Reviews For Grave Days
Reviewer: Raeinflight
Date: 05/10/10 16:05
Chapter: Postscripts

I cannot believe it is over!!!! That was wonderful, best story I've read in a long while. When will the sequel arrive? I am dying to know what happens next.
Also, I would love to see another busy day for Fred and George, the first one-shot was so lovely.

Author's Response: Thank You. The sequel will be resubmitted soon (as soon as I correct the typos in the summary). Given the when and where of the epilogue of Fred and George a sequel is out of the question (unless it’s simply George’s Busy Day). A prequel is possible. N

Reviewer: EmotionalTeaspoon
Date: 05/01/10 18:43
Chapter: Postscripts

I read this forever ago, but I thought I owed you a review! This was a really great story, one of the best post-war ones I've read yet. I love how in-canon it it, because most people have everyone out of character. I can't wait for 'Aurors and Schoolgirls'
:)

Author's Response: Thank you. I’ve read a few post-war stories which skip rapidly past the funerals and concentrate on the snogging. Some start the snogging before the funerals, (and I suppose I did, too) but I wanted to try to explore the immediate aftermath. I now have several chapters of Aurors and Schoolgirls beta’d it should be coming soon.

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 04/23/10 6:55
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

After re-reading this story in its entirety, I think I need to review it and say how much I like it.

Despite what some others have said, I think the Harry/Ginny relationship has been well written. In HPB they behave in a similar way, but all the other things that are happening at the same time makes people forget about it. I also like your portrayal of Ron and Hermione, and some of the other relationships that we know aren't going to work out: because people, especially after a war like this, do end up going out with people they then split up with.

The only criticism I have is that too many of the original members of the DA survive and there don't seem to be any new members mentioned. I understand you don't want to introduce unnecessary extras, but Neville mentions writing signs that the DA is 'still recruiting' and a lot of original members won't be at Hogwarts (as you explore with Colin's photos and things, which I think is excellent). But the battle itself must be mainly original DA members as I can't see huge numbers of younger students sneaking back like Colin, though maybe one or two others did, and FIFTY PEOPLE DIE FIGHTING VOLDEMORT. I just don't think it's possible all of the DA apart from Colin survived.

Other than that, I think it's a fantastic story and I'm really looking forward to reading the sequel.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I’m glad that you like the story.

The Harry/Ginny relationship is at the heart of this story (and most of my other stuff, too). I’m glad that you like it. I don’t think that I made them overly affectionate, especially not after what they’ve been through. I found Ron and Hermione more difficult to write (though I hope that I’m improving there, too). I made a conscious decision not to have Angelina and George (or Neville and Hannah) get together immediately for the reasons you give.

I know that Neville did recruit others, but I made a decided not to include any “new” DA members at Colin’s funeral because Colin wasn’t at school that year. I gave the deaths a lot of thought.

The “Free DA” outside school, consisted of: Hannah (who’d already missed most of her sixth year); Justin, Colin and Dennis (Muggle-borns and in hiding), and; Katie, Cho, Angelina, Lee, Alicia, Fred and George (and Katies friend Leanne who was their mole inside the ministry). Part of their story is explored in “Fred and George’s Busy Day”. “F&G” also provides the opportunity for me to kill off a couple of adult OC’s who respond to the ‘We’re fighting’ call.

The remaining original members (apart from Harry, Ron, Hermione and Dean) were still at school, which makes them all at least half-bloods.

As for the student deaths I reasoned that we know four (arguably five, with Snape) of the dead: Lupin, Tonks, and two DA members, Fred and Colin. We also saw Lavender Brown’s feebly twitching body. I’m of the opinion that had any other known DA member died, JKR would have told us (after all, Colin wasn’t one of the more important characters). So, while it’s possible that other students (including some of Neville’s recruits) died, I decided not to arbitrarily kill any other “known” DA member. I have plans for Lavender (that may be obvious from her appearance at Colin’s funeral. As for the other fatalities, they are teachers, Aurors, Law Officers and parents who arrived when the call came out.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 04/19/10 10:52
Chapter: Postscripts

Very good! I enjoyed reading every chapter! Looking forward to the next one!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope that you enjoy the sequel, too. -N-

Reviewer: TNash
Date: 04/15/10 17:51
Chapter: Postscripts

Very well-written story. Well-plotted and well executed. I was especially impressed by the amazing lack of typos, misspellings and poor grammar compared to a lot of stories I've read. (I am an editor; those things are important to me!)
I thought the characterizations of Hermione's parents — their response to everything — was a bit out of character in relation to the books. But a very enjoyable work all in all.
I am looking forward to the sequel

Author's Response: Thank you. Having several Beta readers is a huge help. So thanks again Amelíe, Andrea, Apurva, Becca, and everyone else who helped. Hermione brainwashed her parents and sent them to Australia. I thought that their reaction was remarkably understated in the circumstances. -N-

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 04/15/10 16:44
Chapter: Postscripts

Neil,

congrats on finishing Grave Days! I'm so glad that you are continuing the story.

What I love most about your writing is your characterization and your humour. They are both great and fitting to the story. And, of course, all the Briticism you have taught me!

Again, good job, and thank you for letting me beta this amazing fic.

Andrea.

Author's Response: Andrea What can I say but thank you for sticking with me. Your awkward questions always keep me on my toes (sometimes a simple (Why?) can trigger an extensive rewrite). This is a good thing. Neil

Reviewer: macheel
Date: 04/15/10 15:09
Chapter: Postscripts

I really enjoy this story Wonderful writing. I can't wait to see Aurors and Schoolgirls.

Author's Response: I have two chapters of A&S beta’d so I hope to begin publishing soon, though I will finish “Fred and George” first.

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 04/15/10 11:19
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

That was great!!!
You are the best writer at getting the true voice of the characters.
Luna was spot on.
Looking forward to the new story.
Keep writing you have a great gift.

Author's Response: Thank you. I am so happy that you like my characterisation. :D I am trying to work on a Luna one-shot, but it’s slow going, she is so difficult to get right. I hope that you enjoy A&S Now that I’ve started writing, I simply can’t stop. -N-

Reviewer: EmotionalTeaspoon
Date: 04/06/10 21:06
Chapter: Committals

Aww!
how very sadd :( and Poor Ron&Hermione.
I hope to see another chapter soon?

Author's Response: I’ll be posting the next (final) chapter soon. -N-

Reviewer: bigtimer
Date: 03/25/10 10:01
Chapter: Committals

love it poor molly and george very well written one of the best post hogwarts

Author's Response: Thanksfor the review. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 03/24/10 13:01
Chapter: Committals

I love this! I always figured that Hermonie's parents would be ticked off, but hopefully they understand quickly and get over it!! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: The next chapter is the last! I can't believe it. -N-

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/24/10 1:49
Chapter: Inhumations

I have to say, I originally found Hexworthy an awfully careless name for the cemetary. But if it's a real place, that changes it from a careless choice to a really funny one.
I enjoy watching these relationships grow among the grief and loss, like a flower growing up out of a garbage pile (perhaps a bit overly dramatic for a simile, but still valid I think).
I hope there's more to come!

Author's Response: Hexworthy is indeed a real place (google Hexworthy, Devon, and you’ll find it). It’s only 40 miles from Ottery St Catchpole, oops, sorry, I mean Ottery St Mary. Dartmoor National Park is somewhere I really must visit. It looks almost as bleak and quiet as my own part of the country. Two chapters to go, then comes the sequel. -N-

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/22/10 23:01
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I thought this was one of the best, most well-written, and truest-to-canon stories of "the day after" that I've read in fanfiction. Nice job!

Author's Response: As that’s what I was aiming for, that’s high praise to me (-: Thanks. -N-

Reviewer: preyes
Date: 03/18/10 23:12
Chapter: Inhumations

Thank you for such a good story. I've been crying must of the time, but enjoying every tear. I can't wait to meet the Weasleys!!
Please, please keep writing...

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I hope that you’re not disappointed by the next chapter. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 03/18/10 3:12
Chapter: Inhumations

That was lovely.
You have made my day!!
This story just gets better and better.
Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks. The "Grave Days" finish with the funerals. The end is in sight. -N-

Reviewer: hgprincess92
Date: 03/17/10 20:42
Chapter: Inhumations

I cried the entire time reading this and that is saying something. I rarely cry for anything and here I am crying and smiling, you are a great writer. This was a beautifully written chapter, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you. Three funeral services for four people in one chapter was always going to be hard work. I’m glad that I achieved a few smiles, too. i feel guilty about making people cry. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 03/17/10 10:16
Chapter: Inhumations

I think I just had every emotion possible reading this chapter! Tears, laughter, remorse, loss........great job! I'm a little sad Harry didn't speak at Snape's funeral, but it totally fits that at this moment in time he's still processing everything the man did. Draco was a suprise! Can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: I thought that, as it’s still only a week after the battle, it was to early for Harry to give Snape any more than the private thanks he did. As for Draco, well, he and Harry are family, sort of. Harry is Teddy Lupin’s godfather, Draco is Teddy's first cousin, once removed. That's something else Harry's going to have to come to terms with.

Reviewer: macheel
Date: 03/17/10 10:11
Chapter: Inhumations

I really like this story. You have got me hooked. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you. Only two more chapters to go! I'd better get busy with the sequel. -N-

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 03/17/10 8:13
Chapter: Inhumations

Hey Neil. :) I really liked this chapter, particularly Hermione's return to humor. I loved when she told Ron "Not at the funeral" and Harry observed it would be all right anywhere else. That was perfect. I also like the bit with the ankles when Ron said "She has" even though he couldn't see what Ginny was doing... that seems exactlly like him. I also liked little details like Fleur wanting to hold Teddy... we know she is not far from getting pregnant herself, so that seemed very fitting.

Nice chapter... looking forward to what the Weasleys will do with Harry and Hermione.

Author's Response: Thank you. Hermione is (I hope) slowly returning to her normal self. I tried to lighten the mood a little during the funerals. I've only two more chapters to go and they have both been beta'd (once again. thanks to Apurva and Andrea). How close is Fleur? I reckon it will be 15 months before she conceives. -N-

Reviewer: Raeinflight
Date: 03/12/10 22:28
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

Oh please update soon! I am living off this story just now. You paint Harry and Ginny perfectly. I think that changes in their behavior are completely acceptable given the circumstances. To address and issue brought up in another review, I feel that Harry and Ginny should be more affectionate given that they have just made it through a war! I feel that you are dealing with all of the characters perfectly, given what they have been through. I especially love your treatment of George. It is really good to see him going through the process of grieving in a very natural way feeling it in waves of great sadness and sometimes joy. I like when you include his occasional jokes and such, it is exactly how I imagine he should behave.
Although I can certainly understand Hermione's sullen mood, I hope that we soon see the old firey witch we all have come to love.
keep up the good work!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I’m trying to write Harry and Ginny as supporting each other, that entails a certain amount of public affection. George’s moods have been varying wildly, culminating in him doing something extremely stupid. I thought I might be criticiesd for that, but it’s a natural part of his grief.

Hermione has a lot to cope with, too, but things wll get better for her before the story finishes. Only three more chapters.
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES