Reviewer: alex13
Date: 12/03/11 7:08
Chapter: Chapter 1

Beautifully written! :)
This is exactly how i think Hermione feels about Harry

Author's Response: Yay, a fellow sailor on the good ship Harmony! It in not that I believe that they are madly in love or anything, but I do believe that there is a whole lot of unresolved tension there. This is the culmination of one of the places in canon I think shows this and provides plausible evidence that I am not mistaken. Thanks for the review. :) ~Jess

Reviewer: cancel21
Date: 03/30/11 20:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very sad but touching. I liked the last line. It ended the story perfectly. Looking forward to more harry/hermione stories from you.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked this. It was one of the first things I wrote that wasn't completely canon.

That being said, I do have a chaptered Harry/Hermione story (though it's mostly plot with mild shippiness) on the archives, titled The Darkness and the Light. If you decide you want something more, that might be good for you. 

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/20/11 2:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi Jess,

Let me begin by saying that in general I dislike non-canon pairings, as I think JKR knows best when it comes to her own characters... so when I saw the summary for this, as well as knowing your love of Harmony, I was a little dubious and thought I'd give it a go.

Having said that, I thought this was a fantastic story and you really made sure that Hermione and Harry remained in character throughout the fic. I think it's interesting that you picked up on that line in DH (I mean "You've been shouting and moaning and... things") and decided to write a whole fic about it. It's actually quite believable, particularly as Harry's delirious and thinks that Hermione is Ginny, as I think it's quite clear in canon that Harry never felt anything for Hermione. But you do raise the question that she perhaps may have had these feelings for him, particularly when Ron had abandoned them.

I think the best moment in this fic was when Harry said "Ginny" - you captured Hermione's feelings so well and it was just heart-breaking... even for someone who doesn't think Harry and Hermione should be together anyway!

Anyway, I hope you can make something coherent out of this rather long review... the point is, well done for making a non Harmony shipper enjoy a Harmony story.

~Katrina

Author's Response:

When it comes to non-canon, I tend to prefer ships that aren't really established as non canon, such as minor character pairings. I don't actually go against canon all that often, actually. What I do enjoy, however, is building pockets of non-canon within the bounds of canon and make someone reassess what they know about established events. Harry will never, ever know what he said and did as he was thrashing around in the tent, snake venom pumping through him. I see that as my cue to make something up to satisfy my ebil desires. :D

I'm glad you enjoy the story, even with its non-canonness. I really thought it was appropriate that Hermione kissed Harry before Ron, since Ron was always so paranoid about them anyway. Muahahahaha!

Reviewer: musicrobot
Date: 11/25/10 21:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

I found this really interesting because I, too, wondered what Hermione meant when she said, 'and... things.'

I don't usually ship H/Hr, but this was quite good. I loved your take on the events. I wish there were more fics like this one around.

Author's Response:

I'm what you call a realist Harmony shipper. I really don't think, with Ron in the picture, that there would ever have been a chance for them to get together, but with Ron gone... :D I suppose it's just a 'if only' fixation of mine. I just wanted a bit of my fave ship in canon without stepping on its toes too badly. We know that Harry never had a thing for Hermione in the books, but we truly don't know if Hermione ever had a thing for Harry, so why not?

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

~Jess

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 06/19/10 18:03
Chapter: Chapter 1

Even though I don't ship Harmony, I still think that this was a pretty good fic. I don't think that Hermione could ever love Harry as anything other than a brother, but I do think that something fishy went on when Hermione said "things". I like your interpretation of it but don't agree with it - no offence intended.

~Soraya~

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! I love reviews of all sorts. :D

To be honest, I don't really think that it happened this way, either, lol. This story was written for a challenge prompt of 'surprise love', and in a moment of weakness, mixed with my fascination with Harmony, I decided taht this is what I wanted to do. I have a real hard time straying from canon, so this is about as non-canon as I can write, and it is still canon compliant. I'm glad you still liked it, even though you didn't agree with the premise or the ship (though it isn't really much of a ship if it's just one-sided musing, I suppose). I once read a Tonks/Snape story (no, that's not a typo), and though the idea of it is positively ghastly, it was well-written, so I could actually finish the story.

The 'things' part fascinated me from the first time I read DH, but the second time I read it, I had just watched the HBP movie, which is saturated with Harmony moments, and the idea that something of this sort had happened remained planted in my head. While the romanticising of it on Hermione's part was complete fabrication on my part ot fit the prompt, I do believe that the idea that Harry could be having a hot!sweaty dream about Ginny (face it, he's seventeen...that's sort of how the genome cookie crumbles). Hermione could have easily been swept up in it if she was weary and flustered enough, though she'd more likely slap him in the face (even if he was hallucinating, lol).

Anyway, as I said before I started rambling (as I do), thanks for reviewing, and I hope to see you in my inbox again soon. Take care and happy reading!

~Jess 

Reviewer: Hokey
Date: 04/08/10 10:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

You've done a great job with this, Jess! For one who doesn't usually write from Hermione's POV, I think you did excellently. She's very IC and her inner battle with emotions and frustration were very interesting to read. As all else has been said, I'll just say that I think this was a wonderful idea and you carried out the story in a fantastic way! :) Keep writing more "missing moments" from DH ;)

Author's Response:

Aw, thanks, Jen!

I knew I wanted to write this story the moment I read DH again. That one line that Hermione had after Harry woke up... it begged for an explanation. There are just so many tales waiting to be told, and I'm glad that I told this one, because now I feel like I know. Even though only JKR can know for sure, I'd like to think that what I wrote is plausible. :)

Anyway, thanks so much for reviewing, and take care.

Jess

Reviewer: wilted_orchid
Date: 03/17/10 13:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

Talk about reading into it, eh?!

I'm not saying that's a bad thing, quite the opposite; I'm utterly thrilled to find another person like myself!

This fanfiction...well, although I hate the ship I can't deny it's very well written, and entirely true to character.

My one gripe, which is very pathetic, would be the double asterisks to demonstrate lines taken directly from the novel distract me as a reader and sort of detract from the emotional power of the scene. But that's just me, so ignore that, and enjoy a small round of applause instead, of writing of such high quality it made me read all the way to the end of a ship I can't stand =]

Author's Response:

Thank you ever so much! ^.^

Jo said herself that there are so many stories hidden in the folds of Deathly Hallows; this is merely my own interpretation of one, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it. This one has been lurking in the recesses of my mind since I read Deathly Hallows, and I'm glad that what I wrote could go above and beyond people's perspectives on ships. Truthfully, it wasn't meant to be a Harry/Hermione piece so much as a Hermione vs. Brain piece. I just wanted her to allow herself to feel instead of think for once.

As for the asterisks, I'm required by law to notate anything that is previously published (even other fan fics), so it was a necessary evil. My beta said the way I did it was fine, but I can see how the asterisks could be irritating (since they were annoying to type out for me as the writer).

Well, anyway, thanks for letting me know what you think. Us authors dearly adore reviews of all kinds, especially ones with substance and not some variation of "squee, u rock" or "you suck. burn your computer." Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: mortaldraco
Date: 03/16/10 0:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

that was rly good. i was quite impressed. the only improvement i can make is to not take so many of the events from the book ex. when harry and hermione were in bathilda's house. i rly enjoyed ur way of interpreting hermione's lie...everyone one of the ten times i've read tht book...i always wonder...

Author's Response:

First off, I'm so glad you liked this story. I really wanted to make something sweet but tragic.

I, too, always wondered, every time I read that one line, what it was that made her so shaken, considering the fact that she had seen Harry while he had visions before. I merely imprinted my own ideas and personality into that scenario.

The reason I incorporated so many of the events of Bathilda's Secret was because I needed the reader to know what was going on for both characters at each interval. We already knew what was happening with Harry, but Hermione was a large part of that scene, so we needed her input.

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I hope to bump into you again somewhere. Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 03/03/10 22:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

HAHA! Jess, I love this. I really really do. It's actually quite sad and tragic, and it didn't feel forced. It was almost as if Hermione was overtaken by something she didn't understand, which of course, is rare for her, and it sort of ran away from her and she actually let her feelings led her to something for once.

Don't know if that makes sense, but I enjoyed it. :)

~Amanda

Author's Response:

Awww! Tackle!hug, you still had time to read my lil' story, even though you work 900 hours a week! That makes me warm and fuzzy inside. :)

I guess something like this would scare the daylights out of Hermione, to not know what she feels or what to do about it. I've never really written her before, so it's hard for me to judge how I did. JKR said herself that there are so many stories between the lines in DH...this is just my mere interpretation of one of them.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I hope to talk to you as soon as the work monster stops hiding under you desk. :)

I heart you!

Jess

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 02/28/10 14:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was cool! :) As I was reading, I was thinking it was a great exploration of the scene in Godric's Hollow from Hermione's point of view. And then when she started explaining to him what had happened after their escape and she said that line "You've been shouting and moaning and . . . things" the story really hit home and it suddenly seemed so possible that in his fever-induced delirium maybe this happened. Very creative!! And heartbreaking (you seem to have a penchant for heartbreaking, yes?) I think the most emotional line was the one simple "Ginny" from Harry that really hit Hermione. Poor Hermione! There were some other great lines here too, but I think my favorite by far was: "This was a cosmic phenomenon, a destiny of souls meeting on a physical plane in order to ascend to a spiritual one." Brilliant!
More than anything, the movies make me think Harry/Hermione can be a real thing as they seem to have good chemistry onscreen (in my humble opinion, of course.) Now when I go see DH, I'll totally be thinking of your story and this little "missing moment" for Hermione. I will probably even be rooting for Harmony at that moment, and you've done that by writing such a believable scene here. Great job - good luck in the challenge! ~Gina :)

Author's Response:

Well, I do declare (in my best Southern belle accent), I believe I'm blushing a bit.

I've known for ages that this was a story that needed to be told. In the books, there are little nuggets like this, especially in DH, and I felt really strongly about this one. I almost wrote this one from Harry's perspective in his delusion, but that would have ruined it; all the books are from his POV, and I've never written Hermione, really. I'm really happy with it.

I've worn a crease in my copy of DH, so much so that when I hold the spine of the paperback in my hand, it automatically opens to this chapter, lol.

Thank you so much for the review. They're slighly crack-like, as you know. :D

Jess

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 02/28/10 6:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

OH, this is fabulous, Jess. The main problem I have with Harmony, Dramione, Drinny (or is it Ginco?) is that the couples involved usually become wildly OOC in order for the pair to get together ... but you've kept both participants very IC. Hermione is wonderful. I loved the fact that she did mess up, and was hesitant. She's not brilliant at thinking on her feet, needing to rely on books to get her through, and you've showed this very well in this story.

Secret for you - I have about 500 words of a fic called 'In Perkins Tent' which I wrote a few months ago and meant to finish ... I'm not going to bother now because your version is so much better.

His breath softly tickled her ear, causing another wave of euphoria to sweep her away from the calm waters of sanity, but the tide turned into something ugly, something painful as she drowned in two syllables. “Ginny,” Harry whispered into her ear, still arduous, still impassioned, still in delusion.

That's heartbreaking. I do like the way you've interspersed the actual events with Hermion's POV. Well done.

Minor weeny nit pick - Was Harry capable of getting them both out of Bathilda's? I thought Hermione did it because he would have been too weak. I guess he could do it subconsciously *ponders*.

Anyway that was a miserly nitpick so I shall finsh by saying that I enjoyed it very much. ~Carole~

Author's Response:

Yay, it's your turn to lurk/stalk MY author page, lol

I knew that I wanted to write this for ages, but this contest gave me the perfect means to do so. The line 'You've been shouting and moaning and...things' really set the wheels in my head turning when I read DH for the second time, and I have just recently discovered where those spinning wheels would lead me.

I wanted so badly to make this a two-sided affair, but I knew that for it to fit into canon the way I wanted it to, it would have to be either a hot!sweaty delusion of Harry's or a gross misinterpretation of Hermione. I've never really written Hermione before, so I went with that.

As for Harry dragging Hermione out the window, it was like that in the book, or I would have made it different. In the book, Harry dragged both of them out the 'smashed window and into nothingness,' which I interpreted as him losing consciousness. As he had no wand, Hermione Apparated them. This is how it was in the book. Admittedly, this particular scene was badly written (I think Jo really just wanted a snake to pop out of someone's face), I stuck to it and tried to make as much sense of it as I could.

Thanks for dropping by...always a pleasure to have a guest for lunch. :)

Jess

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/28/10 3:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

First of all (not that you don't know this but) I love seeing the Good Ship Harmony sailing across the great fanfic ocean. Yes, I am THAT cheesy. Anyway, I love how you focus on Hermione's guilt for breaking Harry's wand and the way you use it to create such emotional tension. I love Harmony fics that fit into canon and as soon as you told me you were writing about this particular moment I was so excited. And you did not disappoint. I'm loving the fevered kiss and how you have Hermione know that it is wrong, and know that Harry is not actually kissing her but she is still going to do it anyway. Even though it is Harry lying in bed near death's door, Hermione has also been through something incredibly traumatic. I mean, she came face to face with Voldemort! Eek! So I love how she is trying to cope with all that along with the realisation of her love for Harry. It's really wonderfully done.

Those chapters in Deathly Hallows are so intense for Harry and Hermione and I remember thinking about that as I read them for the first time. I love how you have captured this intensity and kept it canon. I know I'm not a huge canon buff but when Harmony is able to be portrayed in a canon setting it makes the pairing all the more delicious, even if it is one-sided.

One thing confused me, though. At the beginning you have Harry jump out the window first, then Hermione Apparate outside to him and then have them both Apparate away together. I'm pretty sure that in DH they Apparate while jumping out the window together because Harry sees them do this from Voldy's p.o.v. Just something I picked up.

Hermione remembered the ridiculous amount of scrapes and mishaps that she had experienced with Harry and Ron.

Also, and I'm only saying this because I'm weird and this is one of the things my friends hate me correcting all the time but 'amount' should be 'number'. Amount is used for things which can be measured i.e an amount of blood while number is used for quantities that can be counted i.e number of scrapes and mishaps.

Sorry to be a buzz kill. But thank you for an enjoyable read (as always) and for spreading the delusional love!

Julia XD

Author's Response:

Ah, I heart your reviews. They make me feel warm and fuzzy inside. :)

I knew that I wanted to write this from the last time I read this chapter. The phrase 'and...things' really jumped out at me and afforded a wonderful realm of possibilities. It was just recently that I knew that I really wanted this to be Hermione-centric. At first, I wanted Harry to fantasize about Hermione, but after some thought, it made more sense for something to happen that one of them could forget but the other could not. I almost made this one three times more hot/steamy/smutty, but I remembered that it was a contest piece, and I'm pretty sure I have no chance at winning if I write friggin porn, lol. Perhaps another day. :-D

I'll fix 'number'...I suppose I never gave it a second thought, really. As for the canon issue, I shall peruse DH once again and see what the Word of God says and alter accordingly.

I heart you, and I hope to be putting some more Harmony (and more two-sided instances) into the archives soon. Peace out!

Jess

Reviewer: Potter-fan-12
Date: 02/28/10 0:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

I want more chapters!!!

Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing. :)

 

This is a one-shot, so there won't be more chapters. : I'm so glad you liked it, though. 

 

Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES