Reviews For The Note He Left
Reviewer: ginevra_molly_always
Date: 05/31/12 18:28
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Im a big fan of Harry/ Ginny, and I like a reformed Malfoy. This is one of the best short fanfics i've read in a while (and being on study leave I've read a lot in the past few weeks) Keep it up! xxx

Author's Response:

You won't find a terribly large quantity of Harry/Ginny on my author page, alas, but you did find the single one I wrote about just them. I rarely ever go down this far on my author page, as there are probably little gremlins wearing capes of spiderwebs, stabbing things that ought to be stabbed with pitchforks.

Anyway, I'm glad you liked the story. I'm not too sure I particularly like the story myself, especially so far after the fact, but I'm happy that you found it if it brought you enjoyment. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: Darrensgirl
Date: 09/03/11 23:51
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Awww this is sooooo sweet!! I love the H/G fics where Harry is sweet and romantic :) great work!!!! :D

Author's Response:

Thank you. This isn't my normal fare, but I'm glad you appreciated it just the same. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 06/13/11 12:41
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

That was good. I know you don't do a terrible lot of mushy canon-compliant romance, especially with Harry/Ginny, but it was well done. I liked the letter, and it was a nice twist to a H/G story. We (almost) always see the happiness between the two of them, but it's much rarer to see their romance have a distinct, positive effect on someone else, even in a more indirect way.

Author's Response:

This was definitely a departure from my normal style, but it was a gift for someone who prefers happy endings and canon-ness. I think I've only written something this fluffy and canon-y one other time (Of Slayers and Champions), but here and there, it is nice to write something where someone doesn't, you know... die, lol.

Thanks for reading. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: FawkesToTheRescue
Date: 08/13/10 6:41
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

I loved it! It was completely amazing! Fantastic job!!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. Have a great day/afternoon/whatever. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: 08Alohomora09
Date: 08/05/10 22:58
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Hello,

I quite like this one - it's good to see the better side of Draco.

I thought the letter from Harry was a bit too much -- or maybe it's just really strange to see this side of Harry. I envisioned a letter of somewhere in between: not quite just a "How are you?"
but not quite like this either.

When I read the letter, it seemed more like it was suited for speech rather than for words because some places had this little repetition.
For instance, take this sentence:
"I know that it’s probably ridiculous, but I—I just can’t explain it."
I feel that the letter would be better without the "I-I" part because it seems something one would only say (as a stutter), yet not write.
Other then that there was the repetition of "I want to see you" and it seemed a little bit too much for Harry and Ginny (as they never quite seemed to be the kind to visit Madam Puddifoot's); I think saying it a couple times (one in the middle, one in the end) might have sufficed.

From that point on, I think the story went well until Ginny started crying. I thought this was slightly odd because in the books she never cried much. In HBP, in the end it actually says "She did not cry" when Harry told Ginny they couldn't be with each other. In DH, after Harry kisses Ginny and again tells her, it says he is grateful that Ginny wasn't one to cry for things.

Apart from that, I liked it. I especially liked how you captured Draco well...(you do have a knack of getting him, I've noticed after reading 'Brazen'.) That you showed the decent side we never got to see much and still managed to portray his essence - his awkward exit out with the "gentle nod" ... like in DH in the end where he gave them all a "curt nod" because he didn't know what else to say.

Well then, cheers! :)

Author's Response:

Oh, man, you just totally made my day. You don't even know.

To be perfectly honest, I detest this story. I hate Harry/Ginny, and I hate fluff.  I wrote this for someone's birthday, and it was suited to her tastes entirely. I didn't even want to put it up, but I sort of got bullied into it. Everything you said, top to bottom, is exactly how I feel about this story, and it makes me pinch a nerve every time I get a squee review for it. Hence why you've made my day.

To let you in on something, the only reason why Draco is in the fic at all is so I could stomach finishing it. Yeah...it was that saccharine that I couldn't deal with it without my favourite cranky bastard in it somewhere.

I will, however, defend Ginny's tears. In my little brain universe, after the battle is over, Harry has a bit of a personal crisis. He wants to live his life like a normal person, but he doesn't know how to do that. Also, guilt racks him over the deaths of so many people he knew and cared about. It sort of made him drift away from the people he cared about. I saw this letter (the one in my mind, not this sappy stuff) as a light of hope for her that she hadn't lost him forever. I know this is all in my mind and stuff, but that's how I saw it. Hopefully, knowing that, it makes a bit more sense. 

Thank you for reviewing, as well as for your honesty. Take care and happy reading,

~Jess

Reviewer: Hermoine Jean Granger
Date: 08/01/10 6:31
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Hi there, Jess!

I was just sifting through your author page and reading summaries of your stories, when I noticed "Category: Harry/Ginny" as I scrolled down. I totally did a double take right then. I know for certain that you like Harry/Hermione more, so it was all the more interesting to go read this story of yours.

What surprised me was how really remarkably well you've written the characters - all of them were in accordance with what we know from canon. Very much so, in fact. Harry's letter shows his nervousness and fear, and although he admits in the letter that it might not even reach Ginny, I suppose it must have at least give him some relief to write it all down. The first line of the letter shows his confusion and eagerness to just let someone know what he's going through, and when he says Then again, you don’t know about those yet. , it is almost comical, although it also gave me the feeling that he really wished she knew what they were so he could talk about them some more. The rest of the letter is a bit too rambly, almost very sappy towards the end. But this was Harry when he feared his death, or worse, capture by the Dark Lord, and I suppose he was scared he'd never even be able to let Ginny know about what he thought of her. The times in which the letter were written do justify the neccessity for, well, an excessively sweet(and heartfelt, let me add) overdose of saccharine.

The stark contrast between the style of writing in the letter and Draco's mental dialogue was something that slightly put me off first. I felt that the story changed direction too abruptly, which left me wondering, 'What was that, again?' The circumstances under which Draco discovered the letter do make quite a lot of sense, although I somehow felt that it would have probably been better if the setting was mentioned at the beginning(right after the letter).

You unravel the character of post-war Draco through his thoughts really well. He remains the snarky and disdainful person that we know from the books. There isn't a world of change that we can see in his character here, and that is something I really liked about this story. (Most of the post-war stories that I've just portray Draco as a completely nice man after the war. My constant argument is that people just don't change overnight.) The interaction with George, and Draco's qualms about even going there at first, do, however, subtly bring out the changes in Draco's personality. That, along with his feelings mentioned right at the end: It was a curious sensation, being on the receiving end of gratitude. Draco had never really experienced it before, as he had never really given anything that could be accepted in such a way—ever. Just the perfect balance in his characterisation, which is brilliant.

Ginny's tears just after reading the letter did seem a little out-of-place to me. The Ginny that we see in canon doesn't really come across as a person who'd cry in the presence of someone like Draco. Her reaction does, however, add to the overall fact that she really was in love with Harry and was touched by his affection in the letter. That, to me, emphasized the whole 'Harry/Ginny aspect which got lost somewhere between Draco's musings in the Manor and the conversation with George, and I was happy to see it explored again in a much more subtle, not-too-overbearing/lovey-dovey way.

Another point that I noted while reading, is that you bring out many facets of the characters in the story. Anger, affection, love, grief, confusion, hesitation... I could go on. It's all put together well in one single piece, and you do pack a lot into the words you write. I found the narrative highly engaging; the actions of the characters divulge so much more than any description, and you unravel more and more through mental dialogue and conversations. All of which, in my humble opinion, make for a really good read. I've not read a lot of your works, but in what I have read, I've found a diversity which impresses me a lot, Jess. Wonderful work in this story, again, and I must commend you for taking on something out of your comfort zone and actually excelling in it.

Shar

Author's Response:

/in which Shar reads all the stories that Jess dislikes, lol.

Hello again!

I find it wildly funny that this story is a popular as it is (it has new reads every day, and I still get reviews for it, even after months). The honest truth about this story is this: I wrote it in under an hour, start to finish, without even bothing to edit. Yeah, that's it. I wrote it for Amanda's birthday, as she adores gooey Harry/Ginny (vomit) and all of that canon stuff. I was up about four hours past my bedtime (and yes, it was 10AM XD...BB kept me up all night >.<). With all that in mind, I was even pleased with how well it came out...or rather how bad it could have been under the circumstances. Of course, as Amanda worships the canon gods and all, she loved it. It was only going to be the letter, but toward the end of that part, I was dangerously close to losing my lunch, so I added Draco, just to keep myself interested, lol. That is the honest, dirty truth about this story. I think I may have read it through before submitting (which I did under the advisement of some very ebil acquaintances), but I can't be certain that I even did that. :D

Now that you know the history behind how this fic came to be, maybe some of the bits that are not so great make more sense. For instance, someone else who reviewed this story asked me why Draco didn't just owl the letter. That is, of course, because I couldn't be arsed to think of anything so practical. I really just wanted to see George make Draco squirm.

Harry is one of the characters that I feel I truly understand, both during the books, after the books, and far into the future, as well. That made the letter part easy to write, even if the fluff was so sodding saccharine that I don't even want to read that part when I have someone point out something that I should edit. I guess I don't understand Ginny's appeal, so having him write a loveletter to her is kinda difficult.

I do think Draco is a win in this story, mostly because of what you said. This is nearly right after the war, and while I do promote a reformed Draco, it's still too early for him to think about others and not think about what's in it for him. Of course, here, he's totally in it for himself, even if he did come out of it thinking that it would be nice if someone felt that way about him to cry over a letter he wrote. 

And then there's Ginny... Yeah. She's on my top 5 list of characters I would adore having the chance to delete from the series, along with the likes of Dobby, Tonks, Ludo Bagman and Zacharias Smith. Naturally, since I don't like her, when I portray her in pivotal character moments, I have to build up a bit of an alternate personality throughout the story to make up for the fact that I neither know for sure or care how she reacts. I know, that probably makes me ebil and mean, but I think we all have that character that we just want to stab in the eye with a pen. :D

I see what you mean about the change between the letter and Draco reading it is probably too jarring and disjointed. I just wanted to get that 'what the hell?' feeling across, where the reader is hearing this sappy letter in Harry's voice, and all of a sudden, Draco is being all disdainful and...Draco. I probably could have added a bit in the beginning, showing Draco finding it, and perhaps even stopping in the middle of it to do his own commentary, but that requires thinking the story through. Which I did not. At all. lol

All in all, I'm glad you liked it, even though I still have no earthly idea why everyone says it isn't fluffy. I do like making sure that there is something on my author page for everyone, even the canon queens, and even if it's a bit illness-invoking for me. I think that the hallmark of good, or even great, writers is that they can step out of their box and write something that doesn't appeal to them and have others be none the wiser. While I don't really consider myself anywhere near a great author, it is something for which I strive, and this fic, whether I like it or not, is a stepping stone in the right direction. I'm probably far too harsh on it, considering what it is and from whence it came, but if someone needs to be overly critical of my work, I suppose it should be me from a quality control standpoint.

Thank you for reviewing, and, as always, it's been lovely chatting with you. Though it does seem that my response ended up being longer than your review. I be rambly like that, mate. 

~Jess

P.S. - The following is a subliminal message - *dontreadanythingwrittenbymepredatingfebruaryitsallrubbishandshouldbedeletedbuticantmakemyselfdoit*

XD

Reviewer: NinjaBuddy
Date: 07/06/10 18:02
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Well,
I personally love H/G so I thought it was fantastic!
And I liked seeing the softer side of that scum Draco...

Author's Response:

Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :) I appreciate the review, and I hope to see you again soon. 

Take care and happy reading,

Jess

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 06/05/10 11:10
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Oh man Jess, this review is so late, but I have been thinking about this story randomly because it makes me smile, and…better late than never!

I cannot decide what I like best about this story. The letter is so quintessentially Harry, but Draco is so in-character, but George staring down Draco is awesome, and Ginny’s reaction when she gets the letter…and it’s all neatly packed into this one-shot. I know you don’t understand us poor Garry? Hinny? Did-we-ever-come-up-with-a-name-for-them? But you did them such excellent justice and now I am truly wishing this were a moment that could have happened.

The first line made me truly laugh out loud, …chasing down Horcruxes. Then again, you don’t really know about those yet… Don’t know if that was intended to be sort of clueless Harry, but for some reason, it made me giggle, imaging Harry writing this letter, and then going, “Oops, she doesn’t have a freaking clue what I’m talking about.” And while none of the letter felt forced or rushed, the best paragraph by far was the one that started “I probably shouldn’t even be writing this…” where he goes on to say, “oh bollocks, I don’t even know what I want anymore.” It gave the letter a feeling that he didn’t plan anything except that he had a sense of loss, of desperation. You gave a time frame through some of it- Ron’s gone, Ginny’s not at school anymore- so we can imagine how he was feeling during this time and you did an excellent job of having that come through in the letter.

The last paragraph of it did get quite soppy and romantic, and almost ridiculously so for Harry. The first time I read it, I almost winced, going “Oh, that is kind of cheesy, and sappy”…

…but at the same time, it makes it perfect to have Draco’s opening line after it, and THAT made me giggle, and agree with him, that it was the “sappiest sodding letter” I might have ever read. So I’m not sure if that was intentional or not, but overall, I think it works, and I do have to admit, if I were Ginny, and Harry-freaking-Potter wrote me that, I would probably cry, too, lol.

Draco’s internal dialogue was so snarky and condescending, and yet it felt at the same time like he was trying to hide his own conscience from himself. Some niggling, annoying voice in the back of his head kept telling Draco to do the right thing. What really pissed him off is that he knew what that was. He never thought about “Harry” or “Ginny”, but about “Potter” and “the Weasley girl”, although we knowhe knows their names. He still smirks, and thinks about them as “blood-traitors” in their “ramshackle house”. He even makes fun of Hagrid!

But ha! He’s nervous and uncomfortable, which make ME smirk, and I like the dichotomy that is this Draco – the arrogance mixed with the sense of humbling he got from his seventh year. I think one of my favorite parts was actually his own interactions with George; the twins would have had quite a reputation at Hogwarts, and meeting him one on one at his own house, full of more Weasley’s, probably would have made him think about all the horrid pranks he pulled during his tenure there. But more importantly, he is made most uncomfortable by the way he feels after it’s over and done with. He can’t handle the sense of gratitude, or the feeling that he might never make someone feel that way. I really liked how you handled Draco’s involvement with emotions that he hasn’t experienced much of before: discomfort, curiosity, hope, and what I imagined was a slight jealousy. He didn’t explore them fully or wallow in them, just let them kind of…brush by him, and then firmly took control of the situation whenever he could and got the crap out of there.

I know you know I really really like this story. I think it’s brilliantly executed and tastefully done and gives justice to this beautifully little moment that completely could have happened. It doesn’t make me like Draco, but it makes me think that he could find something, someday, and grow. It makes me think that you could like Harry/Ginny, lol, because the letter gives them a beautiful moment (I need better adjectives). And the fact that you wrote it for my birthday just makes me glow inside. :)

~Amanda

Author's Response:

Ah, I've been waiting for this review. :)

It's weird, because I wrote this story some time ago, and I'm still getting reviews for it here and there, so every time I have a message in the inbox for a new review for this, I was always hoping that it was from you. But now it is, and I'm excited. ^.^

I'll be honest, though I wrote this totally for you, putting Draco in it was completely self-indulgent on my part. I love Malfoy/Weasley interaction (not in the Drinny fashion), so it gave me a perfect opportunity to redeem him ever so slightly in their eyes. I debated having George chase Draco for making Ginny cry, not knowing why she was, but I declined. Maybe he did and Draco just didn't notice...it's up to you. :D

I think that there aren't many major characters who I know and understand better than Harry. I may not be as familiar with him as much as I think I am, but in this case, I'm sure that his very first love note (boys are always so terrible at these) came out okay. I just think that Harry wanted to feel closer to her at that moment, but he didn't even have the luxury of just watching her little blip on the Map. Really, though, it just makes me wonder why she didn't give him a picture of herself instead of a kiss before he left. Silly chit, lol. It gets a bit rambly, but I did that intentionally, as Harry does get rambly around girls he likes. Though I do think that Ginny would be the first to tell him to just shut up and kiss her; I can so see that in my head.

This whole story was the product of a little plot bunny which I had been sitting on - literally - for months. I was sitting at my desk, listening to my regular playlist for writing, and the Hercules song, Go the Distance by Michael Bolton, came on (yes, my muse has odd taste). It just immediately took my mind to Harry/Ginny, but I put it off because I had other things going on. But then your birthday came, and I knew that it was time to dust off the cobwebs and turn that dust bunny into a story. I really hadn't meant for it to be that long, but it seemed to have brewed and developed while I was gone. Not unlike wine, really. It started off as raw in my mind, but when it came out, it was mellow and smooth.

My personal favorite part was the interaction between Draco and George. Let's not forget that it was Draco and company that basically ruined Quidditch for the twins. Sure, them leaving school worked out pretty well in the end, giving them better opportunity to work on WWW, but the bitterness would still be there, IMO.

Anyway, I'll shut up now. I'm rambling like lovestruck!Harry. :D

Love you, muchacha, and I hope your work dies down a bit and allows you more fun time. Take care!

~Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/16/10 16:05
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

I liked this story.The letter was sweet. But most of all I liked Draco's characterization. I'm just wondering where Harry is. guessing from your other stories this is probably when he runs off. Eiher way i enjoyed it

Author's Response:

Welcome back!

Well, at this point, Harry is in Auror training/doing Death Eater clean-up, so he's pretty scarce. At this point, Ginny isn't sure where she and Harry are going in their relationship, but this letter tells her that she needs to fight for him.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Virgil
Date: 05/06/10 16:10
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

That was very sweet. I'm not usually one to ship Harry and Ginny (of course, it depends on what kind of a mood I'm in) but this really brought out the best in Draco. Very well-characterized. I wasn't quite sure about Harry's style of writing at first - I suppose I expected to recognize it from the series, but then I realized that Harry never writes love letters in the books. The way you portrayed his writing, especially given the dramatic circumstances, was very well done. Even George, though his appearance was brief, was characterized very nicely. I enjoyed reading this.

Peace,
Virgil

Author's Response:

Haha, this started out as a throwaway piece of fluff written for someone's birthday. I myself don't like the idea of Harry/Ginny much myself, but after someone else got a hold of it, they demanded that I submit it. It's already been read and reviewed more than 90% of my fics, and it's only been 3 days, so I suppose it has its redeeming qualities, lol.

Characterisation is sort of my thing that I consider myself best at, so when you say it was good, that means the most to me, so thank you for that. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Take care and happy writing!

Jess

Reviewer: Ginny H Potter
Date: 05/06/10 1:54
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

I actually really liked it. What I liked most was Draco's charachterisation which I think was my favourite part.

Author's Response:

Haha, thank you. Draco is one character that I just...get. Some characters just mystify me, like the Marauders and even Ron, but Draco is one that I understand. He and I aren't very dissimilar, so that's probably why, lol.

I'm glad you liked it, and that you so much for reviewing. Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 05/04/10 15:28
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

AHA!

After reading Carole's and Gina's entry, I feel VINDICATED! I told you it's not fluffy because this definitely isn't the definition of FLUFF! You got the meaning of the word wrong, my friend. Either that, or you think any sort of happy romance is fluff, which, again, is an incorrect assumption.

And, oh, I loved the fic, as you already know. :P

~Natalie.

Author's Response:

I am thawing to it a bit, mostly because Draco's in it. :D

I think I'm just not used to writing stuff that is so gooey and nice. You know that, hehe. Anyways, it's getting tons of reads/reviews, so it has to have more redeeming qualities than I thought it did. Yay, I suppose, lol.

Luvvvv,

Jess

Reviewer: multicolour_biro
Date: 05/04/10 13:38
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

The more i read one of your stories the more impressed i become from your ability to stray away from stereotypes. I love draco and am always amused when i read of draco meeting the potters after the war. In my head draco is a changed man after WWII, still self-centered and concerned with class and status but gradually becoming less cold and prejudiced. So of course i loved this story.

I used to be a die hard harry/ginny fan until the fluff got to me and i discovered non-canon:) but this fic made me happy and smile. Have you considered writing draco/astoria.... I've only read 2 stories and already i'm requesting! Sorry, it's just good writers are getting rarer :) happy writing

Author's Response:

Haha, welcome back. :D

I like to write about a variety of subjects, because I believe, in order to be a well-rounded author, I should step out of my comfort zone and into something that I haven't previously considered. I, too, have been scalded and maimed by gooey Harry/Ginny (as well as James/Lily) fluff, just about to the point where I almost can't read it anymore. Still, I will only read about these from an author that I trust not to scar me for life, lol.

I agree about Draco. I'm actually in the middle of writing an epic length Draco fic, which will show his life through his own POV from the summer before sixth year, all the way up to when he gets married. The marriage itself, I have a separate fic planned, as there is a challenge on the beta boards about weddings. Since I detest fluff in most forms (which is why this particular fic here isn't what I'd call my favourite), it's going to be angsty and dark (yay!). My version of Astoria won't be what you'd expect.

You wouldn't believe the number of plot bunnies in my head. I can and will write about nearly anything, because there are so many interesting subjects out there. I'm so glad that you're interested enough in my ideas to want to read more of what I have to say about the Potterverse.

Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 05/04/10 12:34
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

I'm tempted to leave you either a really fluffy, gushy review just to bug you some more, or a pointed, gruff review just to make you feel better. ;) But I won't do either, although maybe I can come up with some fluffy questions for your dueling thread, lol. I will just say that I agree with Carole. This is not that fluffy. Yes, the letter is - it's very touching to think Harry may have written something like that to Ginny while he was away. But that's a short part of the story. It seems more about Draco delivering it, and that part is very much in character - a bit arrogant, superior, resentful. I think, however, that you set it up very well, and I totally believe Draco would have either sent the letter or delivered it. His parting line was perfect, because let's face it - Harry definitely helped him out, and he owed Harry big time. I wonder how Harry felt about it being delivered. Maybe you can write a sequel for Amanda's birthday next year! ;)
~Gina :)

Author's Response:

I might just do that, write a sequel. It would save me the trouble of setting up a new story plot. That probably makes me lazy, but whatever, lol.

I wanted the letter to be honest, but very heartfelt and reminiscent of his feelings for Ginny at that moment, but I also wanted it to be believable. I think I did that fairly well, which is good, I suppose. I put Draco in it, because I needed something to make me want to finish it after scalding my brain with H/G fluff. :D

I feel like I just know Draco, so writing him into it was pretty easy. It was resolving my mind to write nice H/G that was hard. lol

Thanks for the review, and I might not hate this story so very much now, considering the glowing reviews it got. I do so love reviews. Until we meet again!

Jess

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 05/04/10 11:42
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Now then, you say this is fluff. Hmm, it is not fluff, or at least it is fluff of the highest quality because:

a) The letter is heartfelt

b) Draco's appearance turns it into a good fic.

Draco is wonderful. His cynicism about Potter, his anger with the Ministry and his fear of 'hostile Weasleys' are so IC. And I adored how he was actually sorry about Fred dying.

I know you dislike this, but I found it warm, funny and ... just very in character for all of them.

~Carole~

Author's Response:

Thank you, Madam Caroleeeee. :D

I put Draco in it so I could bear to finish writing it. I needed a medium of delivery, since I think Harry would never have given it to her, but Draco was my personal indulgence.

I tried to make it IC without taking away from the fluff. Amanda loves fluff, as you know, so I couldn't leave that out, now could I?

Thanks for reading...it still gets me that it's read so much, but I haven't got any bad reviews for it, so I acknowledge that it isn't completely hideous, lol.

Jess

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 05/03/10 19:42
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

This was very good. I love your writing - and you did a great job on Harry, Ginny and Draco. Harry and Ginny are my favorite couple - you did a great job with them in this story. So sweet.

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you. I've never really written a happy version of Harry/Ginny before, as my style is usally more dark, but it is nice to stray from the angst here and there. This plot bunny has been circulating in my brain for a while, and I'm glad you liked it.

Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: paperrose
Date: 05/03/10 16:34
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Ooh finally, you write a Harry/Ginny piece!! I had to double-check a couple times to make sure this was actually you! Lol.

Wonderful piece of Draco characterization you have here; you captured his thoughts and feelings after the war perfectly, as well as his ever-evolving maturity. And Harry's letter was so sweet and heart-felt.

Great job! Keep it up!

Amber

Author's Response:

Aww, thank you, Amber. I may hate this story pretty passionately, but it seems to have gone over quite well. It's been read more in the past 4 hours after being validated than some of my other (much better) pieces, lol.

I added Draco to this to keep my own interest, honestly. He and Harry are the two characters in the Potterverse that I understand on the deepest level. I wanted Harry to write Ginny a letter and never send it, but I also wanted Draco to understand that he owed Harry his life. Sure, rescuing someone from Azkaban does not equal message delivery, but that's not how a Slytherin's mind works, lol.

Thanks for reading/reviewing, and I look forward to reading more of TBitR, which I'm assuming is on hold until school lets out (which makes a ton of sense). Until we cross paths again...

Jess

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 05/03/10 15:17
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

That was lovely. I guess I wondered why he didn't just owl the letter but then that wouldn't have been good--there wouldn't have been an explanation. More importantly, if he delivered the letter personally, he could claim that he had evened things out with Harry. That took a lot for Draco to go to the Weasleys in person. I enjoyed this story.

Author's Response:

Hello there. :)

I suppose Draco could have owled, but I'll notch that under the premise of 'the Malfoys had nothing of value left', including owls. Truthfully, though, I never even considered that. I suppose, though, that Ginny wouldn't open anything from Draco, so that works, as well.

I'm glad you liked it, and I do believe that Draco changed a lot during his time spent in Voldemort's service. This is just his way of assuaging his conscience.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully I see you on my review page sometime soon again!

Jess

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/03/10 14:05
Chapter: Dearest Ginny

Very Good! I like Draco here, it shows alot more to his character than just being self absorbed!

Author's Response:

Why thank you. :)

I seriously debated whether I should even submit this or not, as I don't have much of a history of being kind to Harry and Ginny (you know this pretty well, lol). But I do feel that I owed them something nice, and as an avid H/G shipper had a birthday coming up, and I was bored at the time, this was the product.

I know that Draco has a conscience, since he didn't kill Dumbledore and never would have, and that conscience would've aggravated him after Harry kept him from going to Azkaban. This is, however, a neat little cop-out of actually having to do something awfully nice. :D

Thanks for reading/reviewing, and have a great rest of the day!

Jess

P.S. - The Epilogue of The Vindication of James Potter is in the queue right now, and it should come out soon. :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES