Reviews For Soldiers
Reviewer: maggie b
Date: 05/31/10 19:18
Chapter: Breath of Heaven

This is one of my favorite fanfics. The characters are so realistic and deep, rather than flat and cliche. Amazing chapter, too! I couldn't stop reading.

Author's Response: Aw thanks! That means a lot :)

Reviewer: karamarie
Date: 05/29/10 1:53
Chapter: Careful

this is such a creative story! i really like it. can't wait to read the next chapter. i surely hope you keep going!
xoxo

Reviewer: CloverSun
Date: 05/24/10 17:54
Chapter: Careful

OMG!!! U finally updated!!! I'm so happy!!!! Keep going, i would love to see some more!!!!!!!

Reviewer: DownWithTheCarrows113
Date: 05/22/10 18:04
Chapter: Careful

I love, love, love, love your story!!! :) Septimus reminds me of all of the Weasley's that we see in the Harry Potter books and his family reminds me of the Weasley Family that we see so often! The mentioning of his family and the close relationship they share is quite enviable!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you're enjoying it. I'm having a great time creating another Weasley clan. :)

Reviewer: DownWithTheCarrows113
Date: 05/22/10 15:01
Chapter: Got to Get Back to Hogwarts

I absolutely positively love the beginning song choice!! It's my favorite AVPM song, alongside Granger Danger.

Reviewer: CloverSun
Date: 04/26/10 19:44
Chapter: Breath of Heaven

you haven't updated for a while now!! You're not going to abandon the story, are you? I hope not, b/c I really do love it!!! It's so hard to find good quality fan-fiction these days!! Plz update soon!!

Author's Response: Oh no, don't worry. I have this whole story planned out :) Chapter 5 was the last of my stockpiled chapters... I have some of Chapter 6 written but I've been insanely busy with the end of the school year, projects, finals, etc. In two weeks I will be back to work on the story, I promise. I can't wait! Thanks so much for checking in, it means a lot.

Reviewer: CloverSun
Date: 03/26/10 19:41
Chapter: Breath of Heaven

The story is great!!!! Hope to read more very soon!!! I like the story line and your description of character, they all seem quite alive and natural!!! Update soon please!!!

Author's Response: I really appreciate that, thanks!! Developing the characters is my favorite part of writing... it's the plot I struggle with, so I'm glad you're enjoying that, too :)

Reviewer: Valiowk
Date: 03/21/10 19:58
Chapter: Breath of Heaven

This is a beautiful story. I really like the way you've made Cedrella and Septimus seem so alive, so natural and so human. It's been a great pleasure to read about Cedrella developing and learning more about herself through the course of this friendship. I particularly liked their letters--the letters sound extremely natural and say a lot about their characters. Really liked the way the manner in which they address each other and sign off becomes warmer and more intimate with time. I have the feeling that the way they're signing off their letters is not quite the right 1930s style, but I don't know exactly what 1930s style is either, so I'm not going to pick on that. :)

Really looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you SO much! The letters have been some of my favorite parts to write. I love showing rather than telling the way their relationship is changing. Yeah the whole 1930's thing.... well, you're most likely right, but I'm having too much fun with my letters to change it. And it's not impossible, I suppose.... Anyhow thanks so much for the review and stay tuned!!

Reviewer: ForeverFred
Date: 03/20/10 1:33
Chapter: Breath of Heaven

This chapter was absolutely amazing! I love everything about it. Can't wait for another update --ForeverFred

Reviewer: Rislans88
Date: 03/19/10 15:01
Chapter: Breath of Heaven

every update from you is interesting and delightful!!!

Author's Response: :) So glad you're enjoying it!

Reviewer: ForeverFred
Date: 03/14/10 1:55
Chapter: Got to Get Back to Hogwarts

I really enjoy this story. I've just read the first two chapters back to back and I can't wait to read more! I love everything about this! I'm excited to see where you take it. :)

Reviewer: CloverSun
Date: 02/18/10 17:12
Chapter: Prologue: Here I Am

When I finish reading your first 4 chapters, I know your novel is not going to disappoint me. I understand you're trying to draw a picture of the character by your detailed reading, and I saw on the last review you're a little indecisive on what kind of social mode or etiquette you should use.

Although the novels and writers the last reviewer recommended are great read, I don't think the mood of "Gothic" would be right for the time period you're describe (which is 1933, according to you). The Brontes are all lived during the 19th century, but your period would be early 20th century, the time of change and modernism. This is the time described by historian as the "decline of British Empire and the peerage system."

1933 is the period of the between WWI and WWII. People, including aristocrats who hadn't fought that severely for centuries, are pretty shaken up and trying to adjusting back to their usual idle life. But the idea of changes and independence lingered among them, especially among the young and women, since they have began working in factories when their husband are at war. Even though the aristocratic women did not have to work, the idea and the feeling of independence began to seep through to their class. So it's only natural that Cedrella is feeling that as well. You have to remember Chanel house has been founded, and the liberating roaring 20s ideas are still present.

Maybe the Wizard world is bit slow with the change, but I don't think setting the scene in an 18th century mood would be right. If I remember correctly, Grindelwald is rising or is in power around this time until he was defeated in 1945, the same time of WWII . So I think J.K Rowling was trying to link the wizard world timeline to the real world.

Anyway, sorry for going on for so long. If you want to feel the mood of this period of "aristocracy decline", you should see the movie (Gosford Park), (Brideshead Revisited), (Easy Virtue) (Atonement) etc., all these movies are describing noble class in 1930s England. I know the storyline of these movies are all different from each other, but you can simply study their manner, fashion style, etiquette and language (basically the entire system) around this time. Maybe that could help, if that's what you are looking for.

Anyway, love your story, hope that I'll see a new chapter soon!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have been doing a bit more research and I appreciate your insights quite a lot. I am trying to create a balance between not only the Muggle and Wizarding worlds but between Cedrella's parent's generation, who are very set in their ways, and the young people, even if the young people are still manipulative Slytherins. Let me know how you think I'm doing! And it looks like I need to take a trip to the video store. :) Thanks again, Chapter 5 will be up soon!

Reviewer: OkiBlossom
Date: 02/03/10 12:01
Chapter: Prologue: Here I Am

I was going to review this last night, but I really had nothing to go on other than to say that it seems interesting that you chose to go on this idea that JKR 'had many stories betwen the lines'. All right, so the first thing I knew about this formal balllroom behaviour is that you have the mannerisms down, but I wonder if this would mean anything else for the time period. Yes, the curtsy shows respect an the subordinate woman, but there has got to be other times from that period.

So, I looked up the Black Family Tree to see if there was actually these characters within the lines. You did your research, so I followed through with a bit of my own to back up your claim. It turns out there was a Charis in the late 18th century .... English Romance.

As you bring about a party, you mmight want to look at those who wrote during this time period. It might be really cool if you attempted to actuallly mimic these people. The period was largely anestetic when you look at authors like Bronte, but it takes a rather gothic hand with Shelley. Not Shelley who wrote Frankstien, but you might want to look at her husband. Btonte ... Bronte sets up a scene in P&P (though I never finished reading it). There are many times when families are introduced by the higher ranked families and they are courted. With the pureblood mandate, I imagine people courted all of the time. Even with more power, and the right to participate in medical hospitals, I imagine this did not die out. Someone would have intoduced her to others. I see these two sisters watching from the sidelines, but Cedilla (who I assume is missing from the family tree) probably would have been introduced by a escort.

Also, look at the language from this period. I can almost garauntee you that a young woman or man wouold never have said 'scum' as an insult. 'Filth' seems more appropriate. And the seting should be more Gothic (not all in black) and have those elements of a stting to draw people in.

It's well written, but remember the time.

- okiblossom

Author's Response: Thanks for the detailed review! I will admit I have not done a lot of research about this time period in English high society (The year is 1933). Thank you for your ideas, I will definitely look into some of the things you said. Although didn't the Shelley's live in the 1800's? I have been struggling with Cedrella's language, not know what was colloquial speech at this time. As for the idea of an escort, the way I see this Pureblood society is that children, especially daughters, are heavily controlled by their parents. This choice of a daughter's husband is a very important political and social tool for her father. Thus, Arcturus Black would never want his girls formally seen with a boy (like an escort) before he decides who their husband will be. He himself would escort and introduce his daughters. Anyway, thanks again! :)

Reviewer: Rislans88
Date: 01/31/10 13:37
Chapter: Falling Slowly

that chapter was extremely well-done!! i was absolutely gripped :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: CoalBlackCat
Date: 01/06/10 3:07
Chapter: Prologue: Here I Am

Wow you really coptured what it would be like as a Black. That was amazing! please update soon x

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really appreciate that. Next chapter is submitted and waiting for validation!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES