Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/10/12 20:21
Chapter: The Doorway

It's one thing to say that Alex hasn't gotten over the death of her brother, but each chapter shows how hurt she is. This must have been difficult to write.

It is amusing that David always asks Alex when he knows something is going on.

Like Alex one has to wonder why students could go down into the basements at all. More importantly why wait until now, when they should have done it after Alex came back.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/10/12 20:02
Chapter: Rebellion

I have been doing lots of rereads on this series, but only up to chap 5 on the next book. (They are that good and there seems to be clues that I missed).

For instance the train wreck that Abraham caused happened because he blocked the entrance to the Lands Below according to Diana Grimm. How many people know this? Alex was researching Lands Below and not one reference that the trains go through the Lands Below so they don't have to excavate underneath.

I bring this up because of a comment Larry Albo makes saying that they are getting a special regiment "to hunt your daddy in the Lands Below". Is this in the news under the category we're doing everything we can to catch Abraham Thorn or does Larry have inside knowledge?

Another thing I noticed is that there is similarity between Innocence and Bonnie Seabury. Both seem to be looking for approval from older students and yet Alex rejects them both and for similar reasons--she's afraid she will lead them into trouble. Unknowingly she is obeying Lilith's directive from book 1 to watch out for other people. Still doesn't have the tact thing down yet.

One almost can wonder if the custodian's position is cursed?

Reviewer: Ariana_Fosse
Date: 01/16/12 21:08
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

Thank you very much that was a great story. I really enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/06/12 21:49
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

I really did enjoy this third book in the series. Sorry it took me so long to finish but I was trying to delay gratification:D Now that I see you have more things posted, I could finish this book and still have more to read. I think you'll help Alex find a way to outlive her 7 year sentence. I can't wait to read about her 4th year at Charmbridge. Great story.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/05/12 22:43
Chapter: The Deathly Regiment

Can Alex even be sacrificed then? Or am I missing something? I'm beginning to think that she's too smart for her own good. For some reason I was happy that Alex was able to meet Mr. Chu. I also hope to see her continue with JROC next year. Did I mention that I love the original characters you've created for this series. They are all so real to life and interesting. Excellent chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/05/12 20:39
Chapter: A Life for a Life

I was a little sad to see Darla go. Not that she's in any way useful or necessary, but I know it meant a lot to Alex to bring Darla back as she had promised Nat. I'm wondering--if Darla wandered through the Veil, couldn't that count as the life the Generous Ones wanted? That would be nice. I hope Innocence recovers from this trauma eventually. Excellent chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/04/12 23:44
Chapter: Oak and Mistletoe

I noticed with great delight that you are posting a new story. So, I thought I'd better go back and finish this one so I could start the new one:D I started publishing my own work and that took away from my reading time. You have the talent to write such suspenseful chapters. Sometimes I actually get frightened reading them. You are truly talented. Anna is such a loyal friend. She'll be a good friend to Alex. I hope Charlie makes it and that Innocence is saved. I think it's too late for Darla. I believe she's totally gone insane and death may be the only thing to save her. Great chapter.

Reviewer: ksecc
Date: 11/20/11 23:54
Chapter: The WODAMND Act

I have just finished all your stories, and I think they're the best I've read on this website. Well developed characters, gripping plot. And I like seeing how you've adapted things to the US. Now I have to wait until the next one is posted!

Reviewer: Silver Badger
Date: 08/17/11 17:38
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

Wow. That's pretty much all I have to say. The Deathly Regiment is just as engaging and heart-attack inducing (for me) as the first two. The characters have only evolved more and more, which is wonderful as characters are usually my favorite thing in any story. The ones here do not disappoint. The plot was nearly impossible to guess, I changed my predictions almost every chapter. I loved reading the Deathly Regiment, and I'm eager to dive into the next one when it's ready.

Reviewer: potterchassid
Date: 04/03/11 11:24
Chapter: The WODAMND Act

Thanks, Inverarity, for the intriguing answer. How about the ring around a rosy kids? Am I correct to posit they are the victims of the Deathly Regiment? Or are they only accidentally hanging out in the Lands Beyond?

Author's Response: Sorry, you'll have to wait longer for an answer to that. ;)

Reviewer: potterchassid
Date: 04/03/11 5:58
Chapter: Through the Veil

Rereading this chapter, I wonder whether the ghosts of little children singing ring around a rosy are really past victims of the Deathly Regiment.

Reviewer: potterchassid
Date: 04/03/11 5:57
Chapter: The Deathly Regiment

I just reread this chapter and wonder about a possible plot hole.
When she comes back and is interviewed by Diana Grimm, she tells her she went in the Lands Beyond, but does not reveal she met and treated with the Moste Terrible Power. Either DG knows that one cannot simply come back without Death's permission, in which case she knows Alex didn't tell the whole truth, or DG and the Confederation don't know, in which case they'll be worried about Alex having unchecked powers. If they leave Alex alone, they may still send some people to check out, who, unlike Alex, won't be able to get out.

In fact, since Death gets visits on thestrals very, very rarely (it used to be more frequent, i.e., every 50 years or so, i.e. very rarely at best), the Confederation likely doesn't know too much about this, either.

Do you plan on dealing with this in Book 4? Will there be more visits to Death?

Author's Response: No comment about whether there will be more visits to Death, but Diana Grimm will play a significant role in Book Four, and some of your questions may be answered. ;)

Reviewer: Lucien Moody
Date: 01/31/11 13:20
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

That was amazing, thank you so much. For some reason Alexandra seems so much less like a little girl and more grown, but I suppose thats intentional. The story now seems to have a clear ark and is really interesting.

So thanks again :) x

Reviewer: Lympha
Date: 06/24/10 15:21
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

Alexandra is such a wonderful character and I believe she will have a lot more trouble in her coming years. Thank you so much for posting this book. I really loved it and I am looking forward to the next one. :)

Reviewer: littlewolf
Date: 06/21/10 20:31
Chapter: The WODAMND Act

for the past week, my obsession had been to devour your alexandra quick series. and now i've run out of awesome stories to read =(

forgive me for not reviewing until the end, all i wanted to do the second i reach the end of each chapter was to hit the "next" button.

i think i might like this book the best out of the three you've written so far. it's quite bittersweet, and that's how life goes (albeit with much less interesting and safer things in real life for most of us). seeing that alexandra had never truly felt a severe loss, it was totally understandable how she felt guilty and obsessed with bringing Max back to life. in the end, when she finally admitted that she couldn't, but promised never to forget Max... i guess she finally found closure. it was sweet in a sad kind of way.

i read some reviews about questions you left hanging... i think it was for the best that you left the question as to whether Death would give Max back if Alex did give the coin to another. if Alex did choose to sacrifice someone to get Max back... well i think Max will be back the way he haunted her dreams - full of sadness knowing that his sister killed to get him back. and it wouldn't be the Alex we know and love. Troublesome's vexing and a pain and a trial, but she's also kind and has a pure heart, no? (p/s - i really love your poems/rhymes!) this is meant to be an open ended question i think. like how sirius died when he fell behind the veil.

i think max went in peace, though, willingly to save his sister. tell me he found peace, please?

i guess i can actually sympathize with darla. i really didn't like her character... but she really loved her younger sister, no? she was willing to kill, and as a last resort, die for her sister's life. while that doesn't truly justify the bad things she had done, i'm consoled that she isn't truly bad. she's just extremely desperate.

i dislike the confederation more than ever now. human child sacrifice? nothing can justify that act of abomination. while i don't like abraham thorn's method of fighting back (plenty of people who died are innocent) i agree that this should stop.

something tells me that if they can't stop this in seven years, alex is going to do something. she only has seven years to live... hmmmm.

the only little thing bothering me about this whole story is Quimley. what did he do? why wouldn't he return to the upper world? what motivated his most terrible gift?

i sure hope you address that in the future books, if you can =) and can you please do an epilogue after the seventh book so we know if alex survived Death or not?

thanks! as always, i think you're an awesome writer.

keep writing =)

Reviewer: tbergman
Date: 06/20/10 21:06
Chapter: The WODAMND Act

I won't comment on individual aspects of the novel, as i not qualified to make any criticisms, except to say, that If I enjoy it, and I want my son to read it, then you did it right. (I've been reading your books to my 4 year old.)
Another fantastic book from you. I've said before that I love the HP universe that JKR created and was very dissapointed that DH was the final book from her. It is immensely pleasing that there are talebted authors such as yourself who have picked up the baton and continued to keep it all alive. I think someone should turn your books into movies as well, or, event better, a TV series. (I keep picturing Sandra Bullock playing the Grimm sisters. Don't ask me why).
Do we really need to wait till 2011 to start getting AQATSA chapters? I'm going through withdrawal already.

Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Hesperia
Date: 06/20/10 2:37
Chapter: The WODAMND Act

So, after having had a chance to let things sink in and settle, I thought I'd give you some feedback on the story as a whole. It's rare that I've read a whole chaptered fanfic, so those I get through are really something special. I have very few criticisms, and those I offer are with the friendliest of intentions.

-- I felt like the story, at several points, built up certain expectations that were never fulfilled. The Time-Turner is one example. You make it clear that something bad would have happened to Alex if she had indeed gone back in time and tried to stop Maximillian. But then she's prevented from doing it, and I'm left wondering -- what would have happened? If you pose a question like that, and then don't answer it, it's a bit of a let-down for the reader. Another instance of this was Death's token. I wanted to know what would have happened if Alex had given that to someone. Would Death indeed have followed through on the deal? How would Max have returned? Again, it's a possibility you raise, but then preclude without answering the questions it raises.

-- I felt like Anna's character was too weak and passive. I wasn't sure what she was contributing to the story. I guess I wasn't sure either what the two of them get out of each other's friendship. Alex seems to do nothing but make Anna cry, and Anna does nothing but slow Alex down and make her rethink her decisions. I see that some of your readers are hoping for an Alex/Anna angle on the relationship, but I don't see that, at least not yet. I think there are enough hints that Alex is attracted to boys.

- On that note, I have to say this -- I actually wondered whether Alex was a bit in love with Maximillian. It would explain her obsessive devotion to bringing him back, and it would be perfectly natural given that she didn't know she had a brother until last year, and wouldn't necessarily feel the normal way siblings do about each other. I think that would have been an interesting angle. But I could just have a sick mind.

I can't think of anything else, I was really impressed with your plot, characteriziation, and language and I really do hope you are working on original fiction -- not that fanfic is a waste of time, but I'm sure you can publish your own stuff as well. Best of luck!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your comments. You've brought up quite a few issues other readers have commented on as well. Anna started the series even more passive, and it was my hope to show her developing a bit in this book as well.

You make some good observations, though I'm afraid I can't answer your speculations. ;) But I hope you will read the next book in the series when I finish it.

Reviewer: Crazycow89
Date: 06/15/10 4:20
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

I absolutely love the Alexandra Quick series. You said that you spent a lot of time thinking about it and jotting down ideas (or something lik that). That is an understatement. You must have spent ages and ages coming up with stories so fabulous! The Alexandra Quick series is phenominal. J.K Rowling should be jealous. You could seriously give her a run for her money.

Alexandr Quick and the Stars Above...I would have never guessed the title. But it sounds so good-I can't wait!

P.S And one question: I'm pretty sure Martin and Max are both gay and that they dated each other while they were at school. This is true, right?

Author's Response: Martin admitted as much to Alexandra in the last chapter, yes. Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you like the stories!

Reviewer: fan_fic_fan
Date: 06/14/10 21:34
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

I have read all three of your AQ stories now, and HHD as well. You've created a great universe here, only tangentially connected to JKR's I might add, by that I mean it being mostly your own creation, for which I offer my kudos and thanks. I know you are working on an original fiction; if you manage to get it published, please leave us a clue on your LJ so we can find it!

I enjoyed AQATDR almost as much as the first two, and there is only one spot that makes me say that--the transition from the Lands Beyond to the Lands Below. The telling of that section felt a bit rushed, to the point of it seeming a little less believeable, even within the universe (and even given Alexandra's unusual talent) you've created. It felt like Alexandra is just rushing from one magical land that no one ever returns from to the other magical land no one ever returns from, which is old-hat for her 'cause she's been there before. I know from reading your LJ that plot is the element you care most about, and the events do hang together with the rest of the plot well, especially after reading the chapter in the Lands Below and the denouement chapters which were beautifully written. A little more care and a little more (dare I say it) style to your writing in this one section could have made the telling less rushed and flow better.

That's my only quibble. It was another fantastic story. I'm sad it will be awhile before AQATSA comes out, but I'm sure it will be worth the wait. In the meantime, best of success with your original work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and the critique. You're right that her second journey into the Lands Below was much briefer (both in narrative and experiential time), and that probably did make it seem a bit rushed. I am always working on improving my style; I hope you'll see improvement in the next book.

Reviewer: Phoenix 86
Date: 06/14/10 21:25
Chapter: Seven Years to Live

excellent work. i eagerly await the fourth book.

Author's Response: Thank you, and I hope you'll find it worth the wait.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES