MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For The Resilient

Name: butterbar (Signed) · Date: 11/08/10 9:30 · For: To a Year of Changes
My Official Review for The Resilient (with An Aversion to Change underlies)

Originality: 8.5/10. Though having Draco and Hermione as Head Boy and Girl and then falling in love is a bit cliché on this site, you do manage to add your own twists. I especially like how you made it that Voldemort won the battle. Your take on Azkaban, what happened at Brannon’s and at the Dragon’s Keep are all very interesting. I also try to expect the unexpected with your story.

Characters: 8.5/10. It is very interesting how you keep characters the same yet also manage to change them. It’s both daring and amazing how you kill characters off- most authors don’t have the nerve to do so, even when it is direly interesting. I wouldn’t mind a mention of Ron, though!

Plot: 9/10. Again, your plot draws me in, making me want to read and reread every chapter.

Writing Style: 9/10. I especially like how dark and twisted everything is. You manage to be descriptive but not over the top, which is especially important for these type of stories. Your graphic violence is a magnificent mix of subtleties, innuendoes and saying things out right. Questions always jump out at me and you manage to solve them beautifully, though you still leave some hanging (*cough* WHY DID DRACO BETRAY HERMIONE? *cough*). I, for one, am glad that it is slow moving. Amazing, m’dear. Simply amazing.

Gut Instinct: 9.5/10. It’s fantastic. Just fantastic. It’s definitely one of my favourites.

Things to Fix: Please, update whenever you can. I know that you have other things to do, the process is slow, and that you’re very busy, but I, as an impatient and drawn in reader, would love to see more chapters. One every two weeks would be amazing. Plus, please answer the main question eventually… why, Draco? Why? Even tying off a few more questions, adding more information past characters (Blaise? Ron? Goyle?) and of course, updating more often, would send your story over the top.

Overall, you should have gotten a 44.5/50 but I am giving you three grace points (for being the best Dramonie- even better than The Unseemly Proposal- out there). AMAZING STORY. AMAZING.

Total Score: 47.5/10


PS: Please respond to this with your feedback. And of course, more updates would be superb. KEEP WRITING.

Author's Response: Wow, what a review! Reminds me of when I got essays returned to me in college (including the high marks! Lol!) Originality: I think one of the most believale ways to build a relationship between Draco and Hermione is to put them into situations where they have to be near each other. Familiarity builds friendship, friendship builds love. Them being Head Boy and Girl seems likely (even in canon, to an extent) and everyone has to start somewhere! And I hope I can keep you on your toes, even when you are expecting the unexpected! Characters: It's at once difficult and immeasurably fun to take Rowling's characters and make them "my own." On the one hand, I feel like I need to stay true to the heart of who they are. On the other, I put them through so much that it's unrealistic to just keep them static. I think this is where I get a lot of critiques from fans, too, who say that I've changed them too much. I know I have, but I feel like the changes have been justifiable. And Ron is dead. I'll refer you back to Chapter 13 for that - he was in the pit with all the others. Plot: Thank you!! Writing: Some of the credit here certainly goes to my betas. They've improved me beyond measure! All of the questions I've left hanging (and trust me, I know what they are...) will be answered in time. I like slow-moving plots as much as the next reader (though I suppose some don't...), but some questions will even have to wait until the epilogue to be answered. Hehehe Gut: Thanks so much!!! Fixers: Updating every two weeks would be a dream. Unfortunately, I'm not even going to try to promise this. You, as a reader, deserve realism. Realistically, I can update once every three weeks, sometimes even longer depending on how I feel about the chapter. I never submit anything that I'm not totally happy with, which proves difficult, sometimes. Of course, why Draco betrayed Hermione will be answered soon. Blaise, Crabbe and Goyle are working in Azkaban as part of Draco's punishment for the hell they gave him 7th year (refer to Chapter 1 or 2, I believe.) Thanks ever so much for the extra points and all the wonderful comments! I've read "The Unseemly Proposal" and it is definitely a great story, so I'm very flattered you think mine is, at the very least, even comparable to it. Thanks again!! :D :D

Name: lalaland321 (Signed) · Date: 11/07/10 22:36 · For: To a Year of Changes
Hi, I just wanted to tell you that I love your stories. Your writing style is succinct but interesting, and the plot just sucks me in! I look forward to every new chapter.
Thanks, a fan

Author's Response: Thank you!!

Name: Luisa (Signed) · Date: 11/07/10 2:54 · For: To a Year of Changes
Wow. I can't even imagine how this story will end. Just wow, i feel so sorry for Draco....wuuhhh. Next!

Author's Response: :D Thanks for reading!!

Name: butterbar (Signed) · Date: 11/06/10 7:19 · For: To a Year of Changes

You honestly make my day with these posts. Please keep updating. Please.

Again- wow.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

Name: lovelollipops32997 (Signed) · Date: 11/05/10 16:05 · For: To a Year of Changes
:O:O:O:O oh.my.god THIS IS SO AMAZING :D:D:D:D please please PLEASE continue this oh please do

Author's Response: Thank you!!! :)

Name: butterbar (Signed) · Date: 11/01/10 15:54 · For: Azkaban
I'll give you some stale Halloween candy if you update right now... *puppy dog eyes*

Haha, well, your story is fantastic anyways. I always sigh, yell, laugh, scream and tear up reading this. :)


Author's Response: Haha, a tempting offer? Thanks so much for reading!!

Name: linux_Ginny (Signed) · Date: 11/01/10 8:24 · For: To a Year of Changes

Author's Response: :D

Name: dracoalways (Signed) · Date: 11/01/10 7:27 · For: To a Year of Changes
Love to be back in the action! Excited for more!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Name: Llyrfe (Signed) · Date: 11/01/10 4:52 · For: To a Year of Changes
arghhhh.... why are you making Hermione suffer this much... geez... i can feel her agony, her sufferings... you made me want to kill all those jerks who hurt her (ahem... Voldemort and Draco Malfoy, they're no. 1 on my list...) ...damn girl your good (your a girl right? hehe... ) , good plot, good writing... your very talented... anyways can't wait for your next update... tnx

Author's Response: Thank you!! So glad you like it. And yes, I'm a girl. Hehe :)

Name: Snidget151 (Signed) · Date: 10/31/10 20:03 · For: To a Year of Changes
Parting is such sweet sorrow...

It seems far too soon for them to be going separate ways. You've always been good to us Dramionie fans in the past, so I'll trust that you have magnificent things in store for the dynamic duo.

Thank you for the quick update. This was a wonderful thing to read on Halloween.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, it was mean, wasn't it? And they were making such progress! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!!

Name: thebookthief21 (Signed) · Date: 10/31/10 19:43 · For: To a Year of Changes
Oh my.
Of course the moment I have been anticipating for 16 chapters happens and then gets ripped away. I knew something like this was going to happen though. How you manage to make it seem so realistic is beyond me, but I would say it's some of your finest writing to date.
I can't wait to see how the plot developes from here. Brilliant work :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! :)

Name: butterbar (Signed) · Date: 10/31/10 10:09 · For: To a Year of Changes
I love this story. Please update! It's amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

Name: listopad (Signed) · Date: 10/31/10 4:31 · For: To a Year of Changes
great chapter (as always:): poor Hermione, I'm wondering what will happen to her in that new castle? becouse I thought that Resilients will have something special task maybe for her? or ... well somethng like that. are they good guys after all? and your Draco is completly mystery to me: he still love her! (ufff.... so good) but maybe he should told her a little more about what wiil happen? and now the curisity is killing me! so please don't bother yourselve in review like "i don't like draco in this story" becouse army of your fans really love him! and we're waiting for more :) Great job :))

Author's Response: I've received so much support via these reviews - it's funny how the few negative ones can stick! But I will certainly try not to let them any more. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!! :)

Name: iwishicouldwrite (Signed) · Date: 10/30/10 13:42 · For: To a Year of Changes
oh my god I love your fanfictions!! This one and it's predecessor are amzing - two of my favorities!!! I hope you update soon - I'm dying to learn what voldemort's caste is like!

Author's Response: Thank you!!!

Name: cassiexron (Signed) · Date: 10/30/10 13:08 · For: To a Year of Changes

Author's Response: :)

Name: girlmeetsworld (Signed) · Date: 10/30/10 9:39 · For: To a Year of Changes
i love your writing and the plot is amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Name: Hp_101 (Signed) · Date: 10/29/10 22:17 · For: To a Year of Changes
YAY! I LOVE WHERE THIS IS GOING!!  Oh this is so exciting!! Update soon please! xx

Author's Response: :D Thank you!!

Name: HarryPotter317 (Signed) · Date: 10/29/10 21:44 · For: To a Year of Changes
What a perfect way to end off a friday night! The chapter was amazing!! Thank you for the quick update. I'll be crossing my fingers for another one. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! Glad you liked it!

Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 10/29/10 20:22 · For: To a Year of Changes
Oh! Just wow!!

Author's Response: :D Thanks!

Name: Moonlight Goddess (Signed) · Date: 10/29/10 20:19 · For: To a Year of Changes
i feel so sorry for her!
thanx for the quick update!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review.