Reviews For Once Upon A Time
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/23/10 9:14
Chapter: 20 - Home For The Holidays

Hmm, so who is the mysterious person Albus sends the same gift to every year? I think it's Grindelwald. But, I'm usually wrong:) I was so pleased when Thomas told Albus that he (Thomas) didn't stand a chance with Elizabett against Albus. I was worried for a moment that Kalina, in her foolishness, would spill that Albus had organized her job at the Ministry. The scene over the injured ankle was pretty funny. I thought Albus might have been been giving her a foot massage--those can be very erotic--but not if I'm on the receiving end--I giggle uncontrollably when someone touches my feet. We all know by now that Albus is very good at wielding a wand:) Great chapter.

Author's Response: Ooo, the willpower. One chapter a day. J Kalina doesn’t know that it was Albus who arranged the transfer. Although Horace knows, he did it in secret. People “owed him favours” (an earlier chapter). I love the ankle scene, too. I could just picture Albus on his knees with an irate father aiming a wand at him. Too funny. More to come. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/22/10 9:54
Chapter: 19 - Between Friends

I got all misty-eyed at the end of the chapter. I'm sure the students were excited. They tend to get into relationships as much as anyone else--I know that's for real at my school:D If Albus only knew of Elizabett's past. In some ways Slughorn's perceptions are right--Elizabett is keeping secrets. I only hope that all of these secrets, on both Elizabett's and Albus' parts, don't cause dissension later. The common key is Grindelwald. Is he a secret keeper or will he tell all at some point? Great chapter.

Author's Response: I only hope that all of these secrets, on both Elizabett's and Albus' parts, don't cause dissension later. *Snort* Like I’m going to tell?? The end of that chapter still makes me misty eyed, too. Sigh. Chivalry. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/21/10 19:31
Chapter: 18 - In The Moments Before Dawn

I hope you realize that I'm trying to be funny with my talk of blushing at the erotic scenes:P Actually, I thought about looking up the longer version of this chapter. I may do that yet. This chapter was so sweet. I think I went "Aww" and my heart started to melt when Albus confessed that he had done research on how to make their first time "good for her." How professorish of him:D What a sweetheart. It was wonderful when Elizabett suggested they learn together. Now, once she marries Albus, does that change her secret keeper responsibilities--can she share any of her secrets with her husband? Isn't there something in the legal system where you can't testify against your spouse? I was wondering if it worked in the reverse and you could "testify" or share secrets with your spouse? I think I'm confusing myself and probably everyone else. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Oh ya. This was the chapter that was rejected about 3 times before finally accepted. I have to admit, it’s still good, but not as intense. In the original, although steamy, the scene is mature and passionate but, in my opinion, appropriate for the situation. The story does have a NC-17 rating for a reason. Although, I have to admit, I never expected to go this far or write so much. As for your questions…No! I’m not answering them. You’ll just have to keep reading. :-D Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/20/10 15:42
Chapter: 17 - The Courtship of Elizabett and Albus

My very favorite part was the proposal, especially Elizabett's response--that was perfect. How wonderful of Albus to surprise her with concert tickets. I started to avert my eyes at the racy part but then realized I couldn't read with my eyes averted:P You do the erotic parts very well. I feel like a proud mama over Albus and how much the Ministry seeks his counsel. Great chapter. As for being up early, I work at a school campus so I'm there early too. Well, I try to be early. With the weather being so bad I'm sometimes up to an hour late. Thank goodness I don't work with students and most meetings don't start until 9:00. I was embarrassed yesterday because I was 45 minutes late. The superintendent was looking for me and the admin. asst. told him "She's not here yet but she should be strolling in before too long." Fortunately, I had worked late on Friday meeting a bunch of deadlines and the sup. just wanted to tell me "good job." It's a small place and we're pretty informal. I may have to switch over to one of the other sites if this one goes too slow with this story. I had kind of decided to make myself read one chapter a day so as not to rush things. I'll see.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness...if that part made you blush, stop now. Granted, MNFF made me do some serious editting on one chapter in particular. I knew it was steamy, but I didn't think it was THAT bad. Oh well. It's sweet...at this point. :-D Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/20/10 7:52
Chapter: 16- Allies In Familiar Territory

That was so sweet. You are showing Albus' manipulative spirit to the extreme and it is very convincing. It just emphasizes how powerful he already is. I found myself literally bouncing in my chair going "Tell him about Grindelwald." At the same time I realize that she can't just go blurting stuff out. She's somehow in the position of secret keeper for Grindelwald and this wasn't the time to blurt that sort of thing. I'm wondering just how much Albus knows of Elizabett's travels. This is going to be a very powerful team--an unstoppable union. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Boy, you'er up early! I start work at 7:30. What's your excuse? Once again, I'm glad your so involved in this. It means I've done a good job. :-D Good luck with MNFF. They are way behind in ;the chapter. I'm up to 56 at the moment. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/19/10 14:08
Chapter: 15 - Summer Plans

I guess I've been focusing on your story lately so I've been reading it a lot. I took the meaning of "circle" to be Elizabett's community--family, friends, neighbors where she grew up and I suppose that circle extends as people move away and marry. I don't know if my comment was clear in the last chapter--I was shocked that Albus had brought Kalina into Thomas' life and thus, broke apart Elizabett's relationship with Thomas. This chapter was amazing. Elizabett is so very powerful and I'm sure no one suspects that, except Slughorn. After all, she's a polly-annaish little Hufflepuff. Albus may have some idea of her power though. This story is so creative on your part--having the rise of Nazi Germany be due to the manipulations of Grindelwald and for his entertainment. I think that Albus and Elizabett are well suited for each other--both are strategists, are for the greater good, are sneaky, and are powerful. The encounter between Albus and Elizabett at the beginning was very erotic. I might have blushed a little:P Great chapter.

Author's Response: *snicker* blushed a llittle? Oh, honey, just wait... This story takes many twists and turns along the way. I'm pleased you're enjoying the ride. Focus all you like. I din't mind, and I check my e-mails daily so you're sure to get a reasonably prompt response. More intrigue with the rise on WWII to come. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/19/10 10:21
Chapter: 14 - Jealousy

OMG!! I did not see that coming whatsoever!! It is interesting that you kept Albus' manipulative nature which seems to go back further than I realized. Dumbledore really does have a history of knowing so many people and being able to put all of the puzzle pieces together. His budding romance with Elizabett is so adorable. I'm figuring that the orphan Albus is going to see is Tom Riddle. I'm intrigued by the references to the "circle" Elizabett was raised in. I'm wondering if something will come of that in the end. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Ah, surprises and secrets. The “circle” reference may need explaining. In Wicca culture, a circle refers to you community, those you’re closest with. It is not only family but the closest friends, or those who have a historical connection to you. In ritual, it refers to a magical center of power, a sacred area, in which magic is practiced in. For the use in the story, it’s the close community. It’s referred to often as we watch what happens through time. I missed a comment on the last one. Castlewoods to Lestranges, and vice versa Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/19/10 9:32
Chapter: 13 - Stargazing

This is what was missing from the relationship with Thomas. I couldn't be more delighted that they've discovered each other. For some reason I hope Elizabett shares with Albus what happened when she visited her Grandmother--the visit with Grindelwald. I'm glad Albus is getting tired of Slughorn and is starting to avoid him. Great chapter.

Author's Response: You’ll have to wait and see. :-D Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/18/10 21:34
Chapter: 12 - A Place To Think

It sounds like Grindelwald knows Elizabett from the past--but isn't this the first time he's shown up in this story (he's been mentioned but we haven't seen him yet)? I'm trying to remember who else Elizabett told that Castlewoods are good secret keepers--Albus? This is getting really intriguing. There are some secrets about Elizabett that we need to investigate. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Not all of the “past” is seen in the present but it will come out in time – bits and pieces. Elizabett is full of secrets…so is Albus. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/18/10 21:19
Chapter: 11 - Controversy and Confrontation

There were two shockers in this chapter. Is Grandmaman Lestrange related to Bellatrix Black's husband? Or are the Castlewoods related to the Lestranges? I did not think Thomas had it in him to cheat on Elizabett but I should've seen it coming. Wow--I say good riddance. The French grandma knows what's going on. I felt a little nervous for Elizabett when she met with the Headmaster and the Ministry officials but she seems to have pulled things off. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I’m going to be brief with some of these. Boy! You’re really flying through the story. :-D Castlewoods to Lestranges and more to come. You’ll see more of Grandmaman. Don’t be too hard on Thomas. He’s just being a prat for now. Elizabett’s job was paralleling mine at the time, so it was pretty easy to write. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/18/10 16:41
Chapter: 10 - Thoughts

That Albus is a tricky guy, trying to make their meeting at the concert look so innocent. He must have looked quite the sight trying to dress as a muggle. I'm wondering if he dressed like that on purpose so Elizabett would help him transfigure his clothes. Professor Kettleburn sounds like such a free spirit. Watching the bowtruckles awaken must have been amazing to see. I'm glad that Albus and Elizabett had a conversation about Slughorn. Great chapter.

Author's Response: You never know with him. After all, he does have Muggle blood. His mother was a Muggle born witch. I'm trying to make my characters believable and fun (or atleast interesting). I'm glad you like Kettleburn. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/18/10 12:30
Chapter: 9 - Comfort Found In Friendship

That was really sweet. I was so touched when Albus remembered that she was going to a concert by herself and set up the Room of Requirement for her enjoyment. It was so romantic. I'm getting a sense of romance blooming between this couple that is missing from the sense of friendship between Elizabett and Thomas. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Ahh, and the romance begins...Isn't he charming? Dani

Reviewer: jangel
Date: 01/18/10 1:24
Chapter: 22 - Making Plans

"Bugger off, you jealous old walrus." Very creative and funny. My friend, you truly have a gift for writing...and not just because fo this, but for all that you have written. I've read almost all of it and I have not stopped...you have a great gift and you know how to keep readers engaged; GREAT JOB!

Author's Response: Already replied Dani

Reviewer: jangel
Date: 01/18/10 1:23
Chapter: 22 - Making Plans

"Bugger off, you jealous old walrus." Very creative and funny. My friend, you truly have a gift for writing...and not just because fo this, but for all that you have written. I've read almost all of it and I have not stopped...you have a great gift and you know how to keep readers engaged; GREAT JOB!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Such kind and generous words. Interestingly enough, Life in the Interim was originally the first story, but as I was writing it I felt that it needed a history, hence, Creating a Ghost, and well, Life in the Shadows simply followed suit, as did the shorts. Although, Once Upon A Time can be read alone, it is also a prequel to the trilogy. Who was Daniella's mother? Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/17/10 22:17
Chapter: 8 - Happy Holidays

Wow--I must admit I went from feeling warm and cozy to having the shivers as Elizabett's grandmama read Elizabett's palm and later told her where her true love was. The incident at the willow with Thomas still didn't make me feel like they were an engaged couple. It was funny how Elizabett got Thomas' mind off romance and back to the house. I was glad when she received the locket rather than a ring-why I don't know. As I drove home from shopping this afternoon I had thoughts of the dashing and mysterious young Albus on my mind. Again, I don't know why:) Great chapter. I had really intense feelings while reading it.

Author's Response: Ahh, intense. Then, I did my job! Woo Hoo! I guess after being friends your whole lives, taking the next step can be hard. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/16/10 21:32
Chapter: 7 - Never Too Old To Learn

Wow--I am really entranced with this. I cannot believe how hideous Slughorn is--so slimy, so greasy, so disgusting. He is behaving like a jealous lover. I loved that Elizabett danced with some of the students. I see that as totally innocent. I think I'm used to the older Dumbledore who is so powerful and I find it odd that Slughorn is trying to control Dumbledore. I'm seeing Dumbledore, the Headmaster of Hogwarts, and not the younger professor. I'm loving this look at that younger professor. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I’m so glad that you’re enjoying it, and I’ glad that you’re letting me know. So many read but don’t review. I can only assume what they’re thinking…although, if they keep reading, I have to assume that they like the story. Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/16/10 20:54
Chapter: 6 - Some Things Are Best Served Cold

I've noticed this before but forgot to mention that I love how you have Dumbledore teaching McGonagall. It's good to see her struggle to learn transfiguration--I think that if you have to struggle to figure things out and then are successful, you learn more. I'm curious about Dumbledore's "friend." Who is he meeting? I would love to go to one of Elizabett's concerts. It's been a while since I've done that. Slughorn is just as sleazy and slimy and greasy as I would expect. I'm beginning to think he's crushing on Dumbledore. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Hello there. Glad you like the McGonagall connection. My bad, though. When I wrote her into the story, I didn’t realize that she actually was in school with Tom. I’m a few years off. As for Slughorn, as said before, I always saw him as someone who got close to people to “get” from them. Even at this early stage, Dumbledore has built a reputation. But, I was also trying to address JKR’s statement about gender preference. The books and movies state that Dumbledore and Slughorn were friends, who’s to say to which degree… Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/11/10 12:52
Chapter: 5 - Food For Thought

Lovely chapter. I'm still not getting the feeling that Elizabett is sure about her engagement to Thomas. It still feels like a "just friends" thing. I'm really glad you're bringing in Grindelwald and what's going on in Europe with the muggles. I'm assuming you're talking about the rise of Nazi Germany. Great chapter. Do you go by DaniDM on HPFF and ff.net? I read in both of those sites also.

Author's Response: I thought I'd responded to this but maybe I sent a PM. Thank you and the answer is yes.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/05/10 14:33
Chapter: 4 - Samhain

That sounds like something Slughorn would do--drink a person's last bit of brandy. I'm getting the impression that Elizabett thinks of Thomas more as a friend than her fiance--although they were just engaged on this day. But I'm still getting the feeling that she's not sure. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Elizabeth and Thomas have been friends since they were children. It was the expected “next step”. You’ll just have to see where things go… :-D Dani

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/05/10 12:33
Chapter: 3 - Something To Talk About

The comments directed at Elizabett during the staff meeting by the other professors were pretty funny. They're just jealous that her class is so popular and that the students discuss it even outside of class:) I found the comment that she should be telling her students what to think rather than letting them learn by themselves to be especially humorous. I was a university professor at one point so that's why this was so funny to me. Elizabett's doing exactly what I would've done. It was also funny when everyone was listening in when Thomas and Elizabett were having lunch. I had this odd picture of everyone in the restaurant with their ears turned toward Thomas and Elizabett's table:D Great chapter

Author's Response: Thanks again. So, you were a university professor? PM on the way. When I was writing the scene in the Simmering Cauldron, I could picture the eavesdroppers leaning to listen to the point of one of them almost falling from their seat. The image was so vivid even I chuckled. Pretty sad. Kind of like laughing at your own joke. Dani

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES