Reviews For The Waiting Game
Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/22/11 5:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, I'm so sorry about your father.

The story was very sad, then it took on a positive outlook, until the last line. It really hit me hard, and shocked me. I'm sure that's what you intended, though, so good job. You always write about topics that most people wouldn't ever come up with when thinking about Harry Potter, and you write about them so that they flow naturally. This story was no exception. It's very sad to think that Alzheimers could happen in the Wizarding world, too, and that there would still be no cure. But it is also very possible!

I have about one more page of your stories to rifle through, so you might get a few more reviews from me soon :) I hope you don't mind!

Author's Response: I don't mind at all *beams*. Yes, this story was very personal for me. I hated making it Arthur who suffered because I knew there wouldn't be a happy ending (and as we can see from Bathilda, there is no cure for dementia) but I wanted to show that bad things happen to the loveliest of people. Thank you very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Evangeline_DeMore
Date: 05/03/11 16:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm so sorry for you

Author's Response: Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 04/19/11 13:51
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, forgot to add, Carole, that I'm sorry about your dad. I hope that one day Alzheimers can be cured, because it really is a cruel disease to have. And again, thank you for writing the story because it must've been difficult. Hopefully you'll still remember the times when your dad's "actual self" was around.

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope science finds something, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 04/19/11 13:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

Carole. I was planning on reading this for a long, long time, but I just kept forgetting. It was after you said something on the beta boards about how you put a lot of yourself in this story, since we were discussing self-insertion (although how we got onto the subject I can't remember).

This story was very touching. The way Ginny kept putting things off, the fact that for two weeks, she found it impossible to go and see him...it was so sad. It really touched my heart and very nearly made me cry. At first, I didn't know it was Arthur, but then when Ginny said "Your grandad" my heart really went out for her.

The title was very clever and the ending was heartbreaking. Gosh, why am I using the word "heart" so much? I'm always telling other people off for repeating themselves when I'm beta'ing and yet here I am, saying the same word over and over. I guess that's because it really was heart-wrenching, and I fully sympathise with you. The ending was perfectly fitting, with Ginny dreaming about her dad getting better, when really, he wasn't. The use of the garden, too, was interesting.

One tiny, tiny nitpick: '“Ahh, Midas touch, I think,” says Arthur as he leans in inhale the fragrance once more.'

There should be a "to" after the "in" and before the "inhale."

Thank you for writing, as always, Carole, but especially with this story because it was based on something close to my heart (I'm doing it again!!) and I don't think I've been touched by a story more.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review, Soraya. This was a hard subject to approach but one of the quickest I'd written simply because I wanted to get it down. I think there was a question on the boards about using RL experiences which is why I mentioned it. I'm not sure I'd do anything quite so revealing again. Thanks again and I shall fix that type. ~Carole~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 01/18/11 23:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was so sad and beautifully written. I think you really grasped the tragedy of Alzheimer's so well. It was all the more poignant that you wrote about the Weasley family, who are so close. It's so devastating.

I loved the line "Lucky Fred, who never had to witness this." - I think that really showed how emotional and painful this is for the family.

I also liked that Ginny wasn't remembering things as well as she used to... it provided a nice comparison.

Anyway, you tackled a challenging topic really well and this was great.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Ginny was basically me in that fic so perhaps wasn't that well characterised, but I wanted this awful thing to happen to a close family because if it had been Lucius, for instance, no one would have been that upset. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Penelope Rose
Date: 12/27/10 16:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm sorry, I don't have any comment on your story, but the dedication is very touching.

Author's Response: Thank you very much ~Carole~

Reviewer: Sapphire at Dawn
Date: 10/14/09 8:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

Carole, this was so sad, and beautifully written. I’m actually still crying. You’re right, Alzheimer’s is a terrible, terrible disease, and I’ve seen firsthand the grief it can cause people. On one ward I worked on, a patient with the disease had a piece of paper by his bed with things about him written on it. One of the things was ‘I am your wife, we have been married fifty-five years,’ and it nearly made be break down. The scene where Ginny went to see Arthur in St Mungo’s reminded me of this. It’s a very powerful scene that conveys just how terrible the situation is, and why Ginny was so nervous about visiting.

I like how you didn’t mention his name from the off, which I think helped to create the tension and the sadness. I think you chose a very good character to use because he’s incredibly likable and steady character throughout the series, and that was one of the reasons I found it so very sad.

One thing I don’t like, however, is the fact that they live in Grimmauld Place. I got the feeling in DH that the only reason they went back there was because they had nowhere else to go, and I’m sure that at one point, Harry recalls how he doesn’t like it in the house, and how he can still see Sirius imprisoned and pacing the rooms. I don’t think that would have changed after he defeated Voldemort, so I can’t see him being content to live there. I think the place has very dark connotations, it would remind Harry not only of Sirius, but of the things that were discussed, and the reason that they were discussed.

But overall, I loved this. You’ve taken a very tricky subject and written a very poignant and heart wrenching fic, that still fits within the Potterverse. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review, and I'm glad you found it rang true. It was difficult for me to choose Arthur as the sufferer because he's such a lovely character but I guess what i was trying to convey, is that this happens to nice people too.

Hmm, Grimmauld Place. You know, I'm not totally sure where they would have lived. I've written another fic where it was set at GP. On the one hand, I think Harry and Ginny once they had Kreacher would have relished turning this horrible house into a family home, but on the other hand I totally see your point. I've read fics about their lives set at GP and I've read them where they're set at Godrics Hollow. Perhaps they'd build their own house.

Thank you again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Karaley Dargen
Date: 08/23/09 12:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh Carole, this was almost too touching... Especially your dedication, together with the whole story, almost made me cry, and that's saying something.

For a brief moment, I thought, hoped, that the dream sequence was real, that he had just been hit by a bad memory charm or something, that he really was recovering. How horrible it must be for a family like the Weasleys, who are so close, to slowly lose their father like that.

I think you made a great choice with the characters; that you picked the Weasley family (the closest and strongest family we meet in the HP books) to show a father not recognising his wife and children just emphasises the horror of the disease.

Thank you for this story, even if it made me sad and scared. Or maybe because of that.

*hugs*

Author's Response: Thanks Kara, it means a lot that this was read and reviewed. The dream sequence made me cry writing it, but it's something that happens to me. Anyway, I felt awful subjecting Ginny and the other Weasleys to this, but it's such a horrible condition and if I'd inflicted it on Lucius, for instance, I don't think there'd be as mucg sympathy. Thank you again. Carole xxx

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 08/22/09 21:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well done! It's so sad, and yet so beautiful, with such a bittersweet ending. You are a very talented writer- good luck in the challenge! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gina. It was tough and personal to write so I'm pleased it didn't come across as mawkish. Carole xxx

Reviewer: Racing Co
Date: 08/11/09 21:25
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow. Talk about profound. This was very emotional, very real story, Carole. I loved how everything was pieced together. You wrote Ginny so well, and the character really took on a whole new meaning for me when I read the dedication at the end. It was really moving to me because I just got back from a funeral this afternoon and while — not nearly the same — I was reminded of the whole uncertainty of life.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. Sorry you had to read it on the way back from a funeral. Hmm, getting older and all its uncertainties - a lot to ponder on. *shivers*. Thanks again. Carole xxx

Reviewer: furious_fiendfyre
Date: 08/11/09 12:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very good and very heartwrenching. We went through a similar situation with my Grandma. You really did a great job of conveying the emotions and the need to escape experienced by the family.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. Mmm, escaping doesn't always work - that's the trouble. Carole xxx

Reviewer: TheBlackSister
Date: 08/09/09 21:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

Carole,
One of my best friends has to adjust to the relatively new fact that her mother has Alzheimer's. Had she read HP, I would advise her to read this. It's so profoundly touching. When my own grandmother was recovering from her stroke, I experienced many similar emotions, since she forgot who all of us were for a while; for instance, she'd think her daughter was her sister, etc. Thank you for touching my soul in a way no other writer has.
Alice

Author's Response: Oh my word. Alice thank you for just about the best review I've ever had. I'm so sorry for your friend, for I take it that her mum is still relatively young. I hope your grandmother is recovering as well. ~Carole~

Reviewer: afterglow745
Date: 08/08/09 21:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

What a sweet and sad story. Beautifully written!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Nez
Date: 08/08/09 18:43
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, Carole, this is most beautifully written! The story is a very sad one and you almost had me in tears. You portrayed Ginny very well; her fear and all was very tangible. I like how you put moments with her own family in there too, and how for the first two times in the story she couldn't muster the courage to face what's left of her father. The end, I think, is very powerful. It was a great story, and many people can relate. Sorry to hear about your father. I hope you keep him in your heart as his true self.

Again, great fic, and good luck in the challenge!
~Nez

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Nez. I do appreciate it. It was quite hard to write because it was so close to me, but I had a great beta who gave good advice. I do hav a lot of very happy memories. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Nitwit Blubber Oddment Tweak x
Date: 08/08/09 18:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww, Carole, love, this was beautiful. I almost cried - it was so touching and well-written. I haven't personally known any-one suffering from Alzheimers, but I am so sorry about your father. It's a horrible disease, but hopefully you'll always have the nice memories :)

Emma x

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for reviewing, Emma. I'm touched you left me a review. I do have lots of lovely memories and I know Ginny will too - all those plugs for a start. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for reviewing, Emma. I'm touched you left me a review. I do have lots of lovely memories and I know Ginny will too - all those plugs for a start. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Passion For Prongs
Date: 08/08/09 9:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

Thanks for writing this. It was perfect. My grandfather's actual self died years ago with his love.

~Jackie

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm sorry about your Grandad - it is such a cruel condition. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Megshfoo
Date: 08/07/09 22:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was terrible. I mean that in the way this made me feel. I'm so sorry about your father and I'm with you for the hope on someday there's a cure for this terrible disease. This was a brilliant fic and it was extremely well written. That last part about your dedication broke my heart and I hope that memories of your fathers "actual self" are in yours.

Author's Response: Thankfully I lots of wonderful memories. I'm glad you enjoyed the story (if enjoyed is the right word) and thank you for reviewing - I do appreciate it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: kenthetroll
Date: 08/07/09 21:41
Chapter: Chapter 1

This one made me cry

Author's Response: Yeah, sorry about that. It made me cry writing it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Minerva67
Date: 08/07/09 12:30
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was very touching and very true. I had a mother, a grandmother, uncle and an aunt all die from Alheimers.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. I was so wary about submitting this, but the fact it rings true for you has made me glad I did.~ Carole~

Reviewer: RandomWerewolf
Date: 08/07/09 4:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was touching, beautiful and tragic. It is also something I can personally relate to, as my Grandad suffered from Alzheimers.

Author's Response: Thank you. I wanted this to feel real, but not too melodramatic. I;m sorry about your Grandad - it is a very cruel condition. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Purity of the Turf by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Only know you love her when you let her go...And you let her go." -Let Her...
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
Awry by Liet Dumbledore 3rd-5th Years
At the end of sixth year, Lily hates Severus. She can never forgive him for...
FEATURED
Etched in Gold by Cirelondiel 1st-2nd Years
"It’s like a safe place, somewhere to watch the world, somewhere...
The Elder Tree by the opaleye 1st-2nd Years
It would have been no surprise to see Vernon Dursley sitting on the frosty concrete...
Perfect First by Hermiones Kneazle 1st-2nd Years
Hermione is at her first dance and on her first date, but the night for firsts...
blackbird over the dark field by psijupiter 3rd-5th Years
AU. Severus and Remus forge a damaged and damaging relationship in the aftermath...
Turn to Stone by iLuna17 1st-2nd Years
One summer's night in Hogwarts, two statues are given one night to be human.
Ashes of the Past by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Viktor carries the memory of Grindelwald's path of destruction, passed down...
What War Takes by WeasleyMom 6th-7th Years
War takes things and keeps on taking them, and the things it takes don't come...
The Observer Effect by Squibstress 6th-7th Years
Minerva is a watcher. Mostly, she watches Severus. She sees through a glass...
CATEGORIES