Reviews For Rewriting The Song
Reviewer: goodnightbeck
Date: 07/16/09 8:01
Chapter: Reflections

I just read your whole story so far, from Chapter 1-12 and I am beyond impressed !
Your writing style, characterization and intricate plot development is amazing, and should be commended
I love the way everything that happens is extremely plausible, and could easily be a backstory for the books
It also makes me so happy, as Snape is my favourite HP character, and to hear such a vivid backstory, even as fan fiction, gives a sense of closure (if that makes sense, haha)
Thankyou so much for giving us such a great story !
Just hoping and wondering when/if any new chapters will be posted ?
I am quite anxious to see what happens, particularly back at Hogwarts :D
Thankyou again

Reviewer: Roonil_Wazlib125
Date: 06/30/09 19:22
Chapter: Facilitations

Wow, that's really sweet! Roxanne and Severus...I wonder if that will hurt dear Sev's chances with Lily. I can't wait to read more!

Oh, and Roxanne is a really funny character. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Roonil_Wazlib125
Date: 06/26/09 21:21
Chapter: Situations

Oh my gosh, that was an amazing twist! You really have a talent for story-telling. I am definetly going to read the next chapter; I have to find out more! Keep writing, this is fantastic.

Reviewer: Roonil_Wazlib125
Date: 06/25/09 21:40
Chapter: Altercations (Part II)

Oh. My. Gosh.

I have read up to this chapter and it is by far one of the most thrilling, romantic, awesome fanfic I have ever read. I am definetly putting it in my Favorites! YOU ROCK AT WRITING!

Reviewer: dandy_like_a_lion
Date: 05/22/09 21:56
Chapter: Facilitations

So, almost since I finished reading DH I started looking for THIS story, or rather, one that went in depth in Lily and Severus' relationship. And there have been a couple of stories that were good but most were one-shots and/or didn't do a very good job with the canon. And then other were just far too angst ridden for me; boo-hoo, everything is ruined and now I am going to die--gleck aweful stuff, and I don't believe that Snape would give up so easily.
And then, when I had practically given up on finding a good "Severus-character-exploration story" I found your's!!! And it's amazing! I think you do an excellent job portraying Snape's character. And I love how insightful and logical you have made him, he is much more realistic than alot of fanfic Snapes.
I also like the Tobias thing, you have rounded out a usually flat character, brilliant.
Additionally, the way you handle all of Snapes relationships is very real. And you show your skill and maturity as a writer in the way you deal with Snapes "enemies", most fanfic writers make the conflicting party flat and BAD. But you take the time to make them real people-excellent.

And I can't wait to read more! I check at least once a week to see if you have written anything else! I'm especially excited to see everybodys' reaction the "new" Snape, the marauders are going to wet themselves! ;D

Reviewer: Nitwit Blubber Oddment Tweak x
Date: 04/14/09 17:03
Chapter: Invitations

"Your hormones do more thinking than you do, and the only thoughts that they give you are to try and shag Lily as hard as you can. That is,” he finished, his smile widening as he delivered the finishing blow, “when you’re not shagging Black for practice.”
Brilliant :D

Reviewer: Nitwit Blubber Oddment Tweak x
Date: 04/14/09 16:52
Chapter: Aspirations

Teehee; it's like Extreme Makeover (:

Reviewer: Nitwit Blubber Oddment Tweak x
Date: 04/14/09 16:26
Chapter: Reflections

Hello there! You reviewed my Lily/Severus story 'Make It Or Brake It' ages ago and I meant to return the favour but I, er, forgot... *ducks to avoid pitchfork*

Anyway! I loved this chapter so much; it was incredible. I admire how deeply you delved into Severus' psyche - I truly felt as if I were reading JK's own work. His pain was so honest, so unapologetic it really made my heart ache.

“What if I changed?” Severus asked, a note of quiet desperation in his voice. “You tried to change me without my knowledge. Well, what if I tried, instead of you?” I adored this quote; I'd like to say there was this deep, intellectual reason why but there's not. I just simply loved the dedication in those few words.

Quite soon after that, James refers to Lily using her first name; doesn't he normally refer to her as Evans, especially in front of the Marauders? I'm inclined to think he'd only say 'Lily' in his own mind. But that could be just me...

Something small, but I couldn't help noticing you spelt 'woolen' incorrectly; the word is spelt woollen, double L. Sorry; I really read this chapter carefully, I wasn't looking out for things to criticise, honest xD

“T-they have forgiven each other, f-for everything that’s gone wrong, and t-they are h-happy…” What a simple, selfless wish; this, quite frankly, broke my heart. The whole scene did, to be truthful. I actually cried :S

“Because you want to feel, Severus, and that feeling makes you human." Another brilliant quote that really stuck with me. Also, you portrayed Dumbledore excellently.

Now, with that out of the way, I'm off to read the other chapters! Well done again :D

- Emma

Reviewer: NoxSomnium
Date: 04/05/09 1:05
Chapter: Situations

I was going to say something about the ridiculous number of women suddenly appearing in Severus' life when you completely derailed me with this Lupin appearance.

Author's Response: I sincerely hope it was a good derailment, then. Hope you've enjoyed the story thus far.

Reviewer: _Half_Blood_Princess
Date: 03/30/09 19:49
Chapter: Situations

I found your story a few days ago and I have been reading a chapter every night, I love it! You have great cliff-hangers and the characters seem realistic, like I would expect them to behave based on the books. Great imagination for all of these interesting situations Snape gets himself into. Please write more soon, don't make your fans wait! Thanks!

Author's Response: Well, I appreciate the review and honest opinion. The funny thing is that I'm updating the story as fast as Mugglenet will let me - I've got another six chapters waiting! Glad you've enjoyed it so far!

Reviewer: muggle36
Date: 03/23/09 21:45
Chapter: Reflections

I really enjoy reading this fanfic and keep on writing. It shows another side of Severus that readers don't usually see. It makes it very original, good to read, and makes you look forward to it. Good job and keep on writing!

Reviewer: A Magical Muggle
Date: 03/22/09 18:51
Chapter: Situations

I'm really enjoying this story! It's so good!

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/09 16:57
Chapter: Perspirations

It seems as though you are trying to make Tobias somewhat sympathetic. This is a nice change; I can only think of one other story were Tobias is decent--granted your Tobias has flaws.

It will be interesting to see where this is going.

Author's Response: One of the things that drove me absolutely crazy about a lot of Severus stories is the characterization of Tobias. I've seen him portrayed as everything from an uneducated boor to a psychopath (hell, I WROTE him like that in one of my earlier fics). But looking at Tobias Snape's character objectively, I chose to stick with canon by making him somewhat of an unpleasant character, a very flawed and very realistic man. Trying to portray him as the stubbornly independant and proud man and former war veteran who is willing to work hard to achieve his goals. Unemployment and a lack of work subsequently leads to frustration, anger, and bitterness in the Snape house. More of Tobias' motives will be revealed in the next chapter, don't worry.

Reviewer: Minerva67
Date: 03/14/09 13:26
Chapter: Perspirations

Good installment! I really liked the humerous touch of Severus's new fitness regime. Keep the chapters coming!

Author's Response: The new chapters will keep coming, don't worry. And for anyone who has started from scratch working out (myself being one of them), we can certainly sympathize with Severus' workout pain!

Reviewer: KPotter7
Date: 03/12/09 14:09
Chapter: Occupations

Please add another chapter. I am dying. i love it, but i have got to read more it's killing me. PLEASE write another as fast as you cannn!

Author's Response: I'm updating as soon as the chapters get through, don't worry! I've got plenty of chapters written - I'm just waiting for them to get through the queue. Don't worry, the chapters are coming!

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/17/09 17:08
Chapter: Detonations

I think this chapter put some of the angst back into Severus. The dream sequence or should I say nightmare sequence definitely reflects how hopeless he feels at this point.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/17/09 17:07
Chapter: Detonations

I think this chapter put some of the angst back into Severus. The dream sequence or should I say nightmare sequence definitely reflects how hopeless he feels at this point.

Author's Response: After the action and climax of the last chapter, Severus is finally reflecting on what he got himself into - and he's discovered there are elements he's definitely not ready for. And it's not just angst - it's pent-up anger that he doesn't know how to deal with.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/13/09 9:40
Chapter: Altercations (Part II)

It was a pleasure to read this chapter.

Author's Response: Well, I certainly enjoyed writing it, that's for sure!

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/13/09 9:21
Chapter: Altercations (Part I)

Despite the woman’s youth and relative attractiveness, she had a shrewd feeling that the woman was much smarter and more dangerous than most suspected.

I think you mean to say he (Sev) had a shrewd feeling.

Rosier means nastiness. Interesting concept.

Lucius having a Patronus. Does it mean he isn't quite dark yet? Yet having it be an Anaconda hmmm. I was thinking peacocks. oh well.


“It’s not that at all – Lucius was actually hoping you’d take Bellatrix down with you.”
Severus snorted again. “And why did he think I would have any motivation to do that?”
Narcissa rolled her eyes. “She wasn’t questioning your motivation, Severus. He’s just concerned about his bet.”

I think it should be "He wasn't questioning your motivation....

Bella's predicament was amusing. Shows how nasty the Rosier's are.

Isn't the Dark Lord wanted at this point?

Author's Response: Rosier means more than nastiness, as you'll soon find out. He remains one of the most disturbing characters I've ever written in this story. You might not see it yet, but you will. It's 1976, and the way the story here is written, the Dark Lord is on the verge of being wanted. The posters haven't gone up or the warrants issued, but it's close.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/13/09 8:45
Chapter: Emigrations

I have a couple of things to say about the last two chapters.

First I have a tendency to compare it to 'Snivellus and the Head Girl". In that story Snape had a lot more angst and pain than here. Having less angst, this story is almost light-hearted especially considering Sev's list, and his two 'aquaintences' who wish to help him but don't want anyone to know that they are helping him.

Second, I have a sneaky suspicion that this story is really about Regulus. It seems as though there is alot of detail about his anxieties and worries.

I might question the non-canonical aspects of the story: Snape sympathizing with Sirius plight, the Black family sort of accepting Sev as a 'member' of their society, Narcissa and Reg not objecting to Snape's goal of dating a Muggleborn, not to mention that Sev apparantly has friends though he chooses not to call them that,,,,however it works for me.

I like Lily's reaction although I think her not doing well on her OWLs might be a little over the top. I think in canon, Lily would also be upset after breaking off Sev's friendship. The part where she is jealous of Sev's purpose in life also seems realistic at least for someone who has feeling for Sev. It makes me wonder if Sev's plan might backfire a little.

Author's Response: Hmm... interesting comparison. I've always compared my fic to 'Wrath of the Half-Blood Prince' by Matt Quinn and 'The Moment It Began' by Sindie. Both are completed Lily/Severus fics published on fanfiction.net, and they remain the leading contenders for strongest fics in that ship. To me, Severus seems too logical and analytical to even bother with angst. The encounter with the Mirror gave him an answer - to win Lily back, he'll have to change. WITHOUT that knowledge, he might easily wallow in angst, but he has a purpose now. Regulus is one of my favourite characters in this story simply because there's so much I can do with his character. He's a main character in this fic like Severus. There's a lot of detail about him because Severus is picking up on a lot of details about Regulus that he hasn't seen before. Oh, and Severus' 'plan' will backfire, don't worry - in a way that NOBODY could expect.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES