Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/11/10 21:38
Chapter: Chapter 30

Ok on a different topic from relationships in thsi story. This paticular chapter helped me see the strong consequences that our actions have. I'm thinking in a very academic manner right now, but this story in a way reminds me of Ethan Frome. I don't know if you've eaver read Ethan Frome it is written by Edith Wharton if you haven't read it i think you should you might enjoy it.either way both stories are related because even though the protagonists are unarguably good, their actions are not necessaraly so. While they try to do what is best for them and those around them their often misguided attempts at taking verything into their own hands results in more misery than anything else. It is an ironic twist of fate how sometimes by trying to protect those we love we end up hurting them even more.

While Harry should not necessaraly be as self condemming as he is he is at fault for a lot of things. He could have saved, james, agusta, lily, erik, albus, ginny, scorpius, mira and draco a lot of pain. It seems to me like he is tryign to shield everyone by cleverly constructed half lies, and while in my perfect world i would like everything to be nice and neat (ex. draco lives, h/g stay together etz) Harry's actions don't allow that.

If he had been honest with Ginny about the smaller things in life, if he had confided in her the way a husband should a wife then she might have forgiven the secrets that he had to keep. Similarly if he had talked to Draco more, if they had been willing to put pride aside tehn he wouldn't have to regret the fact that draco died without knwoing mira, or that mira won't ever know her father. A little bit of honesty went a long ways with Sorpious. Lastly the most clear example is if Harry had been honest about Lily having killed Goyle then James wouldn't be in Azkaban, Erik would be ok, and albus and agusta wouldn't have suffered. The whole thing with honesty is that it always comes out. No matter how hard we try and hide it it surfaces. So Harry is guilty, he is guilty of lying, but he also is simply guilty of ebign human. So much pressure is put on himto be perfect that his mistakes are a lot graver. Its like Dumbledore once said the greatest men make the greatest mistakes. While clearly it is not all harry's fault I mean others had their faults to, it is sad to watch the pain of so many people over what seemed to be a plan to save them.

Now that i think about it this could almost classify as a greek tragidy if you look at it in a very basic manner. Either way you got me to really think, and while I may not like everythign that happens in the story I do feel like it is realistic. Its a bit like life really in that while I may not like what happens I can still appreciate why things do happen and learn to deal with them. I feel like your story has been a bit of a growing process for me. It really has in a small way helped me realize that I can't avoid things because I don't get my way. Anyway that is my over all big review of the chapter that made me think the most

Author's Response:

Oh, you are absolutely lovely! You truly get what I meant to convey in this story. Harry really is guilty of doing stupid things in the name of what he sees as justice. In the past (cough...big camping trip...cough), he's been able to operate outside of the law in whatever manner he saw fit. In the end, his means were justified by the result of that, but we all know that it nearly never works like that. This is the result of him learning that lesson in one of the hardest ways possible.

And I think I read Ethan Frome when I was eleven, but that was almost fifteen years ago, so I barely remember it. I do remember something like this theme in it, so the fact that you've compared my work to both Greek tragedy and classic literature just made my millenium. You've even trumped the young lady who received my story as a Christmas gift from another one of my readers. :)

Thank you for taking the time to write out your thought processes. You've captured everything that I wanted to say, and I'm glad you can appreciate it, even if it isn't your favorite thing to see a beloved ship to be crashed on the rocks.

Thanks and happy reading of Ch. 32 :)

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/11/10 21:16
Chapter: Chapter 30

Hmm so you are right I don't know how I feel about this chapter. I must admit when I read the Katie Harry interlude i had mixed feelings. On one side I'm such a strong harry ginny shipper that i felt it was a bit wrong even understanding it. yet Harry reminds me a lot of people i know and the connection that he has with katie right then i understand it. It works in a way and from experience i know that divorcees act that way. it's hard to explain all the feelings i have about this particular aspect of your story. While I understand it and i want to approve of it I'm not sure I can like it. As for the speach that Harry gave it was wonderful. I love draco as a character and that speach seemed to be quite fitting for him. I can't wait to see what happen at teh trial, and the idea of albus carryign a 10 year old girl inhis arms is quite endeering

Author's Response:

Though Katie and Harry don't quite realize it, they are, in essence, one another's rebound. The first thing that most people do when a serious relationship ends is go seek out a new one with the first possible candidate. I didn't like the idea myself, but it seemed to work at the time. I do promise, however, that resolution for a lot of these things are on the horizon. :)

 

Happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/11/10 20:09
Chapter: Chapter 29

Itīs moments like this that make me love Scorpius. I also feel that I should tell you that while i donīt like ginny and Harry's divorce, I understand it and even agree with it. A bit like i imagine Harry feels about it. This was a very sweet chapter if a sad. I quite liked it over all. Mira is a cute character

Author's Response:

I can imagine that it would be difficult for Scorpius not to resent Mira and what that means about his own childhood. Had Astoria not been so abominable, it might have been different. I feel that Scorpius is a good man (or else Rose wouldn't love him and Albus wouldn't be his bestie), so he won't blame a child for something for which she is not remotely responsible. He may harbor some resentment toward Katie, but in the end, she was there first, not Astoria. It's a lot for him to deal with, but he's a fine man and an excellent human being, so I knew that he had to do the right thing.

You may or may not hate me for the next few chapters with Harry, but being as acquainted with as many fresh divorcées as I am, I've been assured that it really does happen. I feel bad for all of them (even though they're my characterizations and I did all these things to them, lol), but it just seemed like a logical next step.

Happy reading, and you're so close to the end!

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/11/10 18:31
Chapter: Chapter 28

So by now you probaby think I abandonded you. Alas i have not i jsut ahd a lot of work. that trial seems like it would have been so ahrd. i'm happy with the results of the trial they serve both justice and good. As for ginny and Harry I understand what they are thinking but i really do want them to be back together just ebcause I am a hopless romantic like that and if ginny and harry can't last then i'm not sure anyone else can. I can't wait to see waht happens next.

Author's Response:

I have to admit that it did cross my mind a time or two that you couldn't deal with Harry/Ginny splitting. I can understand that, but if you could know all of the problems and roadblocks for their marriage that I've mapped out in my head, you'd totally see why it was logical. I plan on extrapolating on them at a later date. I hope you enjoy the last few chapters. They are longer than the previous ones, so hopefully it doesn't slow down your progress too much. :)

Happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: lexxieanne
Date: 05/10/10 13:25
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow! Fantastic work.
I truly enjoyed reading this and the only thing was that I couldn't take it with me to keep reading.
Wonderful job!!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I know what you mean about not being able to take fan fics with you. Each time I travel, I copy/paste a bunch of fan fics onto my laptop so I have something to do at the airport and on the plane. I do think that I'll get around to, some day, turning my stories into PDFs that are compatible with eReaders, so that way, I can hopefully keep up with the changing technology and give readers an opportunity to take my work with them like any other book.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I hope I run into you again sometime on my review page. :)

Jess

Reviewer: Niki Libby Chang
Date: 05/09/10 12:00
Chapter: Epilogue

oh... my... potter. Are you aware that you are a freaking genius? i mean, this story was truly somethng else! I loved it! It had twist and turns in every chapter and things I would never in my life expect to happen in a realy potter book! Truly amazing, everything about it! Harry and Ginny's divorce, Draco and Katie being in love (biggest shock of all), Harry burning down his house... so much shock and so much genius. I just wish that, if only for a second, this wasn't a fan fic because this would be one book-turned-movie everyone would be talking about for years, more than Avatar (I've seen that movie.... it doesn't even compare to this and i promise you that!). Please keep up the good work.

Author's Response:

Uh, yeah...wow. You just totally made my millenium. ^.^

I wouldn't go so far as to say that I'm a genius, but my inspiration for this story is real life. People screw up their lives and take others down with them, which is a large part of what happened to the characters in the book. I wanted this story to be real and genuine, because people are at their best or their worst when they deal with adversity that could cripple a regular person. 

I'm so happy that you liked the story, and it pleases me to no end that you don't hate me for splitting up Harry and Ginny. I have caught a lot of crit for that, but it would be an insult to Ginny's character for her to be so accepting of Harry's bad decision making.

Thank you for reviewing, and I hope to see you on my review page again some time. Take care and happy reading. :)

Jess

Reviewer: HarryPotterLover96
Date: 05/08/10 19:51
Chapter: Epilogue

OH MY GOODNESS!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR PIECE OF WRITING!!!! I loved this piece of fanfiction and I must say, it was very well written. In fact, you've inspired me to write my own fanfiction. Thanks again!!!

Author's Response:

Ah, you have no idea just how much you've made my day! I started this story right after reading a particularly good piece of fan fiction. I had mentioned, in my final review, of how I hoped to one day write a story to match that. The author, who is one of the sweetest people on earth, told me that I should write it, because every story needs to be told. This is what came of that. I really hope to see the end result of your own renaissance, and if anything I did inspired that, it just made this whole piece worth writing (not that it wasn't already) so much more.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, and I hope to see you again, either on a review page or in the Most Recent category!

~Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/08/10 10:55
Chapter: Chapter 27

I also feel like I should comment a bit on ginny. While I feel like she is over reacting and acting out of anger it makes sense in a way. she has a strong temper and she has put up with a lot. In fact I was suprised she wasn't mroe involved since the begining seeing as she is not one to stay behind. While it seems that in this particular story Ginny and harry fight always I do feel like they are a coupel for the ages, and so i feel like they wil work this out. They have to have another big fight, becuas what harry sais is true. To elave now makes her jsut a little like augusta. And while I love Ginny she can't always see that she can be wrong. hoefully niether she nor harry will eb prats for to long an they wil work this out.

Author's Response:

The thing is, in my little brain universe, Harry and Ginny have had a rough go of it over the years. Most of it is Harry's fault, because he obviously keeps secrets. If this secret is big enough to even keep from Ron and Hermione, then Harry isn't likely to tell anyone. The only reason why any of this is coming out at all is because it was likely to after all of this anyway. The secret is really that important for Harry to keep.

The problem with Ginny is that she really has been left behind in all of this. She always has been, honestly. She was never included in the Trio's escapades, except maybe OotP, and he didn't want her to go then, either. He thinks that he is protecting her by her not knowing what is going on, but he doesn't realize that it really doesn't work that way. Eventually, she WILL find out, and she WILL be pissed that he acted like he did. Sometimes, some promises aren't as exclusive as they're made out to be, and Harry should have told Ginny everything. Instead, he didn't and she thought all those years ago that he was with someone else. Now, you and I know that he'd never do that, but when someone is distraught and disillusioned, it's hard to know what is and is not real anymore.

Things are about to take a bizarre turn, just so you know. You've followed them so far, so I hope these events aren't too out there, though I really don't think that they are.

Happy reading. :D

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/08/10 10:52
Chapter: Chapter 27

You know I really like this story, and everytime you say hapy readigns it's good because no matter what happens in the story I still enjoy reading it. But withing the past few chapters you killed Draco, you had harry punch James, and now ginny and harry are splitting up, not to menton that James, Lily and Harry could all possibly got to jail. This is sad, really sad. Things had better work out.

Author's Response:

This is a story about consequences. Action and reaction...remember that.

I had one rather faithful reviewer who didn't like the split between Harry and Ginny, but when I tried to say that it just didn't make sense for Ginny to tolerate Harry's actions, she completely agreed. Only an idiot or a masochist would put up with Harry after all that he had done and the secrets that he's kept. Ginny is neither of those, and to make her so would be a disservice to her character.

And yes, any one of Harry, James or Lily could go to jail, and for their parts in the whole thing, truthfully, so could Al, Fred, and Scorpius. Anne could also get into trouble for using an Unforgivable. That's part of my main theme in the story: no one is completely evil, and no one is completely innocent. That's the way it works in real life. 

Anyway, happy reading (yeah, that makes me chuckle now), and I'm off to answer your other review. :)

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/08/10 10:26
Chapter: Chapter 26

Poor harry, yeah i saw some sort of health problem commignhis way a heart attack makes sense. hopefully he'll be ok thought because i'm not sure ginny will be able to cope if he dies. I wonder who Harry has to talk to so bad. And how will the trials resolve james is back in prison now, btu at least goyle is captured. Scorpious and James are strong man for handling the situation the way they did.

Author's Response:

Harry is eaten with guilt for Draco's death (as he should be). Sure, he didn't cast the curse, but it was his own actions that brought about that end. You'll see why very soon, if you haven't already guessed.

Yes, James is back in jail, but he's not in Azkaban yet. He's being held at the Ministry, pending an escort back to prison. I think they'll not give him such a light escort next time, seeing as he was able to escape (even if it was to do with Barnaby being an idiot). 

Scorpius is a good man and generally always has been. As much as he wanted to wipe Goyle from the face of the earth both at his house and at the Riddle House, he didn't, because he's not a killer. I didn't want James to end up being a killer, either, so that's why I had him use a bit of old magic. Some things are worse than death, and for Goyle, it shall be knowing that he has made a terrible, terrible mistake in what he's done.

Harry is really distraught right now. The reality of Draco's death and its ultimate repercussions is starting to sink in, and it's frankly driving him mad with grief and remorse. It's good to know that he's not unlike the rest of us in how he feels, but at this point, James doesn't understand why Harry is so upset. He will, though. Everyone will.

Happy reading. :)

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/08/10 10:06
Chapter: Chapter 25

So goyle shws up and Barnaby has been deeply hurt. I think you said this before in one of your answers to a review while grief will greatly affect us it does not jsutify our actions. Finally Harry can put an end to all this. Its good to see that Albus stands up to his father's self-pity and guilt it's about time soemone did.

Author's Response:

Not many people have the balls to stand up to Harry and tell him how it is. To most of the world, he's the savior of the world as they know it, but to Albus, Harry is just 'Dad', and Dad is being whiny and self-destructive. This is the point where Draco would normally say, "What's the matter with you, Potter? Are you five years old or something?", buuuuuut *sniff*.

Though you are always ultimately responsible for your actions, I do feel bad for Barnaby. Normally, he would have been a good man with good intentions, but grief makes us, as human beings, do ridiculous things. It still isn't an excuse, but I thought that it was important to show that all villains are not created equal. There is no black and white in this universe. Harry is not completely good, and guys like Barnaby and Goyle are not completely evil. There are always shades of gray in the middle.

Anyway, I'll let you get back to reading. :)

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/08/10 9:40
Chapter: Chapter 24

Hahahahha James is now a girl that is so funny for some reason. Its funny toimagine Anne getting information from someone even it ir really is james doing it. I was so proud to know he could fight well. Lily is a charmer, time to keep on reading now

Author's Response:

Well, being a fugitive and all, James couldn't very well just strut around town easy as you please. No one really knows Anne outside the family, so it's the perfect disguise. No one's expecting him to be a girl, lol.

Lily is really sweet in her disposition, though she does have a track record of using that to her advantage in the past. It's a large reason why  she was Sorted into Slytherin; she uses that charm and beauty of hers to attain her own ends. I guess that's not really a bad thing (so long as it's not used cruelly), but it is, in the end, what ends up getting her into trouble (her run-in with Goyle).

Happy reading, then. :D

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/08/10 9:21
Chapter: Chapter 23

So james escapes, that was quite a show of power back at the jail cell. Barnany is an idiot im suprised he got as ar alng as he did. I wonder hwo they will find goyle now. At least everyone seems to be ok for the moment, it seems a little too good to last.

Author's Response:

Well, in terms of 'bad guys', Barnaby just isn't brilliant. After all, he is only 23 years old and really isn't used to being so underhanded. It's really not in his nature. His reasoning will become clear very soon, however.

James is, most people forget (specifically Barnaby), an athlete and a talented wizard. Mocking and goading him is akin to prodding a bear. You'll get away with it for a while, but eventually, it will knock you the hell out and eat you like a bedtime snack. Rage does not begin to touch how James was feeling, especially after getting his ass kicked in the yard.

Good morning and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 21:52
Chapter: Chapter 22

Ok to be fair to you I did knwo osemone had to get hut and all that but I was really hoping it wouldn't be Draco and i hoped tey wouldn't die, i jsut have a soft spot for him. But I ahve decided to forgive you for killing him. His whole affair with katie too me compelatly off gaurd. It was so much to take it. I'm nto sure how that plays into the stroy as a whole, specially becasue i thought Draco was still maried to Astoria, btu i guess everyone is entitled to their secrets, and katie's affair is one of those secrets. The mess seems to be almost bigger than ever before. It's hard to imagien them all getting out of this unscratched, either way the story is still very good and i still quite like it. Specialyl the characters their emotions seem very real.

Author's Response:

Well, more of how Draco and Katie are connected is in later chapters, as are other bits and parts of the story. In essence, the younger Goyle's murder started a cascade of events, and things that would have gone undiscovered are now coming into the forefront and unraveling the very fabric of Harry's life. This mess is of his own doing, as nearly every turn could have been prevented by a bit better forethought.

I really didn't want to kill Draco, though, even if it was necessary. Oh, and yes, he is still married to Astoria, who you shall meet in Chapter 31, IIRC. Most of your questions have answers in some part of the story after this. If not, then feel free to ask. I love answering question, plus it gives me an opportunity to clarify things that might not be as neat and tidy as I had intended in the story for future readers.

Anyway, I'll let you get back to reading. Salut!

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 21:25
Chapter: Chapter 21

I can't eblieve you killed Draco. I'm not sure I can forgive you for doing that. He was such a good influence for Albus and for Scorpious. I cried when he died like that's how much i wanted him to live. i'm so pissed off Goyle might get off thanks to barnaby. i did register that he was the same man that helped hugo take james to Azkaban. he is a git. As for the secret that harry is keeping and who he is meeting i haven't a clue.

Author's Response: You had to know that someone was going to die in this crazy escapade, and it was going to be someone that didn't deserve to die. I didn't want Draco to die, either, as he is one of my very favorite characers to write, but I probably would've vomited on the keyboard if I'd tried to kill Harry. Draco's death, though, does serve a larger plot point, so it wasn't completely arbitrary on my part. Stay tuned to see what goes down after this, because it's pretty big.

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 20:35
Chapter: Chapter 20

You did not just kill Draco. I don't think i'll be able to forgive you if you did. i'm glad lily and Eric are ok, i loved the bit about crabbe and goyle that was epic, and I really hate how selfish agusta is I was willing to forgive her for running away but those thoughts while possibly true were a little too harsh. Now I have to go see if Draco and Harry live. And what will happen to Anne who jsut entered that evil place. You know this is an evil cliff hanger

Author's Response:

Well, you shall see what has happened in the evil cliffie.

The next chapter is just as intense, so hold on to your seat!

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 20:09
Chapter: Chapter 19

oh no how will Draco get away from this one. That bloody little person barnaby is a tweeb. He will get in touble once Harry finds out the truth. This plan is so rushed it seems like something is going to go awry only to be fixed by a miraculous chance. Fantastic story so far. And it makes sense for anne to be arehensive about going but i ahve a feelign she will play an important role.

Author's Response:

Ah, now you're getting into the meat of the plot!

Barnaby (who was mentioned in the very first chapter but is commonly overlooked) has his own story, which will be touched upon in a few chapters, but for right now, the plot is afoot. Happy reading to you!

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 18:55
Chapter: Chapter 18

Oh wow the plan is finally underway. Yes at last some action is being taken. I can't wait to see hwo that works out. It suprises me a bit that they haven't thought of taking Anne along she is a nurse and since magiv doesnt' work there anyway, I suppose Albus will fight agaisnt that but Anne is fisty and lily is her friend. As for the conversation harry had with Albus it is quite enderaing. i'mr eally happy Ginny is working toward getting better. And I am sure Anne will be a great witch once she trains. I love this story btw i think you should know that.

Author's Response:

Haha, sometimes, in order to find something, you have to think outside of the box. They finally did when they decided to do a little Muggle detective work.

I had always wanted Anne to have magic. Even if it's not particularly powerful magic, it will ultimately make her an even better match for Albus. And Harry's father/son conversation, it just goes hand in hand with my vision of Harry as a father. He means well, but sometimes, he just doesn't articulate himself very well. It's not a fault, really - just a part of his personality.

I'm glad you like the story. Some intense action is coming your way very soon. I hope you enjoy it. Happy reading to you!

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 17:53
Chapter: Chapter 17

I love anne and Albus as a couple, and I love that Draco sees sense about the, While I understand waht Harry is thinking I think Anne is tough enough to stand up to the prejudice. As for what goyle si doing, it is so infurriating that someone was so close to discovering lily and Eric only to be scared away. I am now more scared than ever especially for Eric. I wonder what the elaborate plan to bring all thsi to light and save everyone involved is.

Author's Response:

To me, the respective personalities and life experiences of Albus and Anne just make them a perfect item. They just understand one another so much better than anyone else. Harry is just worried about a lot of things (some of which I won't tell, as I'm already planning another story around them), and he just doesn't want to see anyone get hurt. Then again, as his present track record shows, he's not very good at keeping that from happening, so he should mind his own business, lol.

Things are very close to coming to a head, so stay tuned. I hope you have time today to make it through Chapter 22, becaue the further you go, the harder it's going to be to stop.

Take care and happy reading!

Jess

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/07/10 15:45
Chapter: Chapter 16

I'm starting to like Anne more and more. I agree with harry she seems to be good for Albus. I fear that something will go wrong with their plan's at gole's house hopefully i'm wrong

Author's Response:

I hope you've noticed, but Albus has not had the peachy existence that one would expect with a well-respected and relatively wealthy family. Sure, half of it is genetic and the other half of his own making, but indeed, he needed someone like Anne so badly to get his life back on track.

There are a lot of things set to happen, so there should be no shortage of excitement in coming chapters.

Take care and happy reading!

Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES