Reviewer: mysinger
Date: 01/12/12 23:15
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 12/04/11 17:42
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

I don't usually read anything off-canon, but this was brilliant! I wish everyone could have a mum like Molly.

Author's Response: Well, I rarely write anything off-canon, so I know what you mean. ;) Glad you gave it a chance--thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

Reviewer: Claraowl
Date: 09/01/11 20:13
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

I love it, and it's canon, but I really love fluff

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: hicktib
Date: 08/04/11 15:56
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Wow, i cried.

Author's Response: In a good way, I hope. ;) Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Mahi
Date: 08/03/11 4:00
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

''She pressed her lips together in a thoughtful smile and slipped inside, clicking the door shut behind her. Ron turned and leaned his back against the wall, tipping his head back to stare at the ceiling. He sighed heavily as the bathroom door opened and Harry emerged.

He looked Ron over. “You’re pathetic, you know that?”

“I know,” Ron agreed miserably. He slowly recovered and fell in step behind Harry, following him up to the attic bedroom. ''
Loved the ending. come to think of it, loved the entire story soo much. keep writing will you, sply since JKR isnt. :)

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm so glad you liked the ending. :)

Reviewer: Callisto Anaxandra
Date: 03/21/11 20:52
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Very nice AU. I like seeing the younger side of Molly. Also, I absolutely loved this line: "Right then,” he said, slumping back into the chair. “Three cheers for anguish.” Oh Harry, could he have less Frodo-syndrome?

Author's Response: I know, poor Harry. :) Glad you liked Molly in this--I've always thought she would be supportive of R/Hr. Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: ruth0007
Date: 03/06/11 13:50
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Sigh. Just lovely. What I enjoy must about reading your work (this is my second piece you've written) is how much time I get to spend with the characters. I feel like a fly on the wall peeking in on their lives which I guess is why I read fanfic - to know more and be with the characters. You don't rush your stories and allow the characters to grow through dialogue and behavior. Thank you so much for another great read. For some reason, I just loved Mrs. Weasley's line about Lavendar - calling her purple something.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much. This is actually one of the earliest things I've written, and I think my lack of experience/canon understanding kind of shows in it. But it's still close to my heart. I read a lot of fics where Molly and Arthur are obstacles to R/Hr in a relationship, and I just do not see that at all. I think they would be very supportive, and I enjoyed exploring the idea of Molly giving her a bit of a push in the right direction. I'm glad you thought it worked, and thrilled you enjoyed the "purple something" line. :) Thanks for checking out my stories--I get excited for new reviews.

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 02/08/11 15:41
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Just read this story for second time...love it so much! Very clever and I could definitely see it fitting into the plot of Deathly Hallows in some way because you see them show more of their feelings after leaving the Burrow. Haven't seen many new R/H fics lately...can't wait to see what else you have up your sleeve!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much. I love repeat offenders like yourself. ;) I'm working a few things, and have really had them on my mind when doing drabbles lately... hopefully, something soon. Thanks, as always!

Reviewer: SingingWren
Date: 12/22/10 16:52
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

"Hermione felt warm all over."

That's exactly what I was feeling once I finished reading this story. Such a lovely piece of work. I always thought that what Deathly Hallows was missing was this type of elaboration on the Ron/Hermione romance, something that there wasn't time or space for within the book.

I absolutely loved this piece. So, so much. It made me laugh and it made me cry (Hard. On more than one occasion.). I finished it with a sort of bittersweet happiness, which I am sure is what you intended.

The interactions between Hermione and Ron were so believable. Both characters were captured perfectly, Hermione in particular. Their initial exchange was a standout for me, and did a very good job of setting the atmosphere for the rest of the story. I loved the easiness of the dialogue. It sounded natural and not remotely forced or planned out. In fact, all of your dialogue sounded like an actual conversation, rather than just words to try and get across a point.

The exchanges between Hermione and Molly were by far the best aspect of the story. The motherly advice which she offers is just so heartwarming. It hit me after having read the story and giving it a few minutes to percolate that this is after Hermione has Obliviated her parents (I believe. Please forgive me if I am mistaken, but it's been a few months since I've read the books). She must still be recovering from the (temporary, but still) loss of her real mother, so the idea of giving Hermione some sort of mother figure to get advice from is very sweet. I liked the fact as well that you did not portray Molly as the shrill, bossy woman that I have so often seen, rather as a woman who truly cares about her children and knows them well. She never came off to me from the books as a shrewish woman, but that is an aspect of her which I have all too often seen emphasized in fanfiction. I appreciated seeing the softer side of her.

Although I began tearing up in the part about the lasagna (an odd place, I'm sure, but the way it was written was so innocent and purely lovely that I couldn't help but get emotional), the part that really got to me was Molly's farewells to the trio. The line “You come back on his arm, dear.” set me off, but I'll confess, I was basically bawling by the time the scene finished. Maybe my reaction comes from having watched my own mother sending off my brother to university and seeing how hard it was for her, but I think you captured the bittersweet sadness of the goodbye so excellently and accurately that it was astounding. From this story, I can tell that you have a gift at understanding and expressing the motivations and emotions of the human character. Even Mrs. Weasley's comments about the lack of confidence that both Hermione and Ron share are remarkably insightful. If Mrs. Weasley is who she is because she is able to look inside and understand her children utterly, well then I think you've earned the name "WeasleyMom" :).

I also appreciated that you made sure to maintain the personalities of those minor characters which featured in your story. Even Harry's comment to Ron about being pathetic aided in making your story more believable, because you took the time to make sure he sounded like Harry, despite the fact that he wasn't a major player in this particular piece. Not all authors that I've read put in that kind of effort, instead simply using the minor characters for quick jokes and one-liners.

In terms of structure, I thought the piece was quite well paced. You began with some humor, then drifted away into more serious territory with the conversation in the kitchen (oh, before I forget to mention, the fact that you had Hermione feel like crying just at the mention of her and Ron was unexpected, but I'm glad you did so. It was quite in-character, at least in my opinion, as well as emotionally affecting for me, the reader. THAT, I believe, is the place where I first started to choke up). Adding in a little comic relief with Ron's entry into the kitchen was appreciated, but then straight back into the buildup for the emotional goodbyes. I'm glad you ended with a little sweet comedy as well, for otherwise it might have even been a little too sad for me to handle. (Even though all three survived in the end, the fact that Molly couldn't have known that at the time is heartbreaking.) The story flowed nicely and had a clearly defined introduction, body, climax, and conclusion, instead of just meandering to a close, which I appreciate.

Usually I talk a little about the title in my reviews, but there isn't much to say. The title works quite well and was good enough to draw me in, so I can't really think of any other comment for it. ...good job? Hehe, sometimes I'm terrible at this whole reviewing business.

There was something else I wanted to say, but it's escaping me right now. Perhaps I'll gush a little more, then maybe I'll remember.

Overall, I thought this story was brilliant and I do believe it will become the first in my list of Favourite Stories on this site. It is one, I can tell, that will still be great after three or four readings, and it makes me sad that more people haven't read it yet (though from what I've seen, 8 reviews is a fairly respectable sum for a one shot on this site. Still, more people need to read it!). Beautiful, beautiful job. Really, one of the best I've read on this site so far, and that it saying something. I now can't wait to read more of your work!

... nope, still can't remember what it was I was going to say. So I guess I'll sign off, then!

~o~ Karen

- Signed the Order of the Ravenclaw House Elves

Author's Response: Um... WOW. I am totally floored by this review, in a nice way. ;) To be honest, this is my least favorite of the stories I have posted, probably because it was nearly the first and my lack of experience is quite evident in many places, at least to me. I fell into a few cliches, too, I think, because I had not read enough fanfiction at that point to even know what was cliche and what wasn't.

It's great to hear that you liked the characterization, especially of Harry, who I always like to include, but never in the forefront. R/Hr is my favorite, but they hardly would exist without Harry, and so he is an important character in everything to do with them. Now that I'm thinking about it, I think I have him showing up (even for just a moment) in nearly everything I've written about R/Hr. Hmmm.

I completely agree with you about the way Molly is so often portrayed in fanfic. She is shrill and not very understanding about anything at all, really. But I don't see that in the books. She has fears, and they drive her to be overprotective of her children. Well, I'm a mom, and much of the time, it just goes with the territory. And I don't even have dark wizards hunting down my little ones. ;) I think she would be very supportive of the R/Hr relationship, and I never understand why she is so often freaking out about them being together in so many stories. Obviously, it's pure speculation, so I can see readers going either way on agreeing with my take. But I'm glad you found this relationship believable. In my personal canon, Hermione and Molly have a pretty good relationship, even if they do butt heads with some regularity.

Thank you for sharing that about your own mom's experience with saying goodbye to her son. I can't imagine what this would have been like for her, had it been allowed to happen. I think it's so interesting that Rowling chose to portray her as in complete denial about the fact that they were leaving... but it seems right on, don't you think? She can't stop them. Ron is of age, and deep, deep down, I think she is proud that he is making that decision. But as the mum, she can't bear the thought of letting him (or any of them, really) go. But if the time had come to actually say goodbye, the reality would have hit her hard, I think. My response does not measure up to your thoughtful review, and I apologize for that. Just know how much I appreciate your thoughts. I'm so, so glad you enjoyed this, Karen. (Oh, and being added to someone's favorites list is the highest of compliments, in my book.) Take care.

Lori

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 10/10/10 17:32
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Awww I liked the fact that Molly and Hermione got some girl time! I also appreciated the fact that the Weasley family knew the truth and they all had proper good byes. Wonderful story, as always!

Author's Response: Ok, now you are just being sweet to me. Hehe. I had fun writing this, as it was a little plot bunny that kept nagging me, but I think it is probably the most poorly-written thing I have written. Fortunately, it was also one of the first. But I do think Molly and Hermione would have got on well, and I can see Molly giving them a little push if needed. Thanks so much for reading, and always taking the time to review. It means more than you know. :) ~ Lori

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 03/17/10 21:47
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

I really like how you capture the characters. Like you have access to Jo's secret notes or something! Do you have some more stories elsewhere - loved Shell Cottage, would love to read more of your stories - good fanfic is so hard to find!

Author's Response: Oh, how kind you are! I'm so glad you liked this one, too. I am actually working on several things, but nothing is ready for submission yet. I don't know if you participate in the forum, but I do have a drabble thread in The Three Broomsticks... only three so far, but I'm just getting started. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Madame Lestrange
Date: 12/26/09 0:17
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

AWWW. That wass really nice. Probably what would haave reaaly happened if Death Eaters hadn't crashed the wedding, expecially the goodbyes.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Thanks so much for taking the time to read it and review. :)

Reviewer: Rislans88
Date: 12/24/09 13:18
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

i really really liked this!!! it made me laugh and cry and smile all over the place :) it's truly a FANTASTIC story!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks for taking the time to review, too. :)

Reviewer: Northumbrian
Date: 12/19/09 4:18
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Another nice story. I’m not sure that this is “only fluff” 9not that there is anything wrong with only fluff). There is some nice, insightful stuff in there. I love the entire conversation which ends ““We’re not fighting,” Ron said. “Of course not,” added Hermione.” This tells us so much about their relationship without beating us over the head with it.

Author's Response: Thanks Neil. I actually relieved that you liked that part... I almost ran the whole "hanging out" thing by you to see if it passed the Brit-picking test, but then I decided I couldn't bear to hear that I should remove it. Haha. Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always!

Reviewer: A Magical Muggle
Date: 12/17/09 17:34
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

Another cute story that makes me smile and giggle inside. To tell you the truth, I wasn't sure if I felt like reading something that looked like it would be fluffy, but I changed my mind when I read the author name. I love your stories!

Author's Response: Aw, that's nice to hear. I freely admit this is total fluff. But sometimes fluff is okay, right? ;) Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: ron lover
Date: 12/15/09 18:35
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

I've wondered about this too, and I'm glad that you have made that into a story. This is just so cute! It has everything in it.

I like when Ron walks in the kitchen when Hermione and Molly are in there. It's just so... good. It was fun to read. You did a great job with this story and I love it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, but you MUST read it again now that the second half is there. :) I must have botched it up when I was editing earlier. Check it out. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 12/15/09 16:52
Chapter: Girl Talk & Goodbyes

I loved it, Lori!Again! It is so great! *sigh*

But for some reason (I don't know if it is something with my computer, or if it is a mistake, or what) it cut off everything from “I don’t think he chose. It just... stops. O.o I suggest that if it does the same thing when you open the page, you contact a mod.

But (again) I loved the part I was able to read. I won't go into detail here, as I already told you all of my thoughts, ect, but ... you have such a perfect mix of sadness, humour, friendship, romance... *sighs again* Great job!

Author's Response: Andi, I'm so glad you caught that! Something is definitely wrong and I contacted a moderator... hopefully it will be fixed soon, or I will delete it (if possible). I hate for folks to be reading it without the last third of the story!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES