudiced toward Malfoy, and not the other way around.

The way Rose "gestured wildly" for Scorpius to come be in their boat hinted, the way I perceived it, just a little bit of Scorpius/Rose shipping. That's just an observation. I've loved that pairing ever since I finished "Nineteen Years Later" for the first time. I wonder if you will write it into this fic, though of course I'm just musing. Another musing of mine regards Nichola - was she just inserted as a way to create conflict between Scorpius and Rose (give her a reason to push him in the lake) or will she prove to be an important character as the plot continues? (Ah, I do enjoy musing.)

One thing that I found particularly awesome is that Neville is Head of Gryffindor House. His character really did evolve over the course of Book One to Book Seven, and he isn't acknowledged nearly as much as he should be. I'd just like to know what happened to McGonagall, because I very highly doubt that she'd ever retire.

The Sorting scene is superb. (Even the Hat's song is good, in spite of your warning at the beginning of the chapter that led me to believe it would be otherwise.) The fact that Scorpius appeared upset about being put in Slytherin makes one wonder which house he had been hoping to be in. I quite liked how you wrote Albus' Sorting, although I must admit that when he said "there is only one place left to put you," I was expecting Hufflepuff. I'm quite glad for him, though, that he was put in the house that he wanted.

To put a conclusion to the gushing, I love the way you ended Chapter 2. The possibilities for where you might take this fic are wide open. It's gonna be totally awesome.

Happy Birthday.

Peace,
Virgil

Author's Response:

Hi! Thanks for the epically epic review. I love reviews of all sorts, but I like this kind the best. :D

Why hello there. Instead of posting in the Ravenclaw Birthday thread and wishing you well, I figured that leaving an epically long review would be a much better gift.

It is, indeed. Very insightful of you, you clever 'Claw.

First of all, allow me to say that this is shaping up to be incredibly awesome. Usually I don't like Next Generation fics because of the grossy-gross cliches (I must admit that I have not yet read "Vindication" because I haven't been following it from the start, and I am intimidated by the length... it is on my "To Read" list. I'm sure it's amazing.) but this sticks out for me as something that's completely different.

Haha, VoJP is quite long (just a hair longer than GoF, actually). When you read it, it just doesn't seem that way. It's one of those things that you would want to read a chapter or two a day to make it fit inot your timeframe. Most of my readers do that, so I suppose it's the best way.

And I so get your apprehension about cliché Next-Gen. Who would have thought that it could become so overdone so fast?! I love Next-Gen, but I have to admit that most of them are terrible.

The way you begin the first chapter with Albus waking up and fiddling with his wand is a fantastic start. (Personally, I've always had trouble with beginnings.) It gives the reader a little taste of characterization before the plot even gets going. You develop Albus through many other smart devices throughout the first few paragraphs as well. It's very good that you let the reader know a little about the character before dumping him on Platform 9 3/4, because it makes the moment all the more exciting.

I just wanted Albus to be seen by others as I see him myself. He's overly small for his age, fairly introverted, quiet, and just wanting to go about his own business unmolested. Showing him in a mundane light makes him feel like more of an acquaintance than a character in a story, which is absolutely what I want to do.

James Sirius is, of course, the trickster - just like his grandfather before him. He's written that way a lot, but you write him well. I wonder if and when he'll be receiving the Cloak or possibly the Marauder's Map, or if he has already. The whole theme with James bothering Albus about Slytherin is almost overkill, unless you intend to portray James as a cruel person. It's understandable if he brings it up a few times to annoy his brother, but he just won't let it go, will he? I do hope he apologizes in a chapter in the near future, because I don't like him as a person very much at the moment.

The reason why you don't like James is because this story is entirely through Albus's eyes, and he doesn't much like his brother at the moment, either. Remember, the story started off as James doing something mean to Al, so, of course, the narrative is going to portray the elder Potter brother in a negative, 'you're a slimy git' light. And the only reason why James keeps bringing up Slytherin is because he knows that it bothers the crap out of Al. I remember being that age, and if I found something with which I could irritate my siblings...I was all over it like white on rice.

I also love the way you characterize Harry. (Yes, I enjoy rambling about characterization. It's a hobby.) When he tells Albus that he shouldn't apologize unless he actually is sorry, it really shows how much wisdom he has accumulated over the years. It almost sounds like something Albus' namesake would say. Also, the fact that he manages to reduce James to tears really says something about his protectiveness as a parent. I like the image of Harry driving, for some reason. It just made me smile. The way the kids are in such awe of the Muggle parking garage, the cars, etc., is very well described. I used to wonder how they stood up as well. (Come to think of it, I actually still do... thick concrete?)

Harry is my favourite major character by far. I feel like I know and understand him as a father, a husband, a person, and an Auror. But I do need to let you in on a little secret: What Harry took James to task for had nothing to do with Albus. He mentioned it, but James had done something else to irk his dad. As for the 'don't apologise unless you're actually sorry' part, fake courtesy bugs me more than rudeness, so I decided that Harry was going to feel the same, lol. There's me projecting my own beliefs on my characters. Tsk tsk!

The scene from the epilogue is excellently written. I want to learn more about Albus and Rose's relationship. They are both characterized wonderfully, but I think you could go more in-depth about how they relate to each other as friends. We know that they are cousins and that Albus is closer to her than his brother and sister, but how deep does the bond actually go? I'm sure that will be answered in later chapters, but that's just about all the constructive criticism that will be appearing in this review.

Rose and Albus will be spending lots of time together in this story, so no worries about not getting to see their dynamics. You'll see plenty. :D

I changed many things about the epilogue, or more specifically, took many things out. It just doesn't flow well as a piece of writing, especially when one is trying to build a story around it. I didn't mutilate it, which is all I was really worried about. I'm glad you approve.

I wonder if Draco really would allow his son to take Muggle pills, even if he was allergic to the potion. Will Draco be present at all in this fic? I'd love to see how his relationship is with Scorpius. Later in the chapter, Scorpius is disappointed about being Sorted into Slytherin, so I wonder if he really respects his father and the family tradition. It's hard to say. I like how Albus was the first to act prejudiced toward Malfoy, and not the other way around.

Draco is a different person in my universe. After the War, he was humbled, hated, and totally without direction. But most of all, he learned a lot about what does and does not matter in life. There is a healthy relationship between father and son, but you will soon learn what has brought the cruel side out in Scorpius.

The way Rose "gestured wildly" for Scorpius to come be in their boat hinted, the way I perceived it, just a little bit of Scorpius/Rose shipping. That's just an observation. I've loved that pairing ever since I finished "Nineteen Years Later" for the first time. I wonder if you will write it into this fic, though of course I'm just musing. Another musing of mine regards Nichola - was she just inserted as a way to create conflict between Scorpius and Rose (give her a reason to push him in the lake) or will she prove to be an important character as the plot continues? (Ah, I do enjoy musing.)

Haha, muse away! The reason why Rose gestured for Scorpius to join them in the boat is that she, upon meeting him in the train car and seeing his kindness to Albus, decided that he was an all right chap. And while Scorpius/Rose is one of my favourite ships, I do have plans for them both long before that can ever be possible.

One thing that I found particularly awesome is that Neville is Head of Gryffindor House. His character really did evolve over the course of Book One to Book Seven, and he isn't acknowledged nearly as much as he should be. I'd just like to know what happened to McGonagall, because I very highly doubt that she'd ever retire.

Neville was the obvious choice for the new Gryffindor Head of House. I rather fancy that McGonagall was the HoH, even whilst being the Headmistress, until Neville became a teacher. He deserved the honour, considering his innate bravery during times of great peril. He is a try Gryff, make no mistake. About McGonagall...even in the series, she is quite aged, and one cannot assume that all wizards live as long as Dumbledore's 150+ years. It would probably be in her best interest to retire before she dies, but she is still alive during this. She might even make an appearance - I haven't decided yet.

The Sorting scene is superb. (Even the Hat's song is good, in spite of your warning at the beginning of the chapter that led me to believe it would be otherwise.) The fact that Scorpius appeared upset about being put in Slytherin makes one wonder which house he had been hoping to be in. I quite liked how you wrote Albus' Sorting, although I must admit that when he said "there is only one place left to put you," I was expecting Hufflepuff. I'm quite glad for him, though, that he was put in the house that he wanted.

Haha, there was no way Al was going to be a Puff. I need prolonged agitation between him and his brother, and the best way to do that is to put them near one another as much as possible, lol. Plus, Albus's brand of bravery, while not as clearly stated as Harry's, is still very present. He's simply a softer personality and such. Actually, he's a lot like Neville, to be honest. Odd how that happened...

To put a conclusion to the gushing, I love the way you ended Chapter 2. The possibilities for where you might take this fic are wide open. It's gonna be totally awesome.

Haha, that last part reminded me of A Very Potter Musical. It's a song from the first part of the play, if you haven't seen it before. I'm glad you like the story so far, and yes, there are tonnes of possibilities that await. I hope you stick around to find out, because I am already in love with this story. I can't wait for real life to stop being so bonkers so I can continue writing on this story more often. It'll be a long time in finishing, as it will follow our beloved Albus into adulthood, but I think it will be worth the time to read and the effort to write.

Happy Birthday.

Thank you! So far, I've received two fics written just for me, a lovely set of icons from our very own Claw, Bella/Clabbert2101, and now your spiffing review. It's a good day. Now, if I can finish a couple more things, I can get back to this story, which is what I really want to do. :)

Thanks for stopping by. You made my day very bright indeed.

~Jess

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 06/01/10 22:15
Chapter: Chapter 2

What a likable character you've created in Albus. I just relate so much to his anxiety, his nerves... and I love the friendship we see between him and Rose. Scorpious is very interesting... exactly what we might imagine from him in the boats, but quite another story on the train.

I believe you have me hooked, Jess. :)

Author's Response:

And now you know why I love Albus as a character so much. This is the person that I know in my head, and I'm glad that I get a chance to share him with you. To me, he's a nice kid, but he's very insecure about who he is and who he wants to be, and I think I've got a good start in that area.

Rose and Albus, to me, have always been best friends as kids. I think all of us have that one relative (cousin, second cousin, or even neighbour kid) that we wish we could have as a brother/sister, more specifically instead of the sibling we already have. As much as James is the bane of Albus's life, Rose is the complete opposite. She's a little fiery (splish splash, anyone?), but she does have that sweet, understanding side from her mum that we know of Hermione (especially you, being the expert of Granger Danger :D ).

But Scorpius is a different animal altogether. You see on one hand him being the nice boy from most fanon, but then you see this evil little git that one would expect from being Draco's son. Yes, they're very contradictory, yet they're both a part of his personality. I look forward to moulding him to both enlighten you all and maybe even to baffle you further. Muahahahahahaha!

I'm glad you like the story. At the moment, I wish I had the time to crawl into a hole and do nothing but write it, but alas, my challenge spirit won't let me. I hope to start a new chapter soon. Thanks for reading. 

Jess

Reviewer: Evora
Date: 06/01/10 10:43
Chapter: Chapter 2

I was going to wait for the next chapter to reply to what you just said, but.. I guess I couldn't wait. You don't mind, right? (I'll assume that you don't) I'll follow you in that advise of yours. So it'll take me about three months to post my first chapter. Woooow, that's long.

I have to tell you that I'm pretty embarrassed that you read my other reviews, 'cause I didn't go over it so it had typos and whatever it is that's ugly. Oh, and was it only a week? Huh. It really felt like a month. Maybe its because I'm lazing around in the house with nothing to do (I have a total of five months of summer vacation - no, I'm not suspended). I need help about those beta thingies. I absolutely don't know how to get one and what to do. Is it all right if I email you about my newbie problems? I get really confused when I go over the beta boards.

I'm sorry if this isn't the kind that's suppose to be in a review, but I'm kind of new here, and I'm also running out of shame. And did you know there's a song called 'written in the stars'? Its by Elton John. One of my favorite songs, too. I 'reckon' (hah, see what I did there) that you listen to it.

Thank you so much, and good luck writing! :D

-Dinny. (again)

Author's Response:

Haha, by all means, I shall help you!

No worries about being shaky on reviews. You've only written a few, so naturally, they're not going to be epic or anything. My first 100 reviews were, quite frankly, crap. I had no idea what constituted a quality review until I actually GOT a guality review, along with some advice about how to give one. Typos are simply a part of it, since it's not possible to edit once you've sent. It sucks, and we've all been entreating the mod staff to figure out some way to make that possible, but of course, it hasn't happened yet, lol.

To find a beta, click on the Beta Forums link in the blue Navigation Bar on the left side of the screen. From there, it gets a bit more daunting. You'll have to register for the forums in order to post.

Next, you'll need to send a PM (personal message) to the username Sorting Hat. No, I'm not kidding, lol. Title your message "Requesting a Sorting Quiz" and put something along that lines in the message as well. The mods monitor that account, and they Sort all applicants within a couple weeks. While you don't technically HAVE to get Sorted to post, none of your posts will  appear until a mod manually approves them, but when you're Sorted, your posts will appear right away.

Once you're done with that, go ahead and scroll down the main page of the forum to the Beta Wanted forum []. This is where you post your open request for a beta, and one will come to you! You don't have to know anyone; you simply post a new thread (even if you're not Sorted...it'll just take a few hours for it to pop up). Before you start a new thread, though, there is a Please Read Before Posting thread in that forum that you should check out. It will have instructions on how to post and in exactly what format. It may sound strict, but it will make it more likely that you'll get the right beta for you. I do recommend, though, that you ask in your request for a beta who is Perfect Imagination accredited. What this means is that they've taken a test from an outside source, certifying that they are strong enough in grammar and all that to help you. While it's not necessary and there are good betas who aren't accredited, you really shouldn't take the chance on people who you dont know until you're certain enough about your work to make the determination on how much help you'll really need. You can probably send everything you've written so far to the beta you eventually choose, and they can help you with not only grammar, but with characterisation and plot, as well.

I know that's probably information overload for you, but it's not so hard once you get the hang of it. If you do have any questions, please either email me at AvsNo26Rocks@aol.com or PM me at this same username on the Beta Boards. I'm more than happy to help with guidance in that area, but I think you'll probably do fine.

Good luck, and I hope you get into the House you want. I'm a Ravenclaw myself, but all of the Houses have great members (though Hufflepuff has the most).

~Jess

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 06/01/10 6:44
Chapter: Chapter 2

Another excllent chapter. Your writing is clear and pleasant to read. So glad Albus wasn't in Slytherin - I instantly stop Reading a fic where that happens. Rose is a very nice character as is chipper on the boat - hope to see more of her. Thanks fir a great chappy!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, and I'm glad you like the story so far. At this point in his life, Rose is a pretty large part of Albus's life. James, to him, is pretty rotten, and Lily is just annoying, so he had to turn to Rose for support more often than not.

Thanks for reading. :)

Jess

Reviewer: Evora
Date: 06/01/10 6:29
Chapter: Chapter 2

Hello again!

The Sorting Hat song is a great piece of work. You should be proud of it! I know I couldn't do it half as good as you did. I love the part where Scorpius's sorting took up a lot of time, it just showed that he had to lot to offer in each house (that's how I took it anyway). And also, I love the part where Rose dumps him in the lake. I've always expected her as to someone very opinionated, and fiery. She is Ron's daughter, after all. I was surprise at the sudden change of character Scorpius showed. From digesting Muggle medicine to calling muggleborns as mudbloods. It's interesting how you're cooking him up.

As always, I adore your Albus. You're talented... great... blah blah. Is it nice to rub it in? LOL.

Lastly, I want to thank you for the support, and inspiration you've given me in my last review here. It has fueled me to write three chapters of my first ever fic. I'll soon be posting the first one, and I want you to know that I'm dedicating that first chapter to you. So that you'll know how much you've helped me. It made me feel... worth the trouble to paid attention to. Something like that :)

I felt like I waited for months for your update. Faster, please? :D

-Dinny.

Author's Response:

I knew that I wasn't going to get away with not having a Sorting song of my own, so I just studied past Sorting songs, and that's what came out. :)

Scorpius's Sorting and his confusing switching of character are most definitely linked together. If you can't tell, he will ultimately be a large part of this story. And it goes without saying that Rose, also, is an intrugal part of Albus's life, as she has been Al's best friend for years, so she's going to have a lot of face time. But ultimately, this story really is about Albus and how he develops as a human being. when this story is finished, you will be amazed how far he came in that time, but hopefully I can continue to build his character up to that point.

And I am more than happy to give you friendly nudges to get you writing. I actually went through your review page, and to my surprise, you had also read/reviewed Our Little Secret by Kerichi (Paige). Ironically enough, she was the one that I mentioned who encouraged me. I didn't think I could remotely come close to writing anything worth reading, but she taught me that I would never know until I tried. I'm glad to see that you're trying, and I look forward to seeing you in the queue soon. My next advice is for you to know where you want your story to go before you submit your first chapter. You have no idea how much pressure there is to update with quality material when you don't even know how you want your fic to end. Updating in general is quite a task, which is why I normally write a ton of chapters before I even think about submitting it. You, of course, don't have to do this, but you just might find that, once you get further on, something from earlier chapters might need changed or tweaked a little. I know I changed a ton of stuff in The Vindication of James Potter once I got post Chapter 12, mostly to make sure that my story lined up with itself.

Anyway, sorry about the rambling. I just woke up and can hardly see the screen, so I feel entitled, lol. Take care and happy writing. I really appreciate you reading my story and finding it worthy to be inspiration to write one of your own.

~Jess

P.S. - About how often this story will be updated, this one, I'm sorry to say, is a secondary project of mine, to be worked on in the off times when I'm not writing for challenges. Plus, I have to wait four or so days for my beta to send it back to me (the person who reads/double-checks my grammar and stuff) so I can submit. Henceforth, realistically, the quickest I'll probably update is two weeks or so. Once my work schedule becomes more cemented, I'll probably be able to crank out a few chapters in succession on a couple of my days off, but I really can't promise anything. I truly am sorry about that. Oh, and months? It's been precisely one week, lol.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/26/10 12:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well done! I enjoyed The vindication of James Potter, so I'm looking forward to seeing what you do with this one!

Author's Response:

Welcome back to my review page. I knew you couldn't stay away. ^.~

I jest, btw. This story is sort of a preface to Albus's life before Vindication. As you know, he started that story in not the greatest emotional health, but this shows how he got to that point. It'll be a long haul and definitely not updated as fast as VoJP (I wrote half of that one before I even submitted), but I will finish it. :D

Thanks for reading, and I'm glad you like it. Take care and happy reading. :D

Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES