Reviewer: lovelilyjames
Date: 03/10/10 11:53
Chapter: Chapter 2

Sad, sad, sad, my heart aches for all of them

Author's Response:

The story is about to get sadder. You're about to get into the part which is the saddest of them all. :(

Happ reading!

Jess

Reviewer: lovelilyjames
Date: 03/10/10 6:35
Chapter: Prologue

I think this is sad but tremendously intriguing...

Author's Response:

:)

I'm glad you liked it enough to keep reading. This story, as you can tell, came from a very dark place in my brain.

Jess

Reviewer: lovelilyjames
Date: 03/10/10 6:31
Chapter: Prologue

I feel saddened but tremendously intrigued ...& ofcourse that swine Goyle did something to Lily..?!

Author's Response:

Haha, if you think the plot is thick right now, wait until you get into later chapters. It only gets more and more involved. I hope you enjoy it!

And you will find out the elder Goyle's involvement in the whole ordeal soon, and the younger Goyle's role soon after that.

Happy reading! I hope to hear back from you. :)

Jess

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 03/01/10 13:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

You know, I thought I was going crazy. Because I remember reading the memory of Augusta and I couldn't understand why it wasn't there when I re-read so I just assumed either I had imagined things or else it was later in the story. For some reason it didn't occur to me that you might have cut it. I do think, however, that it works better without it. The James/Augusta relationship isn't really hugely important in this story, not in the same way that the Anne/Albus, Harry/Ginny or even Katie/Draco are and therefore the back-story, while nice wasn't really necessary and I think added padding that wasn't really needed. There's plenty going on with the story without it and I guess we don't really need to see anything about James/Augusta, other than perhaps to add a bit more to James' character, but I think you flesh him out perfectly well without it!

Sorry this is just a short one - I wanted to respond to your response and this was the only way to do it! I hope my reviews last night made sense - it was rather late when I was writing them. Oh and for the record, I have no objections to your style or word choice!

Hannah

Author's Response:

Ah, no, you're not crazy...it was there. :)

I agree about its relevance, which is why I'm glad I took it out. The story flows from chapter to chapter much better this way. 

Until we meet again!



Author's Response:

Ah, no, you're not crazy...it was there. :)

I agree about its relevance, which is why I'm glad I took it out. The story flows from chapter to chapter much better this way. 

Until we meet again!

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 02/28/10 19:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

This chapter is an interesting one. Little happens in the way of actual story development and its length, especially when compared to the others, reflects this. However, it provides an important transition to James’ life in Azkaban, and gives a brief glimpse into his character. I think you right to have it as a standalone chapter rather than attaching it to the one before, which is clearly about the trial and would be overloaded with any more information, or the one after, where the PoV completely changes. You introduce the prison well, and this chapter really goes a long way to building the tension and atmosphere of the whole story.

I liked the way that more than half the chapter was about the time before James even reached his cell. You set the scene really well and really painted a vivid picture of the terrible place in which James found himself, which made me feel like I was actually there walking alongside the group. I knew how the chapter was going to end – with James’ imprisonment, but still the way you led up to it, almost stalling the inevitable, was really good. One particular part which stood out to me the most was the description of the large, wooden doors, all of which were weathered and scarred from decades, possibly centuries, of use. which I feel is a really good example of the way you managed to really show the reader Azkaban and make them appreciate just what an old and dark place it is to be. And even though the reality of James’ cell turns out to not be as bad as the reader might have expected, there is still a sense of pessimism in this chapter and that nothing is going to change his fate, no matter how comfortable his cell.

The inclusion of Dung was a nice touch, as it brought in a familiar character from canon, which helps root the story back in the original series. The role reversal, with Dung suddenly the one in charge while a Potter is beneath him is nicely handled and you show how little Dung has changed in the amount of pleasure he takes at being able to use his rare chance at having authority. However, his fear at the mention of Kingsley and quick submission to the word of Hugo show he is still the same weak person he always was and that is power of James is in fact not quite to the extent he would perhaps like it to be.

There is a definite moment of Harry coming through in James when he does not want to accept the special treatment of the better cell, and I like the way that even though James is most definitely his own person, there are still recognisable hints of his parents in him. My heart really broke for James in this chapter and I began to feel real sympathy for his plight, in spite of what he is supposed to have done. In the latter half of the chapter, when he finally gets the chance to speak alone with Hugo, we get to see quite how scared and worried he his, not only for himself but for his family, particularly his wife and child. I definitely think it is here, through the genuine emotion that he shows, that it becomes even more obvious that the murder is not as simple as first appears. The conversation between the cousins is very powerful and you portray both of them well, including Hugo’s pain at having to leave him, and his determination that he will not be forgotten about. When the end came and James knew he was about to be alone I really felt for him and wanted so badly for something to happen that might change his fate. James’ character is really becoming to come out and with this part: even though he was a mischievous child, James never truly had enemies, you make the reader question how he could possibly have transitioned from there to here.

I felt that there was a slight moment of mary-sue-ism with slightly too perfect description of Hugo’s girlfriend but there is not enough about her to truly judge her character and equally I don’t remember reading much more about her later in the story, so I do not know a huge deal about her. However, there was one American slip at the end of the chapter which was rather noticeable, and my Britishness forced my to point out, as describing James sleeping in a cot would in fact mean sleeping in something suitable for a baby, or a crib!

All in all, a different but interesting chapter, and I look forward to the beginning of the ‘proper’ action, which I know is coming very soon.

Hannah

Author's Response:

Le squeak! Review!!!!!

Thank you for stopping by. Getting a SPEW review is like getting a kickass Christmas present. :)

This chapter was originally about 6000 words, but I got a review from Inverarity, which basically told me my writing is bad, my word choice blows, and that the entire sequence where James remembers his first real encounter with his wife were extraneous. I summarily ignored the first two (I had already written 17 chapters by then...no bowing out now, lol), but the third made me think. I removed that whole part and posted it as a one-shot, which in itself was pretty good. I am also toying with the idea of chopping the first chapter in half for a prologue and using the second half as part of this chapter, the new Chapter 1. I probably will, down the line do so, also with taking this whole thing, editing the bejeezus out of it and sending it to a beta. I want this to be archived in its best form, and the first 7 chapters sort of make me cringe when I read them, lol.

I really wanted the reader to like James, in spite of what he had done (or thought he'd done). Though he was a certifiable pain in the ass while he was a kid/teenager, he really did grow into a decent human being, much like what I'd expect James Potter classic would have, if he'd have lived to 32.

I know Sarah is ridiculously Mary-Sue, but I really didn't need her for much more than a name, a shoulder to cry on, and eventual Hugo arm candy. I might develop her character more in further offshoots of this fic that I am planning (and there are a crapload of those), but she was basically a rent-a-character.

Thanks so much for reviewing, and now I'm off to looky at the other one. :)

Jess

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 02/28/10 18:37
Chapter: Prologue

Jess! I’ve owed you a review for this fic for who knows how long but now it’s (almost – I’m still waiting on that epilogue!) complete, I thought I should come and give you the review(s) you deserve. However, there is no possible way I could do the review justice without re-reading and to fit everything I want to say into one review would be an epic task so I’m going to review as I go along, this time reading solely for pleasure rather than work! I can’t promise you one for every chapter, but definitely for as many as I find something interesting to say.

Reading this first chapter again is a lot like reading the Harry Potter books after you already know how the series has ended. There are so many hints and signs, which on a first read through you wouldn’t even give a second thought, as they are so effortlessly and expertly woven into the storytelling, but which now scream out to me. It really shows how much you planned this story before you began writing and how you knew what was going to happen long before the reader did, making it easier to insert little hints and clues that were guiding the reader towards what was happening, even if they didn’t realise it. Particular moments where this was obvious to me in this chapter were the references to Lily. We can guess that her absence from the trial is significant and that there is possibly a link to Lily and the murder but from the way the first chapter is presented, it’s impossible to guess just what the final conclusion is going to be. James’ guilt in this chapter just seems so final and so certain – his father, brother and even he, never try to deny it – that it seems hard to think there could be an alternative explanation. I did like the line, The outburst before getting in the car was unplanned, which seemed to drop in the smallest of hints that perhaps James was in control after all, and planning the whole thing, rather than completely helpless as he appears, therefore suggesting another explanation for the murder.

There were also the hints about Barnaby that I can’t believe I had forgotten and which appear so early on in the story without anyone realising. Granted here, he does appear to be planning to cause some sort of trouble due to his ambitions and plans for future promotion, but still I was surprised when I later read of his involvement in the events which follow this chapter.

You create very powerful and effective images in this opening and it certainly sets the scene for a dramatic story. I really felt I could feel the pain of all those present at the trial as James was sentenced to life imprisonment and on a first read, I remember hoping so much that James was not responsible for what happened, but struggling to understand how else he would have been convicted. Even reading it again, I still felt a little bit anxious as I read James’ sentence, so excellently is his guilt portrayed. This line was particularly vivid for me: The sound of snapping wands always made him a little queasy, but to break the wand of a man whose father had been his friend for over four decades, was doubly nauseating. We have seen references to wands being snapped in canon, but never seen the actual event and I felt I shared Peakes’ feelings of nausea as he had to snap someone’s most important link to the wizarding world, leaving them almost completely powerless. The image is made even more effective by featuring a character from canon and sharing their own individual moment of pain, giving us a glimpse of how important Harry and his family still are to the wizarding world and how hard it is for their friends to accept what has happened.

You set up the characters well; obviously, this story takes place some years after the last canon event we see and therefore you are able to play with the characters a certain amount. It’s interesting to read from the beginning and compare it with the transformation some people have undergone by the end. Even though only a moment of Albus is seen in this chapter, I immediately warm to him (and indeed, I think he is one of my favourite characters in the story) as you show us his helplessness as being unable to prevent his brother’s sentence. My initial feelings of James were, interestingly, somewhat negative. Obviously, in this first chapter there is the belief that he is actually responsible for murdering someone, and his acceptance and seeming lack of regret for his actions makes it hard to feel particularly sympathetic towards him, though I do feel pain for those around him. The Harry and Ginny relationship at the opening is an interesting contrast to how it is by the end and it took me several chapters when I was first reading through to realise what your intentions with it were. However, once again, there is here a hint towards the future of Harry’s character when you say: His father often had a far away look when he though no one was watching. You show that clearly Harry is someone who remains troubled and bothered by things even after the worst part of his life is supposedly over and it makes a reader wonder what could still be happening to him.

The final thing I wanted to comment on in this chapter is your style. The story is a good read, but occasionally I found some of the sentences were becoming quite long or wordy, making me need to go back and re-read to get the proper point of the sentence. Other than that, there were only the very occasional minor technical slips though nothing which affected the readability of the story (which I would hope since I’m the one responsible for approving it!)

I can’t wait to continue my read through as I think it’s going to be quite an interesting experience to remember things I have probably forgotten.

Hannah

Author's Response:

It's going to be odd, interesting, and useful to go through all these chapters again, especially if you're planning on reviewing them fairly frequently. I dislike my style quite a lot in the first chapter, and as the future chapters progress, I hate it less and less. This was the very, very, very first thing that I had written since high school (7 years ago), and while it wasn't terrible for a first time outing, I really wish that I had got some practice in TTB or the mini-Nano. I did the real NaNo while writing this story, and I still managed four chapters and my 50K. I was pretty impressed with myself, lol.

The reason why I waited until I wrote 20 chapters before starting this through the queue is precisely because of the small flashes of things to come. I knew, mostly, what I wanted, though most everything past chapter 23 was developed as I was writing the preceding chapters, so the details were all poked in there, just to see if anyone could see what was coming. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could possibly guess the end from anything in the first chapter, let alone the first 20 chapters, but ideas needed to be formed.

About Barnaby - I couldn't have someone that just hates Harry for the hell of it...I needed him to be legitimate. He seems Gary-Stu here, but it was basically a name-drop for future references.

Albus, by far, was my greatest victory in this story, but in terms of this chapter, I wanted to show him as a little less pumped full of bravado than James, as well as a bit of a nerd/geek. Normally, I'm sure family does not represent family in a court of law, but I really needed Albus, as well as the rest of them, to think that James was guilty. 

Harry's far away look meant a lot of things. First, I wanted him to not be able to watch, I mean really watch, as his son was sent to prison for something he knew that James didn't do. Second, Harry is a keeper of many secrets, all of which weigh heavily on his mind. Not only does his job entail many secrets of national security, but between eventual revelations and the matter at hand, how could they not?

Ginny still clings to Harry at this point because she doesn't yet know how much Harry isn't telling her. It was when she starts picking up on just how much he's keeping from her 'for her own good' that she starts saying 'enough is enough.' Any sane woman would do so - I don't care if your spouse is Harry freaking Potter...he shouldn't be allowed to keep that much and still call it a healthy relationship.

Well, anyway, again, thanks for reviewing, and I look forward to further installments. I'm still debating hard about what I want to include in the epilogue, or it would have been written by now. When it is, I'll drop you a line on LJ or something so you can get to it first. Don't want any 'sweepers' coming to carry it away, lol. I'm just glad that my semi-atrocious writing from these chapters filtered down into the way I ended the book. 

Take care and good luck with food-nicking flatmates!

Jess

Reviewer: IzzyMisha
Date: 02/28/10 7:28
Chapter: Chapter 32

UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response:

I WILLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ha, anyway, if you really do end up reading this, the Epilogue should be done before then.

 

Cheers!

Jess

Reviewer: hgprincess92
Date: 02/24/10 17:16
Chapter: Chapter 32

Oooohhh... the end. I liked it. Not loved liked and that says something. I think you have an original mind... especially bringing in Katie Bell of all people, but there was a definite quality in your story. I would like to mention that Ron and Hermiona are only seen once and thats a bit challenging for me. I would also liek to say that Im a deep follower of a hapily ever after for Harry, so I'm nt in llove with the break up, but to each his own right. It was good all in all

Author's Response:

I left Ron and Hermione mostly out of the picture on purpose. Harry's secret keeping was the crux of the entire story, and the secret he kept for James was was huge (obviously), but even more than that, he knew that he could never tell anyone. The fact that it all came out in the light was completely unintentional, but had Harry handled the ordeal better (i.e. arresting Lily instead of James), none of it would have ever happened. After all that he had dragged his friends into throughout the years, Harry, at least in my mind, started to close himself off from others in terms of sticky situations. Case in point was Katie and her daughter.

When one closely analyzes Harry and Ginny as individuals, they really weren't as compatible as JKR wanted them to be. Whether that was because she wrote Ginny poorly (I'm not the only one who thinks so, either) or because Harry is just hard-wired to sabotage meaningful relationships (which is inherently true, considering the fact that the only person in his age range close to him that he had never alienated in some way was Hermione), is relatively discretionary. JKR once declared that Harry and Ginny were 'soulmates,' and while that's a happy thought for Harry, considering the amount of BS he's endured in his life, there really is no true evidence of it in the books. They care for one another deeply, but so do he and Hermione, which is a much more realistic ship than Harry/Ginny, if one disregards post-DH statements and extrapolations from Jo.

In the end, Harry could not be allowed to end up happy, not when his actions precipitated many horrible things to happen, not the least of which was the death of Draco and the abduction of his daughter and grandson. People that cause that much angst, no matter the intention, don't deserve to end up happily ever after. Then again, I didn't set out to write a romance novel; I set out to write a deeply angsty story, so if I did that, then I accomplished what I wanted in the end.

I'm sorry that you weren't completely pleased with it, but I guess one cannot please everyone. Thank you for reading and reviewing, and take care. :)

Jess

Reviewer: Niki Libby Chang
Date: 02/19/10 22:37
Chapter: Chapter 32

Omigosh, I've been following this story since my friend gave me the first five chapters for Christmas. It's so amazing and I really love it and think you deserve one of the special awards Mugglenet gives out. You have a real talent for writing, and I honestly hope that one day, I can write as amazing as you do. This story seemed so real, that it actually felt as though these events could have happened after Book 7! Pease keep up the amazing work because I can't describe no more than this short paragraph how much I enjoyed it!

Author's Response:

My book + Christmas present = Pure awesomeness!

I'm so glad you liked it, and while it's not completely over, the journey is nearly complete. Despite some detraction of my choice to split up Harry and Ginny, not to mention killing Draco, I've been so amazed about how well my story has been received. This was my first every fic, and I'm completely tickled that so many people have truly enjoyed it, much like yourself.

Stay tuned for the Epilogue, which will probably come out in a couple of weeks or so. I just have some contest pieces that I've fallen behind on, and I need a little while to catch up. If you have anything you'd like to see addressed in the Epilogue, please don't hesitate to leave another review with what you want to see, PM me on the Beta Forums, or email me at avsno26rocks@aol.com. I'd love to know what you all would like to see resolved, in addition to what I already have planned.

Again, thank you for reading, and I hope you have a spectacular day!

Jess

Reviewer: Auroura_P
Date: 02/19/10 18:04
Chapter: Chapter 32

I love the ending!!!! Good work and I look forward to reading some of your other fics soon! :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad that the ending was to your liking. I found it increasingly difficult, the further I got into this fic, to correctly orient the events so that they didn't get weird or unbelievable. I did catch a little bit of crap for what I did with Harry/Ginny, but that was something that I had planned from the very start of this piece.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing regularly throughout this journey that was my first fic on MNFF. It has been a blast, and while the epilogue is not yet complete, I feel like I've accomplished something that not many people can do in writing a novel. I'm glad I could share this experience with you, and I hope you enjoyed it half as much as I did. If you have any questions, or maybe you just want to know about other events in the timeline, feel free to leave an extra review, PM me on the Beta Forums, or send me an e-mail at avsno26rocks@aol.com. I love hearing from readers.

Take care,

Jess

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 02/17/10 16:16
Chapter: Chapter 32

Well, I'm only 30, so not that old. My grandparents are about to celebrate their 65th. It wouldn't be a marriage if there wasn't ups and downs, fights, battles, wars, laughs, and those people out there that tell you they never fight with each other are full of crap!

Whatever gave you the idea that this wasn't a good Harry/Ginny Story? If, IF, they had been real people, their marriage totally would have turned out like that given everything that happened in the story. Marriages don't survive secrets, so you are totally vindicated in ending them!! I say it again, GOOD STORY!!

I am reading Harry Potter and the world reborn, and I like it too!

Author's Response:

Haha, I sooo wasn't trying to call you old. That possibly came out wrong, lol.

In terms of Harry/Ginny, from all the reading of the books, Jo's comments, and as well as what I know about the characters, I really don't believe that they were going to last. I'm happy for them because they managed to stick it out for 35 years, and with the current marriage disasters that our society has, that's borderline miraculous. I'm glad you don't disagree with the fact that I ended things, since I really couldn't see any way around it. It's hard, torturing characters I inherently like, but that was just the sort of story I set out to write.

I'm still a couple chapters behind on HPatWR, but I've been pretty much a faithful follower. I think the last part I read was right after Harry's conversation with Arthur. I've just been so busy writing that I haven't been keeping up on my reading at all. I don't think I have any other good suggestions for regularly updated Harry/Ginny, mostly because I tend to lean toward all things Malfoy, lol. (now those, I have many suggestions). There is a particularly poignant one-shot with H/G, called Beauty from Pain (just do a title search, and it should come up). It's slightly AU, but it's really powerful and emotionally charged. I think you'll like it. All the other Harry/GInny I've read aren't updated any more (boooooo).

Well, until we meet again (which we probably will, because apparently, we read the same stuff, lol), take care.

Jess

Reviewer: wheresthewolf
Date: 02/17/10 12:08
Chapter: Chapter 32

PLEASE MAKE IT TO WHERE IN THE EPILOGUE HARRY AND GINNY ARE BACK TOGETHER... they were meant to be together please, i love your story so please make them get back together..

Author's Response:

Regarding Harry and Ginny, I see it this way. Harry is the sort of man who does selfless things to a selfish extent, meaning he sacrifices his relationships with those around him in an eternal quest to do 'the right thing.' He's the sort of bloke that just isn't meant to be with anyone, not even Ginny. While I have no idea what direction I want to take Harry/Katie, I am sure that Harry and Ginny are done, most likely by mutual agreement. While they do and always will love one another, sometimes love just isn't enough to make things work. As much as I'd like Harry to be happy, he really isn't meant to be; he's just been too damaged over all the years of sheer crap he's had to put up with. Trust me, I don't want either of them to be miserable, but hey, I didn't open up a word document in September to write a love story.

I'm so glad you've enjoyed my story enough to read it, as it's longer than HBP, so evidently, I did something right. Feel free to ask me questions about between scenes and things that happen before and after the timeline of the story, because I want you to get the most enjoyment out of the little universe I've built. Leave another review, or email me at avsno26rocks@aol.com. My inbox is always open. :)

Thank you so much for reading, and as soon as I run though the ridiculous amount of other pieces I've started, I'll finish the epilogue and even start some one-shots that outline satellite events, such as Harry and Ginny's marriage trouble, more about Lily, Albus, and James, and maybe even a little extra Draco/Katie. Take care and again, thank you.

Jess

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 02/17/10 10:08
Chapter: Chapter 32

Love it. Not waiting patiently for the epilogue, but seeing as how I now choice but to wait, I'll get the laundry done! I really like where you took this and that you are letting Harry and Ginny work out things to an extint. No they could never be the couple they were but maybe the couple they should have been. Being married to my highschool sweetheart for nearly 11 years and three kids will probably always leave me in the Harry/Ginny corner! As for the rest, just fab!! I can't seem to get updates on any of my favorites, so I've been dedicated to logging in and looking for udates every week since I found your story! This one should be on a best selling list with Amazon! You've done a great job with it!! :)

Author's Response:

I'm not completely mercenary, so I couldn't leave Harry and Ginny on bad terms. From what I know of Harry (I've written him a lot since I started doing fan fiction), he just isn't suited to marriage because of his ridiculous heroic tendencies. Heroes just don't make good husbands, and Harry is not the exception. Harry/Katie was, and still is, a really difficult decision that I'll have to make for the epilogue and any further stories that will stem from this one. They won't get married or anything, because that would just be plain ridiculous, but sometimes, a person just needs someone in their life that truly understands them, and that person might not be who you expect.

Eleven years, huh? That's insane to me, considering all the people I know that have been married that long are either old enough to be my grandparents or they're about to strangle one another. I guess that has given me a sort of irreverence for marriage, but I'm sure that, had Draco/Katie been married, they would have been ridiculously happy with one another. As for me, I think I'm just the blissfully unattached sort and probably always will be. :)

Now, I'm not sure about a best-seller, considering this fic only has a little over 5000 reads, but it is a marvelous compliment nonetheless. This was the very first thing I ever started, and it gives me no small measure of personal pride and accomplishment to see it through to the end. There was no way that the story in my head would ever be done the disservice of never seeing the page, because it really has been that important to me. When you have dreams about something nearly every night, it just shows how much it means, and I almost can't believe that it's nearly over. While I shall miss it, there will be other stories that outline other events in this little universe of mine, because I'm not sure I'll ever be able to let it go.

Thank you so much for reading from beginning to end. While I'm not entirely happy with the first seven chapters or so, I'm really happy with how everything else went down. It bummed me to kill Draco, but someone that truly deserved better had to die to teach Harry a hard lesson, and I couldn't find it in myself to kill one of Harry's children. I do promise that the epilogue will be written, not forgotten - just not right away. Sorry about that. :-(

Take care, and I hope to see you around in other MNFF stories!

Jess

If you're looking for decent Harry/Ginny that is regularly updated, try Harry Potter and the World Reborn by andelyn kinsey. She updates pretty regularly, the story is good, and since it is her first fic, as well, she could use the support. Hope that helps. :D

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/17/10 4:22
Chapter: Chapter 32

And it's finally here! I've been waiting for this to finally show up so I could leave it a proper review! So here goes:

First of all, I have to say that I really like the way you redeemed Ginny in this chapter. I don't necessarily like Harry with Ginny (although I do have some weird canon cravings from time to time) but I never hated her. So I like that she overcame her bitterness and I can imagine her doing such a noble thing for her daughter. She is a Gryffindor after all.

And thank goodness James' was...vindicated lol. I was a leetle disappointed that we didn't get to see the full reunion between him and Augusta but that's just my smutty mind going wild hehe. I'm just so glad that, even though Lily has to face her punishment, the Potter-Weasley-Malfoy clan have overall come out better off despite the shiz you put them through :p

And Katie and Harry. I'm glad they have each other. Especially Katie. She needs someone strong after losing Draco, not once, but numerous times throughout her entire adult life. I cannot emphasise more how awed I was that you had paired Draco with Katie. I confused a lot of people with the pairing in BfR and it was just so great to see more of them even if it was not the main focus of the fic. I just loved them together. And the thought of them having a daughter...gah. You're too awesome.

I'm not sure I've mentioned this in a review before but I have to commend you on your characterisation of Albus. I just love the development of his character from a generally quiet, and...dare I say it...not wholly confident man to a man who can learn to have an intimate relationship outside of family and become more outspoken. It was really well done and something that made me interested in a character that I shamefully had not thought about much before.

Thank you so much for taking me on a whirlwind adventure full of mystery and surprise and passion. I have thoroughly enjoyed it and hope that you will write the epilogue sooner rather than later.

Keep on being awesome!

Julia XD

Author's Response:

Gah, you are fantastic, and I want to hug you. Considering I hate hugging in general, that's saying something.

I really wanted this fic to be five things: Albus's coming out party; the road to redemption for Draco; the shattering of this silly notion that people have of Harry being this wonderful husband/father, when he is, in reality, extremely flawed, maybe even more so than most; good triumphing over evil in general, but there are always people that get hurt along the way - we tend to forget that sometimes; the severing of what I have always thought would be a troubled marriage between Harry/Ginny. I knew from the moment I started that this was going to happen, and even though some of my readers didn't like it, when one puts some thought into it, them having problems because of Harry being secretive and Ginny being pushy was inevitable.

Another character that I hoped that you came to appreciate is James. He had been through hell in so many forms, and he, despite rough patches where he nearly succumbed to the temptation of revenge, still came out a good man. He's a lot like his namesake in his demeanour, and I believe that, had James Sr. lived to 32, he would have been much the same as James Jr.

Draco/Katie was a pleasure of mine, an indulgent one, but a pleasure, nonetheless. I actually read BfR just because it paired Draco/Katie, and that fascinated me. You are responsible for a majority of what happened with these two in my head, whether you know it or not. So I thank you, O Muse of Mine.

Harry/Katie was a tough decision for me to make. I know that Harry would never jump from one woman to the other, but there are simply times when one needs to disconnect the brain and just allow need and feeling to rule for a while, and that's what I did there. I have no idea what direction I want them to take, but they both need one another for support, and while Harry's teaching at Hogwarts the next year (and he gets to be Mira's DADA teacher...plot bunny!), someone needs to hold down the fort and take care of Anne (I'm assuming you got the subtle reference).

I think I touched on everything I meant to (probably not), but in case I didn't, feel free to review again, PM, email, LJ, or AIM (I love all of these things). Luv ya!

Jess

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/11/10 22:39
Chapter: Chapter 31

Sigh, so we're nearing the end. I love how you have Harry and Katie finding solace in one another. I thought about that element of their relationship when writing Burning for Revenge but I didn't really flesh it out. I'd love to go back and re-write that fic since it was so rushed at the end.

Anyway, I also really enjoyed the way Harry is reacting to Draco's death. It's neither extreme nor underwhelming. I think you have his characterisation down pat with this one. Bravo.

One thing that irked me a bit though, and this is hardly an issue, just something a bit amusing, was that Harry and Katie sort of forgot about Mira. Lol.

Also I'm just wondering why there is not much Hermione and Ron around. I sort of miss their presence in Harry's life. Apart from that, I agree with your choice to split Harry and Ginny. You know how I am about Harry/Ginny (although occasionally I do have a craving for that pairing) and I just don't think they work. Especially with the journey you have out them through in this fic, I think it was the right thing to do for both of them.

I can't wait for the next (and final?) installment. You really know how to spin a yarn, Jess. Mystery, romance, angst. Gah. I love it.

Julia XD

Author's Response:

Well, I don't think they so much forgot about Mira than weren't worried about her being in the care of Albus and Anne. Sure, Al is disaster with children, but Anne is really good with them. I was kind of hoping that was implied, but hey, I got caught up in Harry/Katie, so I'm guilty as charged there. :D

Leaving out Ron and Hermione was intentional on my part. It was supposed to signify the depths that Harry was willing to go to keep his secrets, because in the past, we knew that he would tell his two best friends anything and everything.

Draco is actually a larger part of Harry's life than this story lets on, but I'm going to explore that in my next novel length piece, which follows Draco exclusively from the summer before his sixth-year all the way up into adulthood/marriage. It will fill in a lot of the missing pieces as to how Harry and Draco had put aside their mutual distaste for one another and became **gasp** friends.

And then there's Harry/Ginny (another project I'm planning, but a much shorter one). I had this discussion with Emma earlier today, actually, but Harry has been characterized throughout the books as someone who was destined to be alone. It sucks, but his nature doesn't really allow him to put enough of himself into a relationship to make it work. I think that a sense of duty kept Harry and Ginny together for those 35 years, but a lot of those years were bad ones for them. I hate making Harry miserable, but to be honest, he does it to himself. The journey I've taken with this story has allowed me to crawl inside his head and take a walk inside his mind, and I really do believe that I truly GET him more than any other character (even my beloved Albus b29;). I'm glad that my characterization of him had the desired effect for you.

Someone who has been privileged enough to read Chapter 33 already has asked me about what direction I plan to take with the H/G/K love triangle (if one could even call it that), and to be honest, I don't know. I will make a decision, though, once I get around to writing the epilogue (whenever the hell that might be).

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. It makes me happy to know that I've been able to string people along, cause someone to pull an all-nighter to find out what happens, and maybe even incite a little bit of righteous anger. Luv ya, Jules!

Jess

Reviewer: darklordblack
Date: 02/09/10 22:42
Chapter: Chapter 9

I like the idea u used for the way in which the deatheaters controlled victims because the imperious curse is harder to maintain with multple peple under it. this blackmail is very nice way to control and terrorize

Author's Response:

Well, thank you! Reviews are awesome, and I'm so glad you like the story. Enjoy the rest of it, and again, thanks for reading and have a good day/night (not sure which time zone you're in)!

~Jess

Reviewer: lobo_blanco1986
Date: 02/08/10 1:27
Chapter: Chapter 31

You have me completely enthralled with this story. I love the twists and turns. I think I mentioned this in one of my earlier reviews but I'm glad you made peace between Harry and Draco. I was a little sad about the split between Harry and Ginny but it works and I love the path you took with Katie. She's a breath of fresh air for me and Harry. I've read many many fanfics and this is one of my favorites. I want to thank you for this. :) If you would like to e-mail me and talk about anything I would be thrilled. lobo_blanco1986@yahoo.com

Author's Response:

Well, um, yeah...you just totally made my day. :D

I've had a mixed reaction from my readers about splitting Harry and Ginny, but if one truly delves into the recesses of both of their characters, one tends to find that they really aren't as compatible as Jo intended them to be in the series. Ginny never understood Harry's desire to save the world at his own expense, and Harry would never stop being everyone's hero, because that's all he knew how to do at that point. There were very few people who would understand why he would torch his own marriage to keep someone's secret, but after the journey through these characters that I've taken in this story, I know them better than most of the people I know in real life. This just seemed like the natural course for the story to take. I knew that Harry would end up alone in the end because of how he handled this whole mess, but for some reason, I just couldn't make myself leave him with no one at all. He'll always need someone to protect and care for, and Katie just happened to have a position open with her and her daughter for just that.

Okay, that was probably more information that you asked for, but for some reason, ever since I got a semi-angry review for breaking up Harry and Ginny, I feel the need to validate my reasoning every chance I get. It's probably overly sensitive on my part, but when you've been working on something for 4-8 hours a day for five months straight, you tend to treat it like another appendage.

Anyhow, if you ever have any questions about the story or about events in the universe of Harry and the rest of the cast as I have it set in my mind, please don't hesitate to ask or to email me at avsno26rocks@aol.com. I really love hearing from my readers, good or bad, but sometimes, when people ask me questions, it actually sparks my creative juices and makes a better story as I write it. Well, that's all for now, so until we meet again...

~Jess

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/07/10 0:13
Chapter: Chapter 23

Oh, Jess...I'm just...blubbering over Draco's death...poor Harry...with all his guilt...sob...poor Katie...

Author's Response: I knew before I even started this story that someone who didn't deserve to die was going to get killed. I sort of surprised myself when it was Draco, but it felt right in that sad, sad sort of way. Hugs! It does get better, though...I promise. :)

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/06/10 22:44
Chapter: Chapter 22

Merlin's pants! Draco and Katie! OMG yes!

Author's Response:

I'm not going to lie...Draco/Katie was the main reason I started reading 'Burning for Revenge.' The rest was you kicking total ass. :D This ship has always fascinated me from the moment I read the part in HBP when Katie was possessed by the necklace. From then on, they had to be together.

Oh, and sorry I had to kill Draco, but I wasn't done torturing Harry yet. I just hope I don't get hate mail from you about how I handled Ch. 27-32. I shall see you again soon!

Reviewer: Auroura_P
Date: 02/06/10 19:53
Chapter: Chapter 31

awwwwww.......keep up the good work!!! Great Chapter!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I do apologize that the updates are coming slower, but you are getting them as fast as I can write them and Hannah can post them up, so I am doing my best. Hang in there, the next chapter should be up in a few days. Take care!

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES