Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 05/25/10 21:57
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

ooooh, I like this! Excellent writing and I like how you are portraying Lavender - after all - she is a Gryffindor!

Author's Response: She is a Gryffindor... as well as being a determined young minx. Thanks for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ron lover
Date: 05/25/10 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Tons of people talk about this story, and I wanted to see what all the buzz was about. I honestly didn't think it was going to be as good as it is. I can't believe I thought that now.

You've made me fall in love with Blaise. I've never wanted to be Lavender before, not even when she was with Ron, and now I do. Their pairing is so natiral and they fit so well together. I thought their characterization would be off because of what we saw in book six, but you changed their characterization in a way that works. You give good reasons as to why Lavender and Blaise change. You've changed my views on Lavender, and now I don't hate her character anymore. Thanks! I've never thought about Blaise much, but now I'm thinking more about his character in the books. All of your reasoning for his actions makes sense, and same for Lav.

I haven't read a story about what happens at Hogwarts while Harry isn't there, and this makes me want to read more. I think you've written how the DA members rebel excellently. They are still in character when they act out and how they go about things is right.

Neville's character makes me smile. I was so happy to read that he finally was the leader, that he finally was someone other than the "loser" (as my friends call him...).

I've tried so hard not to gush, but I can't stop. I'm shipping Blaise/Lavender now. Blaise/anyone, actually, and I'm not sure if I should thank you or throw tomatoes at you. How many Blaise stories are there? Sadly, not many, I think. :( But I love how you changed his character... but then again, you didn't really change it. We don't really know what he would do.... Anyway. I love Blaise now. You wrote him wonderfully and he was so much fun to read.

Your writing is great in this. There was just enough detail and the plot never got boring. You made this story so much fun to read.

This story is great. I can't say it enough. I wouldn't object to another story or two about them together. *caugh*

Thank you so much for writing this! I'm glad I decided to read this!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for the glowing review ... and you read it all in one go, that must have been um ... entertaining to say the least - ha ha. I am glad you've rethought Lavender. She gets such a bad press from fanfiction and all she did was get a bit silly over Ron (who didn't discourage her, let's remember). I adore her and Blaise of course, so I will probably write some more stories about them. Plus they could well turn up in other fics I have. Thanks again for the lovely review; I feel all warm and fuzzy now. ~Carole~

Reviewer: mzap
Date: 05/25/10 17:42
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

You did a wonderful job, Carole! Everything has been put together so nicely and I'm so sad that this fic is over. You made Blaise and Lavender so believable that I can't believe they're not canon. I liked the ending of this, tying up the loose ends of what happened after the war and giving an insight into the lives Blaise and Lavender would lead after things had settled down. Including the song at the end was a nice touch, especially as it gave the meaning of the title and summed up the story completely. I don't know what else to say other than how much I enjoyed reading this fantastic story and I can't wait to see what other wonderful stories you bring. Beautiful job, Carole, and I look forward to more stories (particularly Lavender/Blaise ;) ).

Author's Response: Thank you, Mercy. I've so enjoyed writing this one, althoiugh one or two chapters gave me some grief. I'm a bit sad it's finished, so I might have to write them into something else ... hee hee. Glas you enjoyed the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 05/25/10 12:59
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Very good story. I like how you were able to stick to cannon and keep this story believable. The portrayal of your minor characters: Seamus, Daphne, Vincent, Draco, and Snape were well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you found the minor characters believable - especially Snape as he can be hard to do. Glad you enjoyed the fic. ~Carole~

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 05/25/10 10:31
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

This has been a lovely story, so I must say I agree with you about not wanting it finished!

After all the excitement of the last chapter, this is much calmer... but I think it's how it has to be. I don't think anything could be as dramatic as the last chapter and still end nicely!

I'm glad they don't decide to get married immediately or anything - this is a beautiful ending in many ways as they're having a go at re-creating what should have happened if not for the Carrows and the battle. I hope eventually they do end up getting married and one day there will be another baby who survives.

Sorry if that wasn't very coherent. Thank you for writing such an excellent story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely compliments. It's odd though, would they have got together without the Carrows and that awful final year? I'm not so sure. Blaise may have made a move because he fancied her, but he's so reserve. Hmmm, he needed the impetus of Crabbe's attack to talk to her. I'm not sure they'll get married, but ... well ... you never know. Thanks again for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: helz_belz
Date: 05/25/10 9:00
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

HOT! What a great ending, just the right amount of fluff without turning into a cream pie. Lovrf this story. Very emotionally rewarding!

Author's Response: Thank you. Hmm, cream pie - eh? More like a chocolate mousse. I'm glad you enjoyed it and that the ending was okay. I dithered about it, but I wanted them to be happy. ~Carole~

Reviewer: helz_belz
Date: 05/25/10 8:43
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

ahhhj why did I wait so long to read this? Beautiful poetic chapter and ending.

Author's Response: Yhank you. That was a hard chapter top write and sad too. Glad you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 05/25/10 7:38
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Great!! So glad they stayed together.

Author's Response: I'm too soppy for my own good at times, but I wanted them to at least have a chance of happiness. Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: RonaldLookALike
Date: 04/30/10 1:34
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

please continue to write this it's one of my favorites to read and is amazing in every detail. i simply love it. oh and 100/10 ^^ its just that amazing.

Author's Response: There's one last chapter. It has been written and is currently with my beta. It should be up very soon. Anyway I was very sad to finish this because it's been really exciting for me to write, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 04/29/10 22:33
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

Oh. My. Word. I can't even begin to express how much I loved reading this. My favorite thing in the world is a missing moments story, and even though this relationship is technical not canon... it SHOULD be! ;) And it could have been!

Your timeline is amazing... how you kept everything up with what we know was going on outside of Hogwarts with everyone else. I love every character, even Draco (God help me). I love the way you characterized him after Easter. The most sickening thing to me every time I read that chapter of DH is the thought of him sitting in that room holding his bloody wand while that happens to Hermione. I do not believe he was unaffected by it, either. He would have been different after, and I love what Blaise said to him and how he got sick.

Every time your narrative bumped up against the true canon timeline, I felt a little cheer rising up inside. Like when they knew they were still alive after Easter, and when it was announced that they escaped on a dragon... and the cheers in the RoR? I was just thinking, "Hell, yeah, they did escape on a dragon!" I love how this news empowered them. And we know that it did, but you wrote it so well.

The only thing that caused me even a moment's hesitation was Hannah's presence... as I thought she did not return to Hogwarts (after her mum died 6th year) until the final battle. But I may have that wrong. It's a small thing anyway, and I loved the interest brewing between her and Neville in this.

I don't really know what else to say... this is just wonderful! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and giving me such a lovely review. I adored writing this fic and fitting it into the timeline was a personal triumph. Hannah back at Hogwarts? Well she was certainly at the Battle and I'm pretty sure she'd have had to return to Hogwarts because attendence was compulsory (especially as she was a pure-blood), so that's why I included her. Oh, and I shudder over Draco when Hermione's getting crucio'd. It must have affected him even if he didn't like her. There's one last chapter. It's with my beta, so hopefully it will be up soon. Thank you again ~Carole~

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 02/14/10 22:05
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

Aw. *wipes away tears*

I *loved loved loved* when Blaise described her as So proud, so determined, so reckless

And the scary/sad atmosphere when they were fighting.

I wonder though - did he just leave Fluer laying on the ground? :( I think the beginning was too fast. One minute Harry and Neville are arguing, the next he is coming back with McGonagall. She might not have been paying attention, but that part kind of confused me.... And some typos:

...herded the pupils to their tables As Lavender ... (missing the dot)

"What else can we do?”Blaise asked distantly. ( missing a space)

And when Pomfrey says marks,not bites (missing a space again)

Fabulous (sad) chapter - update soon!

Author's Response: oops, to the typos, thank you. I shall fix post haste. Well the beginning is delibeartely fast because I didn't want to write canon events from Lavender's POV. So things were occurring in a blur for her. I mean, it would, wouldn't it? She's been under a repressivce regime for a year, stuck in the RoR for two weeks, and suddenly hot on the heels of Tery turning up, Harry et al appear. So, I take your point - but it was deliberate. Thank you very much for the review though, and I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 02/14/10 9:24
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

Wow.

I don't blame you for crying. I teared up. That so emotional. So...just...wow.

Author's Response: Thank you, Amanda. But sorry I made you cry. *lip wobbles at thought of Remus, Tonks and little baby Blaise*

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/14/10 2:32
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

Merlin, Carole. That was heart wrenching stuff. It was refreshing to see a different side to the Battle of Hogwarts. I've only read a couple of fics which show the final battle and often they are just retellings of the DH version. Whereas with this, it was so familiar yet not. I was right in the action instead of within Harry's head. And how you wrote Lupin's death...sigh...that is one of the things I will never forgive JKR for.

Everything was seamless and everything made sense. You have written this in such a way that it fits with the canon version yet stands alone. I really enjoyed that aspect. I think the way you have ended this chapter is also very effective. With the short little paragraphs going over what happened while Blaise and Lavender were not there, it had a numb feeling, which, I suppose, is exactly how Blaise and Lavender felt while hearing the news. It was very emotional with little melodrama. Perfect.

You made me cry.

~Julia

Author's Response: Thank. You. So. Much. Honestly, I had such problems with this chapter - because we already know everything that happened in the battle and I had to make it different. Oh, and I'm with you on Remus and Tonks dying - I cannot forgive her for that (which could be why A Little More Time is my favourite fic). I cried a bit writing this chapter too, poor baby. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Accio_Chocolate
Date: 02/13/10 19:27
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

What if....I burned the pizza I was making because I got so wrapped up in your fic that I had to read all the way to the end? Ok, I didn't burn the pizza, but I did read all eight chapters in one go! Blaise picking up Lavender's clip was very genuine, my hubby has a tendency to do the same thing, and I find them when I do laundry. Lavender's miscarriage made me cry, I just hope she didn't blame herself too much, she couldn't not fight.

Author's Response: I'm glad the pizza was salvageable. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing; I really do appreciate it. I cried a bit when she miscarried too ... but it was Lupin's death and Tonks running to her doom that made me wail. ~Carole~

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 02/13/10 15:10
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

A great chapter, so well written.
You kept very well to canon and developed your own story too.
Looking forward to finding out what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reviweing. This was a hard chapter because of the canon events, so I'm pleased it worked for you. One more chapter ... I think ~Carole~

Reviewer: mzap
Date: 02/13/10 11:00
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

That was an absolutely beautiful chapter, Carole. The last bit got to me the most, the mention of the miscarriage among the victories. I also really liked the mention of Remus and Tonks in there, and I was so sad to actually read the deaths again (oh, why, JKR? Why?). You did a wonderful job mentioning the important details of the battle of Hogwarts, because it was a very long battle, but the parts mentioned were very appropriate. It was great that Blaise decided to stay, but we all knew he would because Lavender would never leave this; both characters were justly written in that sense. Very well done, and one of my favorite chapters. You are such a great writer, Carole, and I’m loving this story more and more each time.

- Mercy

Author's Response: Mercy, thank you so much. This was such a hard chapter to write because of the canon-ness that was necessary ... plus I had to write Remus' death, although I couldn't quite bear to write Tonks' yet.(WHY? JK, WHY? ). ~Carole~

Reviewer: IzzyMisha
Date: 02/13/10 8:29
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

Caroleeee

That was so stunning! The best part was how it all seamlessly fitted into canon. The emotions were so saw and real. You captured the drama and tragedy of the war, not only on the trio but of everyone who lost someone, everyone who will, for the rest of their lives be impacted by those horrible events.

It was sad, it was lovely, THANK YOU SO MUCH.

Love
Elene (CoolCatElly)

Author's Response: Thank you. This has been the hardest chapter (apart from the first) because of the canon events, but I couldn't very well ignore the Battle of Hogwarts, could I? I appreciate the review, Elene, thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: U-No-Poo
Date: 02/13/10 4:44
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

*wipes away tears*... Wow. A wonderful, unexpected chapter. But her poor baby! *sniffs*. Maybe it was for the best though... she was still at school, she wasn't ready to have a baby quite yet. Is this the final chapter? Or will there be more, or an epilogue? I hope that there's more. It's such a brilliant story, Carole. You've done a briliant job.

Author's Response: Thnak you for the review. Yeah, I sobbed a bit too, but I couldn't see how the baby could surve that fall. It's not the final chapter. There's at least one more - more of an epilogue really. Thank you for loving the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: IzzyMisha
Date: 01/24/10 13:21
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Restrictions

I love these endings! Ugh, from now on I'll never see Crabbe the same way...he creeps me out. Really nice plot twist with the sugar in the contraceptive potion. And I want some of that chocolate NOW!! Not much more to say really xxx

Author's Response: I loathe Crabbe so much too. Urghhh! Oh, yes ... the chocolate *sigh* - that might have to reappear.

Reviewer: IzzyMisha
Date: 01/24/10 13:18
Chapter: Chapter 7 - What if?

Again, Iove these endings! What will he say? When will she see Blaise again? How long till Harry shows up? Is it a boy or a girl? :-P

haha so she is actually pregnant? How will this all turn out then...Ahh now I have to wait for another chapter!

Oh, and I liked Daphne...she's cool.

Author's Response: Ah Daphne ... yeah she's cool. And yes, she is pregnant. I think Emma screamed at me at that point heh heh. Harry shows up very very soon. It is the end of April after all.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES