Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/01/13 13:56
Chapter: Chapter 14, Part II

I'm really enjoying this story. It's always interesting to compare Muggle things to Magical things--like Severus comparing the grocery store to the Potions store. Poor Severus--he can Apparate across an ocean but he has trouble riding in a car for a few blocks to the grocery store. That was not very nice of Celie to not sit by Severus. The least she can do is act a little interested. I like Severus' game of making Celie blush.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to let me know that you are enjoying the story! :) Your reviews are "music to my ears" and they always brighten my day! When rereading this chapter, I also liked the comparison between the Muggle store and the magical Potions apothecary - one of my favorite aspects of this story was being able to write about Celie's wide-eyed surprise with the magical world and Snape's opinions on ordinary Muggle life experiences. As to their lack of romantic progress, let's just say that they are currently in an awkward phase and are trying to figure out how to act around each other. I hope that you enjoy the next chapter! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/01/13 13:12
Chapter: Chapter 14, Part I

To make matters worse, Severus was in the passenger seat and trying to fasten his seat belt. I always have trouble fastening my seat belt when I'm a passenger. That's because I'm right-handed and very clumsy with my left hand. I can reach it and pull it over but have trouble putting it in the slot. I can imagine Severus having a lot of fun teasing Celie by acting helpless with his seat belt.

Author's Response: I'm sure that Snape was enjoying having the opportunity to tease a lady, without having the fear of being discovered and possibly ridiculed by the Hogwarts and/or Order crowd. :) Thank you for being such a loyal reader and reviewer! Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/01/13 11:55
Chapter: Chapter 13

I don't know why Severus tries to argue with Dumbledore either. And Dumbledore keeps giving Severus two awful choices to pick from. That's probably the best way to handle things though. I wonder how Severus will like the States.

Author's Response: This is exactly how I imagine that Albus Dumbledore would have acted during his "behind the scenes" plotting sessions with Snape during the war. I can just see him giving Snape a "choice" between two unpleasant scenarios. As far as I'm concerned, it's no wonder that Severus Snape was such a sour person during his tenure at Hogwarts. Thanks for sending me your thoughts! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/01/13 11:15
Chapter: Chapter 12

Severus is in such denial. All I can say is I wish we had magical healers. I'm always in pain from something and I can only imagine how some Potions or balms would feel. I enjoyed the scene with Delores and Dumbledore. Why does Delores even try to match wits with Delores.

Author's Response: Yes, you are absolutely correct - poor Severus Snape has some serious denial issues! :) As to your comment about magical medicine, I have often thought while reading the books and watching the movies how convenient it would be to visit Madam Pomfrey and drink a potion to make one's aches and pains disappear! And Dolores Umbridge is so outmatched by Albus Dumbledore - although Albus aggravates me at times, I just love it when he tops her in a verbal sparring match! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/25/13 13:16
Chapter: Chapter 11

I must admit that I laughed at several points while reading this chapter. I know it was serious but there were sections that were outright funny. I liked the "corny" notes that came with their meal. I could understand why Severus couldn't use magic while rescuing Celie but why couldn't he heal her when they were in their room. I also loved the interplay between Lucius and Bellatrix. Lucius is so arrogant. He couldn't possibly admit that Bellatrix may have literally stumbled upon something while looking for Celie in the cliffs.

Author's Response: I am very happy to hear that you found parts of the chapter to be amusing. :) I also liked Louise's goofy notes that she included with their room service food. To answer your question about why Snape couldn't use healing magic on Celie after the big rescue, I thought it would be best if he used a consistent, no-magic approach for the entire adventure to prevent being located by Lucius and Bellatrix. As to those two, I enjoyed writing the dialogue between them because they are both so competitive for Voldemort's favor and neither wants to be "topped" by the other. Thank you for sending me such a long and detailed review! I hope that you enjoy the next chapter! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/24/13 13:18
Chapter: Chapter 10

I really didn't think Peter would be the one to bring Celie in. I guess I don't have a very high opinion of Peter:D I hope they call Severus in soon. Why can't Dumbledore let the poor woman contact her mother and make some arrangements at home.

Author's Response: Hello again! :) Like you, I also don't have a high opinion of Wormtail; but, in this instance, he was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time to accomplish Voldemort's assignment. Don't worry - Snape will appear more prominently in the next chapter. As to your comment about Albus, I believe that he is the type of person who only does things when HE feels like it - perhaps Celie's attempt at running away (to get home) will make him realize that he needs to consider other people's feelings, instead of merely the "greater good." Thank you for commenting on the chapter! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/24/13 1:28
Chapter: Chapter 9

Good thing Harry came along when he did. I wonder when someone will start looking for Celie. I'd be horribly distraught if I were her.

Author's Response: Yes, it was very fortunate that Harry managed to save Celie in Hogsmeade before she got kidnapped. Now that Celie knows more information about her situation, I think that she has every right to be worried about her safety. Thank you for continuing to read and review! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/13 17:44
Chapter: Chapter 8

I know why no men seem interested in Celie--she's a strong woman. Dumbledore made a very mean statement to Celie--that she had no one. Certainly her school will miss her when she doesn't come to work. Her mother will certainly miss her. What does that old hippie know!!!

Author's Response: I think that your assessment of Celie as being a strong individual is completely correct. Albus had no right to be cruel to her in this chapter, particularly since she has done everything that he has asked her to do so far. Unlike what the "old hippie" said (I loved your comment!), I don't believe that it is possible for a person's disappearance to go completely unnoticed. Someone would've noticed Celie's absence, I am sure of it. Thanks for being so outraged on Celie's behalf! :) I hope that you continue to enjoy the story! Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/13 14:25
Chapter: Chapter 7

How ironic that Lucius is complaining about Celie when he demanded that Draco take her class. He really doesn't have any grounds for complaint that I can see. Who better to have teach Muggle Studies than a real Muggle:D I loved how Celie dealt with Dolores--the frog-faced pig.

Author's Response: I agree with you that Lucius doesn't have any cause for complaint about Celie and her teaching methods - I guess that he's just one of those people who always complains because, with his social standing and riches, he rarely comes into contact with anyone who will oppose him. And three cheers to anyone who sasses off to Dolores Jane Umbridge! :) Thank you for taking the time to send me your thoughts! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/13 13:30
Chapter: Chapter 6

Your portrayal of Voldemort when Snape arrives a little late for the "meeting" reminds me of work when I arrive late for meetings.:D I usually get told, "We've been meeting for 20 minutes already."

Author's Response: Isn't it strange how the language of both Muggle and magical bosses is remarkably similar? :) Thanks for sending me your thoughts! Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/13 13:09
Chapter: Chapter 5

Celie kind of reminds me of Harry. Things happen and he rolls with it. Celie's doing the same thing. I almost laughed out loud when Sirius said he used a compulsion charm so he could get to know Celie--but I was in my office and my work shouldn't be that funny so I shouldn't be laughing.

Author's Response: I liked your analogy comparing Celie and Harry; I guess they are kind of similar, since they both "roll with the punches." Poor Sirius - I did put him in a tough spot, but it seemed like something he would do. By the fifth book, he was as lonely, desperate, and impulsive as ever; he was the most realistic way that I could imagine to get Celie involved in the HP world. Don't get into trouble at work on my account! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/22/13 17:22
Chapter: Chapter 4

I am enjoying this story. So, does this woman have to stay at Hogwarts? I'm not sure how I'd feel if a smiling dog put a compulsion spell on me so I'd accidently be someone's godmother. I'm going to have to keep an eye on my dogs that smile. Maybe I shouldn't trust them too much.

Author's Response: I am so excited to see that you are still reading the story! :) More details regarding Celie's situation will be described in the upcoming chapters, but the upshot is that she will need to stay near Dumbledore and the Order, so that she can be protected. I guess the moral of this story is that you never know what a dog is thinking when he is smiling! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/22/13 14:54
Chapter: Chapter 3

If I were Ms. Morton I'd be right cranky by now. I'd be impatient and wanting to get back to my vacation. Maybe Severus will Side Apparate her to Cornwall.:D

Author's Response: I liked your comment that, if you were the American Muggle, you would be "right cranky." :) You'll just have to keep reading to see if Celie Morton ever gets to Cornwall. Happy Reading! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/22/13 14:28
Chapter: Chapter 2

That's hilarious. The woman says she doesn't even know their names and Harry introduces them:D If that were me I'd be a little freaked out about now. I loved it when she raised her arms in surrender.

Author's Response: I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the second chapter! :) I am rereading the story again, so that I can respond to all of your specific comments. Since I started writing this story 3 1/2 years ago, I had forgotten the humorous moments in the beginning of the story. Like you, I also chuckled when Harry introduced himself and his friends to the clueless American Muggle. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/22/13 14:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

I've been meaning to read your work for a long time. Something told me the time was now. Let's say I had a strong "urge." Wow-so there's an American Muggle on the Hogwarts Exprss and she's met Sirius and Lucius Malfoy. I think dogs smile when they feel like it. I've owned a lot of dogs and don't tell me they weren't smiling at times. Some dogs smile and some dogs don't.

Author's Response: I am so happy to hear that you've decided to start reading my stories! :) I can't wait to read through all of your reviews and comment on your thoughts. Thank you for taking the time to send me a review after reading each chapter! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: nurse1991
Date: 09/19/13 16:32
Chapter: Chapter 7

I am enjoying this story, especially since you have the view of Celie and Severus. Thanks.

Author's Response: I am thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the story so far! :) Thank you for letting me know your thoughts. Happy Reading! Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: FizzingWhizbeeandSherbet
Date: 09/17/13 10:11
Chapter: Epilogue

I'm definitely late to the party on this one, but I LOVED reading this! I love how believable and 3d the characters are, and how it your writing flowed from humour to sadness. I don't normally gush at fanfictions, but I really enjoyed this one.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your sweet review! :) I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the story. I appreciate your taking the time to send me your thoughts! Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 07/28/13 19:43
Chapter: Chapter 2

I know I'm late to the party, but I like this one so far!

Author's Response: I'm thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the story so far! :) Thank you for sending me your thoughts! Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 07/25/13 21:31
Chapter: Epilogue

Best story ever! :)

I am going to read it again and again and again...

Author's Response: THANK YOU so much for being such a devoted reader and reviewer! :) It means the world to me to hear that, although you've already read all of the posted chapters, you continue to reread my stories! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 07/25/13 20:38
Chapter: Chapter 29

I always cry when I read this chapter!!!!! What could be more heart breaking than Celie shouting out to her husband desperately that she loves him? Augh! My eyes brimmed with tears immediately...

Yes, I know how this story ends, but you have a gift with writing emotions. Ruby Emeralds, you will always be one of my favorite authors. :)

Author's Response: I reread this chapter before I responded to your review - I had forgotten how dire and depressing Snape and Celie's situations were at this stage in the story. At the "I love snow" part, I have to admit that I also got a case of the sniffles. I'm really glad that the ending is so much happier than this chapter! Thank you for all of your encouraging compliments - they have reenergized me to keep writing! :) Smiles, Ruby Emeralds

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES