Reviews For Grave Days
Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 03/25/11 15:51
Chapter: Funereal Progress

your stories are so like Jk's that I have come to accept them as canon . . . but this out of all your stories is the one i like the best, and this is my favorite chapter. It had me sobbing the first time, and on the fifth I had a few strong tears. thanks for writing, never stop!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the compliment :-)

As my only completed novel length story, and the first thing I finished, I’m still rather fond of Grave Days.

Reviewer: bekki-unknown
Date: 02/17/11 5:42
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I really enjoyed reading this story, it made me forget that the books have officially ended by the way you started off directly after book 7.

I got tears in my eyes as well as laughing out loud - I liked "The Chosen One's Chosen One".

Harry is proving to be a great leader, and Ginny is big flirt (in a good way!) and I look forward to reading the next adventure!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I hope to fit a lot more stories in between the end of the Battle and the epilogue.

Given that there is a lot of grief (and several funerals) in this story I tried to add a little bit of humour when I could.

Harry has always been a great leader, he seems to have his best ideas in a crisis. Ginny overdoes the flirting in the next story.

Reviewer: Mdrnsamurai
Date: 01/19/11 17:59
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I have to say that I have treated both this and the Aurors and Schoolgirls stories as the 8th Book in the HP series. I feel very disappointed in the way that J.K.R. ended Deathly Hallows. Far too much information to just let it end that way. These stories have filled the gap that was left open. Your writing is absolutely brilliant and such a enjoyment to read. I am hoping that Aurors and Schoolgirls ends as well as Grave Days. Please keep it up! Thank You!

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. JKR left a lot of gaps to be filled, and all of my stories are an attempt to fill them with my own personal vision of the nineteen years. I may occasionally go beyond the epilogue. Though I’m more likely to look at other events during DH (as with Summer of ’97, Fred & George’s Busy Day and Tales of the Battle). More A&S soon. -N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 12/31/10 13:54
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

Oh I know what you mean about having fun writing the future histories of the Potter characters. I have lots of stories floating around in my head, but none have come to fruition yet. :) Perhaps one day when I get some time away from teaching English, I'll be able to write my own fanfic. I would definitely be apprehensive about letting everyone read it though. My writings are a little bit like my children. It's hard for me to give them up! Anyway, I'll certainly check out all of your other fanfics. You've definitely become one of my favorite fanfic authors! :)

Author's Response:

I have one future history, there is a spreadsheet and a lot of notes detailing births, deaths weddings and a rough timeline of everything from the end of the battle to well beyond the epilogue. Strangely, the most “far future” of my stories so far is “The Confession of Augusta Longbottom” in Tales of the Battle.

Happy New Year.

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 12/29/10 12:29
Chapter: Postscripts

Sorry! The last review got cut off short! Oops! Anyway, I was saying that I LOVED the phone conversations between Ron and Hermione, especially how he held the phone away from his ear like it would explode. Very funny! I was so glad everything worked out, even though I knew it would. :) Hermione becoming Head Girl was completely appropriate as well.

Overall, it was such a well-written and enjoyable story. I know you love doing fanfics on Mugglenet, but have you every thought about writing other stories? You've got a great style and voice to your stories that I'm sure would shine through in other stories besides the Potter world as well! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review(s) comprehensive reply below. (-: -N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 12/29/10 12:17
Chapter: Postscripts

Wow! What can I say about this story that I haven't already said in the past? I loved the whole thing and all the little side stories in each chapter. I thought I would just go ahead and review all the chapters in this one review, so brace yourself, it's going to be long! :)

Chapter 1: I loved that you continued right where JKR left off in the 7th book. The details about Kreacher were perfect, and I definitely got teary-eyed when Harry put the Elder Wand back into Dumbledore's grave. I'm glad Kingsley and McGonagall were there to help him. That's exactly how I pictured it would happen.

Chapter 2: I loved the part where Ron asked Hermione to be his girlfriend! So adorable! :) I loved all of Harry's converations with the minister as well. You did so well at conveying Harry's generosity and modesty through his actions (especially him donating 5,000 galleons to the charity!)

Chapter 3: Throughout the chapter, I felt so sorry for Harry having to visit all of those families who were grieving. I can't imagine having to go through something like that, and I felt that you conveyed Harry's emotional turmoil very poignantly and honestly.

Chapter 4: I loved this chapter! The reunion between Harry and Ginny is just like I pictured it! I love how Harry just blurted out, "Do you have a boyfriend?" to Ginny! That was a perfect touch!

Chapters 5, 6, 7, and 8: (I combined all these so this review wouldn't turn into a novel!) These chapters were very bittersweet. I laughed outloud at so many of George's responses to Harry and Ginny being a couple. I got teary-eyed when Ron described Hermione's and his experience with Hermione's parents. (I'm glad you described Hermione's parents as being so angry about their memories being erased because I've read other fanfics that have Hermione's parents just being happy when they get their memories back, and it just doesn't seem to be a genuine reaction.) I loved the Quidditch game before the funeral, and I loved that Ginny was a pall bearer. I thought that was very appropriate to have that detail. And all the scenes with Luna were wonderful! She's definitely one of my favorite characters. :)

All of the chapters having to do with the funerals were very well-written, and I loved that you added Reeta Skeeter snooping about because that was so true to her character! The scenes in the graveyard with the Death Eaters were very exciting as well. And I loved the DA galleons that Luna made. What a wonderful idea and a great tribute to Colin and Fred. Snape's funeral was very sad as well. It's hard not to feel sorry for him. I think my favorite part of the funeral chapters was definitely Fred's funeral and the headless hats! Too funny and very true to Fred's antics throughout the books. :)

Chapters 13 - 15: I loved the part in chapter 13 where Harry, Ginny, Ron, and Hermione drank to the memories of everyone. It was a very sweet and appropriate scene. I think it was perfect for Percy to be the voice of reason about Hermione's dilemma. Afterall, he does have plenty of experience in that department. :) It about broke my heart when Ron had to say goodbye to Hermione! It reminded me of when I had to say goodbye to my husband for a long period of time back when we were dating. (I still hate being away from him.) I absolutely LOVED

Author's Response:
Thanks for the epic review(s).

This is my first (and so far only completed) novel length story. There are three direct sequels planned: Aurors and Schoolgirls, Hunters and Prey, and The Slytherin Four (I’m still not sure about that last title). While I may write original fiction one day, I’m enjoying myself with these future history stories too much to stop. I have a couple more novel length stories rattling around my head, one set in 2009, when Harry and ginny are the parents of three young kids, and what I refer to as the Lavender/vampire story which takes place between Bare and Moon.

I’ve read very few “after the battle” stories, and they all quickly wrote past the immediate aftermath and the grief. For various reasons I wanted to write about those confusing and grief-filled first few days.

Given Ron’s almost covetous behaviour towards the Elder Wand I wanted Harry to deal with this himself, chapter one is (obviously) how I pictured it happening.

I hope that I get Harry right in this story, I find him easy to write, so I sometimes wonder, but he is generous and modest, with a tendency to be bad-tempered when he see’s injustice. He also tends too hide himself away when he’s unhappy. Writing Ron and hermione’s second kiss was fun, too.

The first piece of fanfic I ever wrote was the reunion. Again, I’ve read many versions of this,often with an angry and unforgiving Ginny. Personally, I think that’s wrong, their bevaviour in “The Seven Potters” and that birthday kiss meant “I will wait,” and stories which have Ginny with someone else during her seventh year cannot be canon, and are out of character for her.

There are a lot of adjustments for the Weasley’s to make, despite the loss of Fred, their family is getting bigger. I could not see the Grangers reacting well to being brainwashed (and that’s what it was). Luna simply arrives in my stories, says what she thinks and then leaves, she’s one of my favourites, to, but she is not an easy character to write.

The funerals had to be sombre occessions, bur I wanted to add some action and a little levity. I had the most fum with the Remus/Tonks funeral.

Percy’s sudden outburst was not planned, I originally had that conversation take a different course, with Molly and Arthur leading it, but suddenly Percy, who had made himself an outsider, chipped in, and Fleur, who has experience in family problems, took over.

The last couple of chapterswere a lot of fun to write as things (slowly) move towards a “new normal” not that harry, Hermione or the Weasleys have had much experience of normal.

Thanks again


Reviewer: theempress101
Date: 12/25/10 2:30
Chapter: Postscripts

this was very sweet but also very sad. during fred's funeral i couldn't stop crying, you described it beautifully. i do have one question. what happens with seamus and lavender? i always thought that they were meant to be.
possible story idea :)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. Fred's funeral was difficult to write until, I finally decide where the cemetery was.

I have written about Seamus/Lavender (though mostly Lavender) in other stories. All of my stories are linked. You need to read Tales of the Battle (Chapter 12 - Epiphany and Fall, and 13 - Seamus Awake.) followed by the one shot Bare and finally (for the moment)Moon. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/24/10 8:03
Chapter: Postscripts

I love the things you come up with for Luna. that last line was awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Luna needed to have the last word. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/22/10 10:53
Chapter: Family Plots

Loved the retelling of the story. This is great

Author's Response: Thank you, it was a much edited version, but really I can't se harry telling anyone (other than Ginny) everything. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/19/10 10:48
Chapter: A Pall Over the Burrow

Better and better. I want to cry at least one time per chapter. I am greatful you posted this perception of what happens after... Thanks

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Expect more tears. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/19/10 9:53
Chapter: Love Unveiled

Thanks for creating a story that fills in the blanks. You have a great skill at using the emotions created by JKR

Author's Response: Thanks fo the review. This entire story started from the idea of the reunion in this chapter. -N-

Reviewer: Praireidances
Date: 11/05/10 12:53
Chapter: Postscripts

This story is fantastic. It reads just as if The Deathly Hallows continued. Great job!

Author's Response: Thankd for the review. I'm glad that you liked the story. -N-

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 09/22/10 6:57
Chapter: Postscripts

I have really enjoyed "Aurors and School Girls" so I thought I would read the prequel and I am so glad I did! I love Post-Hogwarts stories and especially enjoy seeing the real couples together. It was sweet to see Ron so protective of Hermione and interesting to see Harry and Ginny's playful but passionate relationship. It was very clever how you fit the minor characters in too and I can never say no to seeing more of the Weasley clan together (even if it is minus Fred *tear*). Thank you for writing and sharing this amazing story!

Author's Response: Thank you. Grave Days is the foundtation on which all of my other stories are based and I sometimes gett sidetracked away from Aurors and Schoolgirls by the minor characters, like Colin (in Summer of '97), Lavender (in Bare and Moon) and Fred and George. I hope to post the next chapter of Aurors and Schoolgirls soon, in the meanwhile I'm busy doing more minor characters in Tales of the Battle.. N

Reviewer: Ginny Weasley-Potter
Date: 07/20/10 20:10
Chapter: Inhumations

I have to say your fix was very well written and the plot line was great! Are you going to finish aurors and schoolgirls?

Author's Response: Yes, I’ve been away but I’m busy re-working the next chapter now. N

Reviewer: hagridsbrother
Date: 05/13/10 20:38
Chapter: Postscripts

This story was great i cant wait to read Aurors and Schoolgirls

Author's Response: Thanks A&S will be coming soon. N

Reviewer: Raeinflight
Date: 05/10/10 16:05
Chapter: Postscripts

I cannot believe it is over!!!! That was wonderful, best story I've read in a long while. When will the sequel arrive? I am dying to know what happens next.
Also, I would love to see another busy day for Fred and George, the first one-shot was so lovely.

Author's Response: Thank You. The sequel will be resubmitted soon (as soon as I correct the typos in the summary). Given the when and where of the epilogue of Fred and George a sequel is out of the question (unless it’s simply George’s Busy Day). A prequel is possible. N

Reviewer: EmotionalTeaspoon
Date: 05/01/10 18:43
Chapter: Postscripts

I read this forever ago, but I thought I owed you a review! This was a really great story, one of the best post-war ones I've read yet. I love how in-canon it it, because most people have everyone out of character. I can't wait for 'Aurors and Schoolgirls'

Author's Response: Thank you. I’ve read a few post-war stories which skip rapidly past the funerals and concentrate on the snogging. Some start the snogging before the funerals, (and I suppose I did, too) but I wanted to try to explore the immediate aftermath. I now have several chapters of Aurors and Schoolgirls beta’d it should be coming soon.

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 04/23/10 6:55
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

After re-reading this story in its entirety, I think I need to review it and say how much I like it.

Despite what some others have said, I think the Harry/Ginny relationship has been well written. In HPB they behave in a similar way, but all the other things that are happening at the same time makes people forget about it. I also like your portrayal of Ron and Hermione, and some of the other relationships that we know aren't going to work out: because people, especially after a war like this, do end up going out with people they then split up with.

The only criticism I have is that too many of the original members of the DA survive and there don't seem to be any new members mentioned. I understand you don't want to introduce unnecessary extras, but Neville mentions writing signs that the DA is 'still recruiting' and a lot of original members won't be at Hogwarts (as you explore with Colin's photos and things, which I think is excellent). But the battle itself must be mainly original DA members as I can't see huge numbers of younger students sneaking back like Colin, though maybe one or two others did, and FIFTY PEOPLE DIE FIGHTING VOLDEMORT. I just don't think it's possible all of the DA apart from Colin survived.

Other than that, I think it's a fantastic story and I'm really looking forward to reading the sequel.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I’m glad that you like the story.

The Harry/Ginny relationship is at the heart of this story (and most of my other stuff, too). I’m glad that you like it. I don’t think that I made them overly affectionate, especially not after what they’ve been through. I found Ron and Hermione more difficult to write (though I hope that I’m improving there, too). I made a conscious decision not to have Angelina and George (or Neville and Hannah) get together immediately for the reasons you give.

I know that Neville did recruit others, but I made a decided not to include any “new” DA members at Colin’s funeral because Colin wasn’t at school that year. I gave the deaths a lot of thought.

The “Free DA” outside school, consisted of: Hannah (who’d already missed most of her sixth year); Justin, Colin and Dennis (Muggle-borns and in hiding), and; Katie, Cho, Angelina, Lee, Alicia, Fred and George (and Katies friend Leanne who was their mole inside the ministry). Part of their story is explored in “Fred and George’s Busy Day”. “F&G” also provides the opportunity for me to kill off a couple of adult OC’s who respond to the ‘We’re fighting’ call.

The remaining original members (apart from Harry, Ron, Hermione and Dean) were still at school, which makes them all at least half-bloods.

As for the student deaths I reasoned that we know four (arguably five, with Snape) of the dead: Lupin, Tonks, and two DA members, Fred and Colin. We also saw Lavender Brown’s feebly twitching body. I’m of the opinion that had any other known DA member died, JKR would have told us (after all, Colin wasn’t one of the more important characters). So, while it’s possible that other students (including some of Neville’s recruits) died, I decided not to arbitrarily kill any other “known” DA member. I have plans for Lavender (that may be obvious from her appearance at Colin’s funeral. As for the other fatalities, they are teachers, Aurors, Law Officers and parents who arrived when the call came out.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 04/19/10 10:52
Chapter: Postscripts

Very good! I enjoyed reading every chapter! Looking forward to the next one!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope that you enjoy the sequel, too. -N-

Reviewer: TNash
Date: 04/15/10 17:51
Chapter: Postscripts

Very well-written story. Well-plotted and well executed. I was especially impressed by the amazing lack of typos, misspellings and poor grammar compared to a lot of stories I've read. (I am an editor; those things are important to me!)
I thought the characterizations of Hermione's parents — their response to everything — was a bit out of character in relation to the books. But a very enjoyable work all in all.
I am looking forward to the sequel

Author's Response: Thank you. Having several Beta readers is a huge help. So thanks again Amelíe, Andrea, Apurva, Becca, and everyone else who helped. Hermione brainwashed her parents and sent them to Australia. I thought that their reaction was remarkably understated in the circumstances. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.

We have stories and authors in this archive.


Choose Theme:
The Green Knight Rises by Kerichi 6th-7th Years
In Creevey Comics the Green Knight works alone to uncover the truth. Scorpius...
Flowers in Winter by silverfirelizard53 6th-7th Years
She was a girl of exceptional talent and a kind heart, but she had been born...
Under the Southern Cross by FloreatCastellum 1st-2nd Years
Rolf Scamander has ventured to a remote archipelago to study a rare and exotic...
Today Will Be Better, I Swear! by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
'I'm going to miss you, Mr Ollivander,' said Luna, approaching the old man.'And...
Honestly by Gmariam 3rd-5th Years
Seven months after leaving Hogwarts, James Potter is fighting for the Order...