Reviews For I'll Pick You Up
Reviewer: SimpleMinds
Date: 04/10/11 12:58
Chapter: Epilogue

As always you've had me entranced start to finish, and most of all i'm absolutely chuffed that i guessed the killer was Regulus way back, something like chapter 6!

Content-wise, i think you said in an A/N at somepoint that Lily needed 'sass' and you were exactly right, i think i've liked your Lily much more than some others, a very three dimensional character. I really thought that you handled the whole Sirius/Regulus relationship very well too, especially the final bit with Sirius refusing to have Regulus given up, it really did leave me with feelings of that it clearly couldn't be a total resolution.

As for your other characters, Marlene was definitely interesting, but perhaps we didn't seem to get to know Lenore enough, i don't know, just seemed a pretty 'painless' death...

The James/Lily stuff was perfect and believable though, while the epilogue with Harry and Cassie was a lovely touch.

Yeah, i loved it though.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it--and I'm impressed that you guessed it was Regulus so early! Good job! :)

Reviewer: Maitri Harys
Date: 04/06/11 22:00
Chapter: Epilogue

:)
I love this storyline!!! Seriously!!!
James Potter has actually been foreshadowed by the brilliant sensitivity of Lily Evans and Sirius Black!!! I dunno, but I really love that idea of them being siblings, and Sirius breaking someone's nose for her... :D!

And I love Harry's 24th birthday present.... Cassie's such a sweetheart :)

And about Peter.... there's always so much about Peter that's shrouded with secrets.... But the clearest fact, I see you know, is that he is forever wrapped in guilt, which finally suffocates him in the end... As a Marauder, he was good, wasn't he? Hogwarts kept them as they were... Now, the dangers in the outside... caused poor, stupid Peter to get so abysmally deluded about some facts... (sigh)

Three cheers and a heary applause from me,
Maitri Harys...
P.S. - Sirius Black is my favorite character ever, closely followed up by Regulus and James. I mean, who else has those guts???!!! :D

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it! And I completely agree about Peter. The evils of the real world were too much for him, sadly :/

Reviewer: Ehtnaix
Date: 04/06/11 5:45
Chapter: Epilogue

Awww, I loved the ending! :D

For the past two days, I've been daydreaming about James and Lily and what's going to happen next every time I get the chance to. You really write awesome stories.

And by the way, despite what you said on your last note, I'm Sirius-ly ;) hoping that you're going to write another multichapter story. I wouldn't mind waiting months if the story's as brilliant as this one and the ones before it. Thanks for writing this! It surely made my boring days less boring. :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad I could keep you entranced as you read it, and that you enjoyed it! :)

Reviewer: goldensunshine
Date: 02/21/11 20:58
Chapter: They Laugh At You

The new Lily is a little bit scary. As is her new plan and the terribly well written ending to this chapter.

Reviewer: goldensunshine
Date: 02/21/11 20:48
Chapter: I'll Pick You Up

I'm guessing it was Grace but different people because Nora was killed using a curse but Jilly was killed using a physical object. So amazing!
p.s. Your notes at the end are really nice

Reviewer: goldensunshine
Date: 02/21/11 20:15
Chapter: They Found the Note Down in Your Car

James' POV was necessary and well written. Also opening with the end of the dance was a nice touch.

Reviewer: Blinkdawg
Date: 02/06/11 15:37
Chapter: They Knock You Down

All these chapter names are from the song Made Of Steel,By Lady Peace. I just HAD to look lose lyrics up,simply cause they sounded so cool. Such an awesoem song. Listen to Breath by Breaking Benjamin!

Author's Response: Made of Steel is an excellent song! Our Lady Peace is one of my favourite bands, and Made of Steel was always one of my favourites of theirs. I'm glad you liked the lyrics! I haven't heard Breath, by Breaking Benjamin, but I'll have to look it up! :)

Reviewer: Blinkdawg
Date: 02/04/11 10:20
Chapter: Epilogue

i'm not sure if my opinion means much to you,but theres 2 words that can truly give this the credit it deserves:Fucking Amazing. I just found this site,this story was my first one! i'll admit,i cried a bit at the end. D'you mind emailing me a copy of it? Blinkdawg15@yahoo.com. Thanks!(I promise I won't use it to make money,or claim it as mine! I'd just like a copy in case i lose internet,or i wanna read it again one day!)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is such high praise! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'll e-mail you the copy I have it, but I warn you that it may have mistakes in it that I later went back and edited on the site but never edited in the original copy, if that makes any sense.

Reviewer: hermioneweasley19
Date: 02/01/11 19:06
Chapter: Epilogue

You are an amazing writer. I'm literally blown away by this story. Speechless, even.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

Reviewer: AnDream
Date: 01/05/11 13:58
Chapter: I Can Be Anything

Oh where to begin....

This story is so brilliant. Once again your story has been the reason I've been up all night, not doing chores, and daydreaming constantly. If you keep writing all these great marauder fanfics how will I ever get on with my life? I wont. But, I hope you keep writing anyway. :) I'm glad I found it after it was completed thought. I don't think I would have been able to survive your brilliantly written but awfully evil cliffhangers. *insert image of me falling off a cliff* I started reading this just four days ago and my eyes have been glued to a computer screen and squinting at the mini text on my phone since then.

Okay, so now that you probably think I'm insane....

One of the things I love the most about your writing is that you take the characters that we all know and love and heard so much about and make them more than that. You really give them all depth and personality. I love it. They may not all be exactly as I pictured, but that makes them all the more interesting to read. It makes me THINK. Think about all the possibilities, all the angles on what the marauders were really like. Even though I know that they're all fictional :( , you make them more real and relatable.

One of the most interesting parts of the story for me was the whole idea that James Potter was trying to be recruited by the Death Eaters. Like the whole father/son moment between James and his dad was, just very plausible to me. It all just click in my head like 'DUH! Why didn't I see that before!'. It just makes perfect sense that Voldy would want someone like James and Sirius to be on his side. They're clearly very popular, and brilliant, and come from great pureblood wizarding families. It should have been obvious, but your story really clicked on the lightbulb in my head. And now I can see how the whole thrice defied him thing would come about. With Voldemort trying to recruit the Potters and them being part of the Order and all. I always wondered why/how they would run into each other so often when it seemed like hardly anybody even saw him in person let alone fought and escaped from him. So, maybe I was just dumb, but... It all makes sense now! Thanks!

Okay, Okay I know. This is getting long now, but one more thing. Kinda a big thing. Not to discredit the whole point of the story or anything but....
I can't really see Voldemort initiating kid Death Eaters by making them murder students right under Dumbledore's nose. They'd all get caught and end up in Azkaban which would be counterproductive. Jus sayin. And I never really saw Regulus as the murdering-in-cold-blood type. Partly because I'm secretly (or I guess not-so-secretly) obsessed with Regulus Black, and to me he's more like the cooler version of Draco and the evil version of Sirius. He's the goody two shoes kid who did what ever mummy said and thought he was doing the proper, respectable, noble thing by joining the idiot side. If Sirius knew he was a Death Eater, he'd probably throttle him til he was half dead. But if he found out he KILLED someone, especially a friend, Regulus probably would be dead. Then again, you can never really know what you would do unless you were in that situation for yourself.
For the record, I suspected Regulus right away after the whole polyjuice potion scene, but thought, "No, he would never...." I almost wish it really was Tate. However, I will say one thing I did like about Reg was that he was actually secretly dating a Gryffindor. I guess it's just foreshadows his switch from the dark side to helping bring down the Dark lord, right? I like to think so. :)

Anyways, thanks again for such an amazing story! Please Don't stop writing. I love being able to follow you along on these amazing adventures that take place in your imagination here. :)
So, stay awesome!
~ AnDream

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a long, detailed reviews! I love reviews like this that really point out specifics. I know I have absolutely awful cliffhangers -- I'm addicted to them, for whatever reason. And, honestly, I generally tend not to read multi-chapter stories until they're finished in order to avoid other people's cliffhangers! Anyway, I'm really glad you liked my attempts to add a kind of depth to all the characters. I think that's what's so great about writing in the Marauder Era -- J.K. Rowling has given us tantalizing hints about the characters, but not nearly enough to have a full idea of them, and it's so much fun to explore them further therefore. I'm happy you liked what I did with them, even if it's not what you'd imagined.
As for Regulus and the initiation of Death Eaters at Hogwarts -- I understand your point. I don't know if I made this clear, but most of the students were told to kill someone, like a Squib relative or a Muggle or someone who had insulted Voldemort, and it wasn't happening under Dumbledore's nose, per se. Regulus was the first to have that sort of assignment. Does that make any sense? And, in my mind, once Voldemort had a student kill someone, it was almost as if that kid couldn't back out -- because whom could he then turn to, now that he'd murdered someone? As for Regulus -- one of my friends who followed the story was very upset that I had made Regulus a killer, too, but I honestly think it's a mistake that a scared kid could make, and it's the sort of mistake that would haunt him and help turn him, as would a relationship with a Gryffindor, and, most importantly, a brother who loved him despite that he had done the worst. All in all, however, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story despite that you didn't like this aspect. Thanks again for such a great review! :)

Reviewer: ravenclaw1997
Date: 01/02/11 11:01
Chapter: Epilogue

Aww! That was a really amazing story. The ending made me cry, and I've never cried reading fanfiction before. I was expecting more of James and Lily in the epilogue, but the way you had it was great, too.

This story was absolutely wonderful. It balanced perfectly the fluff and mystery. I love stories that do that. This is definitely one of my favorites.

I do admit that the memories kind of ticked me off a little. Every time I saw that italics I went, "Seriously? Can't we have some more story?" They were well written, though. My issue was that you always had a cliffhanger before them. Stupid cliffhangers. :P

I liked that the mystery of this story wasn't one of those ones that you can just figure out and read through the rest of the story to see if you're right. You had me guessing until the very end. I kind of figured Regulus had something to do with it after James and Lily used the Polyjuice potion, but I wasn't entirely sure, and I liked that.

The name Tate was kind of hilarious. Not just because it's an unusual name, but I used to know someone named Tate. Except she was a girl. :) I was like, "Tate for a boy??" Ah, good laughs.

I loved the fluffy parts (as I always do in stories), and I loved all the ups and downs James and Lily had. I actually thought that staged fight was real, until they didn't have a fight in bed. I was really expecting that, and I was like, "What?!?!" Then it hit me. Silly me.

Overall, great job! I love your stories, and I look forward to more from you in the future. Keep writing, whether it be fanfiction or original fiction! Maybe someday I'll see a book with "MagEd" on it. :) I doubt you'd use your username, but if I ever do see that, I'll buy it! :)

~Manda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked the mystery and it kept you guessing -- this is the first time I've ever tried something like that. I've never met anyone with the name Tate, honestly -- it probably really is a girl's name! ;) As for the memories -- I thought they might bother some people (I can't say I'd love them if I were reading and I simply wanted to know what happened next!) but I'm glad you enjoyed the story despite them :) Thanks again!

Reviewer: hpfan25
Date: 01/01/11 15:57
Chapter: Epilogue

I can't get over what a fabulous story this is! At first I was a little weary of it, thinking that it was a bit unrealistic because canon stories are more my thing, but as I read on it definately was not the case. It is such an adventurous thrilling story that pulled me in. My favorite part was the ending, it's wonderful to think that Harry still had some family. Please continue writing, I love your stories

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you gave it a chance and really enjoyed it! :) I couldn't help but give Harry some family -- I always feel so bad for him!

Reviewer: hpfan25
Date: 01/01/11 15:57
Chapter: Epilogue

I can't get over what a fabulous story this is! At first I was a little weary of it, thinking that it was a bit unrealistic because canon stories are more my thing, but as I read on it definately was not the case. It is such an adventurous thrilling story that pulled me in. My favorite part was the ending, it's wonderful to think that Harry still had some family. Please continue writing, I love your stories

Reviewer: erinbee_23
Date: 12/22/10 11:12
Chapter: Epilogue

This was brilliant, i usually won't read any fics longer than 7 or 8 chapters but for some reason i wanted to read this one and i'm so glad i did, it took me ages but i couldn't stop. I love this version of james and lily everything seemed right, not many of the fics manage to get them right but you did. i loved it

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you decided to give this story a chance even though it isn't your usual kind. I really wanted to write James and Lily in-character and do them justice in this story, so I'm so happy you think I wrote them right :)

Reviewer: juli_dances
Date: 12/16/10 15:44
Chapter: Epilogue

I had totally forgotten about Cassie (stupid of me, really) and I LOVED the way you added her in, as part of Harry's life. I am still crying. I have no idea how I didn't see the ending earlier, but I have been following this story for a long time and love it! The bit about Peter and Grace was brilliant, but the icing on the cake was Cassie. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous story :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked the ending and the return of Cassie :)

Reviewer: hushpuppy22
Date: 12/16/10 14:53
Chapter: Epilogue

I think the thing I like the most about your characterizations of Lily and James is that you can see parts of Harry in each of them. You characterized them in such a way that canon Harry *is* the child of your James and Lily. His passion, dedication, bravery, wisdom (sometimes), kindness, honor, loyalty and intelligence could actually be a reflection of your James and Lily. There, I've said the same thing for an entire paragraph ;-)

The second thing I love about your characterization is that neither James nor Lily are super-powerful or extraordinary. There are some great L/J fics where James or Lily are so brilliant or extraordinary that Harry's own achievements pale in comparison to his parents' successes. Those type of characters are so brilliant that I wonder how Harry from canon could be their son. In contrast to those Mary Sues, your James stumbled his way through each battle and was saved from death multiple times by other people. Although strong in all the ways Rowling intended but he isn't the next Merlin and neither is Lily.

Despite my love of 95% of the story, this chapter didn't ring true to character for me. It struck me as OOC/cowardly/weak/wrong that James and Lily would not report to Dumbledore that Regulus murdered Jilly and conspired to murder Lily and recruit James. There's a huge difference to me between giving people a chance to be their best self/trying to stop them from a path that will destroy them and others and letting people get away with murder because you care for them personally. It is hard to turn someone you love(d) in for murder. It is weak and cowardly to let someone go merely because they are a friend, lover or relative and you don't want them to suffer for their crimes. James is defined by his courage, bravery, and nobility in canon so his behavior in this chapter is inconsistent with his character. If Lily knew the details of a murder Snape had committed, I have no doubt that she would inform Dumbledore. Lily stood up to power and was unwilling to support evil in any form, even from long time friends or people with other positive traits. Despite being attracted (re:Rowling and canon) to James, Lily refused to date him because he was arrogant and dismissive of those not as powerful as himself. Does that sound like the type of girl that would let her emotions over-rule her morals? Not to mention, Jilly saved James and Lily's lives a number of times at Diagon Alley alone and Regulus cut her from the world for no reason other than she was not Pureblood. By sending Lily and James to Voldemort, Regulus shows that he will indeed murder again without shame and without remorse. Their actions weren't inteded to reform or save Regulus but to shelter him from the legal consequences of his crimes.

I can't believe that Lily, James or even Sirius (who was raised with very questionable morals) would have let Regulus off but I *could* see Sirius letting Regulus have a head start before Lily and James tell Dumbledore. That would be completely believable to me but not letting Regulus stay at school with absolutely no repercussions for murdering Jilly and conspiring with Voldie to murder Lily. I think Sirius was strong enough that he would be able to do the difficult, but right, thing by telling Dumbledore of Regulus' actions.

Other than this chapter, the story was fantastic and you wrote James and Lily well. I'm just struck by how off their actions in this chapter seem. Maybe I'm wrong and they would have acted this way but obviously I can't contain myself from ranting on about it! Despite my tirade against their actions in this chapter, I truly do love all other aspects of this fic!

Reviewer: hushpuppy22
Date: 12/13/10 2:58
Chapter: You Wanted A Hero Tonight

Great chapter. Obviously it is exciting to read about Lily and James but the mystery is compelling too.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoy the mystery as well as the James/Lily parts.

Reviewer: hushpuppy22
Date: 12/13/10 1:42
Chapter: That Reminds You Not To Think

You are totally right about Lily having had sass and there is even canon to back you up. Slughorn waxed poetic about Lily's wit and "cheek". Plus, as you stated, James really wouldn't have been attracted to a girl like Hermione.

Author's Response: I'm glad you agree--and it's definitely canon! :)

Reviewer: hushpuppy22
Date: 12/13/10 1:22
Chapter: A Punching Bag, A Piece of String

Hmm,who was the "friend" Lily got distracted by? I am thinking Snape. If it was Snape, I sincerely hope that Lily told Dumbledore about it. James is still perfect and I love how similar to Harry Lily is in her passion and determination.

Author's Response: You'll find out who the "friend" is eventually :) I'm glad you like the story so far! Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: hushpuppy22
Date: 12/13/10 0:46
Chapter: I Can Be Anything

This was a fabulous first chapter. You have stayed completely faithful to what we know of canon while creating an interesting and believable backstory for James. I especially love the relationship you have given Sirius and Irene.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES