Reviews For The Dark Phoenix
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/28/11 10:44
Chapter: Three: Guess Who's Coming to Dinner

There was one part where I was confused. Towards the beginning, Tonks made a comment to the effect that--it was all they needed for those two (I think Harry and Ginny) to come down the stairs like they owned the place. It seemed like a petty comment, unless I'm forgetting something from before. Also at the beginning, was Teddy saying that Phoebe is an animagus? I like that Hogwarts is bringing in foreign languages as part of the curriculum. It seems to round out their educational offerings more. I think it's a good idea and it sounds fun to have "round robins" using several languages. Great chapter.

Author's Response: What Tonks is trying to say in that typical British understatement is that she doesn't want Harry and Ginny to forget that company's on the way and traipse down the stairs in their dressing gowns or other things one would do at home without giving it a second thought. Recognizing that the wizarding world is still much more old fashiioned that ours, she also doesn't want their guests making unwarranted assumptions about Harry and Ginny about what are fundamentally private matters. (Remember he introduces her as his fiancee at this point.) In spite of her more liberal attitudes, Tonks clearly is a master of discretion as not even Hermione figured out her attachment to Remus the whole time the trio stayed at Grimmauld Place. (Some elaboration will occur in upcoming chapters, but I apologize if it wasn't clear that Tonks was more concerned about Harry's feelings and the burden of the notoriety that he can't seem to escape.)

Teddy and Phoebe have conflicting versions of why the bunny is at the Burrow. Harry is trying to suggest to Teddy that perhaps he doesn't have all the facts and may be jumping to conclusions. What he's not saying aloud, but thinking to himself, is that all children, including magical ones, have vivid imaginations.

Your brain is more agile than mine if you think the 'round robin' would be fun. All I can think about is getting tongue-tied in multiple languages. But of course now that Remus has found acceptance, he doesn't feel the need to fade into the background as before and is no longer known as 'the quiet one.'

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/25/11 11:34
Chapter: Two: A Face From the Past

As always, the pictures you paint with your words are gorgeous. If this chapter sets the tone of the book, it's going to be a delight to read. I love seeing Remus in such a good place. He deserves to be there. Surprises, like seeing an old friend unexpectedly, are one of the things that keeps me going in life. I think James is coming back to soothe Harry. I can't wait for Lily to make an appearance, if that's in your plans. Kids sure know what buttons to push but it sounds like the extended family took care of the Durmstrang issue. All it took was the threat of developing some of the social graces. This chapter was so rich that it's difficult to comment on everything I liked about it. It's good to be back, reading some of your excellent writing.

Author's Response: I very much see this story openning with the soft sonata in the background as Harry savors his good fortune with an afternoon nap. Goodness knows, we should all learn to relax like that instead of pushing ourselves harder when we have a few extra moments to ourselves. The theme of Harry searching for his parents/family is something that JKR introduced with the Mirror of Erised in the first book so I borrowed it to become the underlying theme of this story as well.

Good to have you back with all your insightful comments.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/21/11 9:26
Chapter: One: Prologue

I've been restless lately--wanting to read but knowing I have to work on my own story. Then I remembered that I had this story to read. When I finished the second story in this series, I didn't care for the ending. I thought you should've let it end without explaining what was really happening--left it on a happier note. Somehow, after reading this chapter, I feel comforted. This is what it took to tie everything together for me. Either that, or the passage of time so I could accept that you let Remus and Tonks die, just as JKR did. So, we're off on another journey together. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I think you'll be happy with how the story progresses. I don't change reality, just give it a really hard tweak. More later, it's way, way past my bedtime.

Reviewer: Dementor97
Date: 11/06/10 15:02
Chapter: Seven: Insomnia

Absolutely the most amazing fanfic on the site. Period. We have a QSQ for best Next generation fic right here folks!

Author's Response: Thanks for the glowing compliments! (I’m a bit speechless, here.) Yours is one of the most wonderful reviews I've received. Sounds like you enjoyed reading this story just as much as I enjoyed writing it. Hope you’ll check out some of my other tales as well.

Reviewer: iLuna17
Date: 09/11/10 18:38
Chapter: One: Prologue

wow . . . that is all i can say. I love it, it shows the not everything is perfect, like so many books.

Author's Response: Glad you liked the starting point. Needless to say, I found the ending to DH to be very bleak. Sure, the epilogue paints a rosier picture, but that is a whole lot of years later. So with all that open landscape of unanswered questions, I found it intriguing to explore how Harry would have reacted once the new post-Voldemort reality sank in. Hope I managed to inject a bit of realism. Do let me know what you think as you continue to read on.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/30/10 18:06
Chapter: Epilogue: A Bend in the Road

Bravo! Standing ovation! So sad that it has ended, but as you said it could be just beginning! LOVE IT!!! Enjoyed every second and I think I will read it again!

Author's Response: I am so, so flattered that you want to go back and reread the entire story. It always hangs together so much better when one chapter flows right into the other. I realize I ended it with a bit of a cliffie so I submitted the beginning of a new story right away. You will recognize it, guaranteed.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/25/10 13:00
Chapter: Thirty-Seven: The Future and the Past

Very nice and sad and happy and wow! I love it that the $$ will got to the beterment of werewovles!

Author's Response: So happy you liked the final blow to Umbridge’s ego. I so wanted something that wasn’t cruel, but still satisfying.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/15/10 10:18
Chapter: Thirty-Six: A Transition of Government

Fantastic!! You are really amazing at this! I love the take on Captain Hook and I can't wait to hear how you work out Umbridge!

Author's Response: Thanks for all the encouragement. It is truly music to my ears. There are more twisted tales in the upcoming chapter. Hope you like the final comeuppance for the Toad Woman.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/03/10 13:11
Chapter: Thirty-Five: Hatching Plots

Wonderful! I totally enjoy how you write Snape and I hope you will include his prank in the next chapters!!

Author's Response: I’m thrilled that you like my take on Severus! I think the key to his character is that you can rework some of the rough edges, but you can never file them down. Otherwise, you loose the essence of the character. Rather like soda that’s gone flat. You’ll be pleased to know that I’m working on a Severus-centric tale for Christmas – which is really not that far away. And despite the new insight that he will gain, I promise he will still be his prickly, unrepentant self at the end.

I hope to tie up as many of the loose ends as possible in the few chapters remaining to this story. If not, I can always revisit events with a flashback in a future installment.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/26/10 8:20
Chapter: Thirty-Four: Command Performance

FAB!! Love it! I love the trick with the wolves and I hope there is more to what happens to dear Umbridge!

Author's Response: Glad you liked the climax to the main story line. There will be a little more about Umbridge, but mostly how it impacts the others. Hope you’re not too disappointed to learn that I’m not doing a police procedure version (don’t remotely have the knowledge for that) so you’ll just have to imagine Moody growling, “Book ‘em, Dano.”

Don’t think there isn’t more to come, though, as I still have a few subplots to wrap up and there will, as always, be some interesting twists.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/11/10 14:00
Chapter: Thirty-Three: Improvisation

Oh oh oh oh oh!! Update fast!! Totally entertaining!! LOVE IT!

Author's Response: Just summited Ch. 34. Hopefully it won't be as long this time! Glad you're enjoying Dolores' comeupenace.

Reviewer: bigtimer
Date: 07/01/10 10:30
Chapter: Thirty-Two: Let the Pieces Fall

wow great chapter, i can't stand that frilly toad. snape is soo great in these books i love it

Author's Response: Snape is one of my absolute faves, too! If only I had his delivery…. Oh well, I can at least pour my black heart into his dialogue. And I promise not to kill him off in my universe. Umbridge is truly odious, isn’t she?

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/01/10 9:15
Chapter: Thirty-Two: Let the Pieces Fall

WOW! Great chapter! I knew Pheobe was turning into a rabbit, that's really cool! Arrest toad face!

Author's Response: Don’t worry. Dolores will get her comeuppance. But you have to give Hermione a chance to shine. That’s all I can say for now.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/28/10 16:23
Chapter: Thirty-One: Frenzy

Oh my GOSH! Exciting!! Next chapter QUICK!!!

Author's Response: More excitement to come, but the roller coaster ride is not over yet! Just submitted next chapter.

Reviewer: x-emily7
Date: 06/23/10 13:08
Chapter: Two: A Face From the Past

I dont reallly understand what is going on..:/ could someone please explain whether tonks and remus are suposed to be alive or what!?? Really loved the first chapter though :D

Author's Response: I’m happy you liked my depiction of grieving Harry in the canon world of Chapter One.

OK, so you’ve walked into volume 3 of what is already a three-part series. Let me try to catch you up. Other than the first and last chapters, this story takes place in an alternate universe where Voldemort has been defeated and Tonks and Remus are still alive. (Don’t be surprised to find more survivors, although I stick with the main storyline through Book Six.) Escaping to this other reality is a coping mechanism for Harry as he struggles to keep memories alive. For Teddy Lupin, it allows him to interact with the parents he never knew.

An alternate version of Harry’s 7th year through the final battle with Voldemort is established in “HP & the Hero’s Lament.”

Sera is an OC who Remus encountered while undercover in the werewolf camps during the untold portions of “Half-Blood Prince.” His adventures are chronicled in “Cruel Moon for the Misbegotten”. Both stories can be accessed via my author page.

I know it’s a lot to take in at once, but it will all make sense as you read along. Just holler if you get confused again and I’ll throw you a lifeline.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/17/10 13:35
Chapter: Twenty-Nine: Tea with the Dowager

I liked it! Especially the look into Snape's trial!

Author's Response: So pleased you like the mini courtroom drama. It occurred to me that there was a big gap between Snape still in hiding at end of the previous story and him having established his own business at the start of this story. Hopefully, this flashback will answer a lot of questions about what happened in between.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/10/10 20:12
Chapter: Twenty-Eight: A Fox, Three Hens, and a Toad

I laughed myself silly at the part at the end about Binns! Too funny! Would you believe it didn't dawn on me about who "Dottie" was until Umbridge was mentioned! Very good chapter! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: So very, very happy that you liked my riff on Binns! So little is known about him, as well as Madam Pince, that I just couldn’t resist.

Umbridge had mentioned her knitting circle in the past, but I admit it was rather obscure. That’s why I added the little “ah-ha” moment in the middle of that passage so everyone could be on the same page.

Next chapter will be submitted on Monday, without fail.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/04/10 18:49
Chapter: Twenty-Seven: Gifts in All Shapes and Sizes

Love this and the last chapter! Can't wait to see how you nail Umbridge!

Author's Response: There’s no doubt that Umbridge is a slippery toad: hard to grasp and even harder to hold onto. The next chapter, which I am submitting today, contains a unique Dolores POV. Hope you enjoy!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/24/10 16:31
Chapter: Twenty-Five: The Devil's Coattails

So I take it Greyback has no contact with other prisoners? He isn't in there recruiting villians?

Author's Response: I hadn’t thought of that, but it’s distinctly possible. Something to keep in mind if I do a sequel, “The Darkest Phoenix of All.” lol

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/19/10 21:37
Chapter: Twenty-Four: The True Nature of North

This was a great chapter! A lot of deep thought going on here! Can't wait for more! So I take the Dementors were bored? And what happened to Remus?

Author's Response: No doubt about it, very little is known about dementors. Since one of the few facts JKR gives us is that they are not really alive in the same manner as other creatures, I thought it an idea subject for the Department of Mysteries to study. Not that there aren’t going to be a lot of roadblocks; the primary of which is how they deal with employees’ morale which the dementors systematically leeches away. Truly, there’s enough material there for a whole other story, well beyond the boundaries of this tale. Suffice it to say for our purposes, Remus and Mad-Eye were so accustomed to conjuring up Patronuses as private messengers for the Order, they were able to escape the encroaching dementors in the nick of time. Clearly, Mad-Eye will be sending a rather strongly worded memo to his mate in the Department of Mysteries advising that they need to get a firmer handle on their subjects.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Put Asunder by Equinox Chick 6th-7th Years
As a Slytherin Sorted two years after the Battle, Astoria has never been popular...
A Story for Charlie by Darkness Enshrouds 3rd-5th Years
A boy. A girl. A budding romance. If only things never got complicated... (Violence...
Scorpius Malfoy and the Salem Witch Trials by Hotrav 3rd-5th Years
The third story in the Scorpius Malfoy and the Sins of the Fathers series. Lucius...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES