Reviewer: Slythindor47
Date: 04/08/10 20:03
Chapter: Flying and Fire

The hair! More proof because its Ginny's. Your story is very good and I like the liitle hints you dropped about Masen.

Reviewer: Slythindor47
Date: 04/08/10 19:56
Chapter: A Rough Start for Some

Prof. Masen is Harry isn't he? The summary had me guessing, and then the snake and migraines. His reaction to Weasley proves--I think.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 03/29/10 6:56
Chapter: The Gamekeeper's Tale

Ooh, I’ve been waiting to review this one.

Holy crap on a stick, this chapter has been phenomenal! For a while, I was thinking that I was imagining things with my suspicions of Masen and old Moldy Voldy, but my goodness, when it rains, it pours. What a fantastic turn! I really must read the prequel to this, as it would probably add some details in my mind about what happened the day of the Battle.

First of all, I applaud you as one of the few that has been able to nail Hagrid’s dialogue. The way you write his lines was like it was straight out of the books, so kudos for that. I was, however, relieved when the flashback scene reverted to non-Hagrid speak, as it does tend to get a little hard to process in my brain sometimes.

Second, The dynamics between Leah, Gwen and Cory continue to amaze. They do bear a remarkable resemblance to the Trio in that regard, but they are still all very much individualistic. Leah is not unlike Harry, but Gwen and Cory could not be further from Ron/Hermione, which is why I love your trio so much. They interact very much like ordinary eleven-year-olds in extraordinary situations.

Their detective work is believable. I know, it sounds like an odd way to describe it, but they aren’t doing anything super fantastic that someone their age could never figure out. That is one of the foibles of some people who write Trio-esque stories – they act as if the kids are smarter than those around them and give them understanding of things that are unrealistic. I love that you didn’t do that so very much. They’re just, you know… kids.

I’m a little on the fence about the snowball fight. I know it seems grinch-ish of me, but it sort of interrupted the flow of the story a little. Maybe if it wasn’t so long, it would’ve been a little better. I know that it’s a fun part, and our beloved trio doesn’t get enough of that, what with all of their Masen-chasing, but it seems that it was there to occupy space rather than add to the story.

I was waiting for Hagrid to toss them out on their collective rear end the minute Cory called Masen a Death Eater. He probably would have, had Cory not launched his story about the red eyes. By Hagrid’s response, I knew that, whatever it was that he knew, it would be horrible.

That being said, I shall launch into the awesomeness that was your flashback scene.

The sun hid that day. It hid from the approaching rain, and it hid from the war. It ducked behind the storm clouds that shifted through the grey sky, skipping between them as it saw fit – ashamed maybe, of what it was witnessing.

This description is just pure love. Though Britain’s weather is predisposed to gloomy days, it seems, sometimes, that it appears in the books as an exclamation point on the sort of atrocities that have occurred. The underlined part is really spectacular to me, in particular. It just seems that, in light of the bloodshed on that day, something – or someone – somewhere should feel some shame for it.

Harry would’ve hated that.

I really like the fact that you put that in there. We all know that Hagrid loved Harry like his own child (odd thought, that – Hagrid as a parent), and for his first though to be about Harry and one of the things that meant the most to him adds brilliantly to your characterisation of Hagrid.

The part describing the Death Eater about to kill Luna broke my heart a little. If anyone, maybe save Harry, deserved to die at the hands of a maniac less than Luna, I’ll eat my slippers. There is just something about her simple serenity that makes the idea that she almost died just that much more horrible.

“I think he’s dead,” she said calmly. She looked down at her broken leg. “But I don’t think I can fight anymore, Hagrid.”

This is so very, very Luna. Though she is one character that I understand the least, I do know that I can very easily picture her saying the last part. She seems unworried about freaking out like most people in her position would have done… she was more worried that she couldn’t contribute to the battle anymore. It’s really cool when a piece of characterisation is so compelling, I can hear it in my head like it just happened. Very well done.

“They have been listening to the Fwoopers’ song,” sang Luna dreamily.

I seriously laughed out loud when I read this. It’s such a completely random thing for Luna to say for us, but for her, it’s so very fitting. It was excellent, right down to Charlie’s confusion.

I think Charlie was a good choice of a character for you to use to help Hagrid and Luna. Hagrid would relinquish his care over a fallen student to so few people, but Charlie, IMO, would be one of those few. He’s a dragon handler, for crying out loud; what other disaster-preventing credentials do you need? Not to mention, he’s an order member and a former favourite student of Hagrid’s. I know it seems like a minute detail, but it’s good to think of details like that. Plus, we’ve already met Charlie in the story, so his presence in a different part of it isn’t weird or random at all.

The part with Hermione and Ron was just… weird – not in a bad way! Looking at it through Hagrid’s point of view, it is. I would be interested in knowing how they both knew that Harry wasn’t ‘dead’, but I’m sure it’ll pop up somewhere. If not… imagination is a gift.

and the bushy brown hair of the female standing together.

I’m so very sorry to do this, but the use of ‘bushy brown hair’ to describe Hermione is so overused, it almost hurts sometimes. It isn’t our fault as fan fic writers when we do it (by we, I am definitely including myself), since this is a phrase that JKR used herself, but hearing the same adjective phrase time and time again makes it outlive its usefulness. Please don’t take this as a fault in your writing style, because your writing is lovely, but I hate to see good writers fall into traps like these.

The cloaked figure flicked his wand and suddenly, Ron was writhing on the ground, biting his lip so hard he was drawing blood. Hermione was screaming. The Death Eater lifted the curse after only a second, but Ron just lay on the ground for a long moment, trembling.

This is, at least as far as I know, Ron’s first experience with torture. Harry’s had it in the form of Voldemort’s possession, and to a lesser extent, Snape’s Occlumency lessons, and Hermione, as we know, was toasted rather horribly by Bellatrix (I’m not entirely sure if that happened in your timeline or not – I think it did). I think your description of this is very good. Ron whined and whimpered over being hungry, so I can imagine his reaction to torture would be interesting.

“Harry? Harry, if you can hear me – we are so sorry.”

Gah! Now I really want to know what Ron and Hermione knew. You gave us just the right amount of conversation snippets to whet my curiosity, but just few enough to leave me wondering. So very well done there. I really really really want to know why Hermione and Ron are sorry. I can’t wait until I get to find out what it is in this wonderful tale that you’re spinning. :-D

Hagrid gripped the side of the greenhouse, sure that he would collapse to the ground if he didn’t. He knew that what he had seen would haunt him until his dying day. And then, before Hagrid could even draw breath enough to shout Harry’s name, there were two identical flashes of green light and Ron and Hermione lay dead at their best friend’s feet.

I think this is another win for you in Hagrid’s characterisation. So many want to make him all brave and devil-may-care, rearing into action, because he was a Gryffindor, but I challenge anyone to see what he saw and know what he had just learned and not be stunned temporarily into inaction. I’m sure he blamed himself because Ron and Hermione died, but really, would it have helped at all? Probably not. Hagrid probably wouldn’t have killed Harry/Voldy, but the same could not be said for the reverse. It would have been senseless to die like that, though I’m sure it would not have even been on Hagrid’s radar at the time. It’s hard to take characters we like and make them flawed, but at the same time, they become more real to us when we do. So good for you. I think this part was just right.

Now that we’re done with the flashback, I’d like to compliment you on where you ended the flashback. There was useless information or things that leave us scratching our heads. Sure, there are questions that will eventually be answered, but for the time being, it was perfect. You also segued into the present seamlessly, which isn’t an easy task, but you did it wonderfully.

“Not jus’.” His tears had finally stopped, but a haunted look had replaced them. “I dunno how he’s doin’ it, but somehow, You-Know-Who’s been controllin’ him … turned him in ter somethin’ bad like him. Because the Harry I knew would’ve never done that stuff if he ‘ad any choice. An’ now, teh only thing left ter do is protect his secret till he figures a way out o’ it.”

Ha, I knew it, knew it, KNEW IT!!! It makes me so happy to finally get that into the open. It has been gut wrenching, each time that the characters talk about Harry posthumously and don’t know where Voldemort is… I just want to reach through the computer screen, slap them around, and say, “He’s right under your nose, you silly prat!” I suspect that this was a plan of yours, you naughty thing… I really love stories like that.

He shook his head sadly. “Yeh still don’ get it. Some would try ter help, I’m sure o’ that, but others would only see him as a threat – the next Dark Lord, You-Know-Who’s successor. They would want ter only destroy him,” he said, “an’ I won’ allow that.”

Super job with Hagrid yet again. Keeping this a secret to protect what of Harry is left is just another shining example of your skill at writing Hagrid. It’s almost like when he was protecting Norbert(a), because ‘dragons were misunderstood’, and when he was worried that ‘the other dragons would be mean to him’. Such a simple line you’ve put in there, but it goes such a long way in adding to your Hagrid. Very nice.

“No,” Gwen said. “We won’t tell anybody.”


We have to tell somebody!” exclaimed Gwen later as they were running back up to the castle after saying goodbye to Hagrid.


Though I’m not sure if this part was meant to be funny, I laughed a little. This is so very, very Gwen. It also is another good example of how well you write age-appropriate dialogue and characterisation for your trio. She may not understand the full implications of what Hagrid had just told them, but she knows enough to realise that they are all in some serious trouble and definitely in over their heads.

“Cory, I think that this is a tad more important than food!”

“And what, dare I ask, would that be, Ms Seward?”


Argh! Masen! How unfortuitous! He always seems to show up; maybe he’s following them, both as ‘Harry’ and as Voldy. This is where the danger in the story gets cranked up a few notches. Now bad!Masen is aware that he has been found out, even if it was by a few kids. He would have no compunctions about exterminating them, I’m sure.

“Very well then.” His eyes flitted to Cory before they drifted over to Leah and rested there. “Andrews, I would like to speak to you in my office before you leave. It is a matter of great importance.”

Oh, man… this is the equivalent of watching a horror movie where a character is about to enter a room that we know is full of danger and death. We scream to ourselves, “Don’t go in there! No!!!” I find myself in a similar situation when reading this part. I want to bad for Leah to kick him in the shins and run as fast as she can in the opposite direction – mainly to McGonagall to tell her what Hagrid had said. But no… poor thing. She has a severe judgment lapse and follows Masen into the nest of the viper. This also adds to my earlier point that you wrote your trio well for their age. Kids aren’t stupid, but there are just some things they simply don’t know – like following Ol’ Crazy Eyes into a secluded area. :-

The part where Masen is grilling Leah for information was a very nervous time for me as a reader. I was so afraid that something was going to happen to her, that Masen was going to kill or severely hurt her in some way, but thank you so very much for letting it play out as you did. You gave us just enough pins and needles, but you stopped short just in time.

Cory had been right. His eyes were green.

HARRY!!!!!!!!! I can’t tell you how overjoyed I was when I read this part. I really hate the idea of Harry being dead, as he’s one of my very favourite characters in all of entertainment history. From the first time in the story that you had alluded to his death, I had hoped upon hope that it was a ruse, and bless you, you’ve made me so very happy that he’s alive. Now there is someone that can fight Voldemort on every front, and that’s just peaches and cream for me as a follower of this story.


Anyway, as usual, your style in this story has been stellar, leading us to conclusions but not telling us outright what’s going on. I like to do a bit of my own conclusion drawing, and the mode that you carry it out is great. Each time a new chapter comes out in this story, I remember yet again why I love it so much, and also why it should be read and reviewed far more than it is now.

I guess that’s enough from me for now. I’ve really come to enjoy following this story, and I’ll confess, my heart skipped a beat when this came up in the Recent category at the same time that I was trolling for something for my SPEW reviews. I heart you for your timing… truly, I do.

I hope that this review finds you in good literary spirits, and as always, take care and happy writing!

Jess

Author's Response: Holy bloody macaroni! I am astounded! I am amazed by this awesome, awesome review!!! *SQUEALS WITH GLEE* You totally made my entire week! All I'm going to say on the subject of Ron and Hermione is that that story is told in detail in Alternate Ending so it won't be discussed to that great of length here. But anyways ... you are amazing! I think I just sat speechless for a whole minute after I read this. So all I can say is, I bow down to you and your pure, wonderful amazingess! *HUGS YOU*

Amber

Reviewer: the-wizardess
Date: 03/28/10 19:19
Chapter: The Gamekeeper's Tale

Whoa, just whoa. Love this concept! My only nitpick (and half the time I even like it, so take it as you will) is that bits of the plot definitely shadow events with the Golden Trio. Like I said, most of the time I like it, it just seems fitting; but then other times I'm ready for something new lol. Regardless, I love how complex and awesome this story is! You've earned a great big "WOW!" and a thumbs up. :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! This story doesn't get a lot of attention, so it's great to hear some positive reviews!! I do realize how similar some plot points are. Originally I didn't intend for it to be THAT similar, but oh well, lol! But I did want it to be similar enough for the reader to gain the feeling of a second chance for the Golden Trio through Leah, Gwen and Cory, because what happened to them in this story - and its prequel - really was too horrible.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 02/23/10 15:46
Chapter: The Tip of the Iceberg

Yay! Plot fleshing. :)

I was wondering how 'Masen' could possibly have a weak Patronus until I read the last bit.

The tale is well and truly afoot now. I can't wait to find out what our dastardly villain has planned for our lil' firsties. Well done.

Take care and happy writing!

Jess

Author's Response: Thanks! The next chapter is a bit harder to write than I'd hoped, but I'll try to get it out soon! The story is coming to its climax within a chapter or two now.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 02/09/10 4:40
Chapter: Christmas Cheer

Wow, sorry about the ridiculous set of circumstances surrounding your laptop ownership. That really sucks.

Anyhow, yay, an update. :D I had to retrain my brain a little bit to remember the story, but, of course, I am with you again.

It seems that each one of these three has some deep, dark secret that haunts them, and I believe that is part of what brings them together. What happened to Leah was horrible, and no matter what anyone could possibly say, she will always blame herself for her mother's death. Now, I'm awaiting Gwen's big reveal.

Darn Cory for having that reckless Weasley spirit to charge out into the hellish Canadian winter to chase a professor who may or may not be up to no good. Being a bit on the practical side myself, I find that I'm in accordance with Gwen in her observation that he was reckless.

Now, the Dementor. I was not entirely certain whether this Dementor was what they had seen in the distance, or if it was really Masen all along, so perhaps I missed something (it's happened before...many, many, many times). I'm sure you'll cover it, but I would also be interested to know what it was that Gwen had seen (probably something to do with the deep, dark secret she no doubt has to match that of her friends) to cause her to black out. In PofA, none of the kids on the Hogwarts Express save for Harry actually blacked out, because none of them had experienced horrors deep enough to cause it (which is what makes me believe you're planning something for Gwen).

Anyway, enough of my pontification. Good chapter, still interesting, no matter how much you don't like the chapter, and I shall, as always, keep an eye out for your next installment.

Take care (of your laptop, lol) and happy writing!

~Jess

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :P. I like what you said about the trio each having a secret that brings them together; I hadn't thought of that before but it is part of the reason why Leah is so sympathetic towards Cory. I don't really have a big reveal planned for Gwen but to me, she's the type of person that would prefer to keep most emotions hidden, which is why she's so critical towards Cory, and has helped develop her into the kinda loud, whiny person she is. For now, she sticks with Cory because of her loyalty to Leah; but - and I don't want to run of risk of spoiling - it won't always remain so. And it definitely was Masen they saw in the distance. My reasoning with the dementor (and it may not be a good one, but this is the turn the story wanted to take) is that while they're not much younger than Harry & company, there's still a two year difference and the dementor will effect them a little bit worse. Cory was affected worse than Gwen because his memory was worse. The dementor was also very close to them and was very strong. I may or may not have taken a bit of creative license with that one. Thanks again! -Amber

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/17/09 15:00
Chapter: Eyes of the Past

Oh, wow, now I'm sure of it. Masen isn't Masen at all! He's two very recognizable characters, not at once, but the one the kids see is the less than desirable one (not trying to ruin it for anyone that reads reviews before the story). He's such an angry jerk to them, but Hagrid could not possibly be lying when he said that Masen was perfectly nice to him.

Ah, the plot is afoot! I can't wait to see how it shakes out.

~Jess

PS-You could totally ship Cory/Gwen in later years. They rub each other in just enough ways to be a perfect match. Leah, on the other hand, I think will end up being more of a loner until she falls for an older man (look at me, letting my imagination run away with your characters...I'm pretentious like that)

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/17/09 14:35
Chapter: The Sword of Gryffindor

Yikes! This is a good development, and HA! (purposely chosen) Take that, Nagini.

I like the dynamic of Leah, Cory and Gwen becoming a sort of new Trio, which makes me wonder if Cory and Gwen will end up having kids someday, lol.

Still extremely interested!

~Jess

Author's Response: LOL! And do you think a Cory/Gwen pairing would ever work? Because that's always been a secret thought of mine that would never make it into the story. I would also be interested in hearing your thoughts about Masen.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/17/09 14:16
Chapter: Flying and Fire

Ooh, I think I'm getting it now! The story is finally starting to click into place, and it's looking to be a good one. I really hope your muse doesn't abandon you (I hate it when that happens to me).

Still excellent work, and happy writing!

~Jess

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/17/09 14:00
Chapter: A Rough Start for Some

Wowsers, poor kid! I know what preconceived notions at school are all about, though in my case, it was the complete opposite. The teachers all expected me to be a trouble-maker and/or permanent fixture in detention. I guess I was as pleasant a surprise as Cory was an unpleasant one to Masen and even to 'Professor' Thomas (assuming it's Dean).

So far, I'm still on board. I can't honestly see why anyone would say anything bad about this story, because it's really interesting. Then again, my first story has tons of great reviews and one bad one, and I'm sure you can guess which one sticks in my mind. :-/

~Jess

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/17/09 13:38
Chapter: The Sorting

So far, I'm completely hooked! I wouldn't want to change anything. I was 99% sure that the dark-haired, cranky professor was actually Harry, but now my mind is racing with thoughts, slight confusion, and an innate desire to learn more, which I believe would be the desired effect.

Keep up the good work, and I'll try to snap my annoying habit of not reviewing frequently and leave one every chapter.

~Jess

Author's Response: *Evil laughter* because oh, how very much I love keeping people guessing!

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/17/09 13:19
Chapter: The Journey Begins

Ah, very interesting! I've been wanting to read this one for quite some time, but since I'm impatient once I start reading, I leave it percolate, so to speak, until I have a good number chapters through which I can read all at once. I love the premise of your story, and I'll probably pick up Alternate Ending (ironically) after I get into this one.

I take it that all the 'good guys' from the Second War made a mass exodus to the wilds of Canada, which is a brilliant place to hide, as there is so much unpopulated space.

Well, anyway, I'll stick with you, so good luck and happy writing!

~Jess

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! It's so uplifting to hear something nice about this story since it's not very popular and I've gotten quite a few 'not-so-great' reviews. BC really is a great place to hide. I've only visited it once but parts of it are so beautiful and peaceful and isolated - it could do wonders for a damaged soul. We'll see a few of our old friends over time, and a lot of big characters who didn't make it past the 2nd battle are mentioned in Alternate Ending because there were a lot. Again, thanks for reviewing and enjoy!

Reviewer: sophiewalpole
Date: 11/17/09 11:29
Chapter: The Journey Begins

Well up to now I think its good, give it more action and it will be even better, keep it coming, I am adding you to my favourites so I can be emailed when you update this keep it up I like it.

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 10/30/09 14:19
Chapter: Flying and Fire

Hm...I have my assumptions, although I'm not sure I should mention them... Interesting how you have changed the house structure.
I do have to say that one thing bothers me a little. In some places you are quoting directly from either the movie or the books, and yet you aren't acknowledging that. I know we all know where it comes from, but to my way of thinking it would be correct to mention chapters, etc.

I do think I know who Masen is, what happened, and find his role model for teaching interesting.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. It's Supposed to he kinda obvious who Mason is, because it's more about the journey, and the colliding of past and present, than just finding out who he is ... although that will take up a large majority of the plot.

Reviewer: Fangerll
Date: 08/14/09 16:22
Chapter: The Sorting

okay... o havent got much to say but, i rlly think that this story is very very similar to the first harry potter story. Also, i think the plot is good except that u should try and make it different from harry potter and not let the reader think that they r rereading harry potter again. I know it sounds negative and all, but... srry, its wat i think

Author's Response: I made it slightly similar to give the feeling of a new Harry, Ron and Hermione, to give that feeling of friendship and loyalty, but also that mistakes can carry on through to the next generations. Yes, i know it has many similarities at the beginning but i think that's also expected because they're beginning at a new school and feelings towards that will be the same for any student, as well as starting classes and making friends; it's all set-up work. But it DOES develop its own plot and at the end, it'll be nothing like the real Harry Potter novels.

Reviewer: Fangerll
Date: 08/14/09 16:09
Chapter: The Journey Begins

im sorry but i feel that this story is very similar to the first bit with harry and ron on the train

Reviewer: Sunset_Gazer
Date: 08/08/09 19:35
Chapter: A Rough Start for Some

I really like your story, and I just can't understand why it has only two reviews. I have a soft spot for dystopian fics, but, unfortunately, there aren't a lot of good ones out there. However, yours is amazing, and I just can't wait for the next chapter.

See you around :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you're liking it.

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 06/25/09 13:32
Chapter: The Journey Begins

This story has great potential. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: azngurlwidhighlights
Date: 06/20/09 11:31
Chapter: The Journey Begins

do you think you could pot thi story on a different website so I could read it faster?

Author's Response: Unfortunately this is the only site I plan on posting it on, as it's the only one I visit frequently.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES