Reviewer: CandleInTheDark
Date: 06/18/11 23:39
Chapter: Chapter 7 - What if?

I have no criticism at all! I'm astounded and hooked by this story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I hope you like the end of the story, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: CandleInTheDark
Date: 06/18/11 9:41
Chapter: Chapter 3 - The woods are lovely, dark and deep

AMazing! Nothing else to say!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked this story as it's one of my favourites. ~Carole~

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 03/20/11 3:08
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

That was such a lovely ending. I particularly liked Blaise's conversation with his mother- it felt very realistic, and it fits that what his step-father did to his mother made him feel duty bounded initially and he and Lavender fell in love from there. They are a lovely couple. One thing I didn't mention earlier- I love Snape's reaction to a Gryffindor/ Slytherin entanglement. We know exactly why he's like that, but Blaise does not, which is interesting. Thank you for such a well-written story! Alex

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Alex. I was sorry to say goodbye to the story, but then again, they keep popping up in other things. Thank you for all your reviews this weekend. ~Carole~

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 03/19/11 18:53
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

I'll leave a rambling incoherent review for this chapter, because I need to sleep before reading the next one. This chapter was so perfectly done- I love the last part where everything that had happened, told through their friends, was related but they missed it, although they were together. This chapter read so smoothly, and flowed even though huge events were happening. Blaise and Daphne were heroic. I'll look forward to reading the last chapter first thing in the morning!
Alex

Author's Response: I found this chapter hard to write because of the canon events. I needed to find a way or rewriting them because I couldn;t just ignore them, hence the reported action. I actually cried when I wrote this. Ha - I'm so wet. Thank you for reading and reviewing ~Carole~

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 03/19/11 18:33
Chapter: Chapter 7 - What if?

I think this is my favourite chapter so far (yes I am staying up reading this). I love the way you go from Lavender nearly getting raped, to the Gryffindor girls playing silly games in the Room Of Requirement. The way you show the teachers, and some of the Slytherins, trying to do their best for the students is really clever, as well as Blaise growing to realise that Snape is not what he seems. I also liked the argument Blaise and Draco had- it was brief, but a way of showing how badly the war is affecting him. His realisation that he is in love with Lavender in a time of crisis was really well done as well. It was very sweet of Seamus to offer to pretend the child was his. I'm sorry this review is so rambling- I'm looking forward to the next chapter! Alex

Author's Response: I liked writing this chapter. I didn't want it to be all doom and gloom in the RoR, I wanted to show the camaraderie that must have developed between them all, so I'm glad you picked up on that. Seamus is a sweetie ... poor boy. I really must find him a nice a girl - ha ha. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 03/19/11 17:00
Chapter: Chapter 2 - He will not see me stopping here

I've been meaning to read this for ages and am glad I finally got round to it. I love how quickly you keep the story moving- in the first chapter showing Lavender going from feeling like she owes her father to keep safe, and then realising she can help just as much as the rest. I like your characterisation of Lavender- and the comment (I think it was in the last chapter) that just because she's had one boyfriend doesn't make her "the Hogwarts broom". I like the way she can stand up for herself, even to the point of drawing her wand to Lily, and accepts the change in her ideals within the first chapter.

The first chapter was very fast, covering a lot of time, so it was nice to have a chapter covering one evening in detail. I liked the moment where Gryffindor nobility (not attacking Blaise) encountered Slytherin cynicism and they both accepted each other's positions. Although it was rather quick the way they opened up to each other the dialogue was really realistic, and the movement from that to making out very well done.

I also liked Blaise losing control and breaking the glass. Blaise, to have been made Head Boy (despite being half-blood which is brilliant, and proves how stupid the pureblood ideology is), must usually show a lot, but he obviously doesn't like being tricked (even though he was not). I loved Lavender's last line, and will read the next chapter as soon as possible. Alex

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the lovely review. The reason this first chapter was so fast was that it was written as a oneshot for a characterisation class. I decided to extend it because I'd left a lot of things up in the air. No one actually knows that Blaise is a half-blood (well, Dumbledore might because he's Dumbledore but the others think he's Mr Zabini's son) Glad you're enjoying the story and hope you like the rest of it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: DawnDragon67
Date: 01/13/11 14:42
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

I Really liked your story

Author's Response: Thank you. This is one of my favourites too ~Carole~

Reviewer: Rene4hp
Date: 11/17/10 16:54
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

awwwwwwwww

Author's Response: Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Rene4hp
Date: 11/17/10 15:40
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Between the Woods and the Frozen Lake

yes Seamus you are doing something right

Author's Response: Is he? Um ... LOL, I can't remember what on earth he does in this chapter - ha ha. Thanks for reading and reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: hjpenguin_fred
Date: 11/10/10 22:02
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Between the Woods and the Frozen Lake

Love the way you structured this

Author's Response: Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 09/27/10 2:44
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

I'm not quite sure why I haven't read this before as Lavender is one of my favourite characters, but I'm glad I decided to start reading it now.

Lavender's characterisation is wonderful here - she is a true Gryffindor and brave (which is credit she so often doesn't receive in most fics), but she has her reasons for not instantly rejoining the DA and I'm sure, to be honest, that she's not the only one.

Having her father's words repeating is a lovely motif because it really emphasises that it's not her choice not to rejoin.

The Butterbeer incident was dark and shocking, and really sets the tone for the place Hogwarts has become, especially with Blaise's rationalisation of how it would be perceived by the Carrows. I think perhaps it even sets a darker tone than the detentions, because we already knew that was going on, but this just show that there are other horrors lurking now too.

Your Blaise intrigues me as well - when someone is that reserved they are either harbouring hidden depths or are just very shallow, and you definitely seem to be giving him depths, so I'm interested to see where you'll take him, especially after the revelation of his blood status.

All-in-all, I really enjoyed the first chapter and I'm looking forward to getting my teeth into the rest of it.

~Hannah

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. This was a fic that rather obsessed me and I'm still very fond of it. I hadn't written Blaise before and only something silly about Lavender, so it was good to write her as the Gryffindor girl she must have been instead of the Won-Won obsessed mush head. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Arcia
Date: 09/18/10 9:09
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Great story! I really enjoyed reading it, but I knew it'd be good even before I started. I've read som of your other stuff, and it's always amazing :) So keep writing, I'll keep reading! :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'll keep writing. I can't actually stop - ha ha. ~Carole~

Reviewer: DogLover4Life
Date: 09/12/10 0:43
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Oh, gosh. I loved it so, so much. I read a story about Blaise and ever since I've been very intrigued by his character. I love how honest the relationship between Lavender and Blaise was. It made both of these characters, who are often overlooked and disliked, very easy to relate to. And, this was super fun to read! I hope you've written a couple of one-shots about them.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. My intention when I first started this story was to make Lavender more of a person and less pf a silly fluffy-headed girl, so I'm pleased that worked for you. I will get some oneshots written at some stage, but sometimes this pair crossover into other fics of mine. Thanks again ~Carole|~

Reviewer: misscharms
Date: 08/26/10 23:43
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Ahhh, sooooo great. I saw this was nominated for a QSQ in best non-canon romance, and holy mother of merlin, I pray it wins!

I have to say, I'm really narrow-minded about ships. I've got my select few, and then I'll support canon, but this was absolutely brilliant. The characterization was perfect, especially Blaise. You showed why he was a Slytherin but also how a Slytherin could be good in an incredibly realistic manner. And - you convinced me that Lavender's not just an annoying bimbo.

Again, great job!!!

Author's Response: YAY! thank you. I really wanted Lavender to be a likeable character because she gets such a bad rep in fanfic. I'm also a bit narrow about ships. I like canon, but I'll also explore things that could possibly have been canon if JKR had written another 16 books - ha ha. Thank you for the good luck wishes for QSQ. There's some stiff competition there, so I'm not holding my breath. ~Carole~

Reviewer: RonaldLookALike
Date: 08/13/10 23:15
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

even if my comment is cliche i just have this one comment... pure magic :)

Author's Response: I don't mind cliched comments as long as their good ones. Thank you and I'm pleased you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Lilyofthevale
Date: 06/02/10 6:51
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

A very well written story, Great characterisation.. I've never even thought of these two together but after reading this they just seems like canon...great account of seventh year at hogwarts.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad they appear canon to you, that was uppermost in my thoughts. I just wanted them to be plausible. They'll probably crop up in other stories of mine now. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 05/31/10 22:13
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Oh Carole. Oh oh oh. That was a great ending. Just fantastic. Sigh. I can't believe this story is over. It's sad yet kind of satisfying knowing their ending was a good one despite everything. I absolutely adored Blaise's conversation with Karis. You provided some great insight into their relationship and it was an interesting interlude within the fic. Intriguing. I know you've written another fic based on Karis so I'll definitely check that out sometime.

And yay! We got to see some more chocolate action! I feel so smutty typing that but oh well lol. If only Pourable Paradise was real. I also love how the ending was just so incredibly... hot. After a very sad and bitter chapter it was nice to see the couple return to their... old ways. Hehe. But in all honesty, it wouldn't be fair to end this without hotness so I'm very very happy.

As always it was brilliantly written and with a good sense of closure. I'm sure you could have gone on to write more about these two within this fic but I think you chose a nice point to finish it. Your details are always fantastic like Carissa and the setting. I can just imagine Blaise strolling around the villa in a Cavalli suit XD

Thank you for such an amazing story, Carole. I've looked forward to each update and while I'm sad that this is the end, I've come away with a new appreciation for Lavender (and I huge crush on Blaise).

Julia XD

Author's Response: *huge grin on face* - Thank you, Julia. I'm so pleased you liked the fic and that you loved the Blaise/Karis scene - I liked that too. My other fic about her isn't very good ... so I wouldn't bother - ha ha. I will write some more about this pair (and possibly Carissa). I have another oneshot in my head, and they do have a tendency to pop up in other fics. I'm determined to make them canon - ha ha. Thanks again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: IckleRonnieX
Date: 05/28/10 0:49
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Carole! Oh my God! Can I just say that I really loved this story?

You're such a great writer! I'm so jealous. I wish I was as consistent as you, since I never really get to finish anything I start. :p

Anyhow, I took so long in reading this because it is one of those stories that I want to read slowly, thoroughly, devoting every single detail.

I loved this story :) the ending was just just so perfect :')

Great job, Carole! And congratulations on finishing a marvelous story :D

Ronnie Xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I so enjoyed writing this story, so I'm very pleased with the good reception it has received. It is tiugh finishing stories; I think that's the problem I'm having with some of my others - oops. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Luna_Midnight
Date: 05/28/10 0:35
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Awsome I think this was THE BEST! romance ever!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: U-No-Poo
Date: 05/26/10 1:46
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

*smiles* - nice ending. I've been with this fic every step of the way and I love it :) I'm sad that it's finished as well. Congratulations!

Author's Response: Thank you for staying with the story. It was so much fun to write, and I'm quite sad it's over. I think Lavender and Blaise will have to appear in something else before too long though. Thanks again ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES