Reviews For Educating Rita
Reviewer: HermioneJean1
Date: 07/09/13 8:22
Chapter: Educating Rita

This is hilarious! Well done. I couldn't stop laughing. I never liked Rita Skeeter. Good job and keep up the good work!! :-)

Reviewer: megkho
Date: 06/23/12 7:52
Chapter: Educating Rita

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 03/10/12 5:20
Chapter: Educating Rita

Funny! Made me laugh! Is the text from the Scholastic or Bloomsbury hbp(I've read Bloomsbury, the British version)

Reviewer: BellatrixBlack0207
Date: 02/15/12 12:06
Chapter: Educating Rita

i loved it! it had me lqughing all the way through! i especially love the public flogging idea. that really made me lasugh

Reviewer: canufeelthemagictonight
Date: 12/19/11 0:30
Chapter: Educating Rita

Augusta Longbottom, Queen of Comebacks! Rita Skeeter deserves everything she got.

Reviewer: bekki-unknown
Date: 02/11/11 7:51
Chapter: Educating Rita

A great story - a unique perspective and I like how it is very British (like myself and the orginal canon)!

Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it! I'm Scottish myself, and we get a lot of British TV shows up here, so Augusta offered me a great chance to use some British lingo (and all in context, too!). I'm a bit of a canon freak into the bargain, so most of my fics will stick as close to the written word (of JK) as possible. But it's nice to digress a little and imagine collaborations like Augusta and the lads ...

*wink*

Thanks for R & R-ing,

M ;)

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 02/09/11 22:02
Chapter: Educating Rita

That was absolutely hilarious!! I don't know where you got the idea from... but it was completely genius! Firstly, your characterisation of Mrs Longbottom was spot on. Her inner monologue about Diagon Alley boarding up and her pride in Neville was exactly how I would imagine her acting.

Fred and George were also characterised well, and I loved how your use of humour flowed naturally and wasn't at all forced or clunky. "Diarrita Skeeter" really made me laugh.

Which brings me to my next point - you portrayed Rita Skeeter very well and showed a slight change from in the books - she's not quite as cool, calm and collected and more likely to go off on rants about Harry. Which I thought was very in character for her.

I liked that despite the humour in this fic that you kept reality into it... especially this line It seemed her grandson was finally living up to the Longbottom name., which reminded me of the fact that up until this point, Augusta had never really valued Neville. You also managed to bring in an underlying feeling of conflict going on outside, and gave the feeling that whilst the Weasley's shop might be a refuge, there is danger and fear outside (which was demonstrated humourously by the vendor at the beginning).

So basically... I really loved this and how your humour was clever and yet the story remained entirely realistic. Great writing and characterisation!!

Author's Response:

Wow, what a brilliantly detailed and very welcome review. I'm chuffed to bits you enjoyed 'Educating Rita' so much and speak so highly of it. This was the first time I'd written any of these four characters, so I was a bit nervous about it - but I just knew that a story about the unlikely partnership of stern Augusta and carefree prankstrs George and Fred could work out well, given the right situation. She is so fabulously stalwartd, old school and stiff-upper-lip, and the two lads are so gregarious and effervescent ... Poor Rita. I almost feel sorry for her.

Almost ...

Glad you had so much fun reading 'Educating Rita'.

 M ;)

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 02/07/11 20:34
Chapter: Educating Rita

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Gotta love Mrs. Longbottom! Not to mention those masters of the art of jokes, Fred and George. Or Gred and Forge.

Author's Response:

Mrs Longbottom is the best, isn't she? So austere, so proper - so ripe for a partnership with the glorious Weasley twins. And who better for the terriific trio to show up than the Queen of Mean herself? Poor Rita, she didn't really stand a chance, did she?

 

*sniggers*

So glad you enjoyed,

 

M ;)

Reviewer: haaaaayyleeeeeyy
Date: 12/19/10 21:54
Chapter: Educating Rita

LOL , very good :)

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your review. Forgive the delayed reply but I've not been onsite for a long while. Glad you enjoyed the story!

 

M ;)

Reviewer: just like harry
Date: 09/18/10 15:40
Chapter: Educating Rita

that was funny and i absolutely loved it!!!!thank you for ending my day with a laugh and smile.

Author's Response: Hello just like harry, you're very welcome! Thank you for enjoying Granny Longbottom's and the twins' unlikely alliance! Thanks for R & R-ing, Kara's Aunty ;)

Reviewer: Dagmar Beck
Date: 07/13/10 2:02
Chapter: Educating Rita

This was great, real laugh out loud stuff I look forward to reading more by you 9/10

Author's Response:

Hello Dagmar Beck,

glad you had a good belly laugh :) The thought of Augusta and the twins teaming up against anyone is precious; but against Rita Skeeter ... it was just irresistible! That woman has annoyed me forever, and she absolutely deserved what she got!

*snigger*

Thanks for R & R-ing,

Kara's Aunty :)

Reviewer: the bushy haired know-it-all
Date: 04/20/10 17:55
Chapter: Educating Rita

Very funny! I loved it!!

Author's Response:

Hello the bushy haired know-it-all,

sorry about the delayed response. I've been taking some time off writing to recharge my batteries (and find my muse).

Glad you enjoyed the fic! Augusta's one of my favourite characters, as are the twins, and this was a golden opportunity for me to mix her no-nonsense attitude with their mischievous personalities (at poor Rita's expense - though she certainly deserved it!).

Thanks for R & R-ing,

Kara's Aunty :)

Reviewer: mortaldraco
Date: 03/16/10 19:43
Chapter: Educating Rita

"diaritta skeeter" that was brilliant...i had to stop reading i was laughing 2 hard 2 concentrate

Author's Response:

Hello mortaldraco,

 

Disclaimer: Harry Potter is owned by J.K Rowling, etc. Not me. I'm only dabbling my unworthy fingers in her magical world. No Copyright infringement is intended.

Credit: Harry Potter dot wikia dot com

Delphinius' Delights Chocolate Frog Cards Special Edition

Wizarding War Heroes

Card Number 27/40

Cedric Diggory


Cedric Diggory, born 27th September 1977. Son of respected Ministry official Amos Diggory (Department for the Regulation and Control of Magical Creatures).

 

Attended Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry from 1st September 1989, where his loyalty, integrity and faultless character saw him sorted into Hufflepuff House.

Even-tempered and extremely hard working, Mr Diggory was popular among fellow students from all Houses. Reported to have been particularly skilled in the arts of Transfiguration, Charms and Defence Against the Dark Arts. Skilled flyer, he became Seeker of the Hufflepuff Quidditch Team.

Named Prefect and Hufflepuff Quidditch Captain in his fifth year. Displayed an impeccable sense of fair play when, upon beating Gryffindor Seeker and Boy Who Lived (twice), Harry Potter, to the Snitch during a Quidditch match, he offered to replay it, believing his opponent had been seriously disadvantaged by a mass Dementor attack during the game.

Selected as (first) Hogwarts Triwizard Champion on 31st October 1984 when the legendary Tournament was resurrected after two centuries. Although enjoying overwhelming support from fellow Hogwartians, Mr Diggory refused to participate in the mass derision initially shown to fellow Hogwarts Triwizard Champion, Harry Potter (who, at the time, was universally believed to have circumvented the Age Line around the Goblet of Fire and to have inserted his own name for candidacy; a belief that was later disproved).

Successfully completed the First Task of the Triwizard Tournament by Transfiguring a rock into a dog, though suffered burns from a Swedish Short-Snout later when attempting to escape with the Golden Egg.

Winner of the Triwizard Tournament Second Task, Mr Diggory was lauded by all five Triwizard judges for his clever use of a Bubblehead Charm during the task in Hogwarts Lake.

Tying in first place with Harry Potter, Mr Diggory and his fellow Hogwartian were the first to enter the giant maze (specially grown on the school's Quidditch pitch for the occasion) at the start of the Third Task on 24th June 1995.

Successfully overcame obstacles that would debilitate a lesser wizard: Blast-Ended Skrewts, the Cruciatus Curse - used by an unfortunately Imperiused co-contestant - and an Acromantula (which he defeated with assistance from Harry Potter).

Despite finding himself within yards of the historic Triwizard Cup - and therefore seconds from becoming outright winner of the Tournament - Mr Diggory's innate sense of honour saw him stopping to aid Harry Potter, injured by the same Acromantula which had attacked him seconds earlier.

Once more displaying the extraordinary character for which Hufflepuff students are renowned, Mr Diggory invited Harry Potter to claim victory for himself by taking sole ownership of the Triwizard Cup - an offer he made in gratitude of Harry Potter's earlier assistance. After a short debate, both Champions claimed the Cup (and victory) together, though neither was aware at the time that it had been turned into a Portkey by Death Eater in disguise, Bartemius Crouch, Jr (masquerading at Hogwarts under Polyjuice Potion as Defence Against the Dark Arts professor Alastor 'Mad-Eye' Moody).

Unwittingly transported to Little Hangleton Graveyard, where Dark 'Lord' Voldemort (Tom Marvolo Riddle) was lying in wait for Boy Who Lived (twice), Harry Potter. Promptly murdered on Riddle's order by Death Eater Peter Pettigrew, making Mr Diggory the first casualty of the Second Wizarding War.

Described (shortly after) by acclaimed Hogwarts Headmaster, Albus Dumbledore, as exemplifying 'many of the qualities which distinguish Hufflepuff house: a good and loyal friend, a hard worker, he valued fair play'. Mr Diggory's shocking death was a severe blow to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and to Hufflepuff House in particular, where he is still considered to be 'the brightest, bravest, most loyal and exceptional student produced by Hufflepuff House in centuries'.

The C.E.D.R.I.C Society was grounded at Hogwarts to promote the values which the Joint Triwizard Tournament Winner embodied (Charisma, Endurance, Determination, Integrity and Character).

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Author's note: Dumbledore's dialogue lifted from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Chapter 37: The Beginning.

Gosh, that was quite sombre work. I try to put something witty on each 'card', but the circumstances that brought poor Cedric to public attention made it impossible.

*sniff*

Kara's Aunty ;)

sorry I didn't answer earlier - I've not logged on in a while!

Glad you enjoyed 'Educating Rita' so much though!

*beams*

And I'm also thrilled you like Rita's nickname so much :)

 Thanks for R & R-ing,

 

M :)

Reviewer: Hiyas-said-hi
Date: 12/14/09 20:28
Chapter: Educating Rita

FUNNY!!!!!

Author's Response:

Hello Hiyas-said-hi,

I love that review - seriously! Short and VERY sweet! I'm SO pleased you had a gigle with 'Educating Rita'. It was fun to write of her shame at Augusta and the twins' hands. Heaven knows she deserved a good public dressing down!

Thanks for R & R-ing,

Kara's Aunty :)

Reviewer: jaynefae
Date: 11/26/09 23:25
Chapter: Educating Rita

I love it! You have a flair for funny things. Augusta is just as I always imagined her. Why could those Daydream Charms be sold in the local Walmart? Too bad for that not happening, please write more of your funny fics!

Author's Response:

Hello jaynefae,

 

oh, wow - that would be brilliant, wouldn't it? Popping down to the local Asda (or 'Walmart' across the Pond) for a Daydream Charm!

 

The mind boggles with glee!!!

Delighted you enjoyd this so much, and I'm glad my Augusta lived up to your expectations.

*beams with happiness*

 

Thanks for R & R-ing,

M :)

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 11/23/09 1:27
Chapter: Educating Rita

Very funny. Maybe a line about Rita's "bugging" people would have made it even funnier.

Author's Response:

Hello captburke,

Thanks! Glad you liked it. Augusta and the twins are quite a dynamic combination, it seems (as poor Rita found out). Thanks for the 'bugging' suggestion. It's appreciated though I don't think it would fit with this story. All the characters are English, and they say 'insects' where Americans use 'bugs', so it wouldn't have been canon faithful to include it.

Thanks for R & R-ing,

Kara's Aunty :)

Reviewer: Virgil
Date: 11/16/09 20:05
Chapter: Educating Rita

Very well-characterized and humorous as well! diarrita skeeter.... haha.
~Virgil~

Author's Response:

Hello Virgil,

 

thanks very much! Poor Rita's name was just asking for a very unflattering makeover - although, at least now, it suits her more!

 

Thanks for R & R-ing,

 

Kara's Aunty :)

Reviewer: Kyouko
Date: 11/15/09 6:28
Chapter: Educating Rita

Congratulations!!! I have always wanted to see "Diar"rita Skeeter made a fool of. Thank you for your awesome writing skills and long overdue story line.

Author's Response:

Hello Kyouko,

Thank YOU for the lovely feedback! I'm pleased to know 'Educating Rita' entertained you so much :) And you're quite right: Rita was LONG overdue her come-uppance!

 

Thanks for R & R-ing,

 

Kara's Aunty :o)

Reviewer: avdreader
Date: 11/09/09 14:32
Chapter: Educating Rita

What a great one-shot!

Author's Response:

Hello avdreader,

Thanks! It was just a bit of fun at Rita's expense - she's such a vindictive, ghastly trollop that the only people fearless enough to give her a taste of her own medicine seemed (to me) to be Fred, George and Neville's scary granny!

Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for R & R-ing,

Kara's Aunty :)  

Reviewer: SnoopyMarauderess
Date: 09/18/09 16:42
Chapter: Educating Rita

i think you did AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111!!!!!

Author's Response:

Hello SnoopyMarauderess,

I take it from all those exclamation marks that you likrd it?

*grins*

I am muchly pleased! It always makes me happy to make someone giggle!

Thanks very much for R & R-ing, m'dear,

 

Kara's Aunty :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES