Reviews For Grave Days
Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 12/19/11 2:04
Chapter: Morbid Thoughts

It's good so far.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 12/09/11 18:30
Chapter: Postscripts

This was nice. You have a talent for this, but I am sure people have said that already. It started out sad, because post war cannot be happy and you caught that well. But life goes on, and you showed that too.

As usual, your characters were spot on. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. Harry, though, is much calmer, but I'd say he would get like that, he grew up much more than most people in that one year. And Ron's gotten sensible, which is a little strange :D

Over all, I liked it. The funerals of Fred and Colin were the hardest for me. Somehow, I've never been able to be as sad with the deaths of Lupin and Tonks, even though they left a newborn behind. But, it was all well done.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This was the first story I started. I began writing because I was looking for a post-battle story to read. I couldn't find one I liked (they all seemed to gloss over the funerals and move rapdly to the "happy ever after") so I wrote my own. My ever patient bata's helped nme hammer the story into shape (I'll never be able to thank Andrea enough for her support in those early days).

I don't see Harry a particularly "angry" He had a lot of issues when Sirius died, but he was a hormonal teenager who'd just lost someone very close to him. After the battle he's more mature, plus, he no longer has a bit of Voldemort inside him. Ron's always been (fairly) sensible - he came back from his self-imposed exile sensible.

The funerals were hard for me, too.

-N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 12/06/11 17:18
Chapter: Postscripts

This is SUCH a good story. It neatly ties up all the loose threads from the series in a logical and touching way. I really like Fenella Gray, she is a rich and complex character and I cannot for the life of me understand why she wasn't even nominated for the best OC QSQ.

Author's Response: Thank you.
The second sentence of your review is exactly what I was trying to achieve. I'm glad you think I succeeded.
Fenella was a bit player in a couple of chapters. I think she'd need a bigger part to be nominated, but thanks for the thought. She will continue to appear in my other stories.
-N-

Reviewer: Lily_Jean_Weasley95
Date: 10/16/11 20:45
Chapter: Postscripts

This Story was magnificent! I had never read a story like this before (post Hogwarts) and now I'm always going to compair them to this one. It's exactly what I would have imagined happening. Harry's bossy, Ron's in love, and Hermione goes back to school. JK would be proud. :)

Author's Response: Thanks you.
This was my first novel-length story and I tried to keep the characters in character, I always do. Although the sequel "Aurors and Schoolgirls" remains uncompleted, all of my stories take place i he same post-battle future.
-N-

Reviewer: chiaraad
Date: 09/25/11 8:29
Chapter: Postscripts

aren't harry and ginny too...clinging sometimes?
apart from that, i love this!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Possibly, I've actually started to re-edit this story. It's the first thing I wrote and it's showing its age. They are certainly very clingy during the funerals, but I think that's to be expected.
-N-.

Reviewer: GeniusITM
Date: 09/21/11 8:32
Chapter: Postscripts

Absolutely Awesome.

Author's Response: Thanks. The sequel, Aurors and Schoolgirls has now reached chapter 16. -N-

Reviewer: MJ_Padfoot
Date: 06/24/11 17:02
Chapter: Postscripts

Wow. First of all, what a grand story. You really did a great job. I really enjoyed your writing style.

Second of all, I hate admitting this but, I got so into the story that I found myself tearing up during some of the funneral scenes.

I'm excited to read the sequel! ~MJ

Author's Response: Thanks for the review of my first (and so far only) completed novel length story.
I was aiming for an emotional response, so tears are good (if you know what I mean).
I hope to get another chapter of the sequel (Aurors and Schoolgirls) submitted soon.
-N-

Reviewer: MJ_Padfoot
Date: 06/23/11 18:41
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

Oh my gosh. I am on edge. I love it so far. I can't wait to read more! Good work! ~MJ

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This was the first story I wrote, and it remains the only one of my novel-length stories which is complete. -N-

Reviewer: littlewolf
Date: 05/14/11 18:32
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

i was skimming the review and saw that you made a spreadsheet of post-DH events. impressive! i've been rather amazed at how all your stories fit together and complement each other so perfectly - and now i have the answer =D this is an awesome story. i'm glad you didn't let george sink into boozy depression, and i find hermione's parents wrath to be highly appropriate. the characters' tendency for PDA amuses me a lot, by the way. you write brilliantly =)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
My spreadsheet continues to expand as I add births deaths marriages and other significant relationships to more minor characters. That way I know who Lavender is with. I try to tell the relationship stories in the background, behind the main plot. Sometimes they bring themselves to the fore.
George has his boozy moments (though you haven’t seen them yet).
-N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 03/25/11 15:51
Chapter: Funereal Progress

your stories are so like Jk's that I have come to accept them as canon . . . but this out of all your stories is the one i like the best, and this is my favorite chapter. It had me sobbing the first time, and on the fifth I had a few strong tears. thanks for writing, never stop!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the compliment :-)

As my only completed novel length story, and the first thing I finished, I’m still rather fond of Grave Days.
-N-

Reviewer: bekki-unknown
Date: 02/17/11 5:42
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I really enjoyed reading this story, it made me forget that the books have officially ended by the way you started off directly after book 7.

I got tears in my eyes as well as laughing out loud - I liked "The Chosen One's Chosen One".

Harry is proving to be a great leader, and Ginny is big flirt (in a good way!) and I look forward to reading the next adventure!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I hope to fit a lot more stories in between the end of the Battle and the epilogue.

Given that there is a lot of grief (and several funerals) in this story I tried to add a little bit of humour when I could.

Harry has always been a great leader, he seems to have his best ideas in a crisis. Ginny overdoes the flirting in the next story.
-N-

Reviewer: Mdrnsamurai
Date: 01/19/11 17:59
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I have to say that I have treated both this and the Aurors and Schoolgirls stories as the 8th Book in the HP series. I feel very disappointed in the way that J.K.R. ended Deathly Hallows. Far too much information to just let it end that way. These stories have filled the gap that was left open. Your writing is absolutely brilliant and such a enjoyment to read. I am hoping that Aurors and Schoolgirls ends as well as Grave Days. Please keep it up! Thank You!

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. JKR left a lot of gaps to be filled, and all of my stories are an attempt to fill them with my own personal vision of the nineteen years. I may occasionally go beyond the epilogue. Though I’m more likely to look at other events during DH (as with Summer of ’97, Fred & George’s Busy Day and Tales of the Battle). More A&S soon. -N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 12/31/10 13:54
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

Oh I know what you mean about having fun writing the future histories of the Potter characters. I have lots of stories floating around in my head, but none have come to fruition yet. :) Perhaps one day when I get some time away from teaching English, I'll be able to write my own fanfic. I would definitely be apprehensive about letting everyone read it though. My writings are a little bit like my children. It's hard for me to give them up! Anyway, I'll certainly check out all of your other fanfics. You've definitely become one of my favorite fanfic authors! :)

Author's Response:
Thanks.

I have one future history, there is a spreadsheet and a lot of notes detailing births, deaths weddings and a rough timeline of everything from the end of the battle to well beyond the epilogue. Strangely, the most “far future” of my stories so far is “The Confession of Augusta Longbottom” in Tales of the Battle.

Happy New Year.
-N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 12/29/10 12:29
Chapter: Postscripts

Sorry! The last review got cut off short! Oops! Anyway, I was saying that I LOVED the phone conversations between Ron and Hermione, especially how he held the phone away from his ear like it would explode. Very funny! I was so glad everything worked out, even though I knew it would. :) Hermione becoming Head Girl was completely appropriate as well.

Overall, it was such a well-written and enjoyable story. I know you love doing fanfics on Mugglenet, but have you every thought about writing other stories? You've got a great style and voice to your stories that I'm sure would shine through in other stories besides the Potter world as well! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review(s) comprehensive reply below. (-: -N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 12/29/10 12:17
Chapter: Postscripts

Wow! What can I say about this story that I haven't already said in the past? I loved the whole thing and all the little side stories in each chapter. I thought I would just go ahead and review all the chapters in this one review, so brace yourself, it's going to be long! :)

Chapter 1: I loved that you continued right where JKR left off in the 7th book. The details about Kreacher were perfect, and I definitely got teary-eyed when Harry put the Elder Wand back into Dumbledore's grave. I'm glad Kingsley and McGonagall were there to help him. That's exactly how I pictured it would happen.

Chapter 2: I loved the part where Ron asked Hermione to be his girlfriend! So adorable! :) I loved all of Harry's converations with the minister as well. You did so well at conveying Harry's generosity and modesty through his actions (especially him donating 5,000 galleons to the charity!)

Chapter 3: Throughout the chapter, I felt so sorry for Harry having to visit all of those families who were grieving. I can't imagine having to go through something like that, and I felt that you conveyed Harry's emotional turmoil very poignantly and honestly.

Chapter 4: I loved this chapter! The reunion between Harry and Ginny is just like I pictured it! I love how Harry just blurted out, "Do you have a boyfriend?" to Ginny! That was a perfect touch!

Chapters 5, 6, 7, and 8: (I combined all these so this review wouldn't turn into a novel!) These chapters were very bittersweet. I laughed outloud at so many of George's responses to Harry and Ginny being a couple. I got teary-eyed when Ron described Hermione's and his experience with Hermione's parents. (I'm glad you described Hermione's parents as being so angry about their memories being erased because I've read other fanfics that have Hermione's parents just being happy when they get their memories back, and it just doesn't seem to be a genuine reaction.) I loved the Quidditch game before the funeral, and I loved that Ginny was a pall bearer. I thought that was very appropriate to have that detail. And all the scenes with Luna were wonderful! She's definitely one of my favorite characters. :)

All of the chapters having to do with the funerals were very well-written, and I loved that you added Reeta Skeeter snooping about because that was so true to her character! The scenes in the graveyard with the Death Eaters were very exciting as well. And I loved the DA galleons that Luna made. What a wonderful idea and a great tribute to Colin and Fred. Snape's funeral was very sad as well. It's hard not to feel sorry for him. I think my favorite part of the funeral chapters was definitely Fred's funeral and the headless hats! Too funny and very true to Fred's antics throughout the books. :)

Chapters 13 - 15: I loved the part in chapter 13 where Harry, Ginny, Ron, and Hermione drank to the memories of everyone. It was a very sweet and appropriate scene. I think it was perfect for Percy to be the voice of reason about Hermione's dilemma. Afterall, he does have plenty of experience in that department. :) It about broke my heart when Ron had to say goodbye to Hermione! It reminded me of when I had to say goodbye to my husband for a long period of time back when we were dating. (I still hate being away from him.) I absolutely LOVED

Author's Response:
Thanks for the epic review(s).

This is my first (and so far only completed) novel length story. There are three direct sequels planned: Aurors and Schoolgirls, Hunters and Prey, and The Slytherin Four (I’m still not sure about that last title). While I may write original fiction one day, I’m enjoying myself with these future history stories too much to stop. I have a couple more novel length stories rattling around my head, one set in 2009, when Harry and ginny are the parents of three young kids, and what I refer to as the Lavender/vampire story which takes place between Bare and Moon.

I’ve read very few “after the battle” stories, and they all quickly wrote past the immediate aftermath and the grief. For various reasons I wanted to write about those confusing and grief-filled first few days.

Given Ron’s almost covetous behaviour towards the Elder Wand I wanted Harry to deal with this himself, chapter one is (obviously) how I pictured it happening.

I hope that I get Harry right in this story, I find him easy to write, so I sometimes wonder, but he is generous and modest, with a tendency to be bad-tempered when he see’s injustice. He also tends too hide himself away when he’s unhappy. Writing Ron and hermione’s second kiss was fun, too.

The first piece of fanfic I ever wrote was the reunion. Again, I’ve read many versions of this,often with an angry and unforgiving Ginny. Personally, I think that’s wrong, their bevaviour in “The Seven Potters” and that birthday kiss meant “I will wait,” and stories which have Ginny with someone else during her seventh year cannot be canon, and are out of character for her.

There are a lot of adjustments for the Weasley’s to make, despite the loss of Fred, their family is getting bigger. I could not see the Grangers reacting well to being brainwashed (and that’s what it was). Luna simply arrives in my stories, says what she thinks and then leaves, she’s one of my favourites, to, but she is not an easy character to write.

The funerals had to be sombre occessions, bur I wanted to add some action and a little levity. I had the most fum with the Remus/Tonks funeral.

Percy’s sudden outburst was not planned, I originally had that conversation take a different course, with Molly and Arthur leading it, but suddenly Percy, who had made himself an outsider, chipped in, and Fleur, who has experience in family problems, took over.

The last couple of chapterswere a lot of fun to write as things (slowly) move towards a “new normal” not that harry, Hermione or the Weasleys have had much experience of normal.

Thanks again

Neil

Reviewer: theempress101
Date: 12/25/10 2:30
Chapter: Postscripts

this was very sweet but also very sad. during fred's funeral i couldn't stop crying, you described it beautifully. i do have one question. what happens with seamus and lavender? i always thought that they were meant to be.
possible story idea :)
~S

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. Fred's funeral was difficult to write until, I finally decide where the cemetery was.

I have written about Seamus/Lavender (though mostly Lavender) in other stories. All of my stories are linked. You need to read Tales of the Battle (Chapter 12 - Epiphany and Fall, and 13 - Seamus Awake.) followed by the one shot Bare and finally (for the moment)Moon. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/24/10 8:03
Chapter: Postscripts

I love the things you come up with for Luna. that last line was awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Luna needed to have the last word. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/22/10 10:53
Chapter: Family Plots

Loved the retelling of the story. This is great

Author's Response: Thank you, it was a much edited version, but really I can't se harry telling anyone (other than Ginny) everything. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/19/10 10:48
Chapter: A Pall Over the Burrow

Better and better. I want to cry at least one time per chapter. I am greatful you posted this perception of what happens after... Thanks

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Expect more tears. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/19/10 9:53
Chapter: Love Unveiled

Thanks for creating a story that fills in the blanks. You have a great skill at using the emotions created by JKR

Author's Response: Thanks fo the review. This entire story started from the idea of the reunion in this chapter. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES