Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: chenlixiang (Signed) · Date: 09/06/17 19:23 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
2017.9.7chenlixiangnike air max 2017
nike nfl jerseys
polo ralph lauren outlet
nike huarache
uggs canada sale
hermes uk
uggs clearance
ralph lauren polo outlet
ugg australia boots
oakley sunglasses wholesale
ralph lauren outlet
coach outlet online
cheap ugg boots
ugg boots
ugg boots on sale 70% off
hockey jerseys
ralph lauren polo
nike huarache
cheap dior sunglasses
cheap snapbacks
cheap ray bans
michael kors outlet clearance
coach factory outlet
montblanc pens
mont blanc ballpoint pens
oakley sunglasses
under armour outlet
air jordan shoes
the north face
supreme t shirts
burberry outlet online
gafas de sol ray ban 2017
louboutin outlet
retro jordans
north face outlet
oakley sunglasses cheap
nfl jerseys
moncler jacket
fitflop sandals
adidas nmd runner
ugg outlet
coach purses
michael kors handbags
columbia outlet
swarovski crystal jewelry
mulberry uk
ugg clearance sale
pandora jewelry
mlb jerseys
moncler outlet
ugg outlet
supreme clothing uk
prada outlet store
oakley sunglasses
ralph lauren outlet
canada goose outlet
ugg boots
pandora charms
oakley sunglasses wholesale
ugg boots for women
longchamp outlet store
ray ban sunglasses outlet
rolex online store
oakley sunglasses outlet
polo ralph lauren uk
nike roshe run
uggs outlet
louis vuitton outlet
burberry outlet
kate spade outlet
ugg boots
chelsea jersey
canada goose sale
yeezy boost 350 kaufen
manolo blahnik
oakley vault
true religion jeans
oakley sunglasses
jordan shoes
ralph lauren shirts
louis vuitton handbags
salvatore ferragamo
cheap oakley sunglasses
ray ban sunglasses cheap
mac cosmetics outlet
ugg outlet
nfl jerseys wholesale
ugg boots
michael kors handbags
ugg outlet 70% off
mlb jerseys wholesale
ugg boots on sale
ugg outlet store
oakley sunglasses
coach outlet online 70% off
ralph lauren outlet online
ralph lauren outlet
nfl jerseys wholesale
tory burch uk
ugg boots 70% off
oakley sunglasses
carrera eyewear
true religion outlet
fitflops shoes
coach outlet online
fitflops sandals
adidas trainers
new balance shoes
nike trainers uk
pandora charms
superdry shirts
ugg australia
canada goose sale
true religion outlet
montre rolex
dolce & gabbana sunglasses
adidas stan smith
fitflops clearance
rolex oyster perpetual
christian louboutin outlet
yeezy 350 v2
ray ban sunglasses
ray ban sunglasses cheap
michael kors outlet online sale
coach factory outlet
pandora rings
louis vuitton handbags
discount nike shoes
coach outlet
nike store
michael kors outlet online
mulberry handbags
coach outlet store online clearances
kate spade sale
cheap nfl jerseys
fitflops shoes
true religion
coach outlet online shopping
uggs outlet online
mlb jerseys
mbt shoes
longchamp outlet
coach outlet online
coach canada
uggs slippers
polo ralph lauren uk
north face jackets
hermes outlet
uggs on sale
chaussures christian louboutin
armani eyeglasses
coach outlet
moncler jackets
ugg boots
ugg boots outlet
louis vuitton outlet
ugg outlet
christian louboutin uk
michael kors geldbörse
michael kors outlet online
ugg slippers
burberry sale
birkenstock sandals
uggs outlet
fitflops sandals
burberry outlet
tommy hilfiger canada
oakley sunglasses
canada goose outlet
prada outlet
kate spade sale
michael kors outlet 80% off
nike air max uk
ralph lauren soldes
ray ban wayfarer sunglasses
coach factory outlet online
occhiali da sole ray ban
coach outlet store online
jordan 14
pandora charms
christian louboutin outlet
longchamp handbags
true religion sale
uggs outlet store
montblanc pen
the north face jackets
coach outlet
tory burch outlet
true religion outlet
burberry outlet online
nfl jerseys
michael kors outlet
ugg outlet store
michael kors outlet clearance
north face jackets
ralph lauren italia
burberry outlet online
ugg boots clearance
christian louboutin uk
ugg boots 70% off
michael kors uk
true religion sale
giuseppe zanotti shoes
cheap jordan shoes
coach outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
christian louboutin outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
michael kors väska rea
the north face outlet
adidas wings shoes
kate spade outlet store
ralph lauren outlet
adidas yeezy boost 350
louis vuitton outlet
coach factory outlet
nba jerseys wholesale
ralph lauren españa
supreme shirts
polo outlet online
christian louboutin outlet clearance
ray ban sunglasses outlet
uggs outlet
jordan shoes
canada goose jackets
ugg boots
louis vuitton bags
cheap nfl jerseys
ralph lauren shirts
coach outlet
hermes belt
ralph lauren shirts
nike outlet 30% off
michael kors handbags
adidas shoes
michael kors canada
ralph lauren t shirt
oakley sunglasses wholesale
adidas soccer shoes
tory burch outlet online
vans shoes
cheap jordans
louis vuitton uk
ugg boots
ferragamo outlet
ralph lauren outlet
fitflops outlet
jordan shoes
north face outlet
michael kors outlet online
ugg outlet online
louis vuitton outlet online
kate spade outlet
christian louboutin sale
rolex datejust 2
prada outlet
superdry sale
coach outlet
ferragamo outlet
mcm outlet
nike outlet store
uggs clearance
ray ban sunglasses
cheap ray ban sunglasses
cheap jordan shoes
hermes handbags
ugg boots
christian louboutin shoes
michael kors bags
coach outlet
prada eyeglasses
nike air max online
nike blazer sneakers
michael kors geldbeutel
ralph lauren outlet
coach outlet store online clearances
adidas trainers shoes
michael kors
michael kors canada
mulberry bags
coach outlet
ugg australia
ray ban sunglasses cheap
coach outlet
coach bags
ralph lauren outlet
ugg australia
nhl jerseys
michael kors uk
coach factory outlet
north face outlet online
louis vuitton
burberry outlet online
ray ban aviators
ugg boots outlet
birkenstock sandals
coach factory outlet
uggs outlet
polo ralph lauren
christian louboutin sale
ugg boots on sale
cheap uggs
rolex daytona
ugg outlet
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet
adidas jeremy scott wings
fitflop outlet
ugg factory outlet
ralph lauren
ugg boots
nike air max shoes
moncler outlet
nike factory outlet
pandora charms
oakley sunglasses wholesale
coach factory outlet online
louis vuitton outlet
adidas yeezy
ferragamo belt
polo outlet
nike factory
adidas outlet
michael kors outlet
ugg boots clearance
michael kors outlet online
polo ralph lauren
coach outlet online
adidas yeezy
michael kors outlet
ray ban zonnebril sale
uggs outlet
michael kors geldbeutel
ugg sale
coach factory outlet
ugg slippers
tory burch handbags
uggs outlet online
versace sunglasses
michael kors handbags
uggs classic boots
ugg outlet
canada goose clearance
coach wallets
ralph lauren outlet
michael kors handtaschen
north face outlet store
true religion outlet
ray ban uk
nike outlet store
adidas stan smith shoes
michael kors väska rea
michael kors outlet clearance
ray ban online
adidas outlet store
cheap michael kors handbags
coach factory outlet
north face outlet 70% off
michael kors damenuhr
longchamp outlet
polo ralph lauren outlet
cheap nfl jerseys
ugg boots
adidas yeezy boost 350
ugg sale
kate spade outlet
coach outlet store online
michael kors outlet
moncler outlet
manchester united jersey
adidas outlet
tory burch outlet
cheap ray ban sunglasses
cheap jordan shoes
ugg outlet 70% off
adidas yeezy boost 350
louboutin shoes
pandora jewelry
fitflops shoes
christian louboutin sale
ugg sale
cheap jerseys
ugg boots
air jordans
ugg australia boots
cheap ugg boots
ugg australia
ugg boots on sale
ugg outlet online
michael kors handbags
adidas originals uk
converse shoes
ugg boots
north face jackets on sale
coach outlet
cheap pandora jewelry
nfl jerseys from china
moncler jacket outlet
coach outlet
ray ban sunglasses
cheap ugg boots
ugg boots outlet
hermes birkin handbags
true religion jeans
coach factory outlet online
jordan shoes
ugg australia boots
uggs
michael kors outlet 70% off
prada bags
ugg boots uk
nike running
yeezy boost 350 v2
ray bans
ugg factory outlet
coach outlet store online clearances
nike factory store
louis vuitton handbags
coach outlet online
uggs outlet
burberry handbags
prada outlet
canada goose for sale
michael kors handbags
the north face clearance
cheap jordans
cartier sunglasses
ugg on sale
oakley sunglasses outlet
ralph lauren
north face clearance
canada goose outlet
birkenstock shoes
ugg boots cheap
michael kors outlet online
canada goose canada
2017.9.7chenlixiang


Name: Vorona (Signed) · Date: 02/28/11 22:04 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
This was a very unique story. I've never thought to think about how Dementors might see their lives or how Muggles might feel when confronted by a Dementor. I thought both descriptions were equally well done.

The first thing I noticed was the setting. You have a wonderful way of setting up the scene. I could really see myself there in London. The Lovecraft quotation helped with that, too. I love how the two men get cornered into a barrier that they can't get around. That was a nice touch. I could really see them there.

I also liked your structure -- staring with the Dementor, then Adrien, then back to the Dementor. It allowed us to see both sides to the situation. The Dementor seemed to know everything, while everything was foggy and confused to Adrien . . . but then it was Adrien who thwarted the Dementor, even though he didn't know what he was doing. I loved the presence of mind you gave to Adrien, and I couldn't help but root for him, even though I knew it meant he was going to have to kill himself.

Overall, the plot was good. You set it up so well -- the Dementor doesn't find any resistance in Dmitri, so both the Dementor and the reader are expecting it to be just as easy with Adrien . . . only it's not. You have a great twist there. Even though I was hoping for it, I didn't really expect he'd manage to kill himself. You kept the suspense up really well. I also thought the Dementors were definitely accurate from what we know from canon . . . maybe too accurate. I found that you used the word "rattling" to describe its breath more often than maybe you should, and even in the same constructions. For example, in the third section, in the first paragraph, you write, "I let out a harsh rattling breath" and then just a few paragraphs after that, you write, "I let out a long rattling breath". I think you could have used other words and structures to describe the breath, rather than essentially repeating the same one.

I did not notice any glaring mistakes in grammar, so even if there are any, they didn't stick out or distract me from reading. And I loved the title! I didn't know what I was getting into, but after I finished reading, I realized how perfect it is. Overall, I really enjoyed seeing this take on the Dementors and Muggles. It felt natural, realistic, and interesting.


Name: Nitwit Blubber Oddment Tweak x (Signed) · Date: 06/13/10 19:57 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
Firstly, I love the quote at the beginning of the fic. I think it really sets the scene quite wonderfully - very apt, very striking, very accurate. It reminds me of Dumbledore's quote… what is it again?

Quote: It's the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.

For me, the use of the quote was a great start to the story.

One of the initial things I noticed when reading was the use of first person narrative. I found it rather off-putting. I've never exactly thought of a Dementor thinking clear, concise thoughts, more… basic feelings. In my head, they're beings, rather than actual humans, if you get what I mean. The first person, for me, just wasn't quite right. I understand the purpose of it being first person - to really suck you in, to really comprehend the "brain" of a Dementor - but it just didn't quite work for me. The way things were phrased were too human-like: can a Dementor, in fact, make the distinction of 'deciding' to do something? I think it would have made more sense to just have it 'do' something, rather than making a conscious decision to do it. To be honest, if I were to write from a Dementor's POV, I would be hesitant as to what narrative to choose. I suppose it would be a toss between third or second. Third could be too uninvolved, too nonchalant, and would more than likely detract from the whole striking, Dementor's point of view element. I would have liked to see it told from the second person, actually. I know it's difficult to pull off, but I have quite a penchant for second person narrative, when it's done well. That way, you would still things from the Dementor's eyes, but I think it would have been less… human-like. I've never thought about a Dementor thinking at all, if I'm honest. It never entered my head that they could think or feel like a human does. In my head, they're more… beings, than actual humans. In my mind, they rely on instinct, much like an animal does. It doesn't seem fitting that they can think so concisely and so thoroughly, but then have that complete lack of moral distinction. It doesn't match. How can a creature make so many observances, then not understand, or at least, explain why they are so? I think to have them closer to creature than human is more apt.

I also think that the story would have been more effective if it was told in the present tense. In my head, it seems odd that a Dementor would 'remember' a previous event, if you get me. I think it would have been more realistic, and more powerful for things to be happening as you read it. More hard-hitting, really. The Dementors, as magical creatures rather than actual human beings, seem like they would just exist, rather than live, and it would seem more appropriate to have them 'in the moment', rather than reflecting.

The style of writing in the piece… I'm not sure about it. I found the majority of the sentences to be overly long - not poorly written, for some of the images were truly intense, and the descriptions were certainly evoking - but just over-done. I felt it was too much. It jarred with my understanding of how a Dementor 'thinks' - short, sharp sentences and gut feelings, rather than detailed observations. The writing was though-provoking, but not quite as effective as what it could have been. This paragraph, though, is amazingly powerful in its imagery and description:

His soul, a white, hazy, shapeless form slowly emerged from within this human’s disgusting mouth, which was now hanging open like an open gateway. It ascended like thick smoke and was starting to take on various shapes and sizes before I promptly drew it into my mouth, trapping it in me eternally—never to be free and always surrounded by darkness, just like its human body, which would remain an empty shell forever more.

Not only does the event sound exactly like how I had pictured it to be, but the last few lines are just wow; so morbid, so disturbing, but so powerful.

To me, there seemed to be several potential endings, marked by the switch in narrative (which I found distracting, and a tad unnecessary…) This line, which was so dramatic, so touching, and so powerful, could have been an ideal finish:

Quote:
“For my sins,” he managed to croak out, feeling his life drain out of him. And without another moment’s hesitation he pulled the trigger…

While I didn't like the switch between the Dementor and Adrien, I think it could have been left there, and ended with a bang.

As a general observance, I found the whole concept of the story to be terrifically original and intriguing. I hope my review doesn't sound too critical, as I really did enjoy reading this one-shot, and I think you are a truly gifted writer. You have amazing potential :)

~Emma~


Name: Liandrin (Signed) · Date: 06/07/10 9:10 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
First off, you quoted my favourite weird science/gothic horror author. You are made of awesome sauce!

I have never read a story from a Dementor’s point of view. The fact that you chose that particular epigram from that particular author was very clever, in my opinion. The premise behind this story is interesting and clever. To me, it is a piece with potential. You have some great lines and imagery in some places; however, I feel as though you should have expanded on them:

To add to this mad fear, I skillfully brought forth his most terrible memories and drowned him with them.

This is a good sentence, but I feel that it should have been expanded. Show us a terrible memory, show us how the Dementor drowned his victim with his own memories. Demonstrate that fear! I know that you end up doing that, later on, through the eyes of Adrien, but the reader’s attention span is short. You’re writing to a generation raised by television, video games, and the Internet. Our needs have to be satisfied immediately or else we move on. ^_~

Aside from my critique, the images I do like are the ones that you keep simple and clean:

Instantly, my deep cavern of a mouth yawned wide open as an immense pleasure swept through me. I let out a deep rattling breath as I sucked the air in front of him, rendering him completely speechless. It was only a matter of seconds now…his soul was mine to take and I relished in that thought alone.

Now, this is actually chilling, if only in the simplicity of its description. The reader is not laden with an over-abundance of adjectives and cheap metaphors. I like this.

White fog blurred his senses as the cold clenched at his heart – the uncanny sensation causing the hairs on the back of his neck to stand on end.

Here, again, more simple imagery, which really helps the flow of your work: I want to see more of this type of prose!

I knew what it was and I knew there was nothing I could do to go anywhere near it, but I stretched my arm out anyway as the slightly translucent creature took flight and soared into the morning sky.

This was made of WIN. I really liked this and the description beforehand. In fact, the last scene is moving and pretty darn close to brilliant. IMHO.

To end on a positive note, I really did like the twist told from the Demontor’s PoV. Please don’t be discouraged by any of my seemingly negative concrit. I just think you have great potential, especially with these creative plots of yours.


Name: southern_pride (Signed) · Date: 12/24/09 0:22 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
Hey!

Oh my word! That was amazing! I was completely shocked! A demeantor?!? Wow... I really don't know how to describe this. Well, I loved how you showed both points of view. I don't think I have ever viewed them as creatures of thought. I just took them for mostly instinct. That was a pretty amazing idea for a one shot. I honestly was shocked and amazed when I finished reading this. I absolutely loved it!!!!!!!

How's that for a rambling review? Hahaha!

Try try em!

S_P


Name: sweetgalz107 (Signed) · Date: 11/17/09 15:00 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
wow

Author's Response: ^_^v Thanks!!


Name: 62442hedwig (Signed) · Date: 11/10/09 8:08 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
Wow, the detail was amazing! Excellent job. I really liked how you described the dementor's point of view, and the very ending when Andrian's soul (I hope I'm right with that) escaped.

Author's Response: Merci beaucoup! For the first time I could play around with a character/being(?) lol...I was able to make up the things it would do w/o being scared whether I was being canon/non-canon ^^ As for Adrien's soul escaping: that was a rather interesting scene to write out...! Of course, I don't really know what actually happens when we die, but I like to imagine that something of that sort would take place =P Thanks a ton for your review!!


Name: WeaslKing (Signed) · Date: 10/26/09 0:59 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
That was really quite good.
Lovely writing.
^_^

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you so much! I'm really glad you decided to have a look at this fic too!! Your review is much appreciated! ^^


Name: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor (Signed) · Date: 10/15/09 19:02 · For: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang
Absolutely excellent! The Dementor's Kiss in the perspective of the Dementor is a completely unique perspective, and I think you did beautifully.

I love the fact that Adrien thwarted the Dementor in the end, even if the man was a thief and a murderer.

Extremely well done, IMO.

Author's Response: You're the first to review this story! Yay! I got all excited (as I usually do) when I received an e-mail saying that it was approved! =D I've been waiting for a plot to come into mind...I wanted to write something dark and yet artistic? I'm not sure if that's the correct word lol, but this came into my head one day and I got writing!

First off, I'm really glad you liked my characterization of the Dementor! I didn't have much reference, so it was a nice challenge *smiles* Secondly, I don't usually like killing off my characters, but it suited the situation and I couldn't let it by ^_^

Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I really appreciate it!


You must login (register) to review.