Reviews For The Dawn
Reviewer: Dad
Date: 06/05/13 5:55
Chapter: The Dawn

Great little gem.

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 06/03/13 16:44
Chapter: The Dawn

Really beautiful - I'd love to see another like this from Hermione's POV. Very enlightening as Harry obviously doesn't consider all this, but I just love a bit of Ron/Hermione romance :)

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 11/26/11 16:35
Chapter: The Dawn

This was brilliant. When you said it was Christmas, I thought the Deluminator would come up and it did :) It was wonderful, and Ron's guilt showed. More than that, was his determination to do the right thing after his outburst, which makes him the strong character that he is. I wish there was a Ron's version of how he finds Harry and Hermione and destroys the locket horcrux!

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 04/11/11 17:34
Chapter: The Dawn

Amanda!
That was heartbreaking! And perfect, as well. I mean, it must be exactly what happened from Ron's point of view. I think you totally nailed it. I loved it.

You wove events and quotes from DH in efffortlessly. And yet, this was still your own fic. You really gave Ron an emotional depth that was so wonderful to read. We just don't get it with the books being from Harry's POV. I loved reading Ron's inner turmoil, sad as it was.

Bill and Fleur's appearance was understated and well-done. The Deluminator was brilliant. Ron tells us about it in DH, but reading it happening to him was much, much better.

I'm curious if you ever thought about continuing this a bit? You write Ron very well. Maybe someday you can continue up to the point where he finds Harry struggling with the sword. :)

Wonderful fic, Amanda! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: *beams* I just...LOVE LOVE LOVE. You just made me melt into a million pieces again reading this...months later because I'm lame and am just now responding. But seriously, I do love this story, but I never thought everyone else would, too. And isn't it weird how much we love reading about Ron's agony? LOL poor Ron, we love you. Thank you so much....I have honestly never thought about continuing it because this part was always so clearly defined in my mind, but I've never thought about what happens next! I have really defined areas of head canon about certain things, lol. Again, thank you! Sorry for the late reply! <3 ~Amanda

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/18/11 16:13
Chapter: The Dawn

You really captured Ron so well in this fic. He never really talks a huge amount about what he went through at Shell Cottage, and I think you imagined it perfectly.

I loved how you tied canon ideas in such as Ron had finally understood how a person could feel so many things at once. - which is an idea from OotP. The way you brought that into this fic was beautiful.

Anyway... I just absolutely loved this fic, great job!

~Katrina

Author's Response: :D Thank you! I adore DH Ron so so so much, and I feel like THIS time, and the locket scene, are huge turning points in his character. That part about "feeling so many things at once" seemed to fit right in. If only poor Hermione knew! :) Thank you so much for the read/review! ~Amanda

Reviewer: RonW
Date: 12/15/10 4:00
Chapter: The Dawn

i have been searching for a story revolving around Ron when he left.. this was a good piece but wasnt enough i should say.. you shouldve extended it to Ron destroying the horcrux and reaction of Hermione at his return.. i would love to know how Ron felt in all those scenes :)

Author's Response: I will take this as a complement that you enjoyed the piece...thank you so much for the read and the review! It was intended to be a missing moment, and I purposefully ended it where I did. Thanks again!

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 10/08/10 15:57
Chapter: The Dawn

This story was recommended by WeasleyMom and I am glad I decided to read it! Don't worry, angsty Ron wasn't too much, it was just perfect! I love seeing stories from Ron's POV, thank you so much for sharing!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you read and reviewed! I have a soft spot for Ron myself. :) Thank you again, and I'm glad you enjoyed!

Reviewer: Crazycow89
Date: 12/24/09 2:35
Chapter: The Dawn

It was nice to see how it was for Ron after he abandoned his friends in Deathly Hallows.

Author's Response: I have this thing for missing moments...I seem to have a complusive desire to fill-in-the-blanks. Thank you for the read and the review!

Reviewer: BlackWideEyes
Date: 12/20/09 17:23
Chapter: The Dawn

It was quite a good characterization of Ron and very believable. It was just had to figure it out whether it was first or third person POV. Ron I'd thinking these things yet he reffers to himself as "He".
Other than that it was really good and I would love to read more angsty Ron.

Author's Response: Ahh, angsty Ron is such fun to read, lol. Hm, I'll have to go back and see which parts you're referring to...it is meant to be 3rd POV. But, thank you for the read and review, it is much appreciated!

Reviewer: IckleRonnieX
Date: 12/12/09 14:14
Chapter: The Dawn

Amanda! Hey :)

I loved this! It was amazing, I was completely blown away. Your characterization of Ron was great and your description is also great. I really enjoyed this! Your writing is soo goood!

Ronnie :)

Author's Response: EEEP!! I can't believe I haven't responded to this!! Thank you so much for the kind words! I'm seriously grinning and blushing. Thank you!

Reviewer: black-riddle
Date: 12/11/09 23:00
Chapter: The Dawn

gr8!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: ron lover
Date: 12/09/09 20:15
Chapter: The Dawn

I love this one-shot Amanda. It's so well writen! His thoughts are so IC. They are angsty without becoming OOC for Ron. His characterization is great. This story is great too.

Bill and Fleur are also good too, even though they aren't in it as much. I think that you did a great job with this one-shot. It was so mmuch fun to read.

Author's Response:

Ooh, thank so much for the kind words! I appreciate the read and review, Alyssa! Glad you like my angsty Ron. :)

~Amanda

Reviewer: Northumbrian
Date: 12/09/09 10:39
Chapter: The Dawn

Amanda

What a great little story, thank you. Whenever I think of Ron suffering at Shell Cottage I'll think of this story.

-N-

Author's Response:

Poor Ron....but thank you. *beams*

~Amanda

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 12/08/09 23:18
Chapter: The Dawn

Wow!

I mean, you made me *tear* this early in the morning (early for me!), and on a hungry stomach too.

Mmm…where do I start, now? I loved everything about it, even the 2000 that I missed. Lol. No, seriously, I’m amazed you managed to write something so beautiful when you were bogged down by RL. And you sailed right through without beta-ing. Brilliant!

*cough I will soon run out of adjectives if I continue in this vein cough*

I have always wanted to know what Ron was doing at that time in Shell Cottage. Yes, it’s safe to assume that he was repenting, he does say he was, but what was the extent of his remorse? Was he still under the delusion that Hermione preferred Harry? Was he still angry with Harry? How did he cope with all that, considering he had “the emotional range of a teaspoon”?

And you explained and described everything for the reader. He didn’t have an easy time with it, more so because he’s not used to feeling so much. Because he doesn’t want to feel so much. And yet, he’s there, questioning and forcing himself to face his personal demons. It doesn’t help that Bill and Fleur are snuggling in the sofa, reminding Ron that if he hadn’t been so foolhardy, he’d have had his love all to himself.

I like how you made him remember Hermione. The glances, the harmless touching – that is just so typical of them. Lol! They wouldn’t fly into each other and start kissing like Ginny and Harry. And also that he felt guilty about Harry – he should.

My favorite part was:

“Ron had finally understood how a person could feel so many things at once. He could be jealous of his brother for catching the girl of his dreams in domestic bliss…he could be utterly in love with someone whom he was sure now would never speak to him again…he could be guilty beyond words for an action taken in anger…he could be horrified at his own being for his capacity to hurt another person...he could feel a determination like no other to somehow make it right.”

And:

“He allowed himself one Christmas present…to think about Hermione as if she might still look at him like she did before he left. Hints of something, glances when she thought he wasn't looking, brushes of hands when it wasn't necessary. Opportunities he hadn't taken for his own lack of courage and for Harry's sake.

He was convinced now that they were gone because of what he'd done, though he had fleeting moments of hope. He allowed himself those, the daydreams of Hermione throwing herself into his arms and kissing him with passion at their reunion. The other ones involved her vicious birds, or terrible words, or the worst of all…that she had sought comfort and solace through Harry.”

Because they are just so quintessential Ron.

Bravo, my friend. Full marks!

~Natalie.

P.S. You are turning me into a fluffball. *glares*

Author's Response:

OMGOSH HOW DO I RESPOND TO THIS?! Okay, top down:

It still tickles me pink that you like this story so much. I haven't spent enough time with it to decide how I feel about it yet, but everyone seems to really like it and it makes me deliriously happy. Like, my brain can't absorb it. I'll even put up with the 2000 thing, which I don't think you'll ever let me live down...

I feel like...I know inside MY head how Ron feels during this time, but describing it? Without it sounding TEEN!SOB!ANGSTY! or just plain confusing and overwhelming or completely not making any sense seemed really difficult to me at first. But ROXY I learned something after all!! :D Because apparently it was coherent and made some sort of sense.

And I like those parts, too. Everyone keeps saying my favorite part as well, the first quote you mention, which of course obliquely references the "emotional range of a teaspoon" thing.

Oooh full marks from Natalie!!! And I'm Romance!Fluff!Queen, so my twin has to like it some. AND this was my first story in D/A. So you are rubbing off on me.

Love your twin,

Amanda

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 12/08/09 22:50
Chapter: The Dawn

Amanda! You kill me... Ron and angst and Shell Cottage? What more could I ask for? Hehe. Now I'm the one who is fangirling! I agree with Julia, this is the right time for an angsty Ron, for sure. I just loved this. I particularly like that he felt just as bad about Harry as he did about Hermione. In DH when the fight happens, it's a scene where redemption doesn't even seem possible. "Harry felt a corrosive hatred toward Ron... something had broken between them." They both had to have felt that, and there is no way such a thing would not devastate both of them to the core.

Since you say you like nitpicks ;) I thought I would mention this one sentence where I think you meant to write "without" instead of "with" ...without the world depending on them? To be able to just be with one another with the world depending on them, without Harry needing their help, without the pressure of this or that. Without restrictions. Just Ron and Hermione. Just FYI. And if I'm mistaken... oops. By the way, LOVE this line.

My favorite parts ... first, the idea that Ron feared doing something else out of anger that he would regret. This is the maturing of Ron that we see happening throughout DH, and I think this is such a nice illustration of it. Yeah, he's a hothead. But he's figuring out self-control, and getting his head on straight here. Very in character, I think, though some may not agree.

This paragraph: "He allowed himself one Christmas present…to think about Hermione as if she might still look at him like she did before he left. Hints of something, glances when she thought he wasn't looking, brushes of hands when it wasn't necessary. Opportunities he hadn't taken for his own lack of courage and for Harry's sake." I love it. Especially that part of the reason was for Harry's sake.

But my favorite part by far is this... "he wanted nothing more than to find them somehow and fall to his knees in aching apology." I just really love the words. And isn't this just what he does with Harry after he destroys the locket? Metaphorically at the very least.

This is really a beautiful piece, Amanda. Right into my favorites its goes. :)

Author's Response:

AAAHH! Lori, this made my night. Favorites? Fangirl? *swoons* Thank you soooo much for this amazing review, I am grinning like a fool. I'm very glad you thought I balanced out the emotions, and had him IC.

And thank you for pointing that out, I fixed it. You were right :)

~Amanda

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 12/08/09 19:33
Chapter: The Dawn

Amanda!

I loved this. I think you really caught the emotions Ron would have been feeling at that time in his life. If you are going to write an angsty Ron, then that would be the moment to do it! Well done!

One thing though, in your summary you say Christmas 2000 when it is actually Christmas 1997 (I think). Also, "He stuck his hand in his pocket again, fingering the Deluminator again. " You have repeated the word 'again'. Sorry for the nitpicks! I really did love this fic!

My favourite bit would have to be this.

Ron had finally understood how a person could feel so many things at once. He could be jealous of his brother for catching the girl of his dreams in domestic bliss…he could be utterly in love with someone whom he was sure now would never speak to him again…he could be guilty beyond words for an action taken in anger…he could be horrified at his own being for his capacity to hurt another person...he could feel a determination like no other to somehow make it right.

It is so fitting with how I imagine Ron would be feeling. I felt like I was nodding in agreement with every word. Keep up the great writing!

-Julia XD

Author's Response:

*headdesk* *headdesk* I didn't want to advertise per se that I actually submitted a story without a beta, but....there you go. Big freaking huge canon error there. So I very much appreciate the nit picks.

I was otherwise very pleased and delighted to receive a review so quickly and a favorable one at that! Thank you so much for the review and the kind words, and seriously - if you saw anything else, please let me know. *embarrassed grin* THANK YOU!

~Amanda

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES