Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/19/11 17:37
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

Hi Neil,

So I've finally got around to starting this. Great starting chapter, I really like how you show Ginny's character. The try-outs reminded me a bit of when Harry was captain in HBP, but I suppose that's logical because Ginny would now be something of a celebrity.

I loved the idea of Luna being Head Girl, that would just be... bizarre.

I liked how you sometimes referred to Hermione as "Head Girl Hermione", because it really shows that that side of her personality is really coming out in the absence of Harry and Ron. I imagine she feels very isolated without them.

Anyway, it's a great beginning and I'm looking forward to the rest.

~Katrina

Author's Response: ~Katrina
Thank you.
The tryouts were an homage to the ones in HBP, but Ginny was better organised. This isnít simply Quidditch trials, there is a lot of important stuff in this chapter.
Hermioneís relationship with Harry (and especially Ron) is two way. She gives a lot, but she receives a lot, too. I can see her rules-conscious ďHead GirlĒ tendencies coming to the fore without her boys to rein her back.
Neil

Reviewer: The Don Vinnie D
Date: 04/10/11 20:20
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

Great take on what happens during the post war and pre kids. You've don an excellent job. Hope you continue

Author's Response:
Thank you.

The next chapter will be submitted soon.
-N-

Reviewer: 14thfreak
Date: 04/07/11 21:48
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

I would like to thank you for writing these stories. I have read all of them and I liked them all. You are one of the only authors in this site who actually stick to JKR's original story. Some of the authors change the essence of the characters.I am happy to see that there is at least one good author in this site.Eagerly waiting for the next chapter.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

My attitude is simple. These are JKRís characters. I respect her as a writer. Iím not the writer she is, so what she says happens is what happens. Any other behaviour is out of character.

There are a lot of good writers on this site.
-N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 03/24/11 16:33
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

i know you said you're finishing "Tales of the Battle" first, and don't get me wrong I LOVE that story . .. but you left this one off at such a delicious point and i'm dying over need for the NEXT CHAPTER.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I am suitably chastised and I will try to speed up the next chapter. :-) -N-

Reviewer: Mie--jadus
Date: 03/13/11 12:27
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

Hi, ik really love your story :)
I desperate wait for the next chapter! ;)

Greets

Author's Response: Thanks. Several one-shots (and Tales of the Battle, slowed me down. More soon. -N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 02/24/11 23:08
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

Next chapter!!!

Author's Response: When Iíve finished Tales! Honest! -N-

Reviewer: hpgploversforever
Date: 02/24/11 15:57
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

Can't wait for the next chapter to hear about the Party.

Author's Response: Iím working on it (slowly). Never try to write four chaptered stories at once! -N-

Reviewer: Tomasz
Date: 02/17/11 15:59
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

I’ve just recently started reading fan fiction because of my sister and I have to say that I’m really picky about what I read because I do not like reading stuff that’s not canon or seems too out of character. That being said I think you do a wonderful job at capturing the characterization of Harry, Ginny, Hermione, Ron, and so on. This is a great story that I have loved reading; I think it gives a believable insight as to what could have happened to them all after the battle and I am anxiously awaiting more. Of the stories that I have read on here yours are definitely my favorite. Thanks for the great stories (especially this one it’s my favorite) and I look forward to reading more of this as well as your other work(:

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Capturing the characters of Harry, Ginny, Hermione, Ron, and everyone else is the most important thing in writing. Although the plot, thatís the most important thing too. :-D JKR has dropped us enough hints, and weíve watched the characters grow up. Sometimes, I think that my Hermione is a little more uptight than she should be.

the bottom line, however, is that they are JKRís characters, and Iím a fan of the books, so Iím canon all the way. (Except for Chapter 20 of Tales of the Battle )-: I missed something when I reread the Battle timeline)

-N-

Reviewer: PongOTongTongERong
Date: 02/16/11 15:26
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

this story is amazing , just like the rest of your stories , which ill admit- ive read all of. But this one is my favorite ! . I searched for a good canon story, because i cant stand anything else and this is what i found , and you do canon stories perfect . all of the characters are perfectly portrayed and your writing is beautiful. I cant wait for the next chapter to go up, but im sure it will be amazing !

thanks for keeping my harry potter love going (:

kelsey

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I find it difficult (usually impossible) to read non-canon stories. I try to keep the characters in character. I currently have something of a backlog of Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Harry/Ginny & Ron/Hermione stories. I will submit another chapter as soon as possible. But there are three stories ahead of it, so it wonít be until next month. Sorry

Neil

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 02/11/11 17:41
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

Dear Northumbrian,

I have read the two stories leading up to this and they were BRILLIANT! Every single fic of yours that I have read I have been completely overjoyed with! Keep up the good work!

By the way, I'm writing my own fic and I was wondering if you have any advice to give.

I have just added you as my favorite author.

Sincerely,
AngelEJC

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review and the praise. I will keep writing and good luck with your own writing. The only advice I can give is:

1) If you arenít completely happy with what youíve written, no one else will be, either. It will do is not good enough.

2) Get a beta and listen too her/him.

3) Most criticism is well meant, you might not want to hear it, but you should listen and try to learn from it.
3a) Criticism which isnít well meant is easy to spot. It has never happened to me on this site.
-N-

Reviewer: c-hep
Date: 02/04/11 13:17
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

this is AMAZING!! when's the next chapter out. Please keep writing.
P.S. You are my favourite Author!

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment. I am still writing, but far too many different things. Once Tales of the Battle is done I will try to fill the gap with my other chaptered stories instead of starting something new. -N-

Reviewer: MaizeNBlu
Date: 02/02/11 10:47
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

I went through the trouble of creating this account for the sole purpose of writing this. I have enjoyed your writing more than I thought possible from any author, other than JKR herself. I, being a newcomer to the HP series, have only just managed to read "Grave Days" and "Aurors and Schoolgirls", but know that you have a fan for life. I eagerly await your next chapter, and you can expect that I'll read your others as well.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review and the kind words.

My stories are all interrelated. I try to make sure that they all stand alone. Aurors and Schoolgirls has been progressing slowly, but I hope to post the next chapter soon. My Author page lists my stories in chronological order. That isnít the order in which Iím writing them, but I have a good idea where Iím going. In fact, Iíve just submitted the first chapter of Strangers at Drakeshaugh, which features the entire Potter family.
-N-

Reviewer: vaiseyangel
Date: 01/30/11 13:39
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

Once again an xcellent chapter. You have a way with words. Everytime I read it I am amazed. Can't wait for the next one

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Next Ė Essential Explanations. -N-

Reviewer: Pernille
Date: 01/29/11 13:16
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

This chapter was GREAT! I've been looking foward to this since the last one was posted. I love that it is mostly Ron and Hermione, because i Love them. This is a great story, just like all the others you have written. You are a great writter. haven't read another fanfiction this well written. Absolutly Amazing! It made my day when I saw this chapter. :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and the compliments. I have a Ron/Hermione one shot in the works, and there will be a few more ron/hermione chapters in this, but none so blatantly romantic. If this chapter IS romantic. I'm not certain. -N-

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 01/28/11 15:21
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

Exactly what I've been waiting for...more Ron and Hermione

Author's Response: Happy to oblige (-: -N-

Reviewer: Bastet
Date: 01/27/11 17:54
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

I've been absent for 3 or 4 months, but you've worked really hard!! And very fast!! I think I missed 8 chapters!!
I love this story, as usual. Keep it up, I want to know what the youngsters are up to. And everyone else, obviously.

Congratulations on a story very well written.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Iíve been working on several one-shots, but I will be back on this story soon. -N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 01/27/11 13:50
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

I feel like I gush and gush every time I review your work, Neil, but I just love it! You've definitely provided another great chapter! I especially love this one because it focuses on Ron and Hermione. It's not that I don't love Harry and Ginny, but I've always held a soft spot in my heart for Ron and Hermione. It's probably because they sort of remind me of my husband and me. I'm like Hermione because I freak out and stress out over everything, and my husband is more layed back like Ron. And we both argue over stupid things too! lol Anyway, my absolute favorite part was the end where Ron tells Hermione he loves her and she tells him. It was just so perfect to have Hermione freaking out about her hair and yelling at Ron because that's exactly what she does when she's stressed out or annoyed. I also loved how Mr. Granger talked about how he and his wife still have arguments even after 23 years of marriage. It makes Hermione's character come alive even more to see it reflected in her mother. :) Ron's internal monologue at the beginning made me laugh outloud, especially when you made the reference to the book "Twelve Fail-Safe Ways to Charm Witches"! I love all of the references that tie these stories to cannon HP. It's the good writers that take the time to add details such as those. :) And Harry's and Ron's conversation was just priceless! Overall, a precious chapter! Can't wait to read about the ceremony and the ball!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Ronís inner monologue, another desperate attempt to understand women (or at least, one woman) was very easy to write. Been there, done that (well, not exactly that). Knowing that sheís narked with you and that if you ask her why sheíll explode is a difficult place to be. Iím with Ron, a handbook would be useful; though Iím getting better. Weíre having friends around this weekend and I know that saying ďthe place looks tidy enough to meĒ wonít work and I will be washing and polishing!

The Harry/Ron bit was fun too, and I am finally (I think) getting a handle on my version of Hermioneís parents.
-N-

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 01/26/11 20:16
Chapter: Christmas: Ronís Revelation

yes! another awesome and adorable chapter! both Ron and Harry's confession's were perfectly in character, as well as their respective girlfriends' reactions! I am loving this story and can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: Thank you. In character is the highest praise I can receive. Ron and Hermione find it very easy to misunderstand each other. -N-

Reviewer: vaiseyangel
Date: 01/16/11 19:22
Chapter: Christmas: Definite Declaration

Wow! This is a wonderful story, and beautifully written. I can't wait to see what happens next. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you. This is a sequel to my first post-battle story, Grave Days. The next chapter should be up within the week. -N-

Reviewer: LaBarge
Date: 01/01/11 19:59
Chapter: Grimmauld Place: Explanations

This is the first chapter I have not read before, and it is brilliant! Excellent characterization of all the people. I think that the whole plot about the missing Muggles is true to the Harry Potter universe. Pure blood contempt for Muggles and especially Muggle born witches and wizards is a constant and important theme in the Harry Potter books. I noticed the reference to Witches Wearing Nothing. I like your treatment of the Malfoy’s. I wish I never had to see another stupid Draco/Hermione love story. I will not read them.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Thisngs could not, and would not, be easy after the war, as the various cruel excesses of the ďracistĒ Purebloods came to light. I reuse a lot of ideas in my stories. The portkey cuffs come about because of the book and have other consequences in the future. Iíve always been fascinated by Draco, mainly because he seems to have built up a mystique in fanfics where his character (good-looking, intelligent, sarcastic and witty) bears very little resemblance to what we see canon (where heís shown as a racist, bullying, toadying, coward).

Happy New Year
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES