MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: bigtimer (Signed) · Date: 03/30/09 14:47 · For: Thirteen
great chapter, i really love the ways the wizarding world is different here in america, it's so deeply written.

Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 03/30/09 14:02 · For: Thirteen
That was a great birthday. I still wish she'd tell Max about the coin/obol Charlie stole.
Hope she gets to go home with Max and meet her halfsister and fly on horses.

Name: Kantaka (Signed) · Date: 03/30/09 6:19 · For: Thirteen
“Winged horses?” This was like Christmas and Disneyland and hexing Larry Albo, all at once!

Fully agreed!!!!


I'm thrilled Alex's finally getting a break! It's nice to see she has some good friends and that her father is starting to peak in and out of the picture once in a while...

Name: ahattab33 (Signed) · Date: 03/28/09 11:00 · For: The Obol
Sorry, it's been a few chapters since I've been able to leave a review! But the story feels like its about to hit the fan! Darla is seriously off the deep end, and I feel like shouting with Anna when she tells her to be careful! I loved the chapter after Christmas break with her and David, even though I thought it would never work, and agreed that she probably watched too much TV. She is definitely precocious. Another great chapter, and I can't wait to see how Alex gets herself involved right in the middle of this, lol! Your stories are some of the best I've ever read, fanfiction or not...if that makes any sense.

Name: primagirl89 (Signed) · Date: 03/28/09 0:10 · For: The Obol
hmmm what is with Darla? She makes no sense, maybe somebody she loved died and she wants to see them?

Name: Calico (Signed) · Date: 03/26/09 18:07 · For: The Obol
Max's offer to relinquish his mission with the MMS was just so...brotherly! I really really love his character, and all I can say is that he better not turn out to be a fake like Journey or I'll die. His and Alex's relationship is the most wonderful thing in this story. And of course, all the drama with Darla is exciting, but I feel like Max will be more important overall in the series. I'm getting attached - don't let anything happen to him, please!

Name: crystalphoenix (Signed) · Date: 03/26/09 16:50 · For: The Obol
Oh, Alex. Getting involved in things she shouldn't, like usual. I'm rather surprised the elves are still willing to see her- it seems like she's always wanting them to do somethiing for her they don't want to do. But they probably appreciate her giving them any notice at all. I can't wait to read more!

Name: gerberb (Signed) · Date: 03/26/09 15:45 · For: The Obol
Really good. Just like in RL.

Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 03/26/09 13:12 · For: The Obol
She's not going to live to end of 7th grade and she's going to get a lot more people hurt.

Name: bigtimer (Signed) · Date: 03/26/09 9:46 · For: The Obol
wow!!!!!!!!!!! what a chapter, i love how alex is always getting into trouble and how she almost always gets caught for it too. max really needs to put jhon in his place and soon.

Name: crystalphoenix (Signed) · Date: 03/23/09 21:02 · For: Charlie the Thief
Bad Charlie! Haha. It'll probably turn out to be something either really useful or really dangerous- or both.
Another great chapter! So Alex and David finally decided to "break up." It looks like their ruse had some unexpected consequences- they made the wrong roommate jealous! That's rather ironic. Well, I wonder how they'll deal with this? I hope Alex can get Darla out of the MMS soon. She's too far into already. Alex is right- it's definitely not good for her.

Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 03/23/09 12:27 · For: Charlie the Thief
The mystery deepens.

I think in the previous chapter, Alex told Darla she had the curse removed. Makes me think Darla told John. and that the coin Charlie found was something that might be used to hurt Alex.--Trying to figure out if there is a method in the madness of why Charlie steals.

It does seem as though Darla is in over her head.

Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 03/22/09 21:19 · For: Charlie the Thief
Interesting chapter

Name: bigtimer (Signed) · Date: 03/22/09 14:03 · For: Charlie the Thief
wicked, i love the cliff hanger, i can't wait for the next one to see whats gonna happen.

Name: primagirl89 (Signed) · Date: 03/19/09 20:27 · For: Dangerous Hearts
wow! what is with max? he is a bit of the snob and way too worried about her future marriage. He needs to wake up (well the whole society needs to) and realize it's the 21st century.

Name: crystalphoenix (Signed) · Date: 03/19/09 18:47 · For: Dangerous Hearts
hahaha! I can't believe David actually went along with it! And I can't believe she actually kissed him! She's really trying to get on Max's nerves, isn't she? We haven't really heard much about the MMS lately, have we? But I'm sure they're not actually subdued- they're probably just biding their time. I wonder if Alex's plan is affecting Darla more than Angelique? Well, I can't wait to find out!

Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 03/18/09 23:33 · For: Dangerous Hearts
Well, Max is probably right about Alex not really making Angelique jealous. She might think David's cute, but if her family follows the pure-blood predjudice she certainly isn't going to want to date him. She might lead him on for a while but that would probably be it.
I do like Max, and I think Alex is starting to warm up to the fact she has an older brother, even if she doesn't want to admit it.

Name: jabantik (Signed) · Date: 03/18/09 23:09 · For: Dangerous Hearts
bug-headed, bodacious, koosy lally-gaggin'! rofl. i hope the pritchards and honey teach charlie some more words

Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 03/18/09 13:00 · For: Dangerous Hearts
extremely amusing chapter.

Name: mahogany_wand (Signed) · Date: 03/16/09 19:50 · For: Crucio
First of all, let me just say that I have been reading the AQ stories for a while, but because I am really lazy I haven’t had a chance to review them.

I chose this chapter to review because of the RQSQs. I thought that this story had the best OMR moment. When Maxmilian (sorry, but let me fangirl for a minute—he is the perfect character without being a Gary-Stu. Team Max!) told Alexandra that he was her brother, I seriously shouted, “OH MY GOD!!” I was very enthusiastic. Of course, then I had to wait a week for the next chapter. But it was only a week.

Anyway, I have a few critiques. First of all, how long has it been since you were twelve? For me, it’s only been two years, so I have a few comments about Alexandra’s actions and language. Although I can see where you’re coming from making her being so unwilling to trust Max, kids at that age are willing to do anything an older, more responsible, more experienced person tells them to do, whether it be a sibling, teacher, or just a stranger. I know Alex is a really stubborn character who, at least at this point of the story, loathes Maxmilian with every fibre of her being, so I’m not going to press two hard on this issue.

Some thing I loved was the fabulous dialogue, because I could almost hear Alex and Max talking in my head.

Anyway, this was a fabulous chapter and I hope you keep up the great work with the rest of the story!!


Author's Response:

Hello, M_W! Thanks for the review, and the RQSQ nomination.

It's definitely been a while since I was twelve, and writing such young characters believably is probably my biggest challenge. It's also the most frequent criticism I receive, that sometimes my preteens are a little bit too precocious. So I continue to work on balancing the inexperience and childishness that they should display with making them interesting and sympathetic characters capable of getting in and out of trouble on their own.

I'm going to disagree a little on one point: while it's true that many younger kids will do whatever an older person tells them to do, I don't think that's universally true. It certainly wasn't true for me -- at twelve, I was known to back-talk older kids and even adults quite often. (This was not necessarily a good thing...)

Alexandra is stubborn and extremely independent, so I don't think she's ever going to become the sort of person who accepts what she's told without question. However, you've noticed that her friends -- particularly Anna and the Pritchards -- are much more obedient, and as they have pointed out repeatedly, Alexandra's orneriness isn't always a good thing either.

I hope you continue to enjoy the story, and I can promise there will be more OMR! moments. ;)

You must login (register) to review.