MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: iwishicouldwrite (Signed) · Date: 04/21/11 11:38 · For: Christmas: Elucidation
Yay you updated!! :D I loved it as per usual! All I can really say is that it's fanfictions like yours that are proof that the Harry Potter fandom will continue to amaze me

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliments, I intend for the next chapter to be along a lot sooner. -N-

Name: Betamax (Signed) · Date: 04/21/11 10:37 · For: Christmas: Elucidation
I like the new chapter. It was worth the wait (even thought its been a few months, its nice to know A&S hasn't been relegated to the pile of stories destined to never be finished). I was wondering what Cho and Harry were doing behind Ginny's back this whole time, and the necklace is a nice touch.

I have always been a fan of the way you write Harry and Ginny. It is a very believable relationship to me. Sometimes after reading canon I think that Harry and Hermione would have been a better match with all they have been through (I still find some fanfics between the two of them perfectly believable within canon, epilogue excluded of course), but the way you write Ginny and Harry eliminates that thought from my mind; it's like they are meant to be together.

I'm really looking forward to the medal presentation. I think that will be a fascinating chapter. Will that be the next one or is it a few away yet?

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This chapter was finished just after Christmas, but it was wrong, and it took me a while to figure out why. This is a completely rewritten version.

Unlike many, I have never, ever, seen Harry/Hermione as a couple (is it because I'm a bloke?). We spent seven years in his head and at no time is he ever physically attracted to her. Even at the Yule Ball, all she achieves is a fairly dismissive ďquite prettyĒ from him. We only see him show attraction towards three girls: Cho, Ginny and Parvati. Love needs more than physical attraction, but it does need physical attraction.

The next chapter is called Christmas: Decorations, and the one after that Christmas: Suspicions. Now that Iím past the problem chapter I hope to move forwards quickly.

Name: The_Real_Hermione (Signed) · Date: 04/19/11 17:55 · For: Hogsmeade: Conversation
I thought I'd drop in another review... I really like how you're developing Harry and Ginny's relationship. I think the awkwardness between them is very believable, because they hardly see each other and letters are somehow different. I'm hoping they resolve things soon, though, because otherwise Harry will probably be terribly upset about it for a while.

I like the way you include more minor characters in your story, eg Lavender and her relationship with Seamus, Michael chatting up girls, the friendship between George and Dennis (which I think is a great idea, by the way), the tensions between the Hufflepuffs etc.

I never would have thought of Neville and Romilda... but having read this (and it's in some of your other stories too, I think) it's getting stuck in my head. I often think of Neville as being like Harry, but he goes through everything a bit later (as in, he finds his courage when he has to, but that's not til his seventh year), so I suppose Romilda is a bit like Cho was for Harry?

I loved the toast to Umbridge.

Ginny's relationship with her brothers was interesting, too. I loved this part: Ron would love the publicity, but he knew that it would never be his. She’d wondered aloud why Ron didn’t get more annoyed. “I don’t need to,” he’d told her, “Harry gets annoyed enough for both of us.” It was during that conversation that she had realised how selfless her youngest brother could be. Great characterisation of Ron there.

So sofar I'm really enjoying this fic :),


Author's Response: ~Katrina
Thanks again.
Harry and Ginny have had four months together since the Battle, and are now separated by school. Heís eighteen, sheís seventeen. There are a lot of pressures on both of them and there are bound to be awkward moments, and misunderstandings.
The DA (or some of them) will continue to play a role in my stories, but Iím also introducing a lot of minor original characters. Lavender (in particular) distracts me from my other stories, but Neville, Luna, Terry, Susan and Dennis will continue to play important roles too.
I donít really see Romilda as like Cho, not exactly. In my stories Romilda is a girl seeking fame by proxy. She tried for Harry and failed, but Neville is eighteen and famous and not used to the attention of girls, so heís an easy target for her.
Umbridge? Harry has a wicked sense of humour!
With six brothers Ginny needs to get the measure of them. I think that she has different attitudes towards all of them. I also think that she is more like Molly than she wants to be. Iím glad that you liked my characterisation of Ron. Heís a good man and a loyal friend.

Name: The_Real_Hermione (Signed) · Date: 04/19/11 17:37 · For: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection
Hi Neil,

So I've finally got around to starting this. Great starting chapter, I really like how you show Ginny's character. The try-outs reminded me a bit of when Harry was captain in HBP, but I suppose that's logical because Ginny would now be something of a celebrity.

I loved the idea of Luna being Head Girl, that would just be... bizarre.

I liked how you sometimes referred to Hermione as "Head Girl Hermione", because it really shows that that side of her personality is really coming out in the absence of Harry and Ron. I imagine she feels very isolated without them.

Anyway, it's a great beginning and I'm looking forward to the rest.


Author's Response: ~Katrina
Thank you.
The tryouts were an homage to the ones in HBP, but Ginny was better organised. This isnít simply Quidditch trials, there is a lot of important stuff in this chapter.
Hermioneís relationship with Harry (and especially Ron) is two way. She gives a lot, but she receives a lot, too. I can see her rules-conscious ďHead GirlĒ tendencies coming to the fore without her boys to rein her back.

Name: The Don Vinnie D (Signed) · Date: 04/10/11 20:20 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
Great take on what happens during the post war and pre kids. You've don an excellent job. Hope you continue

Author's Response:
Thank you.

The next chapter will be submitted soon.

Name: 14thfreak (Signed) · Date: 04/07/11 21:48 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
I would like to thank you for writing these stories. I have read all of them and I liked them all. You are one of the only authors in this site who actually stick to JKR's original story. Some of the authors change the essence of the characters.I am happy to see that there is at least one good author in this site.Eagerly waiting for the next chapter.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

My attitude is simple. These are JKRís characters. I respect her as a writer. Iím not the writer she is, so what she says happens is what happens. Any other behaviour is out of character.

There are a lot of good writers on this site.

Name: grangergirl35 (Signed) · Date: 03/24/11 16:33 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
i know you said you're finishing "Tales of the Battle" first, and don't get me wrong I LOVE that story . .. but you left this one off at such a delicious point and i'm dying over need for the NEXT CHAPTER.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I am suitably chastised and I will try to speed up the next chapter. :-) -N-

Name: Mie--jadus (Signed) · Date: 03/13/11 12:27 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
Hi, ik really love your story :)
I desperate wait for the next chapter! ;)


Author's Response: Thanks. Several one-shots (and Tales of the Battle, slowed me down. More soon. -N-

Name: grangergirl35 (Signed) · Date: 02/24/11 23:08 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
Next chapter!!!

Author's Response: When Iíve finished Tales! Honest! -N-

Name: hpgploversforever (Signed) · Date: 02/24/11 15:57 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
Can't wait for the next chapter to hear about the Party.

Author's Response: Iím working on it (slowly). Never try to write four chaptered stories at once! -N-

Name: Tomasz (Signed) · Date: 02/17/11 15:59 · For: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection
I’ve just recently started reading fan fiction because of my sister and I have to say that I’m really picky about what I read because I do not like reading stuff that’s not canon or seems too out of character. That being said I think you do a wonderful job at capturing the characterization of Harry, Ginny, Hermione, Ron, and so on. This is a great story that I have loved reading; I think it gives a believable insight as to what could have happened to them all after the battle and I am anxiously awaiting more. Of the stories that I have read on here yours are definitely my favorite. Thanks for the great stories (especially this one it’s my favorite) and I look forward to reading more of this as well as your other work(:

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Capturing the characters of Harry, Ginny, Hermione, Ron, and everyone else is the most important thing in writing. Although the plot, thatís the most important thing too. :-D JKR has dropped us enough hints, and weíve watched the characters grow up. Sometimes, I think that my Hermione is a little more uptight than she should be.

the bottom line, however, is that they are JKRís characters, and Iím a fan of the books, so Iím canon all the way. (Except for Chapter 20 of Tales of the Battle )-: I missed something when I reread the Battle timeline)


Name: PongOTongTongERong (Signed) · Date: 02/16/11 15:26 · For: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection
this story is amazing , just like the rest of your stories , which ill admit- ive read all of. But this one is my favorite ! . I searched for a good canon story, because i cant stand anything else and this is what i found , and you do canon stories perfect . all of the characters are perfectly portrayed and your writing is beautiful. I cant wait for the next chapter to go up, but im sure it will be amazing !

thanks for keeping my harry potter love going (:


Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I find it difficult (usually impossible) to read non-canon stories. I try to keep the characters in character. I currently have something of a backlog of Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Harry/Ginny & Ron/Hermione stories. I will submit another chapter as soon as possible. But there are three stories ahead of it, so it wonít be until next month. Sorry


Name: AngelEJC (Signed) · Date: 02/11/11 17:41 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
Dear Northumbrian,

I have read the two stories leading up to this and they were BRILLIANT! Every single fic of yours that I have read I have been completely overjoyed with! Keep up the good work!

By the way, I'm writing my own fic and I was wondering if you have any advice to give.

I have just added you as my favorite author.


Author's Response:
Thanks for the review and the praise. I will keep writing and good luck with your own writing. The only advice I can give is:

1) If you arenít completely happy with what youíve written, no one else will be, either. It will do is not good enough.

2) Get a beta and listen too her/him.

3) Most criticism is well meant, you might not want to hear it, but you should listen and try to learn from it.
3a) Criticism which isnít well meant is easy to spot. It has never happened to me on this site.

Name: c-hep (Signed) · Date: 02/04/11 13:17 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
this is AMAZING!! when's the next chapter out. Please keep writing.
P.S. You are my favourite Author!

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment. I am still writing, but far too many different things. Once Tales of the Battle is done I will try to fill the gap with my other chaptered stories instead of starting something new. -N-

Name: MaizeNBlu (Signed) · Date: 02/02/11 10:47 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
I went through the trouble of creating this account for the sole purpose of writing this. I have enjoyed your writing more than I thought possible from any author, other than JKR herself. I, being a newcomer to the HP series, have only just managed to read "Grave Days" and "Aurors and Schoolgirls", but know that you have a fan for life. I eagerly await your next chapter, and you can expect that I'll read your others as well.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review and the kind words.

My stories are all interrelated. I try to make sure that they all stand alone. Aurors and Schoolgirls has been progressing slowly, but I hope to post the next chapter soon. My Author page lists my stories in chronological order. That isnít the order in which Iím writing them, but I have a good idea where Iím going. In fact, Iíve just submitted the first chapter of Strangers at Drakeshaugh, which features the entire Potter family.

Name: vaiseyangel (Signed) · Date: 01/30/11 13:39 · For: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection
Once again an xcellent chapter. You have a way with words. Everytime I read it I am amazed. Can't wait for the next one

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Next Ė Essential Explanations. -N-

Name: Pernille (Signed) · Date: 01/29/11 13:16 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
This chapter was GREAT! I've been looking foward to this since the last one was posted. I love that it is mostly Ron and Hermione, because i Love them. This is a great story, just like all the others you have written. You are a great writter. haven't read another fanfiction this well written. Absolutly Amazing! It made my day when I saw this chapter. :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and the compliments. I have a Ron/Hermione one shot in the works, and there will be a few more ron/hermione chapters in this, but none so blatantly romantic. If this chapter IS romantic. I'm not certain. -N-

Name: BookWorm530 (Signed) · Date: 01/28/11 15:21 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
Exactly what I've been waiting for...more Ron and Hermione

Author's Response: Happy to oblige (-: -N-

Name: Bastet (Signed) · Date: 01/27/11 17:54 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
I've been absent for 3 or 4 months, but you've worked really hard!! And very fast!! I think I missed 8 chapters!!
I love this story, as usual. Keep it up, I want to know what the youngsters are up to. And everyone else, obviously.

Congratulations on a story very well written.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Iíve been working on several one-shots, but I will be back on this story soon. -N-

Name: mugglenetaddict813 (Signed) · Date: 01/27/11 13:50 · For: Christmas: Ronís Revelation
I feel like I gush and gush every time I review your work, Neil, but I just love it! You've definitely provided another great chapter! I especially love this one because it focuses on Ron and Hermione. It's not that I don't love Harry and Ginny, but I've always held a soft spot in my heart for Ron and Hermione. It's probably because they sort of remind me of my husband and me. I'm like Hermione because I freak out and stress out over everything, and my husband is more layed back like Ron. And we both argue over stupid things too! lol Anyway, my absolute favorite part was the end where Ron tells Hermione he loves her and she tells him. It was just so perfect to have Hermione freaking out about her hair and yelling at Ron because that's exactly what she does when she's stressed out or annoyed. I also loved how Mr. Granger talked about how he and his wife still have arguments even after 23 years of marriage. It makes Hermione's character come alive even more to see it reflected in her mother. :) Ron's internal monologue at the beginning made me laugh outloud, especially when you made the reference to the book "Twelve Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Witches"! I love all of the references that tie these stories to cannon HP. It's the good writers that take the time to add details such as those. :) And Harry's and Ron's conversation was just priceless! Overall, a precious chapter! Can't wait to read about the ceremony and the ball!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Ronís inner monologue, another desperate attempt to understand women (or at least, one woman) was very easy to write. Been there, done that (well, not exactly that). Knowing that sheís narked with you and that if you ask her why sheíll explode is a difficult place to be. Iím with Ron, a handbook would be useful; though Iím getting better. Weíre having friends around this weekend and I know that saying ďthe place looks tidy enough to meĒ wonít work and I will be washing and polishing!

The Harry/Ron bit was fun too, and I am finally (I think) getting a handle on my version of Hermioneís parents.

You must login (register) to review.