Reviewer: GinnyPotter711
Date: 09/22/11 12:28
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Go Draco! Lucius needed a good Stunning... stupid jerk! I happen to think Scorpius and Rose are adorable together! (They both end up being sorted into Ravenclaw in my version.) I'm really glad Draco and Astoria approve of Rose. It's nice to think old hatred are left in the past where they belong!

Author's Response: When Jo had Draco nod to Harry in the epilogue, it opened the way for Changed Draco characterizations. Huzzah! Not that I mind that my D/G epic is AU, heh, but it's nice to have my faith justified (kind of like with Snape--there were people I got to tell "I told you so!" :D)

Reviewer: ptote
Date: 02/21/11 15:57
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

I loved the part at the end! It made me laugh...

Author's Response: Thank you for laughing at that! And double thanks for reading. :]

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 01/14/11 11:18
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

you do such a great job at really describing the complicated malfoy family. i've always thought that draco was such a deeper character that most people make him out to be, so I love that your stories acknowlege both the good and bad in him

Author's Response: No one except Voldemort is all bad, and I think that's why he's such a boring villain. Real people are complicated, a mix of light and dark. Malfoys just have a little more dark than most, heh.

Reviewer: Yolarne Davidson
Date: 11/17/10 2:59
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Is Astoria a ghost? This wasn't clear to me at all. Other wise I love all of your Rose/Scorpius fictions.

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you love the stories! Astoria's very much alive or the sheets wouldn't rustle when she shifted onto her side and Draco wouldn't feel her soft lips or her gentle fingers or be able to kiss her for luck.

I think the part that confused you was:

Astoria slid her arms around his waist. She cooed, "If you die down there you can share my toilet."

Her ash-blonde hair and delicate oval face looked nothing like Moaning Myrtle, but her breathy impression was spot-on. Draco pretended to sneer. "You say that to all the boys."

"Only the sexy ones who make me wish I could do more than float in and out of their bodies."

 

Astoria did a "breathy impression" of a ghost. I wasn't trying to imply she was one. I'll look to see if I can make that clearer. :)

Reviewer: CassandraWood
Date: 09/15/10 11:00
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

I am simply in love with your take on the Malfoys. I do hope that you'll write much more about Draco and Astoria.

Author's Response: Thank you for loving my view of the Malfoys! Draco's always been one of my favorite HP characters, so I'll be open to any inspiration to write him. ;)

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 03/06/10 16:58
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Oh, this was cute. I hate Lucious, love Scorpius and Rose, and like that Harry and Draco are civil. Thanks for letting me understanding-or rather, give reason to--why Draco didn't marry Pansy after all. I attributed to her being an insipid little snot, but I suppose your way works, too. Even Draco gets tired of having some slut fawn over him day and night. And since it was you who created Astoria, I like her much better for it. After all, we know not who she is; that leaves her up to your imagination, because it always seems to be so much better than mine!

Author's Response: Something tells me Pansy was holding out for marriage, so she'd have to become a slut later, sparing me (and Astoria) the mental images. :D

Reviewer: fg_weasley
Date: 10/27/09 23:33
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

You know something I’ve noticed with your fics? The summary is often simply a line or two taken from the actual text. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, of course, it’s just something I noticed and found interesting. However, I feel that in this case it’s … slightly misleading. I say slightly because its not completely misleading – you do make it clear that Lucius is not to be reasoned with, but … I don’t know, I guess I just felt that that line, when it stands alone, has a different tone than your stories does; it doesn’t fit.

I wasn’t drawn to your fic because of the summary, though, at least not at first. The title was what intrigued me, and then I was further pleased to see the quote from Macbeth preceding your actual text. Macbeth is one of my favorite plays, and certainly my favorite Shakespearean play. I liked the allusion.

The relationship you have set between Astoria and Draco is an interesting one. You’ve certainly given it a backdrop of love, even having Astoria alluding to fancying Draco at Hogwarts or, at the very least, wishing to befriend him. There’s really no canon evidence to say what sort of marriage they had, so all that really matters is that it is displayed in a believable manner. With the Astoria you’ve created – again, with nothing to go on, believability is key – their relationship flowed really well. As far as relationships go, it isn’t flat or contrived; it doesn’t sound forced. The jokes and subtle humor add a familiarity that really gave the relationship a bit of dimension. Even the way they handle the subject of Pansy and Astoria’s jealousy; the way they are able to laugh about it together makes it clear that there are no serious problems. It was nice.

His family's role in the Battle of Hogwarts turned Pansy against him—one of the reasons he could be civil to Harry Potter.

This line interested me, but I felt a sort of hole after having read it. I liked your wording – ‘be civil’ rather than implying that Draco and Harry now get along like best buddies – and it does seem to be canon-compliant [I’m thinking of the epilogue in DH, of course] but I guess I’m wondering how Pansy could a be link to Harry. It wasn’t because of her that Harry and Draco hated each other. I, personally, don’t see how Pansy turning against Draco could in turn be one of the reasons that he could be civil to Harry. The cause-and-effect relationship seems to be missing a few links.

Draco himself … well, the characterization worked for the story, and it wasn’t far from the mark, but it felt a little off to me. This is Post-Hogwarts, so he is of course not going to be the Draco we know from his Hogwarts years, but … I didn’t really feel very much of that Draco left, and I think there should be. Even in the epilogue, we get a glimpse. While he isn’t as outright rude to Harry, Ron, or Hermione, he’s not friendly either. He doesn’t sneer or mock, but he only gives a curt nod of recognition. Yet the Draco you show is very witty and light, especially while with Astoria, and while at times it felt like Draco, I always had this inkling in the back of my mind as I read. For instance, the way Draco seemed to be fine with his son visiting Rose Weasley. I just … can’t see him being fine with that. He says it in such passing, but in my opinion Draco Malfoy would not take something like that in stride. Going back to the epilogue, he’s not exactly giddy when he acknowledges Harry, Ron, and Hermione’s presence and, on top of that, I can’t see Ron happily allowing a Malfoy into his home. It just … really wouldn’t work and that was the biggest example of Draco being out of character, I thought.

Lucius, on the other hand, was perhaps my favorite aspect of this story. Though his appearance was brief, he felt very much like Lucius Malfoy, and it had me smiling. The line where he snaps at Draco for standing in the doorway ‘like a servant’ was golden.

And of course, I have to comment on the Malfoy family dynamic. You mentioned in your author’s note that you have a rather large soft-spot for the Malfoys, and so do I. The conversation between Draco and his father was very well played. This was the part that I felt Draco was the most in character. Draco’s interactions with his mother were likewise well-written. I liked her reaction to Draco’s statement, in any case, but again I might have liked a little more distaste at the news on her part.

Overall, though, the characterization wasn’t terrible, and it certainly wasn’t enough to take away from the fic itself. I quite enjoyed the story as a whole, actually. It was a nice little read.

[hugs SPEW buddy]

xox
nikki :D

Author's Response:

Hmmm...it's interesting to be on the receiving end of a SPEW review. The use of snippets in summaries is “a long and glorious tradition” (to go Vizzini from Princess Bride) and does usually fit better, we agree there.

Where we disagree, I think, is in our ideas of what Draco would be like post-epilogue.

I feel like you missed that from the beginning Draco uses black humor to cover his fears and insecurities.  His tone is deceptively light, but the undertones are dark. He's a father who doesn't want his son to take the same path he did. For Scorpius, Draco is screwing his courage to the sticking place to stand up to Lucius in a way he's never managed to do for himself. It's a huge step for him.

Pansy isn't a link to Harry. It's simply that Narcissa saved Harry, who defeated Voldemort. The Malfoys put their family above their allegiances, which put Pansy into a snit, and by the time she got over it, Draco and Astoria were a couple and she was out of luck. 

There were traces of the "old Draco" throughout the story. He still broods and likes his hair stroked, :D, breaks out into a cold sweat over confrontations and looks to Narcissa for help.

It's clear you haven't read the story that inspired this one shot, Our Little Secret, or the Ron pov about Rose bringing Scorpius home, Crouching Father, Hidden Terror . If you had, you wouldn't have made the comment about "Ron happily allowing a Malfoy into his home." He doesn't, and nowhere in this story is that conveyed, and it’s never put across that Draco is giddy about it. What's made clear is that he sees the visit as a better alternative to his son being coerced to join the Knights of Walpurgis.

I'm writing about a father who is putting his son's welfare over any lingering personal bias. Draco's a grown man, and while he'll always display some of the traits he showed so often as a teenager, he shouldn't be limited to them. He isn't the same arrogant, prejudiced git he was. The war didn't change Lucius, but it changed Draco, who became the man who could nod civilly to Harry Potter and prefer his son date a Weasley than become a Knight.  

If you can't accept that characterization, it isn't terrible. It does make me a little sad, but overall I'm happy you enjoyed the story. 

Thanks for reviewing, SPEW buddy!

<3

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/01/09 11:38
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

That was amazing. Strangely, I too have a soft spot for the Malfoys. I like stories when Draco, et.al., get along with the Potters and Weasleys. Their attitude towards Lucius is priceless. They know what he's up to but do their best to circumvent him. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yay for you having a soft spot for Malfoys! Lucius has been spoiled worse than Draco imho. He always expects to get his way. This time, he won't, which is good for him. :D

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 08/14/09 14:29
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Haha. Their conversation at the very beginning amused me. Oh, puns. ^o^

Perfume? Oh yeah, Asteria's staying. *huggles* My blessing! How often does THAT happen? Like, never?

I love you for being fucking awesome, Kerichi! :D

Author's Response:

How often does that happen? Once in a blue moon? ^_~ I am honoured!

Thank you so much for being an awesome encourager! I wish I could type faster.

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 08/03/09 11:35
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

hehehehe Lucius is so funny. Draco is sucha great dad even when he doesn't know it. I love how much he dislikes Pansy now. the whole dynamics of the familey are quite fun.

Author's Response: Lucius is entertaining, isn't he? Especially when he's got that pimp cane, heh. Draco had a narrow escape from a nagging shrew and he's thankful she turned against him, although it had to hurt to be rejected at the time.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 07/19/09 9:22
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Very funny! I'm so glad that Draco attempted to defend his son and stand up to his father. It seemed like in Our Little Secret that he was just willing to let Lucius do whatever he pleased.

I am a little confused about Astoria. In Our Little Secret you make her seem as if she isn't a Slytherin, but in this story it seems almost as if she were an arranged marriage. Explanation please?

Author's Response: Draco and Astoria were joking about the marriage contract. I'm sure there was a prenuptual, knowing Lucius, :D, but it didn't have stipulations like that. I don't actually mention what house Astoria was in, but I think she was in Slytherin. Jo made it seem as if all Slytherins were Pure-blood supremacists gung ho to support Voldemort, but I think most just wanted to stay out of the fight, and cunning folk can like to read as much as any Ravenclaw. ;)

Reviewer: Hedwig_is_my_owl
Date: 06/02/09 21:52
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

I actually like this side of Draco :) I could hear Myrtle's voice when Astoria said "if you die down there, you can share my toilet" and knew it was from CoS :) Love it!

Author's Response: Harry thought he was special, but really, Myrtle's said that to a lot of boys, LOL. Thank you for liking this side of Draco!

Reviewer: olipop10
Date: 04/29/09 14:17
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

hahahaa! , keep his blood pressure down? i would have made anything to make Lucius die of shock!! but really good moment. we see another side of Draco... and ... is lucius really that tyranic?

Author's Response: Ta, Thanks! Oh absolutely, Lucius rules the household with an iron fist in a velvet glove...or thinks he does... :D

Reviewer: Quilter
Date: 04/21/09 14:48
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Very excited to see Draco's POV. Would be very interested inseeing the story through as seen through both of the father's. Really enjoyed both the spin offs and the main story. Thank you for the detail in which you write.

Author's Response: There are so many great characters it would be fun to write all the povs. Hmm...Slytherin Father, Gryffindor Dad? I like the idea, thank you for enjoying the story and having an eye for detail!

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 04/21/09 12:05
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

I missed this email when you first sent it. I can't help but relish any stories from one of my two favorite authors. I have pretty high standards;-) therefor the list remains tight at the top.

Author's Response: Thank you for having high standards...they don't smoke illegal substances, do they? :D

Reviewer: KyraVox
Date: 04/19/09 21:10
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

I have to tell you, I've been crushing hard on your version of Draco ever since the first chapter of Our Little Secret.  And this is someone who outright hated him until halfway through HBP.  You have a talent, you do.

Author's Response: I'll always have a soft spot for my pre-HBP Draco in A Tale of Two Matchmakers, but this Draco, who reminds me a bit of Marlin in Finding Nemo, lol, is very fanciable, too! Thanks so much!

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 04/19/09 19:14
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Great story - I love Rose & Scorpius stories

Author's Response: Thank you! You have stellar taste. ;)

Reviewer: JeeviS
Date: 04/18/09 6:01
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

i think this one shot fic brilliant!!!!! I love to know from Draco's point of view.... u should consider writing more from his point of view once in a while!! but is Draco all right with Scorpius decision to spend his holiday in Rose Weasley's house???

Author's Response:

Thank you for wanting more from Draco's pov! I have a 52 chapter epic in his pov called A Tale of Two Matchmakers I'd love you to read if you like Shakespeare and don't mind D/G. :)

Draco would rather Scorpius be just about anywhere else besides the knighting ceremony, including the Weasleys house.

Reviewer: Sagitta
Date: 04/18/09 5:02
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

Very Cute, I find it great that you decided to... what the word? Branch off and create another truimph feelings towards your great stories. I believe that you have succeeded and you know that I have mad a very silly smile while reading this!

xx Eliza

Author's Response: Yay for you having a mad, silly smile while reading! Thank you!

Reviewer: humyn
Date: 04/18/09 2:05
Chapter: If it were done when 'tis done...

i've read "our little secret" or as much as you have up anyway, and i loved it. i love this one to. you do the best charaterization ive ever read!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely compliments! The next chapter of OLS has Scorpius interacting with family in ways that tell you a little more about his character. :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
A Different Kind of Magic by unjellify 3rd-5th Years
James Potter is Head Boy and Gryffindor Quidditch captain in his seventh year...
Colorblind by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Set in the future, Harry's grandchild tries to comfort him while Harry remembers...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES