Reviews For Grave Days
Reviewer: stanzie
Date: 08/15/12 16:36
Chapter: Postscripts

I first delved into fan fiction to read stories about the fall out of the battle. Often writers skip it. Perhaps because it is too sad. Even JKR herself left it all and jumped 19 years into the future.

I loved this story. It was realistic and felt like a continuation of the book.

This story is what made me love you as an author. It had everything. The proper amount of angst, humour, fluff and action. I cried during the funerals. Fan fiction is never that good.

My only complaint is how it ended. The postscripts were cute snippets at their lives in the next few months, but I disliked the whole concept because so much of what was mentioned could have been their own one shots or chapters of a story. I for one would love to read about Ron and Harry’s first days training, or about Hermione and her parents being visited by Kingsley or about Ginny helping George while dealing with the sudden fame of being the Chosen One’s Chosen One. Perhaps one day when you get more time you could actually write those scenes.

Author's Response:
Like you, I first delved into fan fiction to read stories about the fall out of the battle, and like you, I discovered that writers often skip it. The ones I’ve tried to read (even, recently, on this site) concentrate on romantic angst and don’t mention the rebuilding. I started writing this because I couldn’t find a post-battle story I liked.

I tried my best tto make this a continuation of the book. I read and reread JKR’s interviews and tried to make sense of what she saw happening to her characters.

When I originally planned this story I intended to end it with the funerals. I thought that it needed a postscript, a happy ever after. To be honest, at the time I didn’t think that I’d still be writing the same storyline. It wasn’t until I started aurors and Schoolgirls that I realised I needed a master plan. You are correct, there is a lot I could write about (and you’ve mentioned several things I’ve considered), but I’m trying to finish at least one of my chaptered stories. Perhaps one day.

-N-

ps This is review 100! Thanks for that. :-D

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 08/09/12 17:20
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I accidentally read this story again yesterday. (I do that.) Your writing has improved since this early story, but I still like it for things that have been strong throughout -- the characterization and attention to detail.

This morning I was scrabbling around my nightstand for my glasses and I remembered this chapter and how Harry did the same thing -- of course he did!

And, while it doesn't relate to this chapter specifically, I was on the bus yesterday and the thought came to mind, "People who don't like Ginny in the real books would not like this Ginny."

(actually, that portion of the review should probably go with A&S, which I was also accidentally reading yesterday.)

Anyway, I admire your work. I'll try to leave more reviews so that you know.

Author's Response:
I think I know what you mean by "accidentally" reading something. I sometimes click on a story, or pick up a book, not intending to read it, but I end up getting sucked in. I keep looking at this story , spotting errors and thinking, I must fix that... Perhaps one day i will.

My Ginny is, I hope as close to canon as I can make her. I've honestly never understood the Ginny-haters, even by the end of CoS it's obvious that she's strong and self reliant.

There are a few times when it's the reviews which keep me writing, or at least, push me into writing more quickly.

-N-

Reviewer: turquoiseturkeyz
Date: 07/18/12 0:10
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

I always thought that Hagrid might have been close to the Creevey brothers, I was under the impression Denis rather admired him after the ordeal before the sorting ceremony in book four. I would have guessed at his attendance to Collins funeral.
I suspect that like you said earlier inexperience or it never having occurred to you might might played a part in his absence. There really seemed to be little flaw in this and is quite good if it is your first work.
~Ellorah

Author's Response: Ellorah
I will admit to ignoring Hagrid in all of my stories. It’s an oversight which I really must try to remedy.
The fact that the first story I chose to write was novel-length probably says more about my inexperience as a writer than anything else. My many betas (especially the ones for this story) deserve a huge thank you.
-N-

Reviewer: turquoiseturkeyz
Date: 07/16/12 22:26
Chapter: Emotions Exhumed

In the 6th paragraph from the end, the first sentence might have a typo you did not notice, "anyone about else about the Horcruxes ". Other wise I like it very much. Though, and I might be late in saying this but, this plot seems to have rush forward, a bit, in the middle. It is only my opinion and I am sure you had a reason.
~Ellorah

Author's Response: Ellorah
Thanks for letting me know. I’ll fix the typo. It took me two reads of your review to spot it! This was the first fanfic I started, and you’re probably right about the pacing, it certainly rushed towards the conclusion. Chalk it up to inexperience (although I’m probably still making the same mistakes). I keep meaning to take another look at this story.
-N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 06/23/12 4:38
Chapter: Committals

Charlie and perfect Percy exchanging wicked grins in anticipation of looking after George? What is this world coming too? And "Arthur, will you put down that plug?" heh heh! I understand Mr. Granger's point, but he is being way too harsh.

Author's Response: One brother with a hangover, two without. Wicked grins are the only option. Mr Gragnger is, I hope, understandably angry. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/06/12 2:16
Chapter: Postscripts

Wonderful story, hard to read at times but worth the sadness, one of my frustrations with DH was that Hermione didn't get to be Head Girl so bravo on that.

Author's Response: Thanks.I'm glad you liked this tale. In my opinion, any story about the immediate aftermath of the battle must be tinged with sadness, which is equally hard to write. Hermione's appointment seems sensible. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/06/12 1:33
Chapter: Committals

I never thought that perhaps the Grangers would not like what Hermione did. I don't think I agree that what she did was "wrong" but i can understand the reaction and the characterization of it. I hope in the next one, Hermione is back to her old self a bit more.

Author's Response: Altering your parents memories and sending them to Australia is a big thing to do. The much put-upon Grangers have seen little of their teenage daughter and discovering tat she has effectively "mind-controlled" them is a big thing n my opinion. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/06/12 0:35
Chapter: Inhumations

What a day for Harry and the gang. Good fight scene by the way a couple of chapters ago. Always good to see a little action. Good chapter sad about Snape.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The fight scene was fun to write. This, three funerals i one day, was a rough one. But not many people would mourn for Snape. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/05/12 13:55
Chapter: Death Watch?

Had to expect Rita would show at some point nice touch

Author's Response: Harry is news, it was almost inevitable. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/05/12 3:22
Chapter: Morning before Mourning

This is hard to read in some ways but I think very realistic morose but believable r u going to finish the sequel?

Author's Response: Thanks. I will be continuing Aurors and Schoolgirls, but not soon. I've started way too many chaptered stories, and I'm trying to finish a few of them first. The sixth and final chapter of Moons, and the fifth and final chapter of Haunted House are in the queue, and I have three chapters of Hunters and Prey to write and then it's done, too. I'll get back to A&S after that. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/05/12 2:23
Chapter: Family Plots

I really like what u do with mr weasley. Great job again

Author's Response: Thank you. JKR said that Mr Weasley was "a good dad" (possibly the only one in the books). I simply tried to reflect that. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/04/12 22:12
Chapter: Under a Shroud

It doesn't fall back into place does it? This is fun seeing the aftermath grat job can't to see what hermione's problem is.

Author's Response: Thanks, I wanted to deal in some detail with the early days because, as you say, things don't simply fall back neatly to how they were before. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/04/12 1:46
Chapter: A Pall Over the Burrow

Wow mr weasley somber and playing the protective dad pretty cool.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Arthur has lost a son, and I'm certain that he can, and does, take charge sometimes.
-N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/03/12 11:45
Chapter: Sepulchral Mist

Nice opening moment for Harry at the tomb I a, really enjoying your writing style.

Author's Response: Thank you.
I've read several after the battle stories where the loose ends (like THE ELDER WAND!) are forgotten or ignored. I've tried to tie as much up as I could.
-N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 03/27/12 23:56
Chapter: Postscripts

I've just spent the better part of yesterday and today rereading this. A marvelous piece here; it was nice to reread the "beginning" with some hindsight. :)
- Katie

Author's Response: Katie
Thanks for the review. I keep thinking that I really should amend this. It contains a number of grammatical errors. However, I'm still rather fond of this as it introduces Fenella and establishes "my" future for many of the minor characters.
-N-

Reviewer: Youss
Date: 01/04/12 23:21
Chapter: Postscripts

I've re-read this story and I think i've found a name mistake in this story. There is a sentence:
Although he had politely declined Mr Weasley’s offer of a beer with his mixed grill, Hermione’s father had continued to press him.

But shouldn't it be Mr Granger?


p.s. sorry for the name mistakes I found in your stories.

Author's Response: Hi.
There is no need to apologise. If people don't tell me, then I con't know. this was a quick (in fact an instant) fix. It was spotted and corrected by one of my betas and the "final" version of this chapter on my computer is correct. And that file is dated 10/10/10! Why didn't I upload the corrected version and the time?
At least it's fixed now. Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 12/19/11 2:04
Chapter: Morbid Thoughts

It's good so far.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 12/09/11 18:30
Chapter: Postscripts

This was nice. You have a talent for this, but I am sure people have said that already. It started out sad, because post war cannot be happy and you caught that well. But life goes on, and you showed that too.

As usual, your characters were spot on. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. Harry, though, is much calmer, but I'd say he would get like that, he grew up much more than most people in that one year. And Ron's gotten sensible, which is a little strange :D

Over all, I liked it. The funerals of Fred and Colin were the hardest for me. Somehow, I've never been able to be as sad with the deaths of Lupin and Tonks, even though they left a newborn behind. But, it was all well done.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This was the first story I started. I began writing because I was looking for a post-battle story to read. I couldn't find one I liked (they all seemed to gloss over the funerals and move rapdly to the "happy ever after") so I wrote my own. My ever patient bata's helped nme hammer the story into shape (I'll never be able to thank Andrea enough for her support in those early days).

I don't see Harry a particularly "angry" He had a lot of issues when Sirius died, but he was a hormonal teenager who'd just lost someone very close to him. After the battle he's more mature, plus, he no longer has a bit of Voldemort inside him. Ron's always been (fairly) sensible - he came back from his self-imposed exile sensible.

The funerals were hard for me, too.

-N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 12/06/11 17:18
Chapter: Postscripts

This is SUCH a good story. It neatly ties up all the loose threads from the series in a logical and touching way. I really like Fenella Gray, she is a rich and complex character and I cannot for the life of me understand why she wasn't even nominated for the best OC QSQ.

Author's Response: Thank you.
The second sentence of your review is exactly what I was trying to achieve. I'm glad you think I succeeded.
Fenella was a bit player in a couple of chapters. I think she'd need a bigger part to be nominated, but thanks for the thought. She will continue to appear in my other stories.
-N-

Reviewer: Lily_Jean_Weasley95
Date: 10/16/11 20:45
Chapter: Postscripts

This Story was magnificent! I had never read a story like this before (post Hogwarts) and now I'm always going to compair them to this one. It's exactly what I would have imagined happening. Harry's bossy, Ron's in love, and Hermione goes back to school. JK would be proud. :)

Author's Response: Thanks you.
This was my first novel-length story and I tried to keep the characters in character, I always do. Although the sequel "Aurors and Schoolgirls" remains uncompleted, all of my stories take place i he same post-battle future.
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES