Reviewer: ParryOtter93
Date: 02/10/14 16:17
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

Please update soon! This is really good.

Author's Response: Thanks. It's been a long time, but I'm working on an update. -N-

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 09/11/13 17:43
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

Please, please, please finish this fic! I loved Grave Days and have also really enjoyed this fic, and it would be awesome if you could give it some closure. xx

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I have started waaaay too many stories, and I’m currently concentrating on finishing Hunters and Prey. When I do, I’ll get back to this story, honest.
-N-

Reviewer: GinnyPotter1824
Date: 04/23/13 6:12
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

more please.

Author's Response: I'm working on it (honest) -N-

Reviewer: tagriffy
Date: 04/06/13 19:43
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

I really like Luna's deconstruction of the house stereotypes, both for the deconstruction itself and because it was Luna who did it. Like all of Luna's pertinently painful pronouncements, she is spot on in her remarks. One is reminded that Harry used "Slytherin cunning" enough times to entirely justify the Sorting Hat's suggestion Harry would do well in that House. Or that Harry would eventually characterize Snape as the bravest man he ever knew.

Whether you intended it or not, the placement of Luna's pronouncement is particularly brilliant. Just a few chapters ago, you showed Fenella and her family plotting their break-in of the Ministry in one of the best displays of "Slytherin cunning" in HP fanfiction (simply because they did it so unconsciously). Now, going forward, the reader can't just put on their "Slytherin cunning" lens as we watch them make their attempt. Luna's deconstruction of the trope the reader can't do that anymore. Succeed or fail, are these kids "brave," "cunning," "clever," or "hardworking"? The answer is now all of the above and none of the above. Like Harry, they were just doing what they needed to do the best way they knew how to do it. The label that gets put on it will be due to preconceived notions and/or whether they actually succeed.

Luna was absolutely the best character to use for the deconstruction of the House stereotypes. Character-wise, whatever it is that makes Luna "Loopy Loony Lovegood" utterly removes the socio-cultural blinders other people have. (I've noticed one of your motifs is to use Luna when you need someone who can think outside the box.) Just as pertinent, Luna herself is a "victim" of these stereotypes. She is one of "six brave youngsters" because most of her friends were in Gryffindors. Yet if it wasn't for Luna's "Ravenclaw cleverness," those "six brave youngsters" would have never gotten to the Ministry in the first place!

Another stroke of brilliance was Harry's insistence that Fenella didn't do anything "really dangerous" during the War. Sorry Harry, but in real life espionage amounts to little more than what Fenella did. If she had gotten caught, we would have seen precisely how dangerous her work really was. Again, the brilliance is in the placement. We had earlier seen that Harry starting down the road of clearing his judgment of Slytherins when he complimented their Quidditch tactics. Now we see he still has a way to go. You deserve kudos for making Harry evolve realistically, which should naturally involve missteps along the way.

I hope you will be able to get back to this story soon. I have an idea where you're headed with the Veritaserum questions. I am anxious to see if I am right or to find out what I missed.

Author's Response:
Thanks for all of the lengthy reviews. I’ll try to do justice to them.

Luna is great at pointing out uncomfortable truths. You’re right about the Slytherin kids, too. If you asked them, they’d tell you that it isn’t cunning or bravery, it’s merely a necessity. I’m really glad that you picked up on that, and it makes me feel guilty that it’s such a long time since I updated this story. You will, eventually, find out what they discover.

Harry does tend to underestimate some people (and not only Ginny). To be fair, he has been influenced by both Hagrid and Ron, and his reaction to Slytherins is an almost automatic response. It is my belief that Snape’s actions are merely the beginning of Harry coming to terms with the fact that Slytherin does not equal evil. His problem is that he tends not to listen to his more liberal friend, Hermione. I used Luna because, unlike Hermione, she doesn’t go on about stuff. Hermione lectures, and demands that Harry agrees with her position because it’s right, and Harry doesn’t like that. Luna makes a statement, and makes him think.

I’m glad to hear that someone has an idea about where I’m headed with the Veritaserum. I really hope that you’re right, because that means I’ve laid just enough clues.

-N-

Reviewer: Emmasbiggestfan
Date: 11/04/12 22:31
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

First off I want to say you are an incredibly talented writer!! All of your stories are great! I think i have to say that this is my favorite chaptered story of all time! All of the characterizations are great and spot on!! Ginny and Harry have the bumpy relationship that I imagined they would too. I love the way you portray Ginny being thoughtful about all of the little stuff too. Ginny's dress and Harry's necklace/present are examples of the little things that make all of your stories click! They are minor details but they help make your stories seem so real. These last few chapters are my favorite and you leave this story on a really great note, making me want more... Which leads to another topic.

I know you are currently busy with other stories but i didn't know if you were going to finish this one or not? There hasn't been another chapter in over a year so I'm beginning to think that my favorite story has come to a close. I really hope you haven't abandoned this one.

On a lighter note... Keep up the good work!! Your stories are great and i hope you continue to write! Thanks!!
~Taylor~

Author's Response:
Taylor.

Thanks for the review. I've been distracted by Cjhallenge stories over the past few months. But no longer. My plan, such as it is, is to try to get at least one of my works in progress completed. At the moment, I’m concentration on Hunters and Prey (three chapters to go, one almost complete and the other two in rough draft).

As for the others, Strangers at Drakeshaugh is still at lead ten chapters (and probably fifteen) away from completion. Nevertheless I’m trying to update it regularly. Sports Day will be three chapters. The “fluffy” stories (Molly and her Daughter and Epithalamium) are more short story collections than a novel and they will be updated “as and when”. This story (A&S) will become my priority once H&P is complete. It’s not abandoned, honest.

All of this will be interrupted when I get an idea for a one shot, but I’m trying to resist starting any more chaptered stories.

-N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 06/21/12 15:27
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

Oh I so want to read more. Please update.

Author's Response: I will, but not soon, sorry. -N-

Reviewer: lalaloop
Date: 06/09/12 17:58
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

LOVE LOVE LOVE (this and grave days) i could honestly not put either of them down i reallly hope that you finish this one soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I will be returning to work on this soon.
-N-

Reviewer: ajruss7
Date: 05/31/12 0:59
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

I absolutely love your stories, and can't wait for you to finish this one and hunters and prey. Keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thanks. Hunters and Prey will be finished relatively soon. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/10/12 2:35
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

Ok I know you have a lot of irons in the fire but I really can't wait to see how this ends

Author's Response: So would I. I’ll try to get back to it asap. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/10/12 2:00
Chapter: Christmas: Decorations

Great chapter would have loved to see the reporters falling all over themselves over the name. Ginny's "good luck" reminded me of her first words to Harry in the first movie at kings cross

Author's Response: Thanks. Harry’s decision (or my decision, really, although I’m certain Dumbledore would approve) to use the name Tom Riddle has elicited fewer comments that I expected. I wonder if I was subconsciously thinking of the King’s Cross scene when I wrote it? -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/09/12 20:26
Chapter: Christmas: Rons Revelation

Nice to see Ron figure something out, little disappointed hermione didn't reciprocate more clearly but a nice moment for them.

Author's Response: Thanks,
Hermione was annoyed with Ron, but I'm still a little unsure about that section.
-N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/09/12 19:01
Chapter: Hogwarts: Dungeon Discussion

So did you choose wilberforce because of William wilberforce who was an anti slavery activist in england.

Author's Response: I really can't say where that partcular name came from. I think about names for a long time, I suppose that William Wilberforce must have been at the back of my mind. Apt? -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/09/12 1:40
Chapter: Hogsmeade: Cancellation

What a sweet chapter, and glad Hermione and Ginny didn't get stupid drunk or anything. Loving all the romance and tension and what not. I hate that this one is no complete yet.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, more tension and more news soon. My current “unfinished stories count” is six. My critics think tha this is four or five too many. I agree. My plan is to finish Hunters and Prey (because it’s closest to completion) and then alternate between updating this and Strangers at Drakeshaugh (because it’s my most popular story). -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/08/12 20:06
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

Sorry I meant dull, as in boring, but Ipad autocorrect desided i meant duke, which of course makes no sense what so ever. :)

Author's Response: Thanks :-D I thought that I'd suddenly discovered another American idiom (or something). -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/08/12 19:03
Chapter: Hogsmeade: Reconciliation

It's so hard to write couples. You are doing a great job with Ginny and Harry so far.

Author's Response: Thanks, no relationship goes smoothly, and this one has just encountered a few minor bumps. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/08/12 18:43
Chapter: Hogsmeade: Conversation

Love what Ron said to Ginny in this chapter. Ron is perhaps my favorite male character so it always good to hear him saying things that are insightful, helpful and wise. Too many fics just use him as comic relief. Good job.

Author's Response: Ron is far from perfect, but he's a lot more than comic relief. He's not stupid, and he does have a certain wisdom that a lot of writers overlook. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/08/12 15:53
Chapter: Hogsmeade: Miscommunication

Sounds like they need to have a serious chat grat chapter

Author's Response: They do, and they will. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/08/12 14:35
Chapter: Hogsmeade: Anticipation

Good chapter interesting about Ginny letting dean get to second base, not sure she would have intend to be a prude about such things

Author's Response: Thanks. Ginny is not perfect, and (in my opinion) she'd always be very protective of Harry's feelings. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/08/12 13:26
Chapter: Quidditch: Rejection, Selection

Intriguing opening chapter, looks like ginny's going to have a duke 7th year but of course life is never duke at hogswarts so we will see.

Author's Response: Thanks (I think). :-D
I have no idea what the word duke means in this context. So far as I know Duke, is the next rank down from Prince.
-N-

Reviewer: lilyginnylily
Date: 03/17/12 1:35
Chapter: Christmas: Deputations

great chapter as always. all of your stories are always worth the wait but i'm still hopeful to getting a new chapter soon. love your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the recview. I'm working on his, but very slowly. Currently in the queue are chapters of Haunted House and Badly Fitting Coat. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES